ARC Review: The Architect of Song  by A.G. HowardThe Architect of Song Published by self-published on August 15, 2016
Pages: 425
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

A lady imprisoned by deafness, an architect imprisoned by his past, and a ghost imprisoned within the petals of a flower - intertwine in this love story that transcends life and death.

For most of her life, nineteen-year-old Juliet Emerline has subsisted – isolated by deafness – making hats in the solitude of her home. Now, she’s at risk to lose her sanctuary to Lord Nicolas Thornton, a twenty-seven-year-old mysterious and eccentric architect with designs on her humble estate. When she secretly witnesses him raging beside a grave, Juliet investigates, finding the name “Hawk” on the headstone and an unusual flower at the base. The moment Juliet touches the petals, a young English nobleman appears in ghostly form, singing a song only her deaf ears can hear. The ghost remembers nothing of his identity or death, other than the one name that haunts his afterlife: Thornton.

To avenge her ghostly companion and save her estate, Juliet pushes aside her fear of society and travels to Lord Thornton’s secluded holiday resort, posing as a hat maker in one of his boutiques. There, she finds herself questioning who to trust: the architect of flesh and bones who can relate to her through romantic gestures, heartfelt notes, and sensual touches … or the specter who serenades her with beautiful songs and ardent words, touching her mind and soul like no other man ever can. As sinister truths behind Lord Thornton’s interest in her estate and his tie to Hawk come to light, Juliet is lured into a web of secrets. But it’s too late for escape, and the tragic love taking seed in her heart will alter her silent world forever.

International and NYT bestselling author, A.G. Howard, brings her darkly magical and visual/visceral storytelling to Victorian England. The Architect of Song is the first installment in her lush and romantic Haunted Hearts Legacy series, a four book gothic saga following the generations of one family as - haunted by both literal and figurative ghosts - they search for self-acceptance, love, and happiness.

New Adult: Recommended for ages 16+.

*Sings in A minor to my Russian Blue cat using an operatic voice, “Why? Whhhhyyy didn’t I love this book- the book release of my obsession!?!?”*

When I saw the cover of A.G. Howard’s newest novel, The Architect of Song, I instantly coveted it. So, obviously, I was thrilled when I received a digital ARC for review. Despite my excitement for the novel, I made sure not to raise any ridiculous expectations that might ruin my reading experience. I have not read the author’s popular Splintered series yet, so I also did not know what to expect from her writing style.

To put it briefly, A.G. Howard’s writing is beautiful. There were sentences and descriptions in TAoS that dazzled me with their lyricism and poetic overtones. Her writing conjured images of jewel-toned velvets, Gothic architecture, and fairy-tale settings. Lovely descriptions made the story pop.

Crimson Peak is full of decadent eye candy and Howard's descriptions reminded me of the beautiful imagery from this film.
Crimson Peak is full of decadent eye candy and Howard’s descriptions reminded me of the beautiful imagery from this film.

Unfortunately, the romance at the heart of the novel fell completely flat for me. If I had rated this book on that aspect alone, it would have been 1.5 stars. I am a die-hard otherworldly lover/love triangle fan, but neither of these aspects drew me in or held my attention in TAoS. The dynamic between the characters was cheesy to me. It was like rushed lust that masqueraded as love by the end of the story. When I think of a gothic romance, I anticipate the wonderful yet torturous build up of passion and romance between the love interests. I didn’t really get this from TAoS.

Also, I feel like the title is a tad misleading. I thought music or singing was going to play a bigger role in the book, but it doesn’t. The music fan in me was disappointed by this.

I am still completely in love with the idea of this book and series, and I look forward to the next book in the Haunted Hearts Legacy to see if there has been any improvement in the development of the romantic thread.

Just for fun:

If you are into paranormal romances and Victorian era settings, than I highly recommend C.J. Archer’s Emily Chambers Spirit Medium series and The Freak House series. Both trilogies are to die for, but The Medium trilogy comes closest to TAoS. C.J. Archer does an amazing job of building up romantic tension between the human and ghost love interest, and is an absolute master of writing about the Victorian time period.

The Medium new cover

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Gus (Bright Side #2) by Kim HoldenBrightside by Kim Holden
Published by Self Published on May 19, 2015
Pages: 389
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The journey that began in top-rated, best-selling Bright Side, continues ...

This is the story of Gus.
Losing himself.
Finding himself.
And healing along the way.

“ … but the honest-to-God truth is I don’t even know how to function anymore. Bright Side wasn’t only my best friend; she was like my other half ... the other half of my brain, the other half of my conscience, the other half of my sense of humor, the other half of my creativity, the other half of my heart. How do you go back to doing what you did before, when half of you is gone forever?”

I was so happy to hear that Gus was getting his own book. It wasn’t until almost release day that I did. Naturally of course I knew I had to read it. I really liked Gus in Bright Side. The friendship Gus and Kate shared was really tight. My heart broke for Gus at the end of Bright Side. Bright Side was an amazing read. In fact, I re-read it before starting this book.

Now onto Gus. He’s the lead singer of Rook. They’ve just released their first album and are starting a world tour. Gus is a good guy. He struggled a lot in the beginning of this book. I didn’t like a lot of the decisions he made, but could see where he’d might make some of them he did. I was really worried about him in the beginning.

It wasn’t until he met Scout that he started changing. Changing s-l-o-w-l-y. There was just something about her that was different. When I say Gus started changing slowly, I’m not kidding. He had so many issues to work through that he struggled a lot. He was so lost and I hurt for him.

Once he and Scout started communicating more though Gus started changing. I started rooting for him. I wanted the old Gus back. I wanted the long haired, buff, surfer who was a good looking rock star that was amazingly talented.

Ms Holden’s writing was exceptional yet again. I felt like I was part of the story. There wasn’t a time where I got bored with the story. The flow was smooth and held my attention.

The sex scenes were hot, well written, and plentiful. I loved how Gus made sure Scout was comfortable every step of the way.

Overall, if you’re looking for a new adult story that offers an interesting storyline, that will hold your attention, and leave feeling completely satisfied once you’ve reached the end. Then Gus is for you. I will say that you’ll need to read Bright Side first too get the entire picture. You won’t be sorry you did though. Brightside is amazing.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Fall Out Girl by L. DuarteFall Out Girl by L. Duarte
Published by Self Published on March 2015
Pages: 224
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Imagine a social outcast: Me. (Luna)

Imagine a popular boy: Him. (Caleb)

Sound like the characters of a cliché story, right? Here, hold my hand. Come away with me. I’ll tell you my story, and you’ll decide.

But I have a warning: Proceed at your own risk. Since it’s a snippet of my life, I’m one of the main characters. And to put it lightly, I’m not the most likable person in the world, cue the earned label. Also, unlike fairy tales, my story is real with a dash of sorrow and loss.

How do I start? Once upon a time…? Shoot me now, please.

The beginning? No, too boring.

Well, let’s start with the catalytic moment that set in motion a chain of events that changed my life, yet again.

As for a happily ever after? Sorry, no spoilers here. You’re going to have to figure that one out on your own. After you read my tale, it becomes yours, and as such, you’re entitled to your interpretation.

So, off we go!

Fasten your seat belts. This ride may get bumpy.

REVIEW:

Wow! I finished reading Fall Out Girl late yesterday afternoon and I’m still reeling. I experienced so many feels while reading this story. I had read the synopsis on Goodreads one day a few weeks ago and added it to my tbr list. Last week I was contacted by the author and offered an ARC for an honest review. I accepted and thought I’d get to it in a couple weeks. I’m really swamped right now. Here’s the thing though. It kept calling to me. After a few days I decided I’d read it next after I finished my current read.  Once I got started reading I was hooked. I fell in love with this story and its characters. Every time I had to put it down I’d feel sad. I didn’t want to. I wanted to continue reading and stay immersed inside Luna’s world. That’s how captivated I was with the story.

Even though the majority of this book takes place in a high school setting, there is sex within the pages of this one. I’d categorize it as a mature young adult that morphs into a new adult towards the very end. The sex is comparable to adult mainstream. Maybe a little more steamy. There are a few scenes. Not a lot though. What’s there is well written and fit perfectly within the story.

Fall Out Girl contains some quotes I really liked. The to-do list Luna’s father left her was amazing to read. You could tell that he was an amazing man and that he loved her fiercely. It sucked that she had to suffer such a loss in her young age.

Overall, I loved this book so much. I can honestly say without a doubt that it’s one of my favorites reads of this year. I highly recommend it. The unique storyline, amazing writing, and deeply flawed characters are sure to tug at your heartstrings. I can count at least four times I had to leave the room so I could cry in private. I didn’t want my family to think I was nuts. Lol Fall Out Girl really touched my heart and I hope you’ll give it a shot.

5 AMAZING STARS!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About L. Duarte

I have found that there is only one thing better than reading, and that is writing. I am always torn between the two. I am also frequently torn between chocolate and coffee. However, I emphatically do not like the month of February, lies, and flies. For me, bravery is defined by the courage to do what we fear the most. This conviction is reflected in my debut work of romantic fiction, Chasing Stars. I live in Connecticut with my husband and two children. Drop a few lines. I would love to hear from you.

I received this book for free from Purchased, Purchased by Reviewer in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Fisher’s Light by Tara SivecFisher's Light by Tara Sivec
Published by Self Published on March 24, 2015
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

Fisher,
I guess this is it, huh? After fourteen years together, starting a life of our own on this island, five deployments and countless letters I’ve written you through it all, I finally go out to the mailbox and see something I’ve always dreamed of: an envelope with your handwriting on it. For one moment, I actually thought you’d changed your mind, that all the awful things you said to me were just your way of coping after everything you’d been through. I was still here, Fisher. I was still here, holding my breath, waiting for you to come back even though you told me you never would. You always said you’d find your way back to me. Out of all the lies you’ve told me, this one hurts the most.

Enclosed you will find the signed divorce papers, as requested.
I hope you find what you’re looking for. I’m sorry it wasn’t me.
Lucy

To get the ending they want, Lucy and Fisher will have to go back to the beginning. Through the good and the bad, they’ll be reminded of why they always made their way back to each other, and why this time, one way or another, it will be the last time.

REVIEW:

I’ve heard so many good things about this book. I’ve not read a book by Tara Sivic before so I thought why not. While I think the plot for this book was unique, I had a few issues with the overall story.

In the beginning I absolutely loathed Fisher. I hated him so much that I almost stopped reading. He was downright mean to Lucy. It’s not really revealed why he treats Lucy the way he does. But the more I read the more I began to understand. Still though he was a complete ass.

It took me a really long time to get through this book. Right at four hundred pages, it took me about a week. I do have to admit though that my reading time is limited as opposed to in the past. There were times I skimmed. I think some of the content could have been edited out.

This story was predictable in a lot of ways. That bothered me some. I want to read books that engage my mind and keep me guessing. Sadly that wasn’t the case with this one.

I liked the characters for the most part. Lucy was an amazingly strong woman considering what she’d had to go through. Ellie was a great friend to her. Trip? Well, what can I say. He was an amazing guy and was always there for Lucy whenever she needed him. Fisher? He slowly redeemed himself. Once things start to unfold, you get to see why he chose to make the decisions he did. At the end of the book I ended up loving him.

Overall, I liked this story. I wish it would have been about a hundred pages shorter. Like I said before, I skimmed through it at times.

One StarOne StarOne Star
Seared With Scars (Book 2 of The 2nd Freak House Series) by C.J. ArcherSeared With Scars by C.J. Archer
Published by Self Published on July 1, 2014
Pages: 229
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

With the Master's spirit still haunting London, Charity must remain at Freak House. But the peace is shattered when Samuel's father is brutally slain by a demon on the estate. Who summoned it and why?

As some questions are answered, yet more secrets about Samuel emerge that send him hurtling toward madness. Secrets that terrify Charity and draw her inevitably closer to him. As the lies are peeled back to reveal the truth, will she be able to conquer her fears and give Samuel what he craves?

You can check out my reviews for the first Freak House Series HERE:

Freak-House-Series

and for C.J. Archer’s The Medium trilogy HERE:

Spirit-Trilogy1

My review of The Memory Keeper, The 1st book in the 2nd Freak House series can be found HERE.

memory

C.J. Archer is my go-to-author for Historical Romance and luckily for me, she puts out books faster than I can keep up with. Especially concerning the Freak House series.

The second book revolving around Charity and Samuel drove me ABSOLUTELY MAD. Like I needed to faint and be slapped awake with butler gloves only to faint again from a temper tantrum mad.

I wanted to slip into Charity’s skin and possess her thoughts and make her do naughty, naughty things….Like take Samuel up to the nearest hay loft and ravish him.

There’s a lot of romantic tension and a whopping dose of suspense added to this installment of the 2nd Freak House Series. I really enjoyed the cat and mouse game between Samuel and Charity, and was ever so wonderfully tortured by the cryptic clues that are sure to lead up to something BIG in The Edge of Darkness about Charity and Samuel’s past.

This book also left me very curious about what’s to become of Sylvia and Tommy’s ”Upstairs, Downstairs” relationship. I’m as invested in the secondary characters of this series as I am of the main ones.

Once again, C.J. Archer is a master of her craft and vibrantly captures the culture, fashion, and rhetoric of the Victorian era. Mixing the paranormal and historic with a wonderful cast of characters does it for me every time. I really enjoyed Seared With Scars and will be jumping into Edge of Darkness immediately. (C.J. likes to leave her readers on the edge of their seats…mad and drooling for the next book.) 😉

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Release Day Blitz: Beat by Vi KeelandBeat by Vi Keeland
Series: Life on Stage #2
Published by Self Published on June 15, 2015
Pages: 300
Format: eBook
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon

From New York Times and USA Today Bestseller Vi Keeland comes a steamy new standalone novel about a rockstar. Or two.

Dimpled smile of a boy
Hard body of a man
Sings like an angel
Fucks like the devil

I was stuck between a rock(star) and a hard place.

At fifteen, his poster hung on my bedroom wall. At twenty-five his body hovered over mine. Every girl’s fantasy became my reality. I was dating a rockstar. Yet I was slowly falling for another man. The problem was—the two men—they shared a tour bus.

Flynn Beckham was the opening act.
Dylan Ryder was the headliner.

What happens when the opening act begins to shine so bright, it seems to dim everything else in its wake?

I’ll tell you what happens. Things get ugly.

beat

About Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a native New Yorker with three children that occupy most of her free time, which she complains about often, but wouldn’t change for the world. She is a bookworm and has been known to read her kindle at stop lights, while styling her hair, cleaning, walking, during sporting events, and frequently while pretending to work. She is a boring attorney by day, and an exciting New York Times & USA Today Best Selling smut author by night!

In 2013, she released four romance novels, including the first story in the new MMA Fighter series, Worth the Fight. Three more are planned for release in 2014. Her novels have appeared on the Top 5 lists of Amazon USA, UK, Canada and Barnes & Noble.

Release Day Blast: Fair Game by Monica MurphyFair Game by Monica Murphy
Series: The Rules #1
Published by Self Published Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon

Bad enough Jade Frost’s boyfriend drags her to a boring poker game. Even worse that he actually threw her into the betting pot during an intense round…and lost. Talk about the perfect excuse for Jade to make him her ex-boyfriend.

Now she supposedly belongs to the ultra rich, extremely gorgeous Shep Prescott. He could have anything he wants yet he seems to be in hot pursuit of her. No matter how rude, how snarky, how impossible she acts, it doesn’t stop him. More like her horrible behavior seems to make him want her more.

When she finds herself starting to fall for him, Jade’s confused. There’s more to Shep than the carefree rich charmer he portrays. No way could he want a serious relationship with her…or could he?

FairGameTeaser3-Now

About Monica Murphy

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling
author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her
family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon.
She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Review Tour: Under the InfluenceUnder the Influence by L.B. Simmons
Published by Self Published on May 11, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Dalton,

I loved you once. A love I thought irrevocable. A love I mistakenly believed could transcend both time and circumstance. Under the influence of my dimwitted, naïve, traitorous heart, I became intoxicated with what I now know was simply a figment of my self-indulgent imagination. So drunk on the feeling, I couldn’t see what was right in front of my face. So foolishly enamored, I blindly followed my heart into the depths of an emotion that would ravage me.

Years later, I know now what I wish I knew then. I am stronger. Smarter. Tougher. I will not allow myself to be broken again.

I loved you.

I raged for you.

I wept for you.

And now, I’m letting you go.

Author’s Note: Under the Influence is the journey of two childhood friends that spans the course of five pivotal years in their lives. It is a story about their discovery of true friendship as it blossoms into first love, their experience of crucial sacrifice and ultimate betrayal, and their endurance of agonizing heartbreak on the way to finding lasting redemption

Under the Influence was a great read that had unique and interesting characters. I really liked Dalton. When things got tough he did what he had to do in order to insure wrongs were made right.

Both he and Spencer came from less than desirable backgrounds. Their young lives were rough. Spencer by far lucked out when she was placed with a good family. Eventually Dalton was placed there too. It was then that Dalton and Spencer formed a strong bond and friendship.

Some parts of this story was predictable. Other parts not so much. There was a few times I caught myself skimming. Not a lot, but some. The pacing was pretty steady, but again at time I skimmed because I really wanted to know if it was going to turn out the way I thought it would.

The sexual scene (as in singular) was sweet, but not really overly explicit. Under the circumstances though, I think it fit in perfectly. It had a sort of sweetness too it.

Actually there were two sexual scenes. The other one wasn’t overly explicit either, but was well written.

Overall, I liked this one and how things turned out.  Maybe not as much as other L.B. Simmons’ books, but again I liked it and would recommend it to my friends and other readers.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About L.B. Simmons

L.B. Simmons is a graduate of Texas A&M University and holds a degree in Biomedical Science. She has been a practicing Chemist for the last 11 years. She lives with her husband and three daughters in Texas and writes every chance she gets.

Pre-Release Tour: Under the Influence by L.B. SimmonsUnder the Influence by L.B. Simmons
Published by Self Published on May 11, 2015
Format: eBook
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.

Dalton,

I loved you once. A love I thought irrevocable. A love I mistakenly believed could transcend both time and circumstance. Under the influence of my dimwitted, naïve, traitorous heart, I became intoxicated with what I now know was simply a figment of my self-indulgent imagination. So drunk on the feeling, I couldn’t see what was right in front of my face. So foolishly enamored, I blindly followed my heart into the depths of an emotion that would ravage me.

Years later, I know now what I wish I knew then. I am stronger. Smarter. Tougher. I will not allow myself to be broken again.

I loved you.

I raged for you.

I wept for you.

And now, I’m letting you go.

Author’s Note: Under the Influence is the journey of two childhood friends that spans the course of five pivotal years in their lives. It is a story about their discovery of true friendship as it blossoms into first love, their experience of crucial sacrifice and ultimate betrayal, and their endurance of agonizing heartbreak on the way to finding lasting redemption.

 

 

teaser

 

releasing

About L.B. Simmons

L.B. Simmons is a graduate of Texas A&M University and holds a degree in Biomedical Science. She has been a practicing Chemist for the last 11 years. She lives with her husband and three daughters in Texas and writes every chance she gets.

Monarch Madness: His Last Mistress by Andrea Zuvich Review + GIVEAWAY!His Last Mistress by Andrea Zuvich
Published by Self Published on July 5, 2013
Pages: 206
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

This story charts the tragic romance between the dashing but doomed James Scott, Duke of Monmouth and the virtuous Lady Henrietta Wentworth. Monmouth, eldest illegitimate son of King Charles II, is already married and infamous for his womanising ways. Henrietta is engaged to another. Despite the dangers, Henrietta finds she cannot resist him. When his father dies, the malleable Monmouth falls prey to schemes, plots and rebellion that will surely lead to the Tower.

His Last Mistress is a passionate, sometimes explicit, carefully researched and ultimately moving story of love and loss, set against a backdrop of dangerous political unrest, brutal religious tensions, and the looming question of who will be the next King.

MEReadALOT's Monarch Madness Blog Hop

I’m wrapping up my Monarch Madness posts this weekend!

Today I’m reviewing and posting a GIVEAWAY of Andrea Zuvich’s intoxicating novel, His Last Mistress.

You will fall madly in love with this book if you are a fan of The Seventeenth Century, political intrigue, court gossip, romance, and betrayal.

His Last Mistress follows the passionate love affair between the Duke of Monmouth, an illegitimate son of King Charles II, and Henrietta Wentworth, a Lady of the court who is doomed to a loveless marriage until she catches the eye of Monmouth.

To my knowledge, I had never read anything about this romantic duo until His Last Mistress, and I loved being introduced to characters who are usually left to the peripheral of the historical eye. This Historical Romance/Biographical Fiction elegantly mixes in well researched facts with the author’s captivating storytelling. Fans of general Historical Fiction and die-hard Merry Monarch fans will both be swept up in this tragic tale.

I enjoyed the pace of the novel and was wholly entertained by the two main characters. His Last Mistress is full of fist-biting moments both in and out of the bedroom. ENTER BELOW TO WIN an EBOOK of His Last Mistress, and stop by Andrea Zuvich’s wonderful website: The Seventeenth Century Lady. Seriously. Her website is a dream for History lovers of this era.

william-and-mary

 

About the Author

aed814cf952b2186aafa3bf3faacf0da

 

I’m a 17th-Century historian, specialising in the Late Stuart period, with an emphasis on the reign of William and Mary (1689-1702). I live in Windsor, England.

I studied at Rockledge High School, from which I received my Diploma, then Brevard Community College where I obtained my Associate’s Degree in History, and became a member of Phi Theta Kappa honour society. I went on to study at the University of Central Florida, where I obtained two Bachelor’s degrees – one in Anthropology and one in History. I then continued my education in history online through the University of Oxford, Princeton University, and the Curtis Institute of Music.

Since graduating in 2008, I have been independently researching the 17th-century – a time I have always loved and had a keen interest in, and that passion has turned into this website and my work in historical fiction and history articles.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Visit Andrea’s website and get your EBook SIGNED via the Authorgraph on the right side of her page!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Review: Back to You by Priscilla GlennBack to You by Priscilla Glenn
Published by Createspace, Self Published on October 20, 2012
Pages: 328
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

When Lauren Monroe first laid eyes on Michael Delaney back in high school, she had every reason to stay away from him; within minutes of their first encounter, his volatile actions confirmed his notorious reputation. But Lauren saw something in him that caused her to question his bad-boy persona, and against her better judgment, she took a chance. She had no way of knowing that the unlikely friendship they formed would become so important to her.

Or that it would end so painfully.

Eight years later, when Lauren begins her new job at Learn and Grow Day Care, Michael is the last person she expects to see. Refusing to revisit the hurt and confusion of their past, Lauren vows to keep her distance from him. But staying away from Michael proves to be more difficult than she thought, despite her lingering grief and her instincts for self-preservation.

As Lauren and Michael recall the friendship that changed them forever and the events that tore them apart, will they finally be able to heal? Or will the ghosts of Michael’s past prove to be too much to overcome?

This is the second time I’ve read Back to You. The first time I left a small review on Goodreads. I guess it really wasn’t a review. More like a sentence or two.

“I loved everything about this book. It had me sobbing like a baby a few times, but that’s a sign of a really good story. Heartfelt. Loved it. Highly recommend.”

See. Not much of a review.

Anyway, this book is one of my favorites. It is so filled with emotions. And as I said above. It had me sobbing like a baby. Ugly snotty tears. When I reached the end though I felt as though it couldn’t have ended better. I had a wide smile on my face.

One cool thing I did notice upon reaching the Epilogue was that the year is 2015. I initially read this book in late 2012. Just something that caught my attention that I thought was neat.

The hero and heroine couldn’t have been more different. Their backgrounds weren’t even close to being the same. I loved both of them so much! I had so much compassion for Michael aka Del. Lauren did too. To say he had a rough upbringing is an understatement. Lauren befriended him when most people took a wide path around him. Eventually Lauren and Michael became best friends.

But this being a love story there’s bound to be problems, mistakes made, and misunderstandings. There were no shortages of those, but there were also good times, heartfelt moments, and forgiveness as well.

Overall, I hope you will read Back to You. It offers emotional characters, heartfelt moments, and a beautiful love story.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Review: The Law of Moses by Amy HarmonThe Law of Moses by Amy Harmon
Published by Self Published on November 27, 2014
Pages: 298
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

If I tell you right up front, right in the beginning that I lost him, it will be easier for you to bear. You will know it’s coming, and it will hurt. But you’ll be able to prepare.

Someone found him in a laundry basket at the Quick Wash, wrapped in a towel, a few hours old and close to death. They called him Baby Moses when they shared his story on the ten o’clock news – the little baby left in a basket at a dingy Laundromat, born to a crack addict and expected to have all sorts of problems. I imagined the crack baby, Moses, having a giant crack that ran down his body, like he’d been broken at birth. I knew that wasn’t what the term meant, but the image stuck in my mind. Maybe the fact that he was broken drew me to him from the start.

It all happened before I was born, and by the time I met Moses and my mom told me all about him, the story was old news and nobody wanted anything to do with him. People love babies, even sick babies. Even crack babies. But babies grow up to be kids, and kids grow up to be teenagers. Nobody wants a messed up teenager.

And Moses was messed up. Moses was a law unto himself. But he was also strange and exotic and beautiful. To be with him would change my life in ways I could never have imagined. Maybe I should have stayed away. Maybe I should have listened. My mother warned me. Even Moses warned me. But I didn’t stay away.

And so begins a story of pain and promise, of heartache and healing, of life and death. A story of before and after, of new beginnings and never-endings. But most of all...a love story.

Amazingly brilliant.

What an amazing story. I loved every word of this story. Even the ones that broke my heart. I was hooked from the very first page. Truly. There was just something that drew me in and I knew that when I finished this story I was going to come away from it amazed, happy, and complete.

The writing. As I said above. Brilliant. Ms Harmon did a great job with the writing. There was never a time I found myself skimming or wishing I’d hurry up and get to the end. In fact, with every page I turned I felt a sort of sadness that I would eventually reach the end and the story would be over. I didn’t want it to end. Yet I needed to know how it would end. Have you ever read a book like that? I’m weird I guess. lol

I fell in love with the characters. I felt compassion toward Moses. All that he had to endure his entire life. No one should have to experience that. Georgia was extremely persistent in her feelings for Moses. These two were completely different. You wouldn’t think they would make a great couple. All I can say is that “anything” is possible. I loved them both.

Throughout the book suspense is there. I tried to figure out what was happening to the girls, but in the end I was wrong. Darn it! Actually, I love it! I love books that keep you guessing until the end.

The sex is pretty much non-existent, and what there is is mild. The storyline itself is so strong the focus isn’t on the sex.

I almost didn’t read this book. When it first came out I heard more than once that it was paranormal. For those who don’t like paranormal, please don’t let that deter you from reading this book. I don’t think it’s paranormal. Moses has a gift. Although he doesn’t think of it that way. He’s not a shifter or demon or anything remotely like that.

Overall, I loved, loved, loved this book. I will definitely be buying it for my shelves. I hope you’ll read it.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Amy Harmon

Amy Harmon is a USA Today and New York Times Bestselling author. Amy knew at an early age that writing was something she wanted to do, and she divided her time between writing songs and stories as she grew. Having grown up in the middle of wheat fields without a television, with only her books and her siblings to entertain her, she developed a strong sense of what made a good story. Her books are now being published in several countries, truly a dream come true for a little country girl from Levan, Utah.

New Release: Turtle Bay by Tiffany KingTurtle Bay by Tiffany King
Published by Self Published on March 20, 2015
Pages: 165
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon

If you're a teenager in a small, rural area, how do you exist when your eccentric, free-spirited parents are the town freaks everyone laughs at?

For sixteen-year-old Rainbow Honeywell—or Rain, as she insists on being called—the answer was to become the queen of all pranks. She never wanted to be a troublemaker, but the label quickly stuck when everyone in Huntsville, Kansas, became a target. All she wanted was to deflect the negative attention off her parents, but Rain's plan backfired to the max, landing her in a heap of trouble with the local authorities and expelled from high school.

An unexpected inheritance offers Rain an opportunity for a new beginning when she and her family move across the country to the quaint beach community of Turtle Bay, Florida.

Determined to make the best of her second chance, Rain vows to walk the straight and narrow, hoping her parents will fly under the radar while she soaks up some fun in the sun, sandy beaches, and hot, tanned guys. Unfortunately, she picks the wrong new friends, and a late night party lands her back in the kind of trouble she had been hoping to avoid. As the newbie in town with a record, Rain takes the brunt of the punishment when an unforgiving judge chooses to make an example out of her and slaps her with enough community service hours to keep her busy until she is old and gray.

Facing the harsh reality of paying for the actions of others while atoning for her own past sins, Rain is paired up with Josh Shaw, a judgmental local lifeguard whose love for the beach and the environment is eclipsed only by his distaste for those who trash it. As far as Josh is concerned, Rain is guilty and got what she deserved, regardless of her side of the story. To make matters worse, a tropical storm sits in the Atlantic, threatening to wreak havoc on the small beach community.

Things slowly change as Rain begins to appreciate her surroundings through Josh's eyes, proving she is not the person he thinks she is. Their feelings for one another blossom as the tropical storm grows into a hurricane and bears down on Turtle Bay. With impending danger looming, the small beach community must come together in order to ride out the storm.

About Tiffany King

USA Today Bestselling author Tiffany King is a lifelong reading fanatic who is now living her dream as a writer, weaving Young Adult and New Adult romance tales for others to enjoy. She has a loving husband and two wonderful kids. (Five, if you count her three spoiled cats). Her addictions include: Her iphone and ipad, chocolate, Diet Coke, chocolate, Harry Potter, chocolate, zombies and her favorite TV shows. Want to know what they are? Just ask.

Special Excerpt: Turtle Bay by Tiffany KingTurtle Bay by Tiffany King
Published by Self Published on March 20, 2015
Format: eBook
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.

If you're a teenager in a small, rural area, how do you exist when your eccentric, free-spirited parents are the town freaks everyone laughs at?

For sixteen-year-old Rainbow Honeywell—or Rain, as she insists on being called—the answer was to become the queen of all pranks. She never wanted to be a troublemaker, but the label quickly stuck when everyone in Huntsville, Kansas, became a target. All she wanted was to deflect the negative attention off her parents, but Rain's plan backfired to the max, landing her in a heap of trouble with the local authorities and expelled from high school.

An unexpected inheritance offers Rain an opportunity for a new beginning when she and her family move across the country to the quaint beach community of Turtle Bay, Florida.

Determined to make the best of her second chance, Rain vows to walk the straight and narrow, hoping her parents will fly under the radar while she soaks up some fun in the sun, sandy beaches, and hot, tanned guys. Unfortunately, she picks the wrong new friends, and a late night party lands her back in the kind of trouble she had been hoping to avoid. As the newbie in town with a record, Rain takes the brunt of the punishment when an unforgiving judge chooses to make an example out of her and slaps her with enough community service hours to keep her busy until she is old and gray.

Facing the harsh reality of paying for the actions of others while atoning for her own past sins, Rain is paired up with Josh Shaw, a judgmental local lifeguard whose love for the beach and the environment is eclipsed only by his distaste for those who trash it. As far as Josh is concerned, Rain is guilty and got what she deserved, regardless of her side of the story. To make matters worse, a tropical storm sits in the Atlantic, threatening to wreak havoc on the small beach community.

Things slowly change as Rain begins to appreciate her surroundings through Josh's eyes, proving she is not the person he thinks she is. Their feelings for one another blossom as the tropical storm grows into a hurricane and bears down on Turtle Bay. With impending danger looming, the small beach community must come together in order to ride out the storm.

I could almost see the tension leave their shoulders. “Look at our Rainbow, all grown up,” Butch said, pretending to wipe away a tear. Unlike the reluctance Buttercup had shown, Butch was all for me getting a job. He appreciated the fact I wanted to work for what I wanted.

“Aw, don’t cry, Creston,” I said, patting him on the back.

“Butch,” he corrected.

“Rain,” I countered.

“I’ll never understand why you’d want to change the name we felt suited you so well,” Butch grumbled, churning up the ground with the hoe.

“I’m sure your parents felt the same way,” I pointed out, heading for the main house so I could grab some grub before I headed to Tasty Freeze.

“Creston is not a name. It’s the gooey stuff in the corner of your eye in the morning,” he griped, stabbing at the ground.

“That’s gross, dear, and you need to turn the earth, not pulverize it,” Buttercup said, humming to herself as she sorted through her seeds. She already seemed to have moved on from her mistrust from moments before. Buttercup embraced harmony and refused to rise to conflict. It was nice most of the time, but a pain when you were itching for a fight.

About Tiffany King

USA Today Bestselling author Tiffany King is a lifelong reading fanatic who is now living her dream as a writer, weaving Young Adult and New Adult romance tales for others to enjoy. She has a loving husband and two wonderful kids. (Five, if you count her three spoiled cats). Her addictions include: Her iphone and ipad, chocolate, Diet Coke, chocolate, Harry Potter, chocolate, zombies and her favorite TV shows. Want to know what they are? Just ask.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Release Day and Review: Pocketful of Sand by M. LeightonPocketful of Sand by M. Leighton
Published by Self Published on March 15, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

“She’s beauty for my ashes. And I’m hope for her heartache.”—Cole Danzer.

I don’t know what makes a great love story. Is it that instant attraction when boy meets girl? The passionate kisses and the fairy-tale ending? Or is it a lifetime of tragedy, paid in advance, for a few stolen moments of pure bliss? The pain and the suffering that, in the end, you can say are worth it for having found the missing piece of your soul?

The answer is: I don’t know. I don’t know what makes a great love story. I only know what makes my love story. I only know that finding Cole when I did, when Emmy and I were running from a nightmare, was the only thing that saved me. That saved us. He was more broken than I was, but somehow we took each other’s shattered pieces and made a whole. If that is what makes a great love story, if that is what makes an epic romance, then mine…ours is the greatest of them all.

**Contains material that some may find disturbing. Not intended for readers under the age of 18**

The title says it all….

As I sit here my mind is working overtime trying to come up with the words to express my true feelings about this book. I literally felt so many emotions while I was reading it. I was sucked in from the very first page.

This book was unlike anything I’ve read before. Sure there were a few predictable things. But the plot itself was unique, and that’s what I loved most about this story.

Ms Leighton did a fantastic job with character development in this book. I felt like I knew the main characters. The more I read the more my heart broke for them. I hurt for them. And although the relationship moved rapidly between Eden and Cole. I didn’t get that insta-love feeling. It was like they were drawn to each other like a moth to a flame. Both damaged. Both needing something. Both struggling with their own issues, but the want for each other only growing stronger by the day.

I’m not going to go into the ending because I feel that is something you as the reader should go into on your own without any help from me. Trust me, you will thank me for it later. I will say this though. I liked what Ms Leighton did. Sorry! I’m not saying any more. lol

Overall, I really enjoyed Pocketful of Sand. I’m happy I read it. I really loved the story and characters. I hope you’ll give it a chance. Ms Leighton’s books are amazing.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About M. Leighton

I was born and raised in the United States, and I’ve lived in several of the fabulous fifty. Though I currently live in the deep South, I spent much of my childhood up North and hope to return there one day. A few other things about me: I believe that sometimes you have to look really, REALLY hard to find the good in people, but it’s there. I believe that I’m shrinking (I swear five years ago I was two inches taller). I believe my husband is quite possibly one of the most amazing men in the entire world (I can’t be sure because I haven’t met all of them). I believe coffee and chocolate, when combined, could be the basis for world peace. I believe that Jesus rocks and communism doesn’t. I believe that white makes me look fat and black collects lint. I believe summer’s too hot, winter’s too cold and fall was made for football. I like dogs better than cats and the first movie in a trilogy is invariably the best. But most of all, I believe that love conquers all.

Review: The Deal by Elle KennedyThe Deal by Elle Kennedy
Series: Off-Campus #1
Published by Self Published on February 24, 2015
Pages: 358
Format: eBook
Source: Borrowed From A Friend
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy...

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

...and it’s going to be oh so good.

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

I’ve heard good things about this one. It’s gotten high ratings and the overall buzz is that it’s a really good read. You know what? I agree.

My favorite character in this book is Garrett. I loved Garrett from the beginning. The captain of Briars hockey team, he’s the college hottie. Every girl wants a piece of him. A lot of them have had him. In a hook up sort of way. He doesn’t do relationships. Hannah though is the exception. She doesn’t do relationships either. Or hook ups for that matter.

The Deal is considered a new adult. My first my impression though was that it felt like a mature young adult. Some of the dialogue seemed high schoolish. The characters at times seemed to act rather childish. After a while though, I really started to get into the story and quickly found myself in love with the characters. Again Garrett. His is so amazing. With his humorous personality, persistence where Hannah was concerned, to the fact that he’s a star hockey player, he’s the overall package.

There was a lot of playful banter between Garrett and Hannah. They had me cracking up throughout the story. That’s one of my favorite things about stories. The banter between the characters. I love strong females who can not only hold their own with their make counterparts, but also come out on top too.

The only negative thing I can say about this book is that it’s predictable. Of course, there are a few surprises, but for the most part it was easy for me to figure out. I’m not saying that being predictable is necessarily a bad thing. Its just that I like my mind to be constantly analyzing. I’m always trying to figure out what’s going to happen next. Sadly, that wasn’t the case with this book.

Overall though, I really enjoyed The Deal. If you’re a fan of new adult I highly suggest it. There are several secondary characters that I hope get their own books. I have a feeling that this is going to be a great series.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Tight by Alessandra TorreTight by Alessandra Torre
Published by Self Published on February 7, 2015
Pages: 286
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I was happy in my small town. In my life as a single, thirty-two year old woman. I had a good job, wonderful friends, my independence.

I also hadn't got laid in three years. Hadn't been on a date in two. Had stopped counting calories and wearing makeup... a while ago.

Then Brett Jacobs waltzed in. Caressed my thigh, dug rough fingers into my hair, lowered his soft mouth to my skin, took sexual control of my mind and stirred it all around with what he packed in his pants. He flipped my quiet life upside down and crawled into a place in my heart I thought was dead.

The issue is his secret.
The issue is her.
The issue is that I don't even know she exists, and he thinks she's dead.
The issue is that shit is about to hit the fan and I can't hold on to him tight enough.

Omigosh this book is amazing and is masterfully crafted. When I read the synopsis I just knew I had to read it. It sucked me in from the very first page and had my mind working overtime trying to figure out what would happen next.

The suspense in this book is unbelievable. Ms Torre did an excellent job of holding my interest until the end. Every time I thought I’d have it figured out something else would happen and catch me off guard.

I loved both Riley and Brett. Although they seemed to fall in love quite quickly, I didn’t get that insta-love feeling. Brett was very good for Riley. She was from a small town and then she met Brett and he shared the world with her. It was like an adventure to her.

But soon things don’t start adding up and Riley is left questioning everything she knows. In the end though things work out perfectly. I couldn’t be more satisfied with how things worked out.

Alessandra Torre is fastly becoming one of my favorite authors. Her books are well written, suspenseful, and will have you analyzing everything. The sex scenes will have your heart pounding and leave you wanting more.

If you haven’t yet read her books, I highly suggest you give them a try.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Alessandra Torre

Alessandra Torre is an exciting new author who astonished the publishing world with the success of her first novel, Blindfolded Innocence. Initially self-published, the intriguing romance and erotica title quickly rose to the top of the charts on Kindle and Amazon where it attracted the interest of major publishing houses. Currently available on Kindle, iBookstore and Nook, Blindfolded Innocence will be available in print in through Harlequin Publishing on January 25, 2014.

Torre’s captivating story about a young intern’s sexual awakening has won praise and rave reviews from numerous critics, bloggers and book reviewers, including the acclaimed Dr. Laura Berman. In her recent article “35 to Read After 50″ in Everyday Health, Dr. Berman recommended Blindfolded as a must-read for book enthusiasts searching for a new fix after Fifty Shades of Grey. The book has also received high marks from readers on Goodreads and other literary web sites where fans frequently remark they can’t wait for a Blindfolded sequel.

Momentarily stunned by the book’s rapid success, Torre resumed her daily writing routine and published ‘The Girl in 6E’, an erotic thriller that explores the hidden fetishes men covet and the life of a female recluse who battles an overwhelming desire for murder. The Girl in 6E will be released in Summer 2014, as a hardcover novel, through Redhook, an imprint of Hachette.

From her home near the warm waters of the Emerald Coast in Florida, she devotes several hours each day to various writing projects and interacting with her fans on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest. Happily married to her “best friend” and with one son, she loves watching SEC football games, horseback riding, reading and watching movies.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Throb by Vi KeelandThrob by Vi Keeland
Published by Self Published on January 25, 2015
Pages: 269
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The rules:

No dating.
No sex outside of the game.
No disclosing the terms of the contract.

Rules were made to be broken, right?

Eight weeks ago I signed a contract. One that seemed like a good idea at the time. A handsome bachelor, luxury accommodations, and a chance to win a prize my family desperately needed. There were some rules though. Lots of them actually. Follow the script, no dating, sex, or disclosing the terms of the deal. After my self-imposed moratorium on men the last year, it wouldn’t be hard to live up to my end of the bargain…so I thought. Until I realized the deal I’d made was with the devil…and I was in love with his dirty-talking brother.

Going into this one I wasn’t quite sure how I’d feel about it considering it’s centered around two males and one female, but I think Ms Keeland did an excellent job of writing it. I’m not really a love triangle type of person. I’d prefer a hero and heroine, but I didn’t really mind it in this story.

I’m a big fan of Ms Keeland’s work so I knew I had to read this book. Let me tell you… Throb did not disappoint.

O.M.G. Cooper Montgomery! Rawr! I fell in love with his bossy, sexy self from the very first scene. Omigosh he is the epitome of Alpha Male! *fans self* My kind of guy for sure.

I really liked Kate too. She has a lot of character. She was trying to do what she could to help her family out and I couldn’t help but have respect for her. She’s a strong woman.

I found Flynn to be an interesting guy. Who doesn’t like a long haired, tattooed, sexy rock star? He was quite the charmer.

This story has a great flow to it. Something is constantly happening and I had a problem putting it down at times. It kept my interest from beginning until the very end.

Overall, I loved this one. I haven’t read a book by Ms Keeland yet that I didn’t like. If you haven’t read her work yet I highly suggest you give it a try. Her MMA series rocks!

Up next is Flynn and Lucky’s story. I’m super excited to read it.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a native New Yorker with three children that occupy most of her free time, which she complains about often, but wouldn’t change for the world. She is a bookworm and has been known to read her kindle at stop lights, while styling her hair, cleaning, walking, during sporting events, and frequently while pretending to work. She is a boring attorney by day, and an exciting New York Times & USA Today Best Selling smut author by night!

In 2013, she released four romance novels, including the first story in the new MMA Fighter series, Worth the Fight. Three more are planned for release in 2014. Her novels have appeared on the Top 5 lists of Amazon USA, UK, Canada and Barnes & Noble.

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: 10 Years by Bethany Lopez10 Years by Bethany Lopez
Series: Time for Love #5
Published by Self Published on February 3, 2015
Format: eARC
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A lot can happen in 10 years, and Gwen and Craig have been there for each other through it all, from meeting on the playground to juggling college finals. But their long-standing friendship hasn't been without its challenges.

Gwen keeps her emotions locked down tight, and when someone hurts her, she shuts down and shuts them out. Craig has always been her hero, but when one night leaves her broken, she realizes he has the power to hurt her the most.

Unable to get past Gwen's emotional barriers, Craig focuses on baseball and reaching for his dreams, but he misses his best friend. He wonders if he'll ever have the same relationship he did with the girl he met ten years ago.

When the barriers finally come down and their true feelings are revealed, will they finally become the couple everyone says they're destined to be, or will the darkness from Gwen's past tear them apart forever?

I just love this series. The characters are all really interesting. And I love how they’re a tight knit group who appear in all the books.

I’ve been excited about this book for a while now. The tension between Craig and Gwen has been growing. I really wanted to find out what happened to make their friendship get off track.

Gwen sort of ticked me off in the last book. (Sorry Bethany) She grew really fond of Brock and when her sister broke things off with him, Gwen wasn’t happy. She really acted like a brat. Also, I couldn’t understand why she was treating Craig the way she was.

I loved the storyline for 10 Years. It kept me interested throughout the entire book. If you’ve read Bethany Lopez before then you know her books always have a great flow to them. She’s able to captured the readers attention from the very first page and hold it until the end. 10 Years was no exception.

In the end I loved the way things ended. After 10 Years of being best friends, this book couldn’t have ended any other way.

Up next is Brendan’s book and I cannot wait to read it. It’s going to be epic!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
The Memory Keeper (1st book of the 2nd Freak House trilogy) by C.J. ArcherThe Memory Keeper by C.J. Archer
Series: The 2nd Freak House Series #1
Published by Self Published on May 2014
Pages: 216
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Charity Evans wants nothing more than to leave her troubled past behind and start afresh. The teacher at a London school for orphans is encouraged to have her memories blocked by hypnotist Samuel Gladstone, but when they experience visions with an unknown third person, they realize the past can never be truly erased.

Now her past is returning to haunt Charity all over again.

Samuel is determined to help her, but how can a woman who trusts no man trust a hypnotist? And what dark secrets changed the charming gentleman into a desperate man who'll do anything to keep those secrets buried?

The Memory Keeper is the first book in the second Freak House series, which I love fiercely. You can check out my reviews for the first Freak House series, here.

The Romance and Mystery continue at The Frankingham Estate aka Freak House:

freak-house

The Memory Keeper picks up with Samuel and Charity’s story right where we left off at the end of the first Freak House trilogy. I was SO ATTACHED and IN LOVE with Jack and Hannah’s story in the first series that I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to properly ”get into” The Memory Keeper.

But I was wrong. (What’s new?)

The Memory Keeper was enthralling. It was full of suppressed attraction and pulse-pounding games of cat and mouse. The menacing thread of mystery throughout the story kept me completely captivated. Samuel and Charity’s story has a much darker edge to it than Jack and Hannah’s from the previous Freak House books, and The Memory Keeper made for a chilling Victorian-era read.

I kinda imagined Sara Gadon as Charity, though she isn’t my perfect match. These pictures of her are not Victorian-era, but it’s all I got.

Charity has a scandalous past. Orphaned at an early age, she was forced to fend for herself by any means necessary- even if it meant becoming someone’s mistress. WE meet Charity in the first Freak House trilogy because she was child-hood friends with Jack Langley. The Memory Keeper focuses on Charity’s internal struggles with the dark memories that haunt her and her desire to be rid of them once and for all so she can move on with her life. It was both heartbreaking and intriguing to be privy to Charity’s painful past, and ultimately frustrating because of how these experiences have scarred her. We also witness the unfolding of a sinister plot that involves people from Charity’s past that threaten to ruin the new sense of self and career she has made for herself. All of this was exciting and intriguing, but I was left with one question at the end of the book: Will Charity ever be able to love a man again, let alone trust one?

I always imagine Alex Pettyfer as Samuel.

SamuelUNF.Yes, please.

Samuel. *SIGH*. Sweet, seductive, sensitive Samuel. My heart definitely beats a little faster for Samuel, but he cannot replace my love for Jack Langley. Maybe that’s because Jack from the first Freak House trilogy is just the right amount of domineering and dashing. But Samuel is debonair as ever in The Memory Keeper and he about charmed the pants right off me- no hypnotizing required. He is the same enticing character he was in the previous books, but layers of mystery and depth come together perfectly to flesh him out in this novel. I enjoyed learning more about his life before he met Charity or entered the Freak House world of characters.

As learned in the previous Freak House trilogy, Samuel has a special skill- he’s able to hypnotize people on demand just by using his voice. In The Memory Keeper, Samuel uses this skill to help Charity cope with her past but it triggers something dark in him.

The Memory Keeper felt more character driven than the previous Freak House books to me, therefore the pacing was slowed down to match this shift. Samuel only has eyes for Charity and desperately wants to be the man in her life. But as one might guess- things are complicated.

Once again, the paranormal, romantic, and mysterious combine to create an attention grabbing story. C.J. Archer’s books are ones to be savored and shared with the historical fiction and paranormal fiction lovers in your life. If you haven’t read them already, please check the first Freak House trilogy before starting The Memory Keeper.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLOG TOUR and REVIEW: Left Behind by Vi Keeland and Dylan ScottLeft Behind by Dylan Scott, Vi Keeland
Published by Self Published on October 14, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Two stories so deeply intertwined, you’ll think you know how they intersect…but you’ll be wrong….

Zack Martin
The day I met Emily Bennett my whole world changed. Sure, we were just kids, but I was old enough to know my life would never be the same. She was my best friend. My destiny. My fate. I wasn’t wrong…I just didn’t know how twisted fate could be.

Nikki Fallon
After the death of my mother, moving from my dark and dreary trailer park to sunny California, I was focused on one thing – finding a sister I’d only just learned existed. Falling in love with him wasn’t part of the plan. But he filled a void I never knew was possible to fill. He had to be my fate. My destiny. Until the day I finally found out who my sister was…and how twisted fate could be.

review

My thoughts…

Wow! What a great story. This book is so unlike any that Ms Keeland has written. It’s a young adult that sort of turns into a new adult at the very end. I really loved this one.

Being honest, I had no idea what this story was about when I signed up for the review tour. All I knew was that it was written by Ms Keeland and Dylan Scott. That it was unlike any other story she’s written before. That’s it. Nothing more. It’s because of my being a big fan of Ms Keeland I knew that I had to read it.

I fell in love with both Nikki and Zack. They developed a strong bond right away. Both having suffered a great loss in their short life drew them together. I think the authors did a great job of letting these characters emotions shine through in their writing. I found myself hoping that when all was said and done in the end they would be together.

This story is so emotionally charged. Beautifully written. And one that I can’t recommend enough. I will say the plot was pretty easy for me to figure out, but that didn’t in any way take away from the story. I’m curious to see if perhaps the authors will write a story for Ashley and Keller. I really liked both of them. Keller can only be described as a meathead lol He loves to joke around and is just full of himself. He cracked me up. A lot.

Overall, I loved Left Behind!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a native New Yorker with three children that occupy most of her free time, which she complains about often, but wouldn’t change for the world. She is a bookworm and has been known to read her kindle at stop lights, while styling her hair, cleaning, walking, during sporting events, and frequently while pretending to work. She is a boring attorney by day, and an exciting New York Times & USA Today Best Selling smut author by night!

In 2013, she released four romance novels, including the first story in the new MMA Fighter series, Worth the Fight. Three more are planned for release in 2014. Her novels have appeared on the Top 5 lists of Amazon USA, UK, Canada and Barnes & Noble.