Author: Regina

Picture Us In The Light by Kelly Loy Gilbert

Picture Us In The Light by Kelly Loy Gilbert

April 17, 2018 0 Comments Regina

First, I would like to thank Disney Hyperion for the chance to read this story pre-publication. My review is based off an uncorrected ARC. This is definitely one of those books that you HAVE to HAVE because of the brilliant cover. The author’s way with words is brilliant as well. I loved the lyrical prose and syntax that threaded this story together. The characters are vibrant and intense; they were complex and saturated with emotional […]

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones

January 23, 2018 0 Comments Regina

“To understand the things that are at our door is the best preparation for understanding those that lie beyond.” -Hypatia One of the things I loved best about this book was the use of quotes under the chapter headings. I am such a sucker for this. There can never be too many quotes introducing a chapter or section of a book in my opinion. I also loved that the author’s use of quotes to introduce/capture […]

Haven by Mary Lindsey + Giveaway!!!

Haven by Mary Lindsey + Giveaway!!!

January 5, 2018 4 Comments Regina

For all of us who have been going through paranormal/fantasy withdrawal ever since superheros took over our television sets and movie screens, Haven is the perfect paranormal fix. In case you haven’t figured it out from the synopsis (or from other reviews), Haven is a story about werewolves, and I am so ready for supernatural creatures to be back in the YA book-world spotlight. This is the super sexy paranormal YA story that we’ve all been waiting […]

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

December 29, 2017 0 Comments Regina

Why did I read this book? Well, I was drawn to the contrast of the hot-pink hearts and grayscale image of Tolstoy’s face on the cover, in addition to the idea of young adult fiction intersecting with high-culture literary fiction. I checked out this book because I liked the packaging, so I want to give props to all of the people who had a hand in creating the finished version of this product. Sometimes being […]

Slammed (Slammed, #1) by Colleen Hoover

Slammed (Slammed, #1) by Colleen Hoover

November 20, 2017 0 Comments Regina

If you enjoyed Colleen Hoover’s Slammed series, you will obsess over Georgina Guthrie’s Words series. From Power Poetry (dot) com: Slam Poetry is a type of competition where people read their poems without props, costumes, or music. After performing, they receive scores (0-10) from 5 randomly selected judges. … Scores are awarded based on how much each judge likes a poem. I never thought that I would end up reading a Colleen Hoover book. I am not sure why, […]

Haunting the Deep (How to Hang A Witch #2) by Adriana Mather

Haunting the Deep (How to Hang A Witch #2) by Adriana Mather

November 15, 2017 0 Comments Regina

You can check out my review of Adriana Mather’s fantastic debut novel, How to Hang a Witch HERE. Here is the super awesome book trailer for Haunting the Deep: Sam and The Descendents are back in another spine-tingling, atmospheric adventure. Adriana Mather’s stories appeal to the side of me that wants to suspend reality and languish in a world of magic, ghosts, romance, high-school, and haunted histories. Haunting the Deep was every bit as fun […]

The Suffering Tree by Elle Cosimano: The Review, the Controversy

The Suffering Tree by Elle Cosimano: The Review, the Controversy

October 15, 2017 2 Comments Regina

“It’s Dark Magic Brings Him Back.” The name and the cover of this book were not appealing to me. I did, however, think that the dark synopsis was original, therefore intriguing. I did not want to be lame and judge a book by its cover, so I started reading it. Long story short, I could not put this book down. This novel was a refreshing departure from the market-driven YA books that I have been […]

A New YA Book Club for ADULTS!

A New YA Book Club for ADULTS!

September 10, 2017 0 Comments Regina

Whether you are a newbie to book blogging or a veteran, we all know that nothing beats meeting up with fellow readers in RL to chat about books. While there are plenty of Young Adult and Tween book clubs out there, there is a lack of YA book clubs that are strictly for adults. YAforAdults flyer and list of upcoming book club meetings. If you are an adult (18+), love to chat about books in […]

New Release Review: A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor

New Release Review: A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor

August 26, 2017 0 Comments Regina

I thought a setting like this was going to be boring. Beautiful, yes, but ultimately dull. I was sooo wrong. I’ll be blunt. I do not have a sister and reading about drama between sisters is the LAST THING I want to do with my precious reading time. But throwing in the male character tipped the boat in favor of reading this novel for me. I know this is an unpopular position, but I am […]

The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel + GIVEAWAY!!!

The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel + GIVEAWAY!!!

August 21, 2017 2 Comments Regina

The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel is the perfect read to bridge your summer book binges over into your more selective fall reading schedule. This witty and poignant novel taps into the same vein of magic as Bridget Jones’s Diary, and any gal or guy who has loved and/or lost will enjoy the personal and romantic journeys of the two leading characters. I absolutely love modern retellings of romantic literary classics, and this […]

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

August 10, 2017 0 Comments Regina

PLEASE DO NOT GO INTO THIS BOOK THINKING IT IS COMPARABLE TO PRETTY LITTLE LIARS LIKE THE BLURB SUGGESTS. IT IS SOOOO NOT. I had a love/hate relationship with PLL, mostly after things started to get old and predictable, after the fourth season. But I still watched it, and I was still highly entertained until the last episode. I read The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas, and I liked it. I was intrigued by it, […]

Blog Tour: The Librarian by Christy Sloat Review + GIVEAWAY!!!

Blog Tour: The Librarian by Christy Sloat Review + GIVEAWAY!!!

June 15, 2017 1 Comment Regina

This book is for 21st century romantics who still believe in the magic of libraries to change lives and to transport them to different worlds. I recommend that readers who enjoyed Outlander, Lost in Austen, or The Librarians treat themselves to Christy Sloat’s novel the next time they have the pleasure of reading an afternoon away. The Librarian is a fast, absorbing, and atmospheric read that you will want to share with all of your […]

What the Librarian Did by Karina Bliss: Book Review + ASMR Librarian Role Play

What the Librarian Did by Karina Bliss: Book Review + ASMR Librarian Role Play

June 2, 2017 0 Comments Regina

“She’s got a secret that’s long overdue.” I am blushing as I type this review post; but YES, I read a Harlequin Super Romance. As I went through one of the handy self-checkout stations at my local library, I convinced myself that this romance novel was probably going to be a DNFer. The synopsis did not sound especially intriguing to me, but the cover and the title were enough to make me risk my prudish […]

The Gentleman by Forrest Leo

The Gentleman by Forrest Leo

May 18, 2017 0 Comments Regina

“A funny, fantastically entertaining debut novel, in the spirit of Wodehouse and Monty Python, about a famous poet who inadvertently sells his wife to the devil–then recruits a band of adventurers to rescue her.” This is a short and sweet book review. I read this book back in February because I was planning on reviewing it for National Poetry Month (in April), but April was busier than I anticipated. Thus, I am reviewing it now, […]

Blog Tour: The Takedown by Corrie Wang + GIVEAWAY!!!

Blog Tour: The Takedown by Corrie Wang + GIVEAWAY!!!

April 19, 2017 1 Comment Regina

THE TAKEDOWN, Blog Tour Digital Assets Title: THE TAKEDOWN Author: Corrie Wang Pub. Date: April 11, 2017 Publisher: Freeform Pages: 384 Formats: Hardcover, eBook Find it: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Goodreads   Kyla Cheng doesn’t expect you to like her. For the record, she doesn’t need you to. On track to be valedictorian, she’s president of her community club, a debate team champ, plus the yummy Mackenzie Rodriguez has firmly attached himself to her hip. She and her three high-powered best friends don’t just […]

BLOG TOUR+GIVEAWAY: Hear the Wolves by Victoria Scott

BLOG TOUR+GIVEAWAY: Hear the Wolves by Victoria Scott

March 23, 2017 1 Comment Regina

About the Book: Title: HEAR THE WOLVES Author: Victoria Scott Pub. Date: March 28, 2017 Publisher: Scholastic Press Pages: 240 Formats: Hardcover, eBook Find it: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Goodreads   It’ s survival of the strongest in a contemporary, girl-versus-wild middle-grade début from Fire & Flood author Victoria Scott! Sloan is a hunter. So she shouldn’ t be afraid of anything. But ever since her mom left the family and she lost hearing in one ear in a blizzard, it’ s been hard […]

Worlds of Ink and Shadow ( A Novel of the Brontes) by Lena Coakley

Worlds of Ink and Shadow ( A Novel of the Brontes) by Lena Coakley

March 18, 2017 0 Comments Regina

From the Bronte Parsonage Museum   This is the kind of book that you want to plan a whole photo shoot for. Isn’t the cover fabulous!? Of course, the title of the book is pretty fabulous as well. And that, my friends, is exactly why I went into this novel with a little trepidation. Would the story be equally amazing, creating a trinity of bookish brilliance? I should know better than to ask so much […]

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

February 24, 2017 2 Comments Regina

Ummmm….An actual relative of COTTON FRIGGIN’ MATHER wrote a book about witches. How am I not going to read and like this book?!?! When I started Adriana Mather’s debut novel, How to Hang a Witch, I knew I was in for a spooky-good time. My anticipation was met, and then some, by the end of the novel. Besides being historically on point, this book was a magical mash-up of some of my favorite 90s and […]

The Wonder by Emma Donoghue + GIVEAWAY!!!

The Wonder by Emma Donoghue + GIVEAWAY!!!

February 7, 2017 2 Comments Regina

ENTER TO WIN a Hardcover copy of The Wonder below! US ONLY. Have you read Emma Donoghue’s Room, or seen the Academy award winning film based off of that book? I haven’t indulged myself in either of these yet, but I did recently read Donoghue’s, The Wonder, and I could not put it down. Set some years after the Crimean War, this story unfolds within the confines of a thatch-roofed home, in a small Irish village, […]

New Year, New Reading Challenges!

New Year, New Reading Challenges!

January 27, 2017 3 Comments Regina

Like many of you, I do not get around to starting my ”New Year” until the end of January. The first few weeks of the month are necessary adjustment days as I recover from the blur that is November and December. In fact, as I am writing this, the 2017 calendar I ordered online still has not arrived in my mailbox. So, I feel perfectly justified in not starting my new year’s plans until February. […]

A Murder in Time (Kendra Donovan #1) by Julie McElwain

A Murder in Time (Kendra Donovan #1) by Julie McElwain

January 7, 2017 0 Comments Regina

Does the cover of this book not beckon you to read it!? Yes, I will admit, I judged this book by its cover. I am glad I read the story synopsis and thought it sounded rad as well. This would be a great book to use that Christmas book money on or gift to your bibliophile friends who love murder mysteries, feminist fiction, Doctor Who, and Sherlock Holmes. Strong female lead? Check. Action? Check. Time […]