by Victoria Scott
Published by Scholastic, Scholastic Press Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About the Book:

Title: HEAR THE WOLVES

Author: Victoria Scott

Pub. Date: March 28, 2017

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Pages: 240

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoodreads

 

It’s survival of the strongest in a contemporary, girl-versus-wild middle-grade début from Fire & Flood author Victoria Scott!

Sloan is a hunter.

So she shouldn’t be afraid of anything. But ever since her mom left the family and she lost hearing in one ear in a blizzard, it’s been hard to talk to people, and near-impossible to go anywhere or do anything without her dad or big sister within eyesight — it makes her too scared to be on her own.

When they leave her home alone for what should only be two nights, she’s already panicked. Then the snow starts falling and doesn’t stop. One of her neighbors is hurt in an accident. And the few people still left in Rusic need to make it to the river and the boat that’s tied there — their only way to get to a doctor from their isolated Alaska town.

But the woods are icy cold, and the wolves are hungry. Sloan and her group are running out of food, out of energy, and out of time. That’s when the wolves start hunting them . . .

Who else needs a poster of this AWESOME book art!?!

Dear Readers,

Be ready to tear through this book like a wolf through its prey. Victoria’s middle-grade début novel will snatch your imagination by the throat and shake it to its core. A fast-paced and attention-grabbing read, Hear the Wolves howls with tension, drama, fright, and courage.

I could not put this book down.

The ending of each chapter left me with so much anticipation, that I devoured the book in one sitting. I admit that I had reservations going into Hear the Wolves. First, I was not sure if a middle-grade novel would hold my attention. Secondly, as a diehard animal lover, I did not know if I would make it through much less enjoy a novel with a protagonist who was a hunter; but this is where an author’s skills shine through. Victoria’s deft handling of the realities of rural Alaskan life worked like magic, subduing my reservations. The complex characters and suspenseful plot absorbed my attention and propelled me through the story.

I loved the diversity of the setting and the flawed characters. Victoria explores the world of the Alaskan wilderness through the eyes of Sloan, the female protagonist, and her fellow townsfolk. Sloan is the kind of female MC that we need in fiction today. She is flawed and perfect because of it.  Intelligent, sensitive, and courageous, Sloan’s character ARC provides a powerful narrative for girls and boys alike: Your past does not define you. Your agency and courage in the face of adversity does. YOU ARE POWERFUL.

A unique and adrenaline-spiking story, Hear the Wolves also teaches a valuable lesson about the effects that human actions have on nature and wildlife. This is a MUST read for tweens, teens, and adults. Keep scrolling, and ENTER TO WIN a FINISHED COPY of this gorgeous book! US ONLY.

About Victoria:

Victoria Scott is the author of eight novels including Titans, Fire & Flood, Salt & Stone, the Dante Walker trilogy, Hear the Wolves (March 2017), and Violet Grenade (May 2017). She is published by Scholastic and Entangled Teen, and is represented by Sara Crowe of Pippin Properties.

Victoria’s latest novel, Titans, received two starred reviews, and Fire & Flood has been selected as a 2017 Spirit of Texas Reading Program book. Victoria’s novels have been bought and translated in fourteen foreign markets. The author currently resides in Philadelphia, and loves hearing from her readers.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of HEAR THE WOLVES, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 Tour Schedule:

Week One

3/20/2017- YA Books Central Interview

3/21/2017- Just Commonly– Review

3/22/2017- Falling For YA– Guest Post

3/23/2017- MEREADALOT– Review

3/24/2017- BookHounds YA– Interview

Week Two

3/27/2017- A Backwards Story– Review

3/28/2017- A Gingerly Review– Excerpt

3/29/2017- Book Briefs– Review

3/30/2017- Mundie Moms– Interview

3/31/2017- Library of a Book Witch– Review

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

Blog Tour: Salt & Stone (Fire & Flood #2) by Victoria Scott + GIVEAWAY!!!Salt and Stone by Victoria Scott
Series: Fire and Flood #2
Published by Scholastic on February 24, 2015
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In Fire & Flood, Tella Holloway faced a dangerous trek through the jungle and across the desert, all to remain a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed for a chance at obtaining the Cure for her brother. She can't quit--she has to win the race, save Cody, and then fight to make sure the race stops before it can claim any more lives. In the next legs of the race, across the ocean and over mountains, Tella will face frostbite, sharks, avalanche, and twisted new rules in the race.

But what if the danger is deeper than that? How do you know who to trust when everyone's keeping secrets? What do you do when the person you'd relied on most suddenly isn't there for support? How do you weigh one life against another?

The race is coming to an end, and Tella is running out of time, resources, and strength. At the start of the race there were one hundred twenty-two Contenders. As Tella and her remaining friends start the final part of the race, just forty-one are left--and only one can win.

saltandstone

You know that sequel you’ve been looking for that’s as good or even better than the first book? That seemingly elusive bad-ass second in a series that doesn’t disappoint? Well it’s finally here. 

I’m so honored to be on the Release Day blog tour stop for Victoria Scott’s sock-rocking Salt and Stone, the amazing second book in the Fire and Flood series.

You can check out my review for the first book in the series, Fire and Flood here.

I wanted to start a garage band in honor of Fire and Flood after the first book. Now I want a Salt and Stone tattoo to rock on my bicep.  The continuation of Tella’s story floored me on so many levels, and flooded my adrenal glands on multiple occasions.

My Tella.
My Tella.

Tella is better and braver than ever in Salt and Stone, and she doesn’t wuss out when she’s faced with some of the hardest decisions yet in this sequel. Victoria Scott is seriously awesome because she wrote a main character that I adored, yet still wanted to b-slap every other chapter. Talk about being real and keeping things interesting. It takes some balls and awesome characterization skills to make me feel so intensely about a character. Tella has grown up since she started the Brimstone Bleed, and her thoughts about her role in the race, her relationship with her teammates, and her relationship with Guy create a conflicting masterpiece of warring emotions and changing perceptions in Salt and Stone that gave this book the depth of an ocean.

My Guy. Ha!
My Guy. Ha!

Guy is HOTTER than ever, and we slowly see more pieces of his Sex-God-Armour peel away to reveal the altruistic and protective qualities that he quietly lets direct his motives. It was really interesting and seriously sexy seeing Guy and Tella navigate each other in a new, almost competitive way in Salt and Stone while they tried to adjust their ideas of one another in order to create a stronger team. All I have to say is, Salt and Stone can NOT be the end of this story. I will demand more. Everyone who reads this book will demand more. And the Scholastic Book Gods WILL give us more.

And of course I can’t leave out my fave little Pandora fox, Maddox. He’s so brave and feisty in Salt and Stone. He’s like a furbie Guy Chambers. And some of the scenes in which he has to prove himself brought tears to my eyes. I would definitely get a tattoo of Mads on my foot or bum. Just sayin’.

My Maddox.
My Maddox.

 

The action packed, often brutal plot was mystery and thriller combined and kept a match lit under this story. And the romance between Guy and Tella shined, making this book a multi-faceted masterpiece.

Salt and Stone is the stuff that dreams are made of. A pulse pounding, blood boiling, soul searing adventure that will grab readers by the throat and throttle them until the last page. Victoria creates some compelling questions here: How far would you go to survive? And what would you sacrifice to protect the ones you love? The characters in Salt and Stone are beautiful and raw, painting a very real picture of what human tragedy, fierce love, and human sacrifice can do to us all.

Keep on scrolling to ENTER TO WIN the BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY. As always, thanks for stopping by! PEACE.

Please check out the other super cool stops on this blog tour:

Week Two:

2/23/2015- Stuck in Books-Review

2/24/2015- MEREADALOT– Review

2/25/2015- Reading YA Rocks– Interview

2/26/2015- Curling Up With A Good Book– Review

2/27/2015- Mundie Moms– Review

BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Grab yo’ keys, and grab yo’ wallet, and GO BUY A COPY OF SALT & STONE! Your book lovin’ brain will thank you for it.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality by Elizabeth EulbergRevenge of the Girl With the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg
Published by Point on March 1, 2013
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarHalf a Star

Don't mess with a girl with a great personality!

Everybody loves Lexi. She's popular, smart, funny...but she's never been one of those girls, the pretty ones who get all the attention from guys. And on top of that, her seven-year-old sister, Mackenzie, is a terror in a tiara, and part of a pageant scene where she gets praised for her beauty (with the help of fake hair and tons of makeup).

Lexi's sick of it. She's sick of being the girl who hears about kisses instead of getting them. She's sick of being ignored by her longtime crush, Logan. She's sick of being taken for granted by her pageant-obsessed mom. And she's sick of having all her family's money wasted on a phony pursuit of perfection.

The time has come for Lexi to step out from the sidelines. Girls without great personalities aren't going to know what hit them. Because Lexi's going to play the beauty game - and she's in it to win it.

This book made me feel embarrassed to be a Texan. It reminded me of every time I cringe when I see a national commercial showing guys and gals wearing cowboy hats and Wranglers, driving out to their Texas ranches in their Chevy trucks at five a.m. It’s why my cousins in New York can’t believe I drive a Honda and don’t raise cattle for a living. I feel like Texas was demonized in this novel, but I get it. My state has a high-concentration of big moms with big dreams that were never fulfilled, and by God they will be fulfilled through their children by dressing them up like 40-year-old call girls. If you loved the movie Little Miss Sunshine or still can’t flip past an episode of Honey Boo Boo on television, than this book might be for you.

Average high-school girl, Lexi, with divorced parents lives with her total biotch of a mother and seven-year-old sister, Mackenzie, who gets all the attention because mom is living out her pageant fantasies vicariously through said seven year-old.

Honey boo boo mom

I can appreciate what the author was going for in this book, although she doesn’t quite hit the mark in my opinion. The humor is there but any satisfaction from revenge isn’t, which sucks because that’s what I was mostly looking forward to.

High-school romance is more of an after-thought in this story. I went into Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality thinking some kind of epically satisfying ”dork-girl-gets-a-makeover-and-wins-popular-guy’s-affections-who-secretly-has-a-heart-of-gold” was going to play out like in one of my fave films from the 90’s, She’s All That, and there’s a little bit of that in this book, but just not enough to give you butterflies.

The exploration of familial relationships and self-image are definitely the strong points in this book and I appreciate how the author shows the difficulties of divorce on a family. The author does a great (and comedic) job of characterizing the protagonist’s mother and little sister who are pulled straight from the pages of Toddlers and Tiaras or Dance Moms.

Overall, I was kind of entertained by the book. I was mostly bored in between comical scenes and the sporadically clever dialogue. My rating doesn’t reflect how I felt about the content of the book, just how I felt about the way in which it was delivered. I feel like it just plain should have been better. I’m guessing most people will either love or hate this book. It was mediocre for me and I can’t say that I felt strongly about it on either side of the the love/hate spectrum. I do love me a nice lipstick-y cover, though.

Here’s one of my favorite parts in the book that made me LOL because I have seen the Honey Boo Boo episode the author pulled her inspiration from:

Mackenzie starts getting antsy, which is completely understandable since she’s been sitting in that chair for over an hour. That’s difficult at any age. And it probably doesn’t help that she had a Cherry Coke and a chocolate donut for breakfast.

“You want your special juice?” Mom asks Mac.

I literally bite my tongue as Mom gives Mac an energy drink. I once decided to taste it and it was disgusting. There’s no way something that people drink at raves is good for a seven-year-old. But they practically sell the stuff in bulk on days like today. I guess I should be grateful Mom hasn’t busted out the sugar sticks. It’s only a little after eight in the morning, after all. Straight sugar is usually given right before the talent competition.

 

One StarOne StarHalf a Star
Fire & Flood: Victoria Scott Reviews Her Own Book!Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott
Series: Fire and Flood #1
Published by Scholastic on February 25, 2014
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother's life—and her own.

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

 

 

 

 

Sometimes authors CANNOT RESIST picking up a copy of their own book at their local bookstore. Yep. They wrote the darn book but they want to experience it again with fresh eyes, and pretend they are reading it for the first time. This psychological phenomenon leads these same authors to want to review their own books as well. The following is what happens when they do:

In Which Victoria Scott Reviews Her Own Book, Fire & Flood

What is this, FIRE & FLOOD? Okay, I’ll take a crack. Nice cover. Actually, I love that cover.

*opens book and begins reading*

So I’m to believe this teen girl is going to enter a dangerous race to save her brother? Her brother?

Siblings must have different relationships now than they did in my day, because when

I was growing up I wouldn’t have rolled over to save my sibling. There. I said it.

*keeps reading*

The Pandoras are cool. I’m down.

*keeps reading*

I’m sorry, am I reading this right? Leeches? Effing leeches? What a cheap trick to try and

entertain readers. Lame. Wait, who’s the new guy? Titus? He seems like a good chap.

*keep reading*

Titus is not a good chap.

*keep reading*

Titus is going to kill everyone.

*keeps reading*

Nope, I guess he’s not.

*closes book*

Well, let’s see. We’ve got a character with an unbelievable motivation, a guy way too hot to

like a chick with a self-imposed hack-job of a haircut, and world building that I don’t buy for a

second. I mean, genetically-engineered animals? Nice explanation. I give this book zero stars.

*looks at cover again*

Then again, I do like that cover. Five stars!

You can check out my review of Fire & Flood here, Erin’s review here, and a short Q&A about Victoria’s thoughts on ARCs here.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

Book Review: Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott + ARC giveaway!Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott
Series: Fire & Flood #1
Published by Scholastic on February 25, 2014
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother's life—and her own.

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

‘If you’re hearing this message, you are invited to be a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. All Contenders must report within forty-eight hours to select their Pandora companions. If you do not appear within forty-eight hours, your invitations will be eliminated.
The Brimstone Bleed will last three months and will take place across four ecosystems: desert, sea, mountains, jungle. The winning prize will be the Cure—a remedy for any illness, for any single person.
There will only be one champion.”

Erin’s Review

If you were given the chance to save a loved one from dying, would you do it? Even if you had to enter a contest where YOUR chances of survival might not be great? Imagine entering the Hunger Games..only you have to endure more than one type of terrain…. and you have a time limit to get to your destination. The Brimstone Bleed is like Hunger Games meets The Amazing Race. Only instead of a friend or a loved one as a partner, you have a PANDORA as a partner.

The Brimstone Bleed: A 3 Month long competition that goes across 4 different ecosystems. One winner will receive THE CURE.

Pandora: A genetically engineered animal. Each Pandora has special capabilities that will help their human companion make his or her way through the Brimstone Bleed. In order for a contestant to receive a Pandora the contestant must attend the Pandora Selection before the start of the Brimstone Bleed and choose their pandora.

This book is thrilling and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Tella gets invited to join the Brimstone Bleed…and she enters against her parents wishes to keep her out of it. You see, Tella’s brother has come down with a  disease that no one can diagnose and it looks like he won’t make it much longer.  The creators of the Brimstone Bleed have the cure and the winner of the competition will receive the cure for their sick loved one. Tella loves her brother, and just like anyone who is willing to do what they can to save their family, she is willing to sacrifice herself and enter an insane contest where the prize is a guaranteed cure to her brother’s illness.

Tella gets the very last Pandora..Unlike other contestants who just refer to their Pandoras by what must be their serial number of sorts, Tella actually NAMES her Pandora.  She does this before it even hatches. She forms a connection with her pandora, Madox(yes, that’s his name!), and treats him like a pet and not a weapon, where as the other contestants in the brimstone bleed only use them as a weapon. I think this works in Tella’s favor, because as most of you know…Pets are LOYAL to their  owners. If you feed and love your pet, it will love you back and stick to your side. LOYALTY is one thing you definitely NEED from your Pandora as you make your way through the Brimstone Bleed.  Your Pandora IS YOUR COMPANION so love it as you would any other companion you have in life. Do that, and it will always have your back.  The other contestants don’t seem to realize this and in the end.. well.. you’ll just have to read FIRE & FLOOD and see for yourself.

Tella Holloway is one of those characters that starts off by annoying the crap out of you, but she’s a teenage girl..that’s to be expected. Once she enters the Brimstone Bleed, that all starts to change. Her character has a purpose and she’s determined to save her brother and soon she grows on you and then you’re rooting for her.

Regina did a cast of F&F in her review and I don’t know the name of the person she casted as Tella, but when I read Fire & Flood that’s not who I pictured as Tella. For some reason, Anne Hathaway circa The Princess Diaries (before the makeover) is what popped in to my head when Tella was describing her hair. So Anne’s face stuck with me the entire book.. Even after she cuts all of her hair off…

 

anne-shorthairanne-longhair

 

 

 

Guy Chambers….Is one of the first people to HELP Tella out..and then after that..He’s in competition mode, focused on his mission and is kind of a douche. Eventually Guy and Tella become allies..He’s very closed off and determined to WIN this competiton, though it seems as though maybe he knows more about what’s going on then he’s telling people.. Eventually he starts to open up to Tella and we learn some interesting things…
Oh and he’s HOT. HOT HOT HOT HOT. There’s totally some romantic feels happening between Tella and Guy and I can’t wait to see what happens between them in the future!!

I would cast Guy, but I just can’t find anyone that I feel is a good Guy Chambers. BOO! So we’ll go with Victoria Scott’s vision of Guy..Who, now that I’m looking at him again…WORKS OUT JUST FINE. 😉 HAAAAAY GUY!!

guy

 

Madox is the most badass Pandora you’ll ever meet. What he can do is AMAZING and I think that Tella has a really good chance of winning this race if she makes it all the way through with Madox at her side. Thanks to Regina’s early Review of Fire & Flood that she posted before I got my chance to read the book…I pictured Madox as this little dude that Regina casted for him:

 

For the first couple of days Tella tries to make it through the Brimstone Bleed on her own.  Eventually she meets up with a gaggle of characters  and soon alliances are formed. These characters are all unique and bring twists to the story line that you DO NOT see coming.

While I am pretty sure this book is NOT  of the Dystopian genre, I think that fans of Dystopian will still enjoy this book. Once this book got really going it kept you on the edge of your seat and now I cannot WAIT to read the next book. I have to see where Victoria will take us on the next leg of the Brimstone Bleed. 

Giveaway

 I am giving away my Fire & Flood ARC to one of our lucky followers! Winner must be located in the US (sorry to our international fans!) Please enter via the Rafflecopter below!

photo (2)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

ARC Review of Fire & Flood by Victoria ScottFire & Flood by Victoria Scott
Series: Fire & Flood #1
Published by Scholastic on February 25, 2014
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

This isn’t the Susan B. Komen Race for the Cure. This is the Brimstone Bleed.

 

I want to start a garage band just so I can name it after this book. I”m still debating on whether to name my new baby kitty Pandora, Tella, or Guy. I want a shirt that says, ” I skied the Brimstone Bleed. When Hell freezes over, I’ll ski that too!” There is just so much YES in this book, I can hardly begin to reign in all the coolness of it for a review.

Possible Tella pre-Brimstone Bleed?
Possible Tella pre-Brimstone Bleed?

 

Tella and her family have been taking things easy since her older brother Cody came down with a terminal illness. Her family has tucked itself away in the wilderness of Montana, and despite Tella’s concern for her brother, she’s going stir-crazy. “If you’re hearing this message, you are invited to be a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed.” This is where the match is struck in Fire & Flood. Tella receives a mysterious message, and she knows she can’t share it with her family. She has to follow these instructions, and taker her chances. On her own. Her brother’s life depends on it.

Possible Tella, post-Brimstone Bleed?
Possible Tella, post-Brimstone Bleed?

 

Victoria Scott surprised me at every turn in this novel. In this first book of the series, we travel with Tella through two ecosystems. The jungle and the desert. The story Victoria has dreamt up about Pandora’s and their creation is truly EPIC. They are ninja-hybrid, Pokemon-type creatures that will win your heart, and defend you til the death. Tella’s pandora is named Maddox, and he is arguably one of the coolest characters in the book.  He was created for one purpose: to keep Tella alive as they make their way through the ecosystems, racing to win “the cure”.

Hey, Mads. What's up?
Hey, Mads. What’s up?

 

I loved Tella’s character. She was so real. She isn’t very different from you or me. Tella’s your average girl who delights in the every day things that teenage girls do. The trials and decisions she is faced with are relatable on the most basic levels. What would you do to save someone you love? What would you do to survive? Victoria found a way to take Tella’s character and this epic, fantastical adventure, and make it relevant to my emotions and today’s society.

Victoria's casting choice for Guy.
Victoria’s casting choice for Guy.

 

Guy Chambers, who famously looks like a ”serial killer”, is one bad-ass dude. The moment he was introduced in Fire & Flood, my heart fluttered. There’s more to Guy than meets the eye. His character is like raw power rippling under the surface. His quite and stone-wall demeanor create a mystery and magnetism that Tella can’t ignore.

“Why do you ask so many questions?”

“Because I’m curious,” I say.

“About everything, apparently.”

“No, just about you.” Though I feel relaxed and carefree, this last admission feels like one I may later regret. My eyes find his, but he’s not looking at my eyes. He’s looking at my mouth.

I know it’s no secret that Tella and Guy become close in Fire & Flood. I don’t feel like I’m giving too much away by stating that. But, gah….You don’t even know until you read the book. What develops between Tella and Guy is so solid, and real, and right. Victoria handled the development of trust and romantic feelings between them beautifully.

As trials and tribulations unfold during the Brimstone Bleed, Tella discovers information that quite possibly changes everything she has known about her life. Are her parents who she thinks they are? Was she destined for this race? Did Cody’s illness play into a bigger picture of corruption and revenge? Threads of secrets and details that are foreign to Tella begin to piece together layers of a story that goes back farther than she imagined. Fire & Flood pulled on my heart strings, and buzzed my emotions. I am scared as eff of jungles, and Victoria managed to strap me in for the entire ride. I’m reluctant to read stories that might have bugs (no joke, this book gave me nightmares), or snakes, or tropical climates involved, but I  was too absorbed in the hypnotic pull of the story to think about it. You will forget yourself with this book. You will become Tella and remember what it’s like to love someone. To lose someone. To be desperate, hurt, brave, and afraid. You will laugh, and you will cry. You will finish reading this book, and be surprised when you look up from the last page and realize you’re still sitting in your room. Victoria took me on an emotional and heart-pounding journey in Fire & Flood. She even managed to make me feel a little more grateful to be alive.

I want to share the awesome experience that was Fire & Flood with you, so ENTER TO WIN one pre-order of the hardcover edition of this book below, and it will be shipped to you on release day. And make sure to check out the awesome Fire & Flood website!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

P.S. There is one truly CREEPTASTIC, perfect scene and secret in this book that will give you chills. I can’t wait for you to read it. 🙂

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.