Book Review: November 9 by Colleen HooverNovember 9 by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria Books on November 10th, 2015
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Hmm… As most of you know I’m a huge fan of Colleen Hoover. I love her books. For the most part.

The Slammed series was ah-maz-ing and also The Hopeless series was too. I have to say Hopeless and Losing Hope are my favorite books by her. I know without a doubt that at some point in the future I will read all of those books again.

Fast forward to Maybe Someday. The plot was intriguing and characters were well developed. I liked the idea of a companion music CD was also released. Although, I must say… I didn’t purchase it.

Then comes Ugly Love. I loved this one too. Miles Archer was a very interesting hero. And in case you haven’t heard. Ugly Love is going to be made into a movie. Nick Bateman will play Miles Archer. I think he’s a good fit.

Confess released next. O.M.G. has a new meaning in this book. It’s the initials for the hero. Owen Mason Gentry. He’s an amazing hero. One I was completely smitten with right from the beginning. The plot was unique and I loved pretty much everything about this book.

And finally we have Ms Hoover’s newest release. November 9. Once again the plot is unique, but sadly it’s a bit predictable. I’m not sure I was sold on the whole “only meeting once a year” idea. Again while it’s unique, I don’t think it’s realistic. A lot can happen in a year. 365 days is a long time.

As far as the characters go, I liked both the hero and heroine. I think Ben was good for Fallon’s self-esteem. At times he seemed older then he was. More mature then the average young twenty-something.

For the most part, I liked this book. I can’t say I loved it. It’s not one of my favorite’s by Ms Hoover, but still an enjoyable read.

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Ugly Love by Colleen HooverUgly Love by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria Books on August 5, 2014
Pages: 337
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Ugly Love was a really good book. The plot was intriguing. The characters were full of emotions. I was sort of surprised at how much emotion Miles showed. He’s the type of guy that when he falls, he falls hard. I’ve never met a guy like that in real life. I have a feeling they’re few and far between. I really liked him though. Even when he acted like a butt. And he did. Acted like a butt that is. Several times.

Tate was amazing. I loved her determination when it came to being with Miles. I sort of think the synopsis is a bit misleading when it describes her. I think she acted just the opposite of how she’s described.

The sex in this book is pretty hot for Ms Hoover’s work. Her romance scenes are usually more tame. Almost adult mainstream. In Ugly Love though things gets really hot. Multiple times.

I’ve heard this book will most likely be made into a movie. I’m pretty sure I’ll be seeing it. Rumors are Nick Bateman may portray Miles. He even posted a picture of himself holding a copy of the book on Instagram. I’m still trying to decide if I like him as Miles.

If you’re a fan of Colleen Hoover, you’ll definitely want to grab a copy of this one.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

Reviews: Confess by Colleen HooverConfess by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria, Atria Books on March 10, 2015
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

First of all I just want to say that Colleen Hoover is one of my favorite authors. She’s an automatic auto buy for me. To say I love her books would be an understatement. I love everything about her books. Her writing style. Her characters. Her ability to grab the readers attention from the very first page and hold it until the very end of the book.

Owen Mason Gentry aka O.M.G. is an amazing hero. I fell hard for him from the very first meeting between him and Auburn. I loved his sense of humor. Auburn did right away too. These two connected right away. Their playful banter had me laughing a lot. The chemistry between them was so strong. If ever two characters were meant for each other it’s these two.

The flow of this story was wonderfully paced. It kept building and building. I had a hard time putting it down. All I wanted to do was read it uninterrupted. I love books that are like this one. Books that capture my attention and hold it until the very last page. Books that have unique plots. I can tell you that this is typical for Ms Hoover’s books.

When I reached the end of this book I was happy with the outcome. I liked the way things ended for these two. I also like the way Auburn grew a backbone and finally took a stand. It was refreshing to see her grow into the woman she became.

Overall, if you’re a fan of Colleen Hoover’s books you’ll definitely want to read this one. It’s another physical book buy for my shelves. And if you haven’t yet read her books I highly suggest you give them a try. I’m telling you… she’s a truly gifted author.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

REVIEW: Maybe Someday by Colleen HooverMaybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria on March 18, 2014
Pages: 367
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

At twenty-two years old, aspiring musician Sydney Blake has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her good friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter cheating on her with Tori—and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by her mysterious neighbor, Ridge Lawson. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the daily guitar playing he does out on his balcony. She can feel the harmony and vibrations in his music. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either: He seems to have finally found his muse. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

review

My thoughts…

I could just SQUEE! I’ve been waiting for this one and it seems likes it’s taken forever for release day to get here. Finally though… It’s here!! This book was a highly emotional read for me. I teared up quite a few times while reading it. I love books like this one. Books that touch your heart. Maybe Someday did that and so much more.

There are so many things I want to share with you about this story, but I don’t want to give anything away. 🙁 Let me just say that there’s a surprise that happens pretty early on that will shock you. Or at least it shocked me. I kept thinking that there was no way for Ms Hoover to make this surprise believable. Gosh I wish I could tell you what it is!!! You’re gonna have to read this one!!

The main characters and some of the secondary characters were amazing. I liked both Ridge and Sydney from beginning. They developed a strong connection through music right away and I loved that about them! I enjoyed experiencing how they shared their feelings for each other through the songs they created together.

One of the coolest things about this book is that it has a companion music CD you can purchase and listen too. If you’re reading Maybe Someday in eBook form you have the option of listening to the song that coincides with that particular part of the book via the web for FREE. I really liked being able to read the lyrics and then listening to the finished song after. It’s a cool thing to experience.

Although this is a romance there is only one sex scene. The main focus wasn’t the sex part of this book and I’m ok with that. Maybe Someday has such a strong and powerful storyline that the main focus was the actual storyline. The scene itself wasn’t explicit in nature. It was well written and had a sweetness about it. It was perfect.

Overall I loved this book and it’s characters. I’m happy and satisfied with how things ended.
If you’re already a fan of Colleen Hoover and her work I think you’re going to love this one. If you’ve never read her work before you’re seriously missing out. You need to read this one along with her other works.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Losing Hope by Colleen HooverLosing Hope by Colleen Hoover
Series: Hopeless #2
Published by Atria on July 8, 2012
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In the follow-up to Colleen Hoover’s #1 New York Times bestseller Hopeless, the charming and irresistible Dean Holder tells the passionate story that has melted thousands of hearts.

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.

My thoughts…

This book was amazing. I loved it so much! Holder has got to be one of the best heroes I had the privilege to read about.

Losing Hope is written in Holders POV. I know that seems to be the new thing these days. Authors writing a companion novels in the leading males POV. I’ve heard some negative things about this as well as positive. Normally the deciding factor for me is if I really loved the first book.

Some of the complaints I’ve heard are that the authors are trying to cash in. Make more money just for the sake of it. That a book written in the males POV isn’t necessary. That the story has already been told and doesn’t need to be told again.

Here’s how I feel about it. Even though I know how things happened in Hopeless, I had to know how all of this affected Holder. He’s suffered two huge losses in his life and he felt as though he failed both Hope and Les. That’s a huge burden to carry around for such a young man. The internal struggle his character faced was heart wrenching. He blamed himself for things that happened that were not in his control to accept the responsibility for in the first place. To get a first hand look at how these issues affected him was necessary. His story needed to be told and I’m very happy that Ms Hoover wrote Losing Hope.

I highly recommend both Hopeless and Losing Hope. Both of these novels are incredible stories and I hope you will give them a chance.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

BOOK Review: Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover (@colleenhoover)Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover
Series: Hopeless #2
Published by Atria Books on July 8th, 2013
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In the follow-up to Colleen Hoover’s #1 New York Times bestseller Hopeless, the charming and irresistible Dean Holder tells the passionate story that has melted thousands of hearts.

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.

I went into this book thinking it was going to be the same story as Sky’s but from a different POV.  IT’S NOT.  It’s much more than that. It was almost like reading a new book, only not. Because we do get some rehashing of scenes that we experienced in Hopeless, but with Holder’s inner dialogue it made it a new experience.
This book invoked so many emotions I would probably forget a few trying to list them off. It was one of the most intense emotional roller coasters I’ve been on.

Holder’s story starts a year before Hope aka Sky comes back into his life.  Right before the turning point that made Holder question his ability to protect the ones he loves. We get to experience the loss of Les, Holder’s sister, and everything that happens afterwards.  When preparing for Les’s funeral, Holder comes across a blank leather-bound journal in her closet. Thus begins the Letters to Les.

Les,

You left your jeans in the middle of your bedroom floor. It looks like you just stepped out of them. It’s weird. Why would you leave your jeans on the floor if you knew what you were about to do?

 

Through Holder’s letters to his sister, we discover that Holder is angry at his sister, because he doesn’t understand why she would kill herself and he feels that he failed as a brother. He also tells his sister about things that are going on with his life, now that she isn’t there to be apart of it.

Les,

Well, congratulations. you’re pretty popular. Not only did you fill the parking lot of the funeral home with cars, but you also filled the lot next door and both churches down the street. That’s a lot of cars.

 

Les,

Happy two-week deathiversary. Harsh? Maybe so, but I’m not apologizing.

I absolutely loved the letters that Holder wrote to his sister. It was an interesting way for Holder to deal with  his grief as well as talk to his sister still. Those letters also came in handy when Sky came into his life and he didn’t know what to do with the discovery of her not being who she thought she was and being everything he’s always been looking for.

My heart stops.

Time stops.

The whole world stops.

I recognize those eyes.

Those are Hope’s eyes.

It’s her nose, her mouth, her lips, her hair. Everything about this girl is Hope.

As most of you guys know, Hopeless has ONE OF THE BEST (not really a) first kiss scenes ever. Rereading that scene through Holder’s eyes made it even BETTER.

 

I have to stop for a moment because if I don’t, I’ll for sure break my one and only rule tonight-which is absolutely no mouth contact. I know if I kiss her right now it’ll be great. But Id on’t want her to have great. I want her to have incredible. Looking at her lips right now, I know for a fact it’ll be incredible for me.

“They’re so perfect,” I say. “Like hearts. I could literally stare at your lips for days and never get bored.”

She opens her eyes and smiles. “No. Don’t do that. If all you do is stare, then I’ll be the bored one.”

Reading the scene when Sky discovers that she’s Hope and the events that happen afterwards are just as heartbreaking as the first time I read them. But Sky and Holder were there for each other when facing her father and discovering things that Holder didn’t expect  and that Sky had blocked from her subconscious.

“I love you, Holder. So much,” she says firmly. “And just so you know… so did Hope.”

 

The supporting characters in this book were amazing. We have Holder’s best friend, Daniel, who I don’t think we met in Hopeless. Then of course there is Breckin, Sky’s most awesome Mormon best friend ever!

Between Holder and Sky’s best friends, we got a little bit of humor and it was a nice thing to have in such an intense story.

We got to see Breckin stand up to Holder after the bracelet scene and tell it like it is. Being a Mormon and all, he wasn’t afraid to stand up to someone who, according to rumor, beat up another Mormon the year before.

 

This book was amazing and like I said before like reading a whole new book, not just another point of view.  Because in the end we have a better understanding of everything that happened. At the end of it all, Holder is able to forgive himself and realize he is not the one responsible for Hope disappearing and for Les’s death.

 

If you haven’t read Hopeless yet,  no worries, this book could be read as a standalone or even before Hopeless.  Although I do suggest you read Hopeless because it’s just as amazing as Losing Hope.

Public Service Announcement

PSA for those of us who have previously read Hopeless and know what happens.
View Spoiler »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

Review: This Girl by Colleen HooverThis Girl by Colleen Hoover
Series: Slammed #3
Published by Atria on April 30, 2013
Pages: 304
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

There are two sides to every love story. Now hear Will’s.

Colleen Hoover’s New York Times bestselling Slammed series has brought countless readers to their knees with a whirlwind of love, passion, and heartache.

Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.

In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from hispoint of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

My thoughts…

What a great way to end a great series. This is such a great book.

The story is told in Will’s POV. It’s a little different in the sense that the book switches back in forth between the past and present. While they’re on their honeymoon, Will is telling Lake his point of view of the things they experienced in the past. I thought this was a unique way of telling this story. As a reader I was able to learn his thoughts about the past, but also what they were experiencing during their honeymoon.

I felt a little sad that Will and Lake’s story was ending, but I think the way Ms Hoover wrote it was perfect.

If you’ve yet to read this series I highly recommend it. It’s definitely one of my favorites.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

Review: Hopeless by Colleen HooverHopeless by Colleen Hoover
Series: Hopeless #1
on December 19, 2012
Pages: 327
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

My thoughts…

Have you ever read a story that draws you in from the very beginning? One where you can’t put it down because you can’t wait to find out what happens next? This is what Hopeless did for me. I literally couldn’t stop reading it.

I love, love, love this story. So much! There was never a time where I lost interest or started skimming while reading it. It kept me captivated from beginning to end.

Hopeless is an emotional story about a girl whose adopted at a very young age. She befriends Dean Holder aka Holder who is without a doubt amazing. I liked everything about him. He’s definitely swoon worthy. The chemistry between Holder and Sky is apparent from the beginning. They sort of start off on a rocky road but soon start to form a strong bond.

I’m giving Hopeless a rating of 5+ stars and a definite recommended read. I can’t begin to articulate how good this story is. I will be recommending it to all of my friends and in the future will be reading it over and over again.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.