Author: Regina

Bring Me Their Hearts by Sara Wolf: Review + Giveaway!!!

Bring Me Their Hearts by Sara Wolf: Review + Giveaway!!!

August 28, 2018 3 Comments Regina

A couple of months ago, I had the pleasure of meeting and interviewing author Sara Wolf at her Katy Budget Books Bring Me Their Hearts release party. If you live in the Houston area, go and buy yourself a signed copy of BMTH! You can also order a signed copy to be shipped to you from their website.   First, I want to say that I was completely dazzled by author Sara Wolf (her nom […]

Not Her Daughter by Rea Frey

Not Her Daughter by Rea Frey

August 20, 2018 0 Comments Regina

Wow. If you start this book with looming deadlines or close to bedtime, be prepared to disregard both once you start reading Rea Frey’s immensely absorbing novel, Not Her Daughter. This is, hands down, one of the most compelling and complex books I’ve read so far this year. It is a fast-paced story that alternates between two female narrators, leading up to and during the kidnapping of a five-year-old girl. This book immerses the reader into […]

The Future Will Be BS Free by William McIntosh

The Future Will Be BS Free by William McIntosh

August 6, 2018 0 Comments Regina

NOTE: I elaborate on some of my issues with this book at the end of my review. It is a little spoiler-ish. I will give a heads-up for when to stop reading/scrolling if you do not wish to know more.  I was ecstatic when I got an ARC of this book because I thought it was going to be full of commentary on the most pressing social and political issues of the past four years. […]

Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl

Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl

July 23, 2018 0 Comments Regina

I know it’s shallow and totally frowned upon to make decisions this way, but I *almost* took a pass on this book because I didn’t like the cover. The synopsis, however, was just vague enough and intriguing enough to pull me in. This book had some I Know What You Did Last Summer vibes, but it is much more sophisticated and way less cheesy. I am not going to spend much time talking about the […]

Cover Reveal: We Told Six Lies by Victoria Scott

Cover Reveal: We Told Six Lies by Victoria Scott

June 29, 2018 0 Comments Regina

Okay, everyone. I have a confession to make. I originally shared the cover of this highly anticipated novel last week, on my Instagram account. I realized my boo-boo and quickly archived the photo. Well, here it is again in all of its glory: I am trying really hard to not read this book until it is closer to the release date, but I caved in and read the first few pages and, OMG, talk about […]

Impossible Saints by Clarissa Harwood

Impossible Saints by Clarissa Harwood

June 28, 2018 0 Comments Regina

I love historical fiction novels that focus on women’s history, especially the women’s suffrage movement. If you can believe it, I have met people who had no idea that women were ever prohibited from voting–or how hard women fought to gain that right. Clarissa Harwood’s novel, Impossible Saints, is a passionate portrayal of the internal and external conflicts and ideological forces that women wrestled with in their day-to-day lives during the suffrage movement. Check out […]

Requiem: A Netflix series review because OMG, this show is AMAZING.

Requiem: A Netflix series review because OMG, this show is AMAZING.

May 11, 2018 0 Comments Regina

I experience an urge to be scared witless from a book or film twice a year, usually in October and during the summer. It’s not quite summer, but I couldn’t resist checking out the new Netflix series Requiem. Long story short: this show was a gripping piece of art infused with suspense, psychological terror, Welsh mythology, and muted horror. I highly recommend adding it to your queue/watching it right away. My abbreviated plot synopsis: The […]

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

May 1, 2018 0 Comments Regina

          Back in the late 1990s and early 2000s, I used to like this punk band named Anne Boleyn. You should definitely do a Spotify search of “Anne Boleyn” to see all of the musical treasures in honor of her.   This book gets five stars because I had a hard time putting it down. Riveting, like it says on the back cover, is an apt description of the novel. I […]

Picture Us In The Light by Kelly Loy Gilbert

Picture Us In The Light by Kelly Loy Gilbert

April 17, 2018 0 Comments Regina

First, I would like to thank Disney Hyperion for the chance to read this story pre-publication. My review is based off an uncorrected ARC. This is definitely one of those books that you HAVE to HAVE because of the brilliant cover. The author’s way with words is brilliant as well. I loved the lyrical prose and syntax that threaded this story together. The characters are vibrant and intense; they were complex and saturated with emotional […]

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones

January 23, 2018 0 Comments Regina

“To understand the things that are at our door is the best preparation for understanding those that lie beyond.” -Hypatia One of the things I loved best about this book was the use of quotes under the chapter headings. I am such a sucker for this. There can never be too many quotes introducing a chapter or section of a book in my opinion. I also loved that the author’s use of quotes to introduce/capture […]

Haven by Mary Lindsey + Giveaway!!!

Haven by Mary Lindsey + Giveaway!!!

January 5, 2018 4 Comments Regina

For all of us who have been going through paranormal/fantasy withdrawal ever since superheros took over our television sets and movie screens, Haven is the perfect paranormal fix. In case you haven’t figured it out from the synopsis (or from other reviews), Haven is a story about werewolves, and I am so ready for supernatural creatures to be back in the YA book-world spotlight. This is the super sexy paranormal YA story that we’ve all been waiting […]

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

December 29, 2017 0 Comments Regina

Why did I read this book? Well, I was drawn to the contrast of the hot-pink hearts and grayscale image of Tolstoy’s face on the cover, in addition to the idea of young adult fiction intersecting with high-culture literary fiction. I checked out this book because I liked the packaging, so I want to give props to all of the people who had a hand in creating the finished version of this product. Sometimes being […]

Slammed (Slammed, #1) by Colleen Hoover

Slammed (Slammed, #1) by Colleen Hoover

November 20, 2017 0 Comments Regina

If you enjoyed Colleen Hoover’s Slammed series, you will obsess over Georgina Guthrie’s Words series. From Power Poetry (dot) com: Slam Poetry is a type of competition where people read their poems without props, costumes, or music. After performing, they receive scores (0-10) from 5 randomly selected judges. … Scores are awarded based on how much each judge likes a poem. I never thought that I would end up reading a Colleen Hoover book. I am not sure why, […]

Haunting the Deep (How to Hang A Witch #2) by Adriana Mather

Haunting the Deep (How to Hang A Witch #2) by Adriana Mather

November 15, 2017 0 Comments Regina

You can check out my review of Adriana Mather’s fantastic debut novel, How to Hang a Witch HERE. Here is the super awesome book trailer for Haunting the Deep: Sam and The Descendents are back in another spine-tingling, atmospheric adventure. Adriana Mather’s stories appeal to the side of me that wants to suspend reality and languish in a world of magic, ghosts, romance, high-school, and haunted histories. Haunting the Deep was every bit as fun […]

The Suffering Tree by Elle Cosimano: The Review, the Controversy

The Suffering Tree by Elle Cosimano: The Review, the Controversy

October 15, 2017 2 Comments Regina

“It’s Dark Magic Brings Him Back.” The name and the cover of this book were not appealing to me. I did, however, think that the dark synopsis was original, therefore intriguing. I did not want to be lame and judge a book by its cover, so I started reading it. Long story short, I could not put this book down. This novel was a refreshing departure from the market-driven YA books that I have been […]

A New YA Book Club for ADULTS!

A New YA Book Club for ADULTS!

September 10, 2017 0 Comments Regina

Whether you are a newbie to book blogging or a veteran, we all know that nothing beats meeting up with fellow readers in RL to chat about books. While there are plenty of Young Adult and Tween book clubs out there, there is a lack of YA book clubs that are strictly for adults. YAforAdults flyer and list of upcoming book club meetings. If you are an adult (18+), love to chat about books in […]

New Release Review: A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor

New Release Review: A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor

August 26, 2017 0 Comments Regina

I thought a setting like this was going to be boring. Beautiful, yes, but ultimately dull. I was sooo wrong. I’ll be blunt. I do not have a sister and reading about drama between sisters is the LAST THING I want to do with my precious reading time. But throwing in the male character tipped the boat in favor of reading this novel for me. I know this is an unpopular position, but I am […]

The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel + GIVEAWAY!!!

The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel + GIVEAWAY!!!

August 21, 2017 2 Comments Regina

The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel is the perfect read to bridge your summer book binges over into your more selective fall reading schedule. This witty and poignant novel taps into the same vein of magic as Bridget Jones’s Diary, and any gal or guy who has loved and/or lost will enjoy the personal and romantic journeys of the two leading characters. I absolutely love modern retellings of romantic literary classics, and this […]

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

August 10, 2017 0 Comments Regina

PLEASE DO NOT GO INTO THIS BOOK THINKING IT IS COMPARABLE TO PRETTY LITTLE LIARS LIKE THE BLURB SUGGESTS. IT IS SOOOO NOT. I had a love/hate relationship with PLL, mostly after things started to get old and predictable, after the fourth season. But I still watched it, and I was still highly entertained until the last episode. I read The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas, and I liked it. I was intrigued by it, […]

Blog Tour: The Librarian by Christy Sloat Review + GIVEAWAY!!!

Blog Tour: The Librarian by Christy Sloat Review + GIVEAWAY!!!

June 15, 2017 1 Comment Regina

This book is for 21st century romantics who still believe in the magic of libraries to change lives and to transport them to different worlds. I recommend that readers who enjoyed Outlander, Lost in Austen, or The Librarians treat themselves to Christy Sloat’s novel the next time they have the pleasure of reading an afternoon away. The Librarian is a fast, absorbing, and atmospheric read that you will want to share with all of your […]

What the Librarian Did by Karina Bliss: Book Review + ASMR Librarian Role Play

What the Librarian Did by Karina Bliss: Book Review + ASMR Librarian Role Play

June 2, 2017 0 Comments Regina

“She’s got a secret that’s long overdue.” I am blushing as I type this review post; but YES, I read a Harlequin Super Romance. As I went through one of the handy self-checkout stations at my local library, I convinced myself that this romance novel was probably going to be a DNFer. The synopsis did not sound especially intriguing to me, but the cover and the title were enough to make me risk my prudish […]