Blog Tour: Bounce by Noelle August + Giveaway

Blog Tour: Bounce by Noelle August + GiveawayBounce by Noelle August
Series: Boomerang #3
Published by William Morrow on August 25th, 2015
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Playing the occasional club gig just isn’t cutting it for twenty-two-year-old cellist Skyler Canby, who’s trying to support herself and her mother back home in Kentucky. Persuaded by her best friend Beth to accompany her on an audition for the first feature film launched by Blackwood Entertainment, she figures why not? Beth’s a shoe-in for the lead, but maybe Skyler’s newly dyed pink hair will help her stand out enough to score a small speaking part.

Never in her wildest dreams does Skyler imagine she’ll land the lead role or that she’ll have her shoes knocked off her feet by the kiss her audition partner, Grey Blackwood, plants on her—a kiss that feels very real and not at all “acted. ”

After throwing a party that causes thousands of dollars of damage to his older brother’s home, reckless musician Grey Blackwood gets roped into working off his debt on the set of his CEO brother’s newest project. Grey spends his days fetching coffee and doing odd jobs around the studio, but he lives for nights when he performs with his band. He knows if he can stay focused, success as a singer is just around the corner. But that’s tough with a distracting pink-haired girl occupying his every waking thought.

Skyler and Grey have every reason to resist each other. But, like a song neither of them can get out of their minds, they have no choice but to go where the music takes them.

Bounce is the final book in the Boomerang series by Noelle August. It can be read as a standalone, but I suggest reading the first two books in the series as the characters from the previous books show up throughout this book and references to events in those books are mentioned.

Skyler is a musician from Kentucky looking to make it somehow in Los Angeles. She ends up at an audition for a movie with her roommate.

Grey is the younger brother of Adam Blackwood, who we get to know in the previous book Rebound. After a wild party Grey has pretty much destroys his brother’s house, Grey has to work off what he owes his brother for damages. One of the things he ends up having to do is to sit in an audition for a movie Adam has invested in. He’s standing in for the leading actor who can’t make it to the audition for the female lead.

After hours of reading lines with numerous girls, in comes Skyler and the sparks start flying.

Grey & Skyler have instant chemistry and it’s off the charts, but other than the first time they met you don’t really see them act on it all that much. Thanks to Adam for loaning Grey out to Garrett (the male lead in the movie they’re filming) as his personal assistant, he’s on set every day and is around Sky quite a bit.

Sky doesn’t see them working out, due to the fact that she is the ripe old age of TWENTY TWO to Grey’s NINETEEN. WOW, what an age difference! NOT. She makes such a big deal over it, when really it’s not that bad. I almost forgot that she was only in her early twenties. She made it seem like she was 30ish everytime she complained about how he was younger than her. She has such an issue with having feelings for Grey that she even goes so far as to “date” Brooks. It starts up this weird love triangle thing, but you quickly realize that it’s not really anything to be worried about.

Grey has some serious issues he needs to work through in this book and he does everything he can to avoid said issues..but eventually he gets his head out of his ass and sees that it doesn’t take blood to make someone your family and for people to love you like their own.

Eventually Sky falls victim to the pressures of being an actress in Hollywood and in the end it finally brings her and Grey together. THANK GOD.

Like I said, this book is supposed to be the final in the Boomerang series, but I can totally see them spinning of this series and go in to the lives of some of the characters we meet in this last book. Especially seeing as I didn’t get an EPILOGUE. >:( All series should end with an epilogue. WHO AGREES WITH ME?

Anyways, if you like cute light hearted romances, I definitely suggest you check this series out.

Thank you to William Morrow for an advanced copy in exchange for my honest review. 🙂

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Noelle August

Question: What do you get when friends pen a story with heart, plenty of laughs, and toe-curling kissing scenes? Answer: Noelle August, the pseudonym for renowned editor and award-winning writer Lorin Oberweger and New York Times bestselling YA author Veronica Rossi, the masterminds behind the Boomerang series.

BLOG TOUR: Rebound by Noelle August + GiveawayRebound by Noelle August
Series: Boomerang #2
Published by HarperCollins, William Morrow on February 10th, 2015
Pages: 291
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

At Boomerang, one night can change everything…

 

Noelle August has taken the New Adult genre by storm, and readers can’t wait to see what chaos, confusion, and connections arise at the Boomerang offices next.

 

Adam Blackwood has it all. At twenty-three, he’s fabulously wealthy, Ryan Gosling-hot and at the top of his game in the business world. His life is perfect, until a scandal from his past resurfaces and threatens to knock the tech wunderkind down and throw his company, Boomerang, a hook-up site for millennials, into chaos.
Alison Quick, the twenty-one-year-old daughter of a business tycoon—and the very ex-girlfriend of Boomerang’s former intern, Ethan—has a problem of her own. After nearly flunking out in her senior year of college, she has one chance to redeem herself to her father by proving that she deserves a place in his corporate empire. That means spearheading her father’s plan to sink big money into Adam’s company and launch it into the stratosphere—provided Adam has no skeletons in his closet.
When the two meet, their sizzling chemistry makes it tough to keep things strictly professional. But when Alison discovers Adam’s secret, she knows she should bring it right to her father, who’ll leverage it for his own gain and use it to ruin Adam. The only problem: she’s falling for Adam—hard.

 

Will earning her father’s approval come at the price of losing her first real love? Or can Adam and Alison leave behind past mistakes and conquer the world—together?

 

I have to be honest here… I think I may have liked this one better than the first one. The reason why I know this is because I actually had to go back into Boomerang and skim it through a bit and see what exactly Alison did to her Ex in that book. Oops. :X

After going through something horrific with his last girlfriend in college, Adam has closed himself off from any sort of romantic relationships and only resorted to hookups and while blaming himself for what happened in college.

Alison, oh Alison, it’s probably a good thing I didn’t remember what it is you did in the first book that caused your relationship to Ethan to to end or else I may have not read this book….Alison has recently graduated college and now she needs to prove to her dad that she can handle the family business. I ended up liking Alison a lot. She was a good person who made a terrible mistake, but after learning more about her family, and especially her dad, it all made sense.  I’m so glad that she and Adam found each other and are able to help each other get over things that happened in their past and move on with their lives with each other!

 

This was a cute story, but it did get a bit emotional at times. There is quite a cast of characters in this series and I liked them all! This book did start out with Insta-Love, but it totally worked in this story! So don’t let it turn you off from continuing on with the book.
I can’t wait for the next book in the series, Bounce! We’ll get to know Adam’s brother, Grey Blackwood, better in that one. 😉

 

Thanks to William Morrow/Harper Collins for the opportunity to read & review this book for the blog tour! 🙂

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Noelle August

Question: What do you get when friends pen a story with heart, plenty of laughs, and toe-curling kissing scenes? Answer: Noelle August, the pseudonym for renowned editor and award-winning writer Lorin Oberweger and New York Times bestselling YA author Veronica Rossi, the masterminds behind the Boomerang series.

The Miniaturist by Jessie BurtonThe Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
Published by HarperCollins on August 26, 2014
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed From A Friend
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarHalf a Star

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam-a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion-a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed…"

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office-leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist-an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand-and fear-the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

(Skip to the end of the post for the SHORT VERSION of my review)

August, 2014. I walk into my local Barnes and Nobel and am stopped in my tracks by a “New Releases” display table. There is one obvious ”winner” to this display: The Miniaturist.

Shiny hardcovers of it are stacked left and right, on top, below, and facing me on one of those nifty display stands. It feels like Christmas in July. The cover reminds me of a snow globe and Tchaikovsky’s Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy plays in my mind.

In short, this book looked and sounded magical.

I have never ”seen” the potential of a gripping book synopsis wasted more than it was with this book. I have never been more compelled by a historical fiction novel and as let down as I was with this book.

Let me stress that this is NOT the author’s fault when it comes to my expectations. I just didn’t get what I wanted or what I expected from this novel going off the hype and the book description… and that really bummed me out because I wanted to love this book.

I haven’t read any historical fiction set in Amsterdam that I can recall, and I think the author did an adequate job describing what 17th century Dutch life was like. Even if she did go off the deep end in some instances.

But none of it necessarily led up to ANYTHING.

The back of the book boasts that it is “steeped in mystery” and that it is a “compelling page turner”- all things having to do with plot. Since the plot is being emphasized in this book over the characters, I really expected something stellar. But there wasn’t anything stellar or worth all the page turning at the end.

The experience was like watching M.Night Shyamalan’s The Sixth Sense but not getting the twist ending.

I needed SOOOO MUCH MORE from this book. Yes, I got all the themes of oppression, hypocrisy, romantic love, platonic love, retribution, etc, etc. But none if was very deep, really. You could see most of the situations wrapped up in these themes coming from a mile away .

I do have to give the book credit for keeping me enthralled enough to want to know how the characters were going to react to certain situations.

Now, maybe my disappointment for this book is all my fault, and it doesn’t permit me to give this book a low rating. But I felt so completely underwhelmed and to be quite honest, pissed, by the end of it that I had to give it this rating.

The longer  I kept waiting for the book to ”get good”, the more my common sense told me to throw the book at the wall. ESPECIALLY after a couple of the more graphic, unnecessary scenes.

Short Version: 

The likability of this book was inconsistent to the point of frustration.

Pacing was alright.

I was compelled to keep reading page after page until I realized there would be no ”Big Reveal” or discovery.

The ending was beyond disappointing.

Some descriptions were unnecessarily and grotesquely fleshed out. I didn’t like it.

This book was supposed to be very atmospheric but I thought it was meh.

To end on a good note, I did like the author’s syntax and writing style, and her characterization was thorough and intriguing.

 

Aaaand, just for fun:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jt3oAyK_IG8

One StarOne StarHalf a Star

Book Review: Stay With Me by J. Lynn (Blog Tour)

Book Review: Stay With Me by J. Lynn (Blog Tour)Stay With Me by J. Lynn
Series: Wait For You #3
Published by William Morrow on September 23rd, 2014
Pages: 448
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

At 21, Calla hasn't done a lot of things. She’s never been kissed, never seen the ocean, never gone to an amusement park. But growing up, she witnessed some things no child ever should. She still carries the physical and emotional scars of living with a strung-out mother, Mona—secrets she keeps from everyone, including her close circle of college friends.

But the safe cocoon Calla has carefully built is shattered when she discovers her mom has stolen her college money and run up a huge credit card debt in her name. Now, Calla has to go back to the small town she thought shed left behind and clean up her mom’s mess again. Of course, when she arrives at her mother’s bar, Mona is nowhere to be found. Instead, six feet of hotness named Jackson James is pouring drinks and keeping the place humming.

Sexy and intense, Jax is in Calla’s business from they moment they meet, giving her a job and helping her search for Mona. And the way he looks at her makes it clear he wants to get horizontal . . . and maybe something more. Before Calla can let him get close, though, she’s got to deal with the pain of the past—and some very bad guys out to mess her up if she doesn't give them her mom.

Stay With Me is another amazing book from one of our favorite authors Jennifer L. Armentrout. Book 3 in her new adult series WAIT FOR YOU, Stay With Me follows Teresa Hamilton’s friend Calla as she tries to put her life back together after discovering that her mother has stolen her college money and racked up a massive amount of debt in Calla’s name.
While the book starts out at the College and town where Wait For You and Be With Me take place in, the story leaves there and goes to Calla’s hometown outside of Philly.

Calla has escaped a strung out mother and memories of a tragedy that has left Calla scarred both physically and emotionally with plans to make for a better life for herself. When it comes time to pay for her next semester in school she discovers that the money in her college fund is missing. Not only that, but someone has racked up a huge credit card debt in her name. When Calla can’t get a hold of the person who is responsible for this, her mother, she goes back to her hometown to try and find out what’s going on.

Entering Plymouth Meeting, her hometown, Calla goes straight to the one place where her mother should be. Only to find a hot bartender who gives Jase a run for his money as lieutenant of the Hot Guy Brigade. Which is what she calls the guys (Cam, Jase, Ollie, etc..) in her circle of friends.

Jax is a hot guy ex-marine, who spends his nights tending bar and has his own flaws. I think he makes the perfect, or not so perfect, match for Calla. I really enjoyed Jax a lot. He was a lot different from Cam and Jase.. The only thing that bothered me about Jax is the way he handled the Aimee situation… it was a serious ‘DUH!’ moment..and he should’ve realized that he was handling it all wrong. Other than that he was great with Calla.

I loved meeting Katie and Roxy. You never knew what was going to come out of Katie’s mouth. I hope that we see more of her in the future as well as Roxy, there’s definitely a story to Roxy and I do believe we will be getting behind her next. I can’t wait!!

Poor Calla, she’s had so much heartbreak in her life and really no one to share it with. She’s afraid to tell her friends about her past. She’s so independent until one day she’s not..and on top of that she’s never really LIVED her life. She has so much to experience and I find that maybe her mother screwing her over financially may have been the best thing to happen to her. She learns to trust her friends and open up to them..and she finds some one who helps her experience the things she’s been missing out on. 😉

I really enjoyed this book, it was a bit different from the last two books in the series.. It was a lot more suspenseful and I really liked that about this book. It also had a cameo from some of JLA’s other characters and I’m not talking about the characters from the Wait For You series, because they’re a given..you shall see. 😉

Thanks to the publisher for allowing me to read and review this book! I look forward to the next book in the series, Fall with Me, which the cover for will be revealed next month so look out for it!!

 

The Wait For You Series by J. Lynn

wait-for-you trustinyou bewithme

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Great by Sara BenincasaGreat by Sara Benincasa
Published by Harper Teen, HarperCollins on April 8, 2014
Pages: 263
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarHalf a Star

Everyone loves a good scandal.

Naomi Rye usually dreads spending the summer with her socialite mother in East Hampton. This year is no different. She sticks out like a sore thumb among the teenagers who have been summering (a verb only the very rich use) together for years. But Naomi finds herself captivated by her mysterious next-door neighbor, Jacinta. Jacinta has her own reason for drawing close to Naomi-to meet the beautiful and untouchable Delilah Fairweather. But Jacinta's carefully constructed world is hiding something huge, a secret that could undo everything. And Naomi must decide how far she is willing to be pulled into this web of lies and deception before she is unable to escape.

Based on a beloved classic and steeped in Sara Benincasa's darkly comic voice, Great has all the drama, glitz, and romance with a terrific modern (and scandalous) twist to enthrall readers.

Part of me wishes I had spent the money I blew on this book on some US Weekly or OK! gossip mags instead.

I never understood what was so great about The Great Gatsby. I read and analysed it my junior year of high-school just like everyone else, and I read it with great expectations because of the  reputation that proceeded it. The story just never hit the mark for me, even when I reread it a couple of years ago. I went into Great with a neutral mindset.

If you LOVED The Great Gatsby because of the time period it was set in, you will dislike this book. If you just plain hated TGG and thought it was boring, you might love this book. It could go either way, really. So let me give prospective readers of Great a piece of advice; don’t read this book expecting it to be a clever retelling or something profound. Just go with it and maybe have fun drawing parallels or figuring out which character represents who from The Great Gatsby.

The setting and situations reminded me of the vacuous/plotting/back-stabbing kind of people featured in the television show Revenge, also set in The Hamptons, but not nearly as entertaining.

The characters in Great never quite filled the shoes of Nick, Daisy or Jay Gatsby. I can’t even remember the character’s names, to be honest, but I do remember that our narrator had the most god-awful mother that took up too much space in this story in my opinion. Every time the narrator started talking about or engaging with her mother, I almost gave up on the book.

The pacing of Great seemed laborious and LONG-ASS chapters almost sent this book to an early grave for me. In fact, I almost let this book die 137 pages in, but pushed on for the sake of reviewing it.

 Nobody should have to wait until page 138 of a 263 paged book before it starts to get good. The first 137 pages earned themselves a solid 1, maaaaybe 1.5 stars from me. But the momentum, intrigue and writing seemed to pick up soon after, ultimately pushing  me to give Great a 2.5 star rating.

If I go into any detail about the plot, it would include spoilers. If you’ve read the classic that Great is based on, then you know enough to make an educated guess early on in the book as to what spin the author puts on this American tale.

This book kind of reminded me of a stand-up comic who goes through a tortuous amount of awkward, shotty material in front of an audience before hitting her stride. And by then, what little kernels of good material the comic does have, it doesn’t make up for the latter.

Have you read Great? How did you feel about the book?

One StarOne StarHalf a Star
The Distance Between Us by Kasie WestThe Distance Between Us by Kasie West
Published by Harper Teen, HarperCollins on July 2, 2013
Pages: 312
Format: Paperback
Source: Borrowed From A Friend
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she's beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

There’s nothing like meeting the man of your dreams…. at a doll store.

Caymen Meyers lives above and works in a porcelain-doll store owned by her mother, tucked away in quiet, wealthy town. In RL we all know that anyone that lives and works with creepy dolls would be possessed or psychotic, but this is fiction so Caymen is a smart, down-to-earth, functional young lady. She has an extremely dry and sarcastic sense of humor. I connected with that trait and found Caymen to be an immensely entertaining character.  Caymen has never known her father and her and her mother have been struggling to make ends meet. Their seriously niche business isn’t bringing in enough to pay the bills every month but it’s definitely bringing in the boys.

 

creepy ass dolls
Creepy-ass dolls. I could have gone scarier but didn’t for my sake.

 

Cue the Meet-Cute.

The story starts out with a handsome rich guy named Xander Spence wandering into Dolls and More with his ear glued to his cell phone.  I found this to be humorous and Caymen did as well. I mean sure, it might sound sexist, but put a guy in the middle of a doll store by himself and it looks funny. Tangents aside, this is where the magic begins.

After their unique first meeting, what unfolds between Caymen and Xander is warm and sweet like Godiva chocolate melted down for hot cocoa….plus marsh mellows. I really, really, really enjoyed the time spent in the novel between Caymen and Xander getting to know each other. It brought back the kind of butterflies that you only get when you’re in high-school and are in the delicious purgatory of ”not sure if you’re just friends or something more.”  The romantic tension that builds between these two from supposedly different worlds was spot on. The author gives us enough back story to make the reader care about the two main characters but I wish it would have went a little deeper on Xander’s side. I will admit that there were a couple of times that I found Caymen’s thought process on the annoying side but thankfully the author resolves those issues in the story.

I have a peeve about character names that sound pretentious or weird for the sake of wanting to be ”original”. I thought I was going to have that issue with this book but to my relief, I didn’t. I warmed up to the characters immediately and we get a story behind Xander’s name that makes it all better. I do not recall hearing what Caymen’s namesake was but I just rolled with it because the author addresses Caymen’s name with some jokes and funny dialogue.

I was able to get a clear image of the town the story was set in and all the places the characters spent time in. This book was like watching a Nicholas Sparks movie….but better….and not as sad. I would recommend this book to any fan of contemporary romance done in a very easy-going way. Witty dialogue,  great build up, and a really sweet connection left me wanting more from Caymen and Xander’s story after the novel ended.

This book was a nice pallet cleanser as my friend Kristen would say. It’s light, smart, and sweet. A great in-between if you are in a reading rut or have been reading heavier books. This book explores the stereotypical thoughts we may have about people that are different than us-people that come from a different social class- thus exploring the distance between not just Caymen and Xander, but Caymen and her family as well. I could definitely see myself reading this book again just for the fun of it.

 

I hope this isn’t what Caymen has to come home to after a night out with her friends…

Hi, Caymen. Mamma has me now.
Hi, Caymen. Mamma has me now.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
DNF: Royally Lost by Angie StantonRoyally Lost by Angie Stanton
Published by HarperCollins on May 6th, 2014
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
 Stars

Dragged on a family trip to Europe’s ancient cities, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, over-eager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is miserable. That is until she meets Nikolai, a guy as mysterious as he is handsome. And she unknowingly finds herself with a runaway prince.

Nikolai has everything a guy could ask for-he's crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing he doesn't have...is freedom. Staging a coup, he flees his kingdom and goes undercover on his own European tour.

When Nikolai and Becca meet, it’s their differences that draw them together. Sparks fly as they share a whirlwind of adventures, all the while dodging his royal guard. But Becca's family vacation ends in a matter of days. Will Nikolai and Becca be forced to say goodbye forever, will his destiny catch up to him, or will they change history forever?

I am a sucker for books where the girl gets the prince. I’ve also read Angie Stanton’s Jamieson Collection series and I enjoyed those books. When I saw this book on edelweiss and saw who the author was, I of course, had to request it.

I started reading it and instantly disliked the female MC, Becca. The Male MC, Nikolai’s introduction to me wasn’t so hot either..but.. I powered through….

When I got to 14% I couldn’t take it anymore!!

Nikolai is a prince who is anti-monarchy and Becca is being anti everything on her family’s European vacation. If she throws a fit about him being a prince when she finds out I’m going to throw my iPad. Ungrateful girl is on a trip to Europe whining about the history of the places she’s visiting…how she doesn’t want to go to this palace or church or even be on the tour at all… I would about kill to go to Europe and explore all of their historical buildings and learn more about their history.. And I’d swoon and have a heart attack if I met a good looking prince! All she does is whine..all they both do is pretty much whine. To be Honest, I don’t even know if I’ll ever finish this book and find out if she throws a fit when she finds out he’s a prince.. maybe one day when I’m bored I will get curious as to how it all ends..but for now..I just can’t take it.

So if you’ve been planning to read this..good luck. If you get through, Please let me know how it ends. If they both evolve into less whiny characters I will continue reading it.

 Stars
Review: Be With Me by J. Lynn (@JLArmentrout)Be With Me by J. Lynn
Series: Wait For You #2
Published by HarperCollins, William Morrow on February 4th, 2014
Pages: 299
Format: eARC
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Teresa Hamilton is having a rough year—she’s in love with her big brother’s best friend, but he hasn’t spoken to her since they shared a truly amazing, mind-blowing, change-your-life kiss. She got out of a terrible relationship. And now an injury is threatening to end her dance career for good. It’s time for Plan B – college. And maybe a chance to convince Jase that what they have together is real.

Jase Winstead has a huge secret that he’s not telling anyone. Especially not his best friend’s incredibly beautiful sister. Even though he and Teresa shared the hottest kiss of his life, he knows that his responsibilities must take priority. He certainly doesn’t have time for a relationship. But it doesn’t help that all he can think about kissing the one girl who could ruin everything for him.

As they’re thrown together more and more, Jase and Tess can’t keep denying their feelings for each other. But a familiar danger looms and tragedy strikes. As the campus recovers, the star-crossed couple must decide what they’re willing to risk to be together, and what they’re willing to lose if they’re not…

I have yet to read a book written by Jennifer L. Armentrout that I haven’t loved. Be With Me is no exception.
This book is about Teresa Hamilton, who we met in Wait For You. At the start of the book she’s starting her freshman year while she’s recovering from an torn ACL. She’s working on Plan B, while she waits for her body to heal so she can go back to her dancing. For the last so many years she’s been secretly crushing on her brother’s best friend,  Jase Winstead. A year ago they kissed..once..and since then they’ve pretty much been ignoring each other.. Until now. 😉

Now that Tess is going to college while she heals from her injury, she’s “reconnected” with Jase. Tess keeps getting hot and cold signals from Jase. One minute he wants her, the next he’s pushing her away. He’s hiding something from her, from everyone. It seemed obvious to me as to what was keeping him from having  a relationship with Tess, but when he finally opened up and talked to Teresa, I was totally shocked to see my theory was right.

On top of Tess having to deal with indecisive Jase, she’s having to deal with problems with her roommate. If you’ve read Wait For You, you  have an idea as to what Teresa has already endured in the past..but now we’re hearing it from HER point of view and we’re seeing her witness her roommate go through the same predicament.. Teresa uses what she’s learned from her past experiences and she attempts to stand up for her roommate… and boy..Jenn threw us a serious curve ball, because what happened with that entire situation, HOLY CRAP I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING!! Wow. That was, I have no words for it… Insane. 

Cam and Avery, I LOVE THEM. I WANT MORE FROM THEM. You see them quite a bit in this book and they’re just as amazing as secondary characters as they were as the main characters. Though I would kill to get some more one-on-one time with them, especially if Cam is ever successful in his current endeavors. Ha.

Jack, Jase’s little brother, was absolutely adorable! And Jase was sooooooo good with him. I loved seeing Jase with his little brother.

While I think the story started out a bit slow, it finally got up to speed and from there I really enjoyed it.  Jenn gave us some some predictable and some NOT-SO-PREDICTABLE twists in this story. I can’t wait to see what she has in store for us with the next book, Stay With Me!

 

The Wait For You Series by J. Lynn

wait-for-you trustinyou bewithme

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Rome by Jay CrownoverRome by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men #3
Published by William Morrow on January 7, 2014
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

Cora Lewis is a whole lot of fun, and she knows how to keep her tattooed bad boy friends in line. But all that flash and sass hide the fact that she’s never gotten over the way her first love broke her heart. Now she has a plan to make sure that never happens again: She’s only going to fall in love with someone perfect.

Rome Archer is as far from perfect as a man can be. He’s stubborn and rigid, he’s bossy and has come back from his final tour of duty fundamentally broken. Rome’s used to filling a role: big brother, doting son, super soldier; and now none of these fit anymore. Now he’s just a man trying to figure out what to do with the rest of his life while keeping the demons of war and loss at bay. He would have been glad to suffer it alone, until Cora comes sweeping into his life and becomes the only color on his bleak horizon.

Perfect isn’t in the cards for these two, but imperfect might just last forever . . .

My thoughts…

Rome is book three in the Marked Men series. I’ve been waiting for this one to become available. I love military heroes. There is just something about them that draws me in. This story had me laughing and crying. Yes, Ms Crownover brought me to tears a couple of times. Both Rome and Cora are secondary characters from previous books and I was happy they got their own book.

Rome. He’s a sexy alpha male who suffers from PTSD. He’s in a grumpy mood most of the time. Even though he’s grumpy I loved him. He’s strong willed and a protector.

Cora aka Tink. She’s smart and sassy, doesn’t take crap from anyone, and is very protective of her friends. She also meddles. I didn’t really care for this aspect of her. Since starting this series there has been a time or two where I think she overstepped her boundaries. Having said that I liked her for the most part and I think she had the best of intentions in her actions.

While I enjoyed Rome I did have a few issues with it:

The plot was interesting and held my attention for the most part, but there were a few times I found myself skimming pages. 🙁

The hero and heroine have unprotected sex from the get go. Although I’m against this I do however understand that sometimes this is necessary for storyline purposes.

They both agree that they’re not each other’s type, but Rome goes on to state Cora is smoking hot. I don’t get the “She’s smoking hot, but not really my type thing” It just doesn’t make sense to me.

Overall, I liked this one. It didn’t blow me away, but it was good. If you’re a fan of this series I think you’ll enjoy this one. If you haven’t read it yet I hope you’ll give it a try.

series-listRule (Marked Men #1)
My Review | Purchase
Jet (Marked Men #2)
My Review | Purchase

.

One StarOne StarOne Star
Review: Jet by Jay CrownoverJet by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men #2
Published by William Morrow on May 28, 2013
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne Star

With his tight leather pants and a sharp edge that makes him dangerous, Jet Keller is every girl’s rock and roll fantasy. But Ayden Cross is done walking on the wild side with bad boys. She doesn’t want to give in to the heat she sees in Jet’s dark, haunted eyes. She’s afraid of getting burned from the sparks of their spontaneous combustion, even as his touch sets her on fire.

Jet can’t resist the Southern Belle with mile-long legs in cowboy boots who defies his every expectation. Yet the closer he feels to Ayden, the less he seems to know her. While he’s tempted to get under her skin and undo her in every way, he knows firsthand what happens to two people with very different ideas about relationships.

Will the blaze burn into an enduring love. . . or will it consume their dreams and turn them to ashes?

My thoughts…

Jet is book two in the Marked Men series by Author Jay Crownover. While I enjoyed Jet & Ayden’s story, I don’t think it was quite the story Rule was. There was just something fascinating about Rule that captured my attention from the beginning.

This one started out as a slow read for me, but the more I read the more enjoyable it became.

Even though Jet & Ayden appear to be completely different on the outside they are actually a lot alike in some ways. I couldn’t help but root for them. I wanted them to figure out their issues and come together as a couple.

The sexual scenes for this one are pretty mainstream. Thet weren’t overly explicit in nature and I kind of expected them to be a little hotter than they were, but otherwise they were sort of hot.

Overall, Jet sort of failed short for me. There was just something missing that I can’t quite put my finger on.

One StarOne StarOne Star
Review: Stealing Harper by Molly McAdamsStealing Harper by Molly McAdams
Series: Taking Chances #2
Published by William Morrow Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Chase Grayson has never been interested in having a relationship that lasts longer than it takes for him and his date to get dressed again. But then he stumbles into a gray-eyed girl whose innocence pours off her, and everything changes. From the minute Harper opens her mouth to let him know just how much he disgusts her, he's hooked.

But a princess deserves a Prince Charming who can make her dreams come true. Not a guy who can turn her life into a nightmare.

All good intentions go out the window when Harper starts to fall for the guy Chase has come to view as a brother. He wanted to protect her by keeping her away, but he can’t stand to see her with anyone else, and he’ll do anything to make her his. But when it comes down to Harper choosing between the two, will Chase have the strength to step back from the girl who has become his whole world if it means she’ll be happy?

Lines will be crossed. Friendships will be put to the test. And hearts will be shattered.

My thoughts…

This is going to be a very short review.

OMG! I knew going into this one that it was going to be highly emotional and I wasn’t wrong. By the end of Stealing Harper I was a blubbering mess. Literally. I’m still a bit emotional over it. I’m so glad that Ms McAdams wrote his story. I loved Chase. He struggled from the beginning with wanting Harper for himself and pushing her away because he didn’t feel he was worthy of her. Even though he thought he wasn’t good enough for Harper I knew that if anyone could change him for the better it was her. And she did. She made him want to change because he loved her so much and she was his entire world. He changed for her.

If you haven’t yet read Taking Chances I highly suggest you give it a try. It’s an amazing read and so is this one.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: From Ashes by Molly McAdamsFrom Ashes by Molly McAdams
Series: ,
Published by William Morrow on 416
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

When Cassidy Jameson's best friend Tyler took her to Texas with him when he left for college, she was expecting his cousin, their new roommate, to be a Stetson-wearing cowboy since his family owned a ranch; not this incredibly gorgeous guy with a husky Southern drawl that seemed to make the world stop whenever she looked at him. Because of her past, she's only ever trusted two men in her life, Tyler and her dad whom passed away when she was six. But there's something about Gage that draws her to him in a way she can't explain, only problem? He's always telling Tyler that he doesn't want Cassidy living there and sees her as nothing more than his little sister.

Gage Carson was excited his cousin Tyler was coming to live with, and go to college with him. When he'd called to ask if he could bring his friend Cassi with him, Gage didn't care. Gage had heard about this mysterious friend since they were kids and felt like he already knew her. Nothing would prepare him for watching her jump out of Ty's Jeep though. Not only was Cassi the most beautiful girl he'd ever seen, but there was something about her that within seconds of meeting her, made Gage want to protect her, and make her his. Too bad Tyler made it a point to remind Gage on a daily basis that he was dating her and she was completely off limits.

For a year and a half, Gage and Cassidy dance around their feelings for each other as Tyler continues to keep them apart; until one day Tyler unknowingly pushes her right into Gage's arms. With Tyler unable to keep lying to them, they finally start a relationship both have been craving since their first meeting. But when an accident and disaster sends her back to Tyler and California, will Cassidy be able to come face to face with the demons from her past to live a life she and Gage deserve; or will the fact that she once again ran to Tyler be the final push that ends Cassidy and Gage for good?

My thoughts…

From Ashes is the second book by Author Molly McAdams. After having read Taking Chances a short time ago, I was really excited to read this one. While I enjoyed reading From Ashes, I feel it was too long and some scenes should have been omitted via editing.

The premise was quite good and the characters were realistic, but I found myself skimming through quite a bit of it.

Would I read it again? Probably not.

Would I recommend it? Sure. Overall I enjoyed this story. I just wish it would have been a bit shorter in length.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star