Review & Giveway: The Rule Book by Jennifer BlackwoodThe Rule Book by Jennifer Blackwood
Series: The Rule Breakers #1
on May 9th, 2016
Pages: 290
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD | Indiebound | BAM!
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Starr Media Second-Assistant Survival Guide
1. Don't call your hot boss the antichrist to his face.
2. Don't stare at hot boss's, um, package or his full sleeve of tattoos. (No. Really. Stop!)
3. Don't get on the malicious first assistant's bad side.
4. Don't forget to memorize the 300-page employee manual.
5. If you value your cashmere, steer clear of boss’s dog.
6. Boss’s dimples are lust-inducing. Do. Not. Give. In.
7. “The elevator ate your clothes” is not a valid excuse for showing up to important meetings half dressed.
8. Don't break seven of the rules within the first week of employment if you, ya know, are in dire need of money to support your sick mom.
9. Whatever you do, don’t fall for the boss. See rule eight about sick mom.
10. Never forget the rules.

That synopsis SOLD ME. I was scrolling through my facebook feed and I saw one of the Publicists for Entangled that I am friends with on Facebook post the synopsis for this book last week and I one-clicked the shit out of it when I got done reading the synopsis.

I started reading this book last night and I finished it when I was supposed to be working today at work. Oops, my bad. I just couldn’t put it down.

Lainey is fresh out of college with a job in Seattle as the second assistant to Brogan Starr, the CEO of Starr Media. She’s being told by the first assistant that the boss is the “Antichrist” and she has a 300 employee handbook with 4028502846 rules that proves it.

Brogan Starr is apparently the Antichrist but when Lainey finally gets the chance to meet him and see him interact with his employees it’s obvious that maybe he really isn’t the “Devil”. It’s just his first assistant being an ass. No big surprise there, seeing as Jackson is an asshole from the very beginning. Brogan seems to get along with everyone who works for him and isn’t anything like Jackson made him out to be. Sure he has 5 million rules to be followed but it’s because he’s trying to protect himself.

I really enjoyed this book, Lainey is a witty, entertaining girl with a big heart. She’s doing what she can to help out her sick mom, giving up the finer things in life that she loves so much to make sure her mom gets the treatments she needs. I loved Lainey and Brogan together, even when she’s sticking her foot in her mouth (all the time). The banter between them was cute. Brogan is obviously affected by her but he’s trying to fight what he’s feeling for her. He’s a very private person and he doesn’t even let her touch a picture frame in his office.

If you’re looking for a romantic comedy that’s quirky and sweet, definitely check out this book! This book had a sweet epilogue but I have to wonder what’s going to happen with the rest of the series. I can’t wait to see what it will bring. Are we gonna get more of Lainey & Brogan’s story or are we going to move on to Lainey’s roommate Zoey? I kind of hope it’s more of Lainey and Brogan…but I guess we shall see. 🙂

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer Blackwood

Jennifer Blackwood is an English teacher and contemporary romance author. She lives in Oregon with her husband, son, and poorly behaved black lab puppy. When not chasing after her toddler, you can find her binging on episodes of Gilmore Girls and Supernatural, and locking herself in her office to write.

Blog Tour: Beauty and the Boss by Diane Alberts

Blog Tour: Beauty and the Boss by Diane AlbertsBeauty and the Boss by Diane Alberts
Series: Modern Fairytales #1
Published by Entangled on November 16th, 2015
Pages: 190
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Beauty is about to tame her beast...

Researcher Maggie Donovan has no luck with men, and it doesn't help that she can't keep her eyes off of her sexy boss - the one everyone else in the office calls The Beast. Relationships in the office are forbidden. So no one is more surprised than Maggie when she pretends to be his fiancée to save him during a difficult situation. Not only has she put her job on the line, but the future of the company.

Billionaire Benjamin Gale III doesn't believe in love or romance, but the look on his mother's face when Maggie tells her that she's his fiancée is worth millions. Instead of firing her for her insubordination, he goes along with the ruse. In his arms-and in his bed-she'd be everything he could ever want…which is why he can't have her.

But if he doesn't let her go, they'll lose everything…

OK to be honest, it took a while for me to get in to this book.. Sorry but I have this weird thing about stories being told in the third person. It drives me bonkers! I DON’T KNOW WHY!! But once I got past that, I started to enjoy the story.

Normally I might go in and try to summarize the book for you, but that’s what the synopsis is supposed to be for right? So I’m going to skip that. Obviously this is supposed to be a modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast but other than, Benjamin (or Benji as Maggie started to call him in the book), being referred to as the “Beast” by his employees, I’m not sure how it compares to the Beauty and the Beast story.. But to be honest I’m not all that familiar with the story. I don’t think I ever saw the Disney movie and..it never really appealed to me. I’m more familiar with Snow White, Cinderella, etc.. I know, I think I might be a little weird. LOL. For those of you who have read this book? How does it compare to Beauty and the Beast? Let me know in the comments section below!

Maggie’s character really annoyed me for a bit at the beginning of the story. I liked her just fine in the very beginning but the part when her and Benji go on their “first” date, she came off a total bitch. But when she finally explained herself..it made sense and then I started to like her again. 🙂

Poor Benji, he has had it rough since his dad died. No mother should ever treat her son that way. I felt really bad for him every time his mother showed up in the story. And those people.. Do rich people really act that way? LOL. I mean most books that involve characters that come from money, the people they grew up around always seem.. AWFUL. But this is fiction… Maybe they really aren’t that bad in the real world?

There was a typo at one point in the book when his mother is trying to push him into marrying his ex girlfriend. Telling him that he needs to “Marry someone of god breeding.” I’m assuming that it was supposed to be “good breeding” right? But when I read it I thought that maybe “god breeding” might be right too. Maybe the blue bloods like to think they descend from GODS. Good, God? Eh..

Anyways, other than my stupid issue with POVs..I really ended up liking this book. I didn’t realize until I was working on my reveiw that this is the first book in the “Modern Fairytales” Series. Hmmm…I hope that maybe the next book in the series will be about Maggie’s roommate Becca. I really liked her for the 3 seconds that she showed up in this book. I hope so, because the epilogue in this book wasn’t satisfying enough for me..so maybe if Becca gets a book, I’ll get to see more of Benji & Maggie’s happily ever after. 😉

If you like modern retellings, check this series out for sure. Also please let me know how you think it compares to Beauty and the Beast will you? 🙂

Thanks to Entangled and Diane Alberts for allowing me to read and review this book for the Blog Tour. 🙂

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Diane Alberts

Diane Alberts is a multi-published, bestselling contemporary romance author with Entangled Publishing. She also writes New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling new adult books under the name Jen McLaughlin. She’s hit the Top 100 lists on Amazon and Barnes and Noble numerous times with numerous titles. She was mentioned in Forbes alongside E. L. James as one of the breakout independent authors to dominate the bestselling lists. Diane is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency.

Diane has always been a dreamer with a vivid imagination, but it wasn’t until 2011 that she put her pen where her brain was, and became a published author. Since receiving her first contract offer, she has yet to stop writing. Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, and a cat. Her goal is to write so many fantastic stories that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

BOO!ks for October: The Descartes Legacy by Nina CroftThe Descartes Legacy by Nina Croft
Published by Edge, Entangled, Entangled Edge on September 30, 2013
Pages: 250
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Lucas Grafton has spent the last ten years hunting the Conclave, a secret organization who took everything from him: his wife, his child, his very identity. Now he has a lead—an imminent terrorist attack on London—code-named Descartes.

Born with a genetic illness, Jenna Young has always known she was different. But the unexpected death of her father catapults her into a world of murder and terrorism she never expected. In order to stay alive, she must solve a twenty-five year old mystery—and her only ally a hard bitter man in search or retribution, her only clue the Descartes Highlands, an area on the near side of the moon.

Luke’s need for revenge collides with Jenna’s hunt for the past, and together they must stand against the Conclave. All the while uncovering the truth behind Jenna’s illness, a truth that will make Jenna question her very humanity.

The Descartes Legacy is a Blockbuster movie waiting to happen.

Okay, this book might not be spooky in the BOO! sense, but it’s definitely creepy and suspenseful, thus making it fit for a BOO!ks for October rec.

Lucas Grafton– Tall, dark, and handsome. A man on a mission. Our male MC.

Jenna Young– Tall, blonde, and beautiful. A woman with a purpose. Our female MC.

The Conclave– Exclusive terrorist organization

 

I really enjoyed the evolution of Nina’s main characters, and found myself crushing hard on the brave, tortured, vigilante-esque Luke. Luke is introduced during an intense stake-out at the beginning of the book. I love when a book keeps me on my toes, and I wasn’t sure if Luke was going to be a like-able character.  He turned out to be more than like-able. His character is hot and heroic, without compromising his sensitive side.

Jenna, who becomes Luke’s love-interest, is a deceptively cool character. Upon first impressions, I didn’t like Jenna. She’s one of those women who is annoyingly attractive, and just ”sleeps” with men as opposed to having relationships with them because of a hang-up she’s nursing. But when Jenna and Luke are drawn together by mysterious events involving The Conclave, her character starts to shift. She let’s down some of her walls, and becomes this cool, fascinating woman.

The life-threatening events that Luke and Jenna find themselves in works as a vacuum, and their relationship progresses rather quickly, but it’s believable and satisfying under the circumstances. I really enjoyed the arc of Jenna and Luke’s characters throughout this story.

Reading this book was like watching a movie. The action sequences were nail-bitting, and the story development in between was good enough to hook even the most anti- action film/book type of person. I think this book easily speaks to both genders.

I thought The Descartes Legacy was going to be your stock, run-of-the-mill action/thriller, but there was a Science Fiction twist to the story that left me on the edge of my seat. It had the same kind of effect that The Sixth Sense had on me. I reveled in the feeling of being surprised, and thought to myself, “Damn. That was sooo good!”.  I’ll let the book-blurb for The Descartes Legacy speak for itself, and not go into anymore detail about the plot.

The Descartes Legacy was intense. The overall pacing and feel to the story reminded me of a Dan Brown novel ( The Da Vinici Code, Angels and Demons, Inferno). Yes. I did. I just compared Nina Croft‘s writing to the great Dan Brown. ( I love Dan Brown’s books, if it wasn’t already obvious). This book is a page turner, and clever plot devices keep it surprising and intriguing as it swiftly moves along.  There are a few scenes in this book that are explosive in ”more ways than one”, and properly place it on the Entangled Edge roster. Go read The Descartes Legacy. Luke Grafton is waiting for you like a Puma.

 But for some reason, the stranger who stood in the doorway didn’t make her think ”police.” He was tall, at least six three, with a lean body beneath black pants and a black shirt open at the throat. His face was pale, his hair short and black.

When he saw she’d noticed him, he stepped into the room and came toward her, moving with the grace of an athlete, each step controlled, giving Jenna the impression of  leashed power.

 

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Book Review: Chaos by Christine O’Neil + GiveawayChaos by Christine O'Neil
Series: Kardia Chronicles #1
Published by Ember, Entangled, Entangled Teen on August 26th, 2013
Pages: 286
Format: ARC
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

My name is Maggie Raynard. After sixteen years being just plain me, suddenly, when I lose my temper, my fingers become weapons of mass destruction. Turns out I'm a semi-god, descended from Aphrodite. Sounds cool in theory, but when I accidentally put my ex-boyfriend in a coma, things go downhill pretty fast.

Now some new guy named Mac Finnegan has made it his mission in life to continually piss me off. I'm stuck learning how to use my new powers while also dealing with regular high school problems, and with this annoying—and super-hot—guy all up in my business, I'm about to flip out.

But it gets worse. I just learned there's this watchdog council of semis who keeps an eye out for any bad apples. They think I'm the baddest of the bunch and want to take me out before I do any more damage. My nemesis Mac might turn out to be my salvation, only he's got secrets of his own...and they may just kill us both.

Maggie recently has found out that she is what they call a Semi-God..Someone who descends from a god or goddess. In Maggie’s case, it’s Aphrodite, the greek goddess of love, beauty, pleasure, and procreation. She’s slowly coming into her powers and watch out, because if you piss her off you might end up in a coma like her Ex, Eric.

Out of nowhere, the New kid, Hot & Irish, Mac Finnegan, has decided that he wants to mess with Maggie for no good reason. He seems to know how to push her buttons just right and that’s not a good thing for him or Maggie.


I have to be honest, it took a while for the story to get going but once it did I really started to enjoy the book. I loved Maggie and the things that came out her mouth. She was witty, sarcastic and full of attitude and had no problem saying what was on her mind. When you put her and Mac Finnegan together. Wowie! The chemistry between was electric, though both of them try to deny it’s there. The bickering between the two of them was entertaining and sometimes it seemed as though Maggie wanted to attack and kiss him, while other times she wanted to attack and kill him.

It’s interesting to see Maggie’s character develop throughout the book as she learns more about where she comes from and how to control her new powers and try to be the best that she can be, rather than the worst that they expect her to be.

Even though it started out slow, this book did pick up and when it did I couldn’t put it down. If you’re a fan of Greek Mythology and books where the protagonist is a snarky teenaged girl, I definitely recommend this book.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer Armentrout + Giveaway!!!!Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Entangled on August 27, 2013
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

Katy’s boyfriend’s back, and someone’s gonna be in trouble…

[sc_embed_player fileurl=”http://mereadalot.com/muzak/06-the_raveonettes-my_boyfriends_back.mp3″] <–Click for this review’s theme music.  (My Boyfriend’s Back by the Raveonettes)

We’re gonna need a bigger movie studio for this one.

 

I don’t really know how to review this book, except by ”objectifying” it. When I first saw the cover of Origin, it brought me to my knees. I freaked out. My friends freaked out. The blogosphere freaked out. WE ALL FREAKED OUT. That icy-blue cover with that hot-as-hell alien staring down the world, set my blood boiling and gave me chills in all the right places. I thought to myself, ” Damn. I hope Origin lives up to it’s cover.” I didn’t even consider the possibility that the story would surpass the cover, but that’s exactly what it did. Writing and scene crafting of such EPIC-PROPORTIONS lay between the pages of this book. It’s feisty and luxurious like a kitten on sexy, satin sheets.  The dual POV was played out to perfection. This was the hottest piece of Lit I have had my hands on in recent memory.

 

Origin satisfies on so many levels. Being inside Daemon’s head made me embrace his character as so much more than an Alien-Adonis, with wicked powers and an ego to match. In Origin, more than any of the other Lux books, we see Daemon surrender to his humanity. His heart is no longer his own. Katy is his weakness, and he welcomes it. Daemon will do whatever it takes to save her from Daedalus, including walking into the arms of the enemy to do it. Katy and Daemon prove they are stronger together, than apart. When they are reunited under the watch of Daedalus, the warmth, joy, fear, and raw emotion that Jennifer builds between them is like Ambrosian nectar . Daemon and Katy find out some serious stuff about the Luxen and Arum while imprisoned. When Daemon and Katy find an undercover ally amongst themselves, an escape plan starts to fall into place and it’s non-stop, heart-pounding action from there on out.

 

An out-of-this-world discovery is made. Friends and family reunite.New friendships are forged. Someone is betrayed. New lives are taken, and new lives are made. Jennifer brings on the bad-ass in monumental currency, and I swear I felt like I could kick a juggernaut’s ass, or stomp my foot down and split the Earth after reading this book. Origin will take over your brain like an alien invasion. This is a long book, but trust me. You will want to finish it in one sitting.

 

We meet a handful of new characters in Origin. Some of them are trustworthy, and some of them deserve to die. Intimate and cathartic moments mixed with intense, high-anxiety scenes give Origin a blockbuster presence.  Origin appealed to all of  my senses. It made me laugh, purr, and cry. It gave me mega, super, FEELS. When it was over, I wanted to experience it again, and again. It made me feel like an Origin. Set free for the very fist time. Lux #4 has brains, brawn, and beauty. Jennifer made so many emotions; sentiment and sarcasm, sensuality and severity, give depth and meaning to what I thought was gonna be a quick, one-night-stand. You are going to want to take this one home, and hold it close. Enter the giveaway below, and you could win a date with win a signed copy of Origin. I’m going to see Jennifer at the Houston Bookrave in November, and the lucky winner will get a personalized copy of Origin. I will send it out after having it signed.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Gravity (The Taking #1) by Melissa West + GIVEAWAY!Gravity by Melissa West
Series: The Taking #1
Published by Entangled on December 18, 2012
Pages: 284
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

In the future, only one rule will matter:

Don’t. Ever. Peek.

Seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander just broke that rule and saw the last person she expected hovering above her bed — arrogant Jackson Locke, the most popular boy in her school. She expects instant execution or some kind of freak alien punishment, but instead, Jackson issues a challenge: help him, or everyone on Earth will die.

Ari knows she should report him, but everything about Jackson makes her question what she’s been taught about his kind. And against her instincts, she’s falling for him. But Ari isn’t just any girl, and Jackson wants more than her attention. She’s a military legacy who’s been trained by her father and exposed to war strategies and societal information no one can know — especially an alien spy, like Jackson. Giving Jackson the information he needs will betray her father and her country, but keeping silent will start a war.

I was sucked in by the Gravitational pull of this awesome book cover.

Humans are no longer alone in the universe. Aliens, known as the Ancients, helped Earth recover from near extinction decades ago, and the Ancients only needed one thing in return: To use humans as their own personal batteries.  Humans are each assigned their own Ancient, and are visited every night by these beings. The Ancients absorb vital nutrients without compromising their human’s health. This transaction is known as The Taking. These visits are regulated, and every human wears a high-tech eye mask that keeps them from seeing their symbiants. Sounds creepy, right?
Ari Alexander is 17-years-old, human, and has been trained her whole life to be a weapon. Her combat skills are unparalleled, her discipline is unwavering, and she has a clear view of the world: everything is black and white. That is, until she breaks the one rule that matters most. Ari can’t find her mask, and she opens her eyes during The Taking. Life as she knows it has changed forever. She never expected to see the boy she has known her whole life as Jackson Locke, her main rival in training, to be hovering above her and sharing her life force.
The world in Gravity is a futuristic dystopian-like setting that is reminiscent of the film Gattaca, starring Ethan Hawke. Everything is planned to precision and laid out in clean, straight lines, including Ari’s future. Since sneaking a peek during The Taking, shades of grey have seeped into Ari’s black and white world.  She is questioning everything she sees and has been programmed to believe since she was a child. Jackson isn’t the boy she thought he was, and the revelations and rapport that transpires between them is the catalyst for this romantic, action-packed read.
 Something sinister is brewing under the surface, and Ari is faced with decisions that will impact everyone and everything she cares about. The lifelong training Ari has had, prepares her to be a heroic vigilante for the other team, and we follow her on this adventure of espionage and Exodus.
If you are a fan of the Divergent series or Under The Never Sky, than you will enjoy Gravity. This story was fast-paced and made my heart pound in more ways than one. Melissa’s writing is friendly and down-to-earth.
 I enjoyed Ari’s strong, yet compassionate character.
Jackson’s self-preservation imposed arrogant facade juxtaposed with flashes of inner turmoil made for an attractive and sympathetic male lead.
Melissa West has put a new spin on human/alien relations, and I can’t wait to read the rest of Ari and Jackson’s story.
Hover, the second book in this series, is coming out soon! If you haven’t read Gravity yet, here’s your chance to enter to win a digital copy:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Melissa West

Melissa West writes young adult and new adult novels for Entangled Teen and Embrace and Penguin/Intermix. She lives outside of Atlanta, GA with her husband and two daughters and spends most of her time writing, reading, or fueling her coffee addiction.

She holds a B.A. in Communication Studies and a M.S. in Graphic Communication, both from Clemson University. Yeah, her blood runs orange.

Published byEntangledFormat:select

Our private conversation on Victoria Scott’s Dante Walker. We didn’t know we were being recorded!

Erin Westlund i’ll email you the html code to alter and post in your post next time you want to do that ;p i’m going back to dante now

Regina Vitolo Mader Ok, haha.

Erin Westlund I want to be Dante’s sweet girl mmhmm

Regina Vitolo Mader Yup. Told you.

Erin Westlund Haha

Regina Vitolo Mader I’m glad you liked it. I was afraid you wouldn’t haha.

Erin Westlund it took me a bit, because I felt bad for Charlie like after the party and shit lol but once dante started to realize she was beautiful in her own way i was like WOOHOO to both of them ;p

Regina Vitolo Mader I loved that Dante attitude right from the first page! It sucks that Charlie still made herself look different even though Dante was falling for her old self.

Erin Westlund she couldn’t help it though. Every time she did it, it got more painful to resist.

Regina Vitolo Mader Yeah

Erin Westlund and then the last time she did it to save him.

Regina Vitolo Mader Can’t wait to see what happens in the liberator! I better get that freakin arc and then I can forward it to you lol.

Erin Westlund hahah bitches!

LATER IN THE CONVO……

Regina Vitolo Mader HOT DUDES and HOT PLOT and cool clothes
lol Oh, wait! How did you imagine Dante?! I totally imagined him as Pepe with 15 pounds of muscle added, lol.
Erin Westlund I dunno just a dark haired dude in skinny jeans and red chucks lol and shaggy dark hair.

Regina Vitolo Mader NEIN skinny jeans! Lol , that sounds lame. Dante likes to wear relaxed fit. But dried a little snug.

Erin Westlund I dunno he just seems like a skinny jeans dude lmao

Regina Vitolo Mader HELL NO. You need to reread Dante, RIGHT NOW! He’s a JOCK! No jock wears skinny jeans! That’s what Jamie Campbell Bower does!

Erin Westlund how the hell do you know? it’s been over 10 years since we were in High School LOL small jocks can totally wear skinny jeans lmao. Not all jocks are big and beefy lol

Regina Vitolo Mader dude. DUDE. I know Dante, ok!?

Erin Westlund pfft

Regina Vitolo Mader I made my hubs dress like Dante the other day. Black shirt, and nice dark, relaxed fit jeans. Just a tad snug on the bum. lol Dante has to have room to work it.

Erin Westlund pfft

Regina Vitolo Mader Did Charlie’s grandma remind you of your own? LOL. She reminded me of my friends grandma!

Erin Westlund My grandma is freakin’ crazy

Regina Vitolo Mader lolz. She would be alll over Dante wouldn’t she? I’m totally going to be a cougar grandma.

Ok, ok! I have to go watch my dvr’d PLL, and google pics of Henry Cavil in Immortals. BBL!

Erin Westlund lol bye

The Marked Son (Keepers of Life #1)The Marked Son (Keepers of Life #1) by Shea Berkley
Published by Entangled on August 2, 2011
Pages: 334
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Seventeen-year-old Dylan Kennedy always knew something was different about him, but until his mother abandoned him in the middle of Oregon with grandparents he’s never met, he had no idea what.

When Dylan sees a girl in white in the woods behind his grandparents’ farm, he knows he’s seen her before... in his dreams. He’s felt her fear. Heard her insistence that only he can save her world from an evil lord who uses magic and fear to feed his greed for power.

Unable to shake the unearthly pull to Kera, Dylan takes her hand. Either he’s completely insane or he’s about to have the adventure of his life, because where they’re going is full of creatures he’s only read about in horror stories. Worse, the human blood in his veins has Dylan marked for death...

I had to read this book because the guy on the cover was calling to me. I mean, come on. Just look at the perfectly subtle, bow-shaped pout of those lips. Could you resist such pillows of perfection? The rest of that bad boy face isn’t bad, either. Now that we have established that I’m shallow, let’s take a deeper look at this book.

Dylan is our hunk on the cover. An outcast since birth, he’s been haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl in white since he can remember. These dreams have been the only constant thing in Dylan’s life. He has grown up with only his flighty mother for family, skipping town every time another one of her relationships goes sour. With no real friends or stable life to cling to, Dylan and his mother find themselves leaving town once again, heading to Dylan’s grandparent’s house. Grandparent’s that Dylan has never met. The unexpected meeting between Dylan and his maternal grandparent’s proves to be the first of many life changing events to occur. Dylan has always known something was different about him, but chalked it up to his nomadic lifestyle and lack of familial stability. Things start happening while at his grandparent’s house that mentally test his sanity, and Dylan is sure that what’s different about him has been calling him to this place all along.
Dylan’s grandparent’s sheep farm is in the middle of podunksville and is surrounded by a thick, and beckoning forest. The girl in white that he knows and loves from his dreams is making real-life appearances, and this is where the story starts to get good. If you love fantasy novels and parallel worlds, than this book is for your. I’m usually not a fan of reading about fairies and Lord of the Rings like fable, but this book hooked me. I loved reading from a guy’s POV, and enjoyed when I read from Kera’s POV alternately in this book. Kera is our girl in white and heroine of the story. Kera’s clever and defiant personality made me fall for her, and I wish I could have seen more unfold between her and Dylan in this novel. I now have something to look forward to in the following books. An array of interesting farm folk and mystical creatures invade Dylan’s life, and he can’t help but feel it filling the hole his mother and absentee father have left in his heart. Supernatural powers and battles in an alternate realm give this story a fantastical feel and keep things interesting. It had a dash of Princess Bride for my liking, and a lot of edge of your seat moments. Shea Berkley unfolds a tale filled with magical realism and boyish charm. I will definitely be recommending this to my fantasy loving friends.
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
The Collector (Dante Walker #1) by @VictoriaScottYA Review and GiveawayThe Collector (Dante Walker #1) by Victoria Scott
Series: Dante Walker #1
Published by Entangled on April 2,2013
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

He makes good girls...bad. 

Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence have made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple: weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal-opportunity collector and doesn't want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within ten days.

Dante doesn't know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect, he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector…and uncover emotions deeply buried.

 The Antidote by St. Vincent

Dante gets ready to this song. 🙂

Contrary to popular belief, Dante Walker is a little piece of Heaven on Earth.
 
 Hey, guys. My name’s Regina. A while back I read this book called The Collector. One of my homegirls said I would like it, so I gave it a shot. 
Dante flippin’ Walker. I really didn’t want to like this guy. I heard he gave Daemon Black from the Lux series a run for his money, and I wasn’t about to give this book the time of day. I’m protective over my closet boyfriends (YA crushes), so I took a peek at The Collector synopsis to see if this Dante character was a threat. I was ready to put to bed the buzz I had been hearing about this guy, and I went into this story ready to defend Daemon as reigning king of YA heart-throbs.
[*Crickets*]
Love (ahem) is a very fickle thing.
The name Dante used to materialize images in my mind of marble Italian sculptures, classical literature, and pointy green trees. The lyrical and poetic prose of Dante Alighieri’s famously grotesque Inferno would burn brightly through my thoughts with unpleasant after effects. Things are different now. Since I submitted myself to The Collector, fitted black t-shirts and red Chuck Taylor’s dance through my head like sugar skulls at the name Dante, and I’m ready to wax poetic about this diabolical hunk. The name Dante never sounded so good.
When I think about Victoria Scott’s The Collector, the song from Breaking Dawn part 2 where Bella is arm wrestling Emmett and breaks the boulder plays through my head as I picture Dante’s studly figure standing in front of a hotel room sink, running a comb through his ink black hair as he prepares to go out and turn females into sweating hormones and seal some souls. Dante is an otherworldly hunk that roams around Earth collecting souls for the boss man himself (aka Satan). Dante’s arrogant attitude fits him like a pair of freshly dried dark jeans, and he knows his good looks didn’t die when he did. With only a handful of Collectors at Satan’s disposal, Dante is the head honcho. The best of his kind and the boss man has given him a special assignment: COLLECT CHARLIE COOPER’S SOUL.
In The Collector our bad boy Dante’s skills are seriously put to the test with this Charlie chic. She’s the antithesis of Dante and looks like the cover model to Home School Weekly. She’s the Violet to our Screech. How is Dante going to work his wily ways on a girl that’s more interested in feeding stray raccoons and organizing community service events than partying? Charlie’s soul is bright white and proves to be a challenge to corrupt.
Did I LOVE this book? HELL YES. I love the way Victoria makes everyone so familiar. Charlie and her friends are people I could have eaten lunch with in high school, and Dante’s that stud who passed out flyers in between classes to come see his band play at the local venue. The pacing of the story is swift and stylishly written. The chemistry Victoria creates between Charlie and Dante is sweet and forbidden. Every stepping stone of their relationship is played out in the most satisfying way. There’s nothing I love more in a book than when love and attraction sneak up on someone. Mr. Popularity falls for the dork. The jock falls for the choir chic. Charlie’s character is the best kind of dorky/endearing, and Dante’s bravado and swagger make him more hot than not. The other character’s that play an integral role in this novel were memorable and creative. Oh, and the plot is pretty cool, too. This book was so much fun to read and left me in withdrawal mode when it ended. Dare I say this novel is generation defining? I do. It’s the Never Been Kissed and She’s All That to this decade, but waaaay cooler. (If you’re too young to remember those movies, I highly recommend them.) This book is definitely reread material, and if you haven’t read The Collector yet, here’s your chance. The Liberator (Dante Walker #2) is coming out in August, and to celebrate we are giving away 2 e-book copies of Dante Walker #1.

Enter below to win a 1 of 2 copies of Victoria Scott’s THE COLLECTOR in ebook format (Kindle or Nook)between 6/19/13 – 6/26/13 (up until 11:59pm est)

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Book Review: Obsession by Jennifer L. ArmentroutObsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Entangled on May 31, 2013
Pages: 370
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

He’s arrogant, domineering, and... To. Die. For.

Hunter is a ruthless killer. And the Department of Defense has him firmly in their grasp, which usually doesn’t chafe too badly because he gets to kill bad guys. Most of the time he enjoys his job. That is, until he’s saddled with something he’s never had to do before: protect a human from his mortal enemy.

Serena Cross didn’t believe her best friend when she claimed to have seen the son of a powerful senator turn into something... unnatural. Who would? But then she witnesses her friend’s murder at the hands of what can only be an alien, thrusting her into a world that will kill to protect their secret.

Hunter stirs Serena’s temper and her lust despite their differences. Soon he’s doing the unthinkable—breaking the rules he’s lived by, going against the government to keep Serena safe. But are the aliens and the government the biggest threats to Serena’s life…or is it Hunter?

OH H-O-L-Y CRAP.

So Obsession came out on Friday (5/31), but I was lucky enough to win an ARC from the Publisher the night before so I got an early start on my reading!!

This book was a great way to hold us ADULT fans of the LUX series over until the release of Origin. When I found out that JLA was releasing an adult book from the LUX universe I got super excited!! I love super hot romances and I must say Obsession is SMOKIN’ HOT!!!! I almost had to take a cold shower when I got done reading it because it had some SUPER HOT SEXY TIMES!!!

I LOVED LOVED LOVED HUNTER!! He consisted of all the best ingredients to make a super hot alpha male WHO IS AN ALIEN!!!! He was cocky, arrogant, bossy, snarky, etc, etc.. He was PERRRRRFECT!!! Amazing!

“That´s an alien. I´m an alien. We´re aliens. Aliens everywhere, actually, which is why we have to leave. I´m sure someone called the police by now.” – Hunter

Serena was also amazing…She didn’t take Hunter’s crap at all and dished it right back at him! We like girls who are sassy, makes for interesting banter between characters!! But like most girls who are sassy, they usually don’t always know what’s good for them..so they tend to do some stupid things and Serena is not any different!

“Never in my life had I been more frustrated. Go figure it wouldn’t be with a human but a freaking alien. At least I now knew that the male species were asses no matter what planet they hailed from.” -Serena

In this book we learn that maaaaaybe the LUXEN aren’t always going to be the good guys and just maybe the Arum aren’t always going to be the bad guys. It was interesting to get a whole different angle of the luxenverse (HA. YES! I JUST CAME UP WITH THAT. Let’s now refer to the world of the LUXEN and ARUM novels as LUXENVERSE. :D) and see it from the POV of someone who is one of the supposed “bad guys” of the story.

We also learn a little bit of information about something called Project Eagle in and how it may play part in the next LUX book, Origin.

View Spoiler »

 

Wow. Yeah..I’m wondering if maybe the Good Luxen and the good Arum will be teaming up in the future? We shall see….

Overall this book was a great read, I couldn’t put it down once I started reading it. It is supposed to be a stand alone novel, so if you’ve never read the LUX series, it’s alright because JLA does a good job of explaining things as the story goes along.  I do hope that we get to see more of Hunter & Serena in the future!

Now we only have to wait another…
[fergcorp_cdt]
until we can finally FINALLY KNOW WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON in the LUX Series. 🙂

Oh, I forgot to mention…I’m totally conflicted now. I don’t know whether I should be #TeamLuxen or #TeamArum!!!! 🙁 🙁 🙁

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.