The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas (Review & Giveaway)The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas
on September 6th, 2016
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE THIS MAN TRILOGY ANDONE NIGHT TRILOGY!

People think they have Camille Logan nailed: daddy's girl; beautiful, spoiled young woman with her father's bank balance to fund her lifestyle. But Camille is determined to have a life free from his strings. Out on her own, she's made mistakes, including one that found her clawing her way back after a stint in rehab and plenty of bad press. Now, after fighting so hard to be independent and happy, she finds her life threatened as a result of her father's ruthless business dealings. Caught between resentment and fear, Camille prepares herself for the measures her father will take to protect her. But nothing could prepare her for the ex-SAS sniper who crashes into her life.

Jake Sharp resides in his own personal hell. He was distracted from duty once before, and the consequences were devastating--both personally and professionally. He vowed never to let that happen again. Accepting the job of bodyguard to Camille Logan isn't the kind of distraction from his demons he should take. Women and Jake don't mix well, yet protecting the heiress seems the lesser of two evils. But Jake soon discovers that she isn't the woman she's perceived to be. She's warm, compassionate, her presence settling, and his duty to protect her soon goes deeper than a well-paid job, no matter how hard he fights it. He needs absolution. He comes to need Camille. But he knows he can't have both.

 

Book Trailer

 

 

Review

Oh. my. GOD. This is another masterpiece from Jodi Ellen Malpas. If you love a Tall, Dark and Moody hero then Jake Sharp is the Book Boyfriend for you.

Jake Sharp has serious demons and he lives with them every day. The only ways that help him keep them at bay is drinking, sex and work. When a job comes in to guard the daughter of a rich business man he’s reluctant to take it at first glance. What he’s expecting is a rich spoiled girl brat, but it isn’t what he gets.

Camille Logan is a smart, independent woman who is determined to make a name for herself without the help of her father.

The moment the two of them meet in the story the chemistry is there and it builds up quite nicely throughout the story. I really enjoyed getting to know the two of them. Jake’s backstory is quite heartbreaking and I definitely didn’t expect for it to turn out the way it did. But in the end it works out quite nicely and it will definitely bring a tear or two to your eyes. It was a very sweet ending.

The Protector is a standalone novel, unlike Jodi’s previous work, and I’m quite sad that we won’t get to spend any more time with Jake and Camille. Who knows? Maybe in the future she’ll re-visit them again. We’ll see…

Jodi definitely knows how to write a Swoony-worthy guy and if you love Jesse and Miller, you’ll LOVE JAKE. Read this book now! If you haven’t read Jodi’s previous series This Man or One Night, you should DEFINITELY check those out as well. 🙂

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

Blog Tour: One Night: Unveiled by Jodi Ellen Malpas

Blog Tour: One Night: Unveiled by Jodi Ellen MalpasOne Night: Unveiled by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Series: The One Night Trilogy #3
Published by Grand Central Publishing on February 10th, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A life without secrets and a passion without end . . .The story of Livy and M's passionate love affair comes to a stunning conclusion in the final book in the One Night trilogy!

Livy has never known pure desire like this. The gorgeous Miller Hart captivates her, seduces her, and worships her in deliciously sinful ways. He knows her innermost thoughts, drawing her ever deeper into his dangerous world.

Miller will do anything to keep Livy safe, even if it means risking his own life. But his dark history isn't the only thing that threatens their future together. As the truth of Livy's family legacy unravels, an unsettling parallel between past and present comes to light. Her world spinning out of control, Livy finds herself caught between the rapture of an all-consuming love-and a deadly obsession that could destroy them both . . .

miller-time

 

I loved this book so much more than the last book. This book starts out a few days after the last one ends. Olivia and Miller are in New York trying to escape from everything happening in London. It doesn’t take long for something to happen causing them to have to go back to London and face everything.

Miller’s trying find a way out of his profession and Olivia’s mother comes back from the dead. Turns out she’s been alive all this time.. Huh. You won’t believe the story behind that. It’s insane! I also would like to point out my suspicions throughout the last two books were RIGHT! Though at first they were so very wrong. 😉 I won’t even say what I’m talking about, but when you finish this book you’ll know exactly what I’m referring to. 😀  The twists & turns in this story are crazy..including what we finally learn about Miller and his boss….I didn’t see any of that coming and it sure did surprise me!

Miller is imperfectly perfect as always… and Olivia, sometimes I wanted to smack her for being such a brat… But that’s what I pretty much expect with all female characters these days. They’re all so stubborn and never do what is best for them..

Nan, we can’t forget about her. She was just as amazing in this book as she has been in the last two books. I’m sad I won’t get to see her or Miller any more after this. 🙁

Now let’s get to that Epilogue. It is written from Miller’s POV and it’s quite long and very sweet. I really loved meeting Harry and learning about his quirks. It was a beautifully written epilogue and a great way to end the story. I’m so glad that EVERYONE got a happily ever after in this story. 😉

I can’t wait to see what JEM will bring in the future.

 

Erin's Review
Erin’s Review
Erin's Review
Erin’s Review

 

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas (It’s MILLER TIME!)

One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas (It’s MILLER TIME!)One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Series: The One Night Trilogy #2
Published by Forever, Grand Central Publishing on November 11th, 2014
Pages: 448
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The passion that burned between Livy and Miller in One Night: Promised may end up destroying them both in this new novel of overwhelming desire and shocking discoveries...

He's amazingly wealthy, sinfully gorgeous, and can bring her to heights of pleasure she's never before known. For Livy, there's no turning back. She's determined to be the light in Miller Hart's dark world. Yet this new life comes with a steep price...

Miller knows that the power he possesses hasn't come without sacrifices-but he won't let Livy be one of them. Though he wants nothing more than to have her in every way, his first duty is to protect her at all costs...from his sins, his enemies, and especially himself.

But as their insatiable affair intensifies, the two attract the attention of an obsessive-and dangerous-third party. Discovering new revelations about Miller that rock her to the core, Livy will have to decide whether he's ruined beyond repair. And he must face his fear that in order to save her, he may have to lose her after all...

miller-time

 

Miller’s name always makes me think of the  “It’s Miller Time” slogan by Miller Beer, so this review will be now called “It’s Miller <3 Time!” Because..well, it is Miller time.

Raise your hands if you love Miller Hart!

hand-raise

 

 

First off, I’ve read a few other reviews on this book. Some things I agree with while some others I don’t.

First, there was some weird editing in this book.
For example, The end of chapter 10/beginning of chapter 11. Did Scotty beam her there? How did she go from Miller’s apartment to being inside of a hotel room. Also, how did she manage to get that specific hotel room? That just totally confused the hell out of me when I read it.

Why is everyone hating on Miller and his “Thing?”

I think it’s adorable. Olivia is the first person in his life he’s allowed to get close to him in that way and so of course it’s going to be an addiction, A THING, that he’ll want. Did anyone get tired of Jesse wanting to “Make Friends” because that was totally his “THING”. I think Miller’s “thing” is JEM just making him more adorable. Just like I thought Jesse and his “making friends” was adorable.

Shut up and let Miller have his "Thing!" It's awwwwwdorable.
Shut up and let Miller have his “Thing!” It’s awwwwwdorable.

 

I enjoyed the first book of this series immensely.  This one I found not to be as good as the first book. Doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, I did..but I think this one seems more like just a filler between Promised and Unveiled.  Not a whole lot happens in this book, with the exception of the last 20% or so. That was when the story started to get a bit more interesting. Yeah, we do learn a little more about Miller and his past, but not a whole lot. Livy was given the chance to talk to Miller and ask him anything but she didn’t do a good job of playing the twenty questions game. Unfortunately she really didn’t ask him any good important questions.

We do see a lot more of William in this book. View Spoiler » Livy takes advantage of William popping up everywhere and learns more about him and his relationship with her Mother in this book.

Livy and Gregory’s relationship is all sorts of FUCKED UP in this book. Some weird shit goes down between Gregory and Livy that honestly I don’t think should have. They both seemed to turn into completely different people at times..and that one scene between them View Spoiler »  was just… odd.

I have to say that while I love Miller, I think that maybe Livy’s Nan had the best quotes in the whole book! I seriously love her Nan. She’s absolutely hilarious.

“I’m no spring chicken, but I can still bump and grind with the best of ’em.”

“I might audition for Beyonce’s next music video. Think I’ll rock it?”

And the scene when Nan is collecting laundry…..

KOCOyHyFA9

 

*Sigh*
And that ending….

cliffhanger

Wow, I didn’t expect that. I can’t wait to see what happens in Unveiled!

While it wasn’t as good as Promised, this book was still an enjoyable read. It could’ve been better..but.. eh, I think it did set us up well for the third and final book. I hope that JEM will blow us away with Unveiled!!

Some of my favorite quotes…

 “Forget the world outside and be with me for ever.” “You’ve underestimated my determination to fix us.”
 “The second I looked at you, I saw light through my constant darkness.”

 “I’ve never made love to a woman in my life.” I barely hear his words. “Only you.”

 “I’m your someone. Everyone has a someone, and I’m yours, like you are mine.”

 “You fit me just right,” he groans, slowly closing his eyes. “The only thing in my life that has ever been truly perfect is you.”

“I love your bones Miller Hart.”

“What’s the most resilient part of you?”
“My heart, Livy. My heart is the most resilient part of me.”

Excerpt

I know I look out of place as I stand near the gym entrance, clearly hesitant, and looking a little overwhelmed. All the machines look like spaceships, hundreds of buttons or levers on each one, and I haven’t the first idea how to operate them. My one-hour induction last week did a great job of distracting me, but the information and instructions fell straight from my memory the second I left the exclusive fitness center. I scan the area, fiddling with my ring, seeing masses of men and women pounding the treadmills, going hell for leather on the bikes and pumping weights on huge lifting devices. They all look like they know exactly what they’re doing.
In an attempt to blend in, I make my way over to the water machine and gulp down a cup of ice water. I’m wasting time being hesitant when I could be releasing some stress and anger. I spot a punching bag hanging in the far corner with no one within ten meters of it, so I decide to give it a try. There are no buttons or levers on that.
I help myself to the boxing gloves hanging on the wall nearby. After securing the Velcro, I give the bag a little poke. I’m surprised at how heavy it is. I inject some power into my weak arm and throw some effort into my next hit. I grunt too, and the bag shifts significantly this time, moving away from me and seeming to pause in midair before it’s on its way back toward me. Fast. I panic and quickly pull back my fist, then extend my arm to prevent being knocked to the ground. Shockwaves fly up my arm when my glove connects with the bag, but it’s moving away from me again. I smile and spread my legs a little, bracing myself for its return, then smack it hard again, sending it sailing away from me.
My arm is aching already and I suddenly realize I have two gloved hands so I pummel it with my left this time, smiling wider, the impact of the bag on my fists feeling good. I’m breaking out in a sweat, my feet are beginning to shift and my arms getting into a rhythm. My shouts of satisfaction spur me on and the bag morphs into more than a bag. I’m beating the shit out of it and loving every moment.
I don’t know how long I’m there, but when I finally let up and take a moment to think, I’m drenched, my knuckles are sore and my breathing erratic. I catch the bag and let it settle, then take a cautious glance around the gym. No one is staring. I’ve gone totally unnoticed, everyone focused on their own workout. I smile to myself and collect a cup of water and a towel from the nearby shelf, wiping my brow as I make my way from the huge room. For the first time in weeks, I feel prepared to take the day on.
I head toward the changing rooms, feeling like a lifetime of stress and woes have just been knocked out of me. The urge to go back in and pound for another hour is hard to resist, but I’m already at risk of being late for work so I push on, thinking this could get addictive. I’ll be back tomorrow morning, maybe even after work today, and I’ll thrash that bag until there are no more traces of Miller Hart and the pain he’s caused me.
I pass door after door, all with glass panes, and peek into each class that’s in session—yoga, spinning, kickboxing. I might try one or two. Or I could give them all a go.
As I’m passing the final door before the women’s changing rooms, something catches my eye. It’s a punching bag swinging from the ceiling hook, but no one’s in sight. I step closer to the door, then gasp and jump back as someone comes into view, bare chested and barefoot. I feel dizzy.
He has those shorts on, the ones he wore when he was trying to make me comfortable. I’m shaking, but my shock doesn’t stop me from peering back through the glass, just to check I wasn’t hallucinating. I wasn’t. He’s here, his ripped physique mesmerizing. He looks violent as he attacks the hanging bag like it’s a threat to his life, punishing it with powerful punches and even more powerful kicks. His body weaves and dodges the bag when it comes back at him. He looks like a pro. He looks like a fighter.
I’m frozen on the spot as I watch Miller move around the hanging bag with ease, his fists wrapped in some kind of bandages, his limbs delivering controlled, punishing blows time and time again. Who does he see before him?
My mind spins, questions mounting, as I quietly observe the refined, well-mannered, part-time gentleman become a man possessed, that temper he has warned me about clear and present. But then I retreat a pace when he suddenly grabs the bag with both hands and rests his forehead on the leather, his body falling into the now subtle sway of the punching bag. His back is dripping and heaving, and I see his solid shoulders rise suddenly. Then he begins to turn toward the door. It happens in slow motion. I’m rooted in place as his chest, slicked with a sheen of sweat, comes into view and my eyes slowly crawl up his torso until I see his side profile. He knows he’s being watched.

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Discussion

I read in an interview with JEM that she doesn’t disclose her character muses (boo!) which means we have to cast her characters ourselves.
Who do you guys picture as Miller Hart? What about Livy?

Honestly I haven’t visually cast anybody as Livy, but I do sort of picture maybe a younger version of Jonathan Rhys Meyer as Miller Hart. Of course not when he’s doing his bug eyes. He tends to do that in photos sometimes. Hahaha.

Jonathan-Rhys-Meyers

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

One Night: Promised by Jodi Ellen MalpasOne Night: Promised by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Series: The One Night Trilogy #1
Published by Hachette Book Group on August 5th, 2014
Pages: 480
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

ONE NIGHT WILL NEVER BE ENOUGH . . .

Livy notices him the moment he walks into the coffee shop. He's heart-stoppingly stunning, with a blue-eyed gaze so piercing she's almost too distracted to take his order. When he walks out the door, she thinks she'll never see him again. Then she finds the note he left on his napkin . . . signed M.

All he wants is one night to worship her. No feelings, no commitment, nothing but pleasure. Every defense mechanism Livy has adopted during her solitary life is at risk of being obliterated by this confounding man. He's obnoxious but well-mannered. He's a gentleman but aloof. He's passionate but emotionless. Yet the fascination is so powerful, Livy can't deny him . . . or herself.

M awakens something in Livy, something deep and addictive that she never knew existed-and that she fears only he can satisfy. But she senses that behind the fast cars, fancy suits, and posh apartment, he's aching inside. To have him, body and soul, she'll have to brave his dark secrets. Delving into his world and breaking down his defenses become her obsession-an obsession that could shatter her heart beyond repair . .

I’m currently on vacation visiting a friend who lives in NYC… I started reading One Night Promised when we were in the for the night last night. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. I was up until 5am reading and then I finally forced myself to go to bed. The second I was up today I dove right back in to the book instead of going out into the city of NY to wander. That’s saying something. 😉

Olivia, otherwise known as Livy, is a 24 year old woman who just started working a bistro, she cannot master the cappuccino machine to save her life.  She could be annoying at times, but when learning more about her and her secrets you start to understand where she’s coming from.

I really loved Livy’s Grandmother, whom she lives with, she was cute and entertaining. Her Nan did all she could to try and get her granddaughter to break out her carefully crafted shell and live her life. It takes making a bad cup of coffee for a dark haired, blue eyed stranger to  cause Livy’s shell to crack.

I LOVE MILLER. He’s a quirky hot guy. He may seem like perfection, but really he has his flaws and his secrets too. Boy, I did NOT expect his secret to be what it was.. JEM really surprised me with his dirty secret. After learning more about Livy’s past, I think Livy’s reaction when learning about Miller’s profession was a little hypocritical, though now that I’m thinking about it..I guess I can’t blame her either after learning more about her mommy issues.

November is too far away! I can’t wait to see where JEM will take Livy and Miller in the next book. Will she get over her issue with Miller? Will we learn more about Miller in the next book? What about William? I can’t wait for One Night: Denied!

More questions I have for the next book (will spoil, hence why I put these ones behind the spoiler alert!)

View Spoiler »

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.