Book Tour: Listen to Me by Kristen ProbyListen To Me by Kristen Proby
Series: Fusion #1
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks on April 12th 2016
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD | Indiebound
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Kristen Proby’s brand new series, five best friends open a hot new restaurant, but one of them gets much more than she bargained for when a sexy former rock star walks through the doors—and into her heart.
Seduction is quickly becoming the hottest new restaurant in Portland, and Addison Wade is proud to claim 1/5 of the credit. She’s determined to make it a success and can’t think of a better way to bring in new customers than live music. But when former rock star Jake Keller swaggers through the doors to apply for the weekend gig, she knows she’s in trouble. Addie instantly recognizes him—his posters were plastered all over her bedroom walls in high school—he’s all bad boy...exactly her type and exactly what she doesn’t need.
Jake Keller walked away from the limelight five years ago and yearns to return to what’s always driven him: the music. If he gets to work for a smart-mouthed, funny-as-hell bombshell, all the better. But talking Addie into giving him the job is far easier than persuading her that he wants more than a romp in her bed. Just when she begins to drop her walls, Jake’s past finally catches up with him.
Will Addie be torn apart once again or will Jake be able to convince her to drown out her doubts and listen to her heart?

Another great story from Kristen Proby and another great set of friends/family that I can’t wait to get to know!

Addison Wade and her closest friends have opened up Portland’s hottest new restaurant, Seduction! While Addison and Kat (one of her best friends and partner) out scoping local talent at an open mic night in an effort to bring some local music to their restaurant, we, the readers meet Jake Keller aka Jake Nash.

Jake Nash used to be a Rock God, but he left the limelight after an accident that he blames himself fore.. These days he prefers to be BEHIND THE MUSIC. He misses performing and goes to an open mic night just to do it. After realizing how much he misses it, his best friend talks him in to going to Seduction and see about getting the job performing there on the weekends.

Now this is where ADDIE and JAKE finally meet each other..and the sparks start flying!

Addie has been around the block when it comes to dating musicians and she is DONE after the last one. Or so she thinks…. Even though she can feel the chemistry between her and Jake..she does her best to not engage in anything with him. But we all know that wasn’t gonna last long… I really loved Jake and Addie together. Usually there’s something about one of the main characters that drives me crazy..but these two I really liked. Of course there was a drama, there should always be a little drama..but in the end it all works out!

I really liked both Addison’s friends AND Jake’s friends. They all seemed like super awesome people and I kind of wish I had a set of friends like that in my own life! Maybe I should move to Portland? Haha! I can’t wait to see where this series and the characters go in the future!

Also, THAT EPILOGUE.. seriously though.. WARNING: CLIFFHANGER…that will get you excited for the next ocuple in the series and it will have you counting the days until the release of Close to You.. (125 days as of the date I published this review.. LOL.)

 

If you love Kristen Proby’s books or if you love Contemporary Romances..DEFINITELY CHECK OUT LISTEN TO ME! I think you’ll really like it! 🙂

 

Thanks to Inkslinger and the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review for the blog tour. 🙂

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Kristen Proby

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author Kristen Proby is the author of the bestselling With Me In Seattle and Love Under the Big Sky series. She has a passion for a good love story and strong, humorous characters with a strong sense of loyalty and family. Her men are the alpha type; fiercely protective and a bit bossy, and her ladies are fun, strong, and not afraid to stand up for themselves.
Kristen lives in Montana, where she enjoys coffee, chocolate and sunshine. And naps.

Blog Tour: Bounce by Noelle August + Giveaway

Blog Tour: Bounce by Noelle August + GiveawayBounce by Noelle August
Series: Boomerang #3
Published by William Morrow on August 25th, 2015
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Playing the occasional club gig just isn’t cutting it for twenty-two-year-old cellist Skyler Canby, who’s trying to support herself and her mother back home in Kentucky. Persuaded by her best friend Beth to accompany her on an audition for the first feature film launched by Blackwood Entertainment, she figures why not? Beth’s a shoe-in for the lead, but maybe Skyler’s newly dyed pink hair will help her stand out enough to score a small speaking part.

Never in her wildest dreams does Skyler imagine she’ll land the lead role or that she’ll have her shoes knocked off her feet by the kiss her audition partner, Grey Blackwood, plants on her—a kiss that feels very real and not at all “acted. ”

After throwing a party that causes thousands of dollars of damage to his older brother’s home, reckless musician Grey Blackwood gets roped into working off his debt on the set of his CEO brother’s newest project. Grey spends his days fetching coffee and doing odd jobs around the studio, but he lives for nights when he performs with his band. He knows if he can stay focused, success as a singer is just around the corner. But that’s tough with a distracting pink-haired girl occupying his every waking thought.

Skyler and Grey have every reason to resist each other. But, like a song neither of them can get out of their minds, they have no choice but to go where the music takes them.

Bounce is the final book in the Boomerang series by Noelle August. It can be read as a standalone, but I suggest reading the first two books in the series as the characters from the previous books show up throughout this book and references to events in those books are mentioned.

Skyler is a musician from Kentucky looking to make it somehow in Los Angeles. She ends up at an audition for a movie with her roommate.

Grey is the younger brother of Adam Blackwood, who we get to know in the previous book Rebound. After a wild party Grey has pretty much destroys his brother’s house, Grey has to work off what he owes his brother for damages. One of the things he ends up having to do is to sit in an audition for a movie Adam has invested in. He’s standing in for the leading actor who can’t make it to the audition for the female lead.

After hours of reading lines with numerous girls, in comes Skyler and the sparks start flying.

Grey & Skyler have instant chemistry and it’s off the charts, but other than the first time they met you don’t really see them act on it all that much. Thanks to Adam for loaning Grey out to Garrett (the male lead in the movie they’re filming) as his personal assistant, he’s on set every day and is around Sky quite a bit.

Sky doesn’t see them working out, due to the fact that she is the ripe old age of TWENTY TWO to Grey’s NINETEEN. WOW, what an age difference! NOT. She makes such a big deal over it, when really it’s not that bad. I almost forgot that she was only in her early twenties. She made it seem like she was 30ish everytime she complained about how he was younger than her. She has such an issue with having feelings for Grey that she even goes so far as to “date” Brooks. It starts up this weird love triangle thing, but you quickly realize that it’s not really anything to be worried about.

Grey has some serious issues he needs to work through in this book and he does everything he can to avoid said issues..but eventually he gets his head out of his ass and sees that it doesn’t take blood to make someone your family and for people to love you like their own.

Eventually Sky falls victim to the pressures of being an actress in Hollywood and in the end it finally brings her and Grey together. THANK GOD.

Like I said, this book is supposed to be the final in the Boomerang series, but I can totally see them spinning of this series and go in to the lives of some of the characters we meet in this last book. Especially seeing as I didn’t get an EPILOGUE. >:( All series should end with an epilogue. WHO AGREES WITH ME?

Anyways, if you like cute light hearted romances, I definitely suggest you check this series out.

Thank you to William Morrow for an advanced copy in exchange for my honest review. 🙂

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Noelle August

Question: What do you get when friends pen a story with heart, plenty of laughs, and toe-curling kissing scenes? Answer: Noelle August, the pseudonym for renowned editor and award-winning writer Lorin Oberweger and New York Times bestselling YA author Veronica Rossi, the masterminds behind the Boomerang series.

BLOG TOUR: Rebound by Noelle August + GiveawayRebound by Noelle August
Series: Boomerang #2
Published by HarperCollins, William Morrow on February 10th, 2015
Pages: 291
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

At Boomerang, one night can change everything…

 

Noelle August has taken the New Adult genre by storm, and readers can’t wait to see what chaos, confusion, and connections arise at the Boomerang offices next.

 

Adam Blackwood has it all. At twenty-three, he’s fabulously wealthy, Ryan Gosling-hot and at the top of his game in the business world. His life is perfect, until a scandal from his past resurfaces and threatens to knock the tech wunderkind down and throw his company, Boomerang, a hook-up site for millennials, into chaos.
Alison Quick, the twenty-one-year-old daughter of a business tycoon—and the very ex-girlfriend of Boomerang’s former intern, Ethan—has a problem of her own. After nearly flunking out in her senior year of college, she has one chance to redeem herself to her father by proving that she deserves a place in his corporate empire. That means spearheading her father’s plan to sink big money into Adam’s company and launch it into the stratosphere—provided Adam has no skeletons in his closet.
When the two meet, their sizzling chemistry makes it tough to keep things strictly professional. But when Alison discovers Adam’s secret, she knows she should bring it right to her father, who’ll leverage it for his own gain and use it to ruin Adam. The only problem: she’s falling for Adam—hard.

 

Will earning her father’s approval come at the price of losing her first real love? Or can Adam and Alison leave behind past mistakes and conquer the world—together?

 

I have to be honest here… I think I may have liked this one better than the first one. The reason why I know this is because I actually had to go back into Boomerang and skim it through a bit and see what exactly Alison did to her Ex in that book. Oops. :X

After going through something horrific with his last girlfriend in college, Adam has closed himself off from any sort of romantic relationships and only resorted to hookups and while blaming himself for what happened in college.

Alison, oh Alison, it’s probably a good thing I didn’t remember what it is you did in the first book that caused your relationship to Ethan to to end or else I may have not read this book….Alison has recently graduated college and now she needs to prove to her dad that she can handle the family business. I ended up liking Alison a lot. She was a good person who made a terrible mistake, but after learning more about her family, and especially her dad, it all made sense.  I’m so glad that she and Adam found each other and are able to help each other get over things that happened in their past and move on with their lives with each other!

 

This was a cute story, but it did get a bit emotional at times. There is quite a cast of characters in this series and I liked them all! This book did start out with Insta-Love, but it totally worked in this story! So don’t let it turn you off from continuing on with the book.
I can’t wait for the next book in the series, Bounce! We’ll get to know Adam’s brother, Grey Blackwood, better in that one. 😉

 

Thanks to William Morrow/Harper Collins for the opportunity to read & review this book for the blog tour! 🙂

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Noelle August

Question: What do you get when friends pen a story with heart, plenty of laughs, and toe-curling kissing scenes? Answer: Noelle August, the pseudonym for renowned editor and award-winning writer Lorin Oberweger and New York Times bestselling YA author Veronica Rossi, the masterminds behind the Boomerang series.

Book Review: Stay With Me by J. Lynn (Blog Tour)

Book Review: Stay With Me by J. Lynn (Blog Tour)Stay With Me by J. Lynn
Series: Wait For You #3
Published by William Morrow on September 23rd, 2014
Pages: 448
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

At 21, Calla hasn't done a lot of things. She’s never been kissed, never seen the ocean, never gone to an amusement park. But growing up, she witnessed some things no child ever should. She still carries the physical and emotional scars of living with a strung-out mother, Mona—secrets she keeps from everyone, including her close circle of college friends.

But the safe cocoon Calla has carefully built is shattered when she discovers her mom has stolen her college money and run up a huge credit card debt in her name. Now, Calla has to go back to the small town she thought shed left behind and clean up her mom’s mess again. Of course, when she arrives at her mother’s bar, Mona is nowhere to be found. Instead, six feet of hotness named Jackson James is pouring drinks and keeping the place humming.

Sexy and intense, Jax is in Calla’s business from they moment they meet, giving her a job and helping her search for Mona. And the way he looks at her makes it clear he wants to get horizontal . . . and maybe something more. Before Calla can let him get close, though, she’s got to deal with the pain of the past—and some very bad guys out to mess her up if she doesn't give them her mom.

Stay With Me is another amazing book from one of our favorite authors Jennifer L. Armentrout. Book 3 in her new adult series WAIT FOR YOU, Stay With Me follows Teresa Hamilton’s friend Calla as she tries to put her life back together after discovering that her mother has stolen her college money and racked up a massive amount of debt in Calla’s name.
While the book starts out at the College and town where Wait For You and Be With Me take place in, the story leaves there and goes to Calla’s hometown outside of Philly.

Calla has escaped a strung out mother and memories of a tragedy that has left Calla scarred both physically and emotionally with plans to make for a better life for herself. When it comes time to pay for her next semester in school she discovers that the money in her college fund is missing. Not only that, but someone has racked up a huge credit card debt in her name. When Calla can’t get a hold of the person who is responsible for this, her mother, she goes back to her hometown to try and find out what’s going on.

Entering Plymouth Meeting, her hometown, Calla goes straight to the one place where her mother should be. Only to find a hot bartender who gives Jase a run for his money as lieutenant of the Hot Guy Brigade. Which is what she calls the guys (Cam, Jase, Ollie, etc..) in her circle of friends.

Jax is a hot guy ex-marine, who spends his nights tending bar and has his own flaws. I think he makes the perfect, or not so perfect, match for Calla. I really enjoyed Jax a lot. He was a lot different from Cam and Jase.. The only thing that bothered me about Jax is the way he handled the Aimee situation… it was a serious ‘DUH!’ moment..and he should’ve realized that he was handling it all wrong. Other than that he was great with Calla.

I loved meeting Katie and Roxy. You never knew what was going to come out of Katie’s mouth. I hope that we see more of her in the future as well as Roxy, there’s definitely a story to Roxy and I do believe we will be getting behind her next. I can’t wait!!

Poor Calla, she’s had so much heartbreak in her life and really no one to share it with. She’s afraid to tell her friends about her past. She’s so independent until one day she’s not..and on top of that she’s never really LIVED her life. She has so much to experience and I find that maybe her mother screwing her over financially may have been the best thing to happen to her. She learns to trust her friends and open up to them..and she finds some one who helps her experience the things she’s been missing out on. 😉

I really enjoyed this book, it was a bit different from the last two books in the series.. It was a lot more suspenseful and I really liked that about this book. It also had a cameo from some of JLA’s other characters and I’m not talking about the characters from the Wait For You series, because they’re a given..you shall see. 😉

Thanks to the publisher for allowing me to read and review this book! I look forward to the next book in the series, Fall with Me, which the cover for will be revealed next month so look out for it!!

 

The Wait For You Series by J. Lynn

wait-for-you trustinyou bewithme

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

DNF: Royally Lost by Angie StantonRoyally Lost by Angie Stanton
Published by HarperCollins on May 6th, 2014
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
 Stars

Dragged on a family trip to Europe’s ancient cities, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, over-eager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is miserable. That is until she meets Nikolai, a guy as mysterious as he is handsome. And she unknowingly finds herself with a runaway prince.

Nikolai has everything a guy could ask for-he's crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing he doesn't have...is freedom. Staging a coup, he flees his kingdom and goes undercover on his own European tour.

When Nikolai and Becca meet, it’s their differences that draw them together. Sparks fly as they share a whirlwind of adventures, all the while dodging his royal guard. But Becca's family vacation ends in a matter of days. Will Nikolai and Becca be forced to say goodbye forever, will his destiny catch up to him, or will they change history forever?

I am a sucker for books where the girl gets the prince. I’ve also read Angie Stanton’s Jamieson Collection series and I enjoyed those books. When I saw this book on edelweiss and saw who the author was, I of course, had to request it.

I started reading it and instantly disliked the female MC, Becca. The Male MC, Nikolai’s introduction to me wasn’t so hot either..but.. I powered through….

When I got to 14% I couldn’t take it anymore!!

Nikolai is a prince who is anti-monarchy and Becca is being anti everything on her family’s European vacation. If she throws a fit about him being a prince when she finds out I’m going to throw my iPad. Ungrateful girl is on a trip to Europe whining about the history of the places she’s visiting…how she doesn’t want to go to this palace or church or even be on the tour at all… I would about kill to go to Europe and explore all of their historical buildings and learn more about their history.. And I’d swoon and have a heart attack if I met a good looking prince! All she does is whine..all they both do is pretty much whine. To be Honest, I don’t even know if I’ll ever finish this book and find out if she throws a fit when she finds out he’s a prince.. maybe one day when I’m bored I will get curious as to how it all ends..but for now..I just can’t take it.

So if you’ve been planning to read this..good luck. If you get through, Please let me know how it ends. If they both evolve into less whiny characters I will continue reading it.

 Stars

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Be with Me by J. LynnBe with Me by J. Lynn
Series: Wait for You #2
Published by Harper Collins on February 4, 2014
Pages: 299
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Teresa Hamilton is having a rough year—she’s in love with her big brother’s best friend, but he hasn’t spoken to her since they shared a truly amazing, mind-blowing, change-your-life kiss. She got out of a terrible relationship. And now an injury is threatening to end her dance career for good. It’s time for Plan B – college. And maybe a chance to convince Jase that what they have together is real.

Jase Winstead has a huge secret that he’s not telling anyone. Especially not his best friend’s incredibly beautiful sister. Even though he and Teresa shared the hottest kiss of his life, he knows that his responsibilities must take priority. He certainly doesn’t have time for a relationship. But it doesn’t help that all he can think about kissing the one girl who could ruin everything for him.

As they’re thrown together more and more, Jase and Tess can’t keep denying their feelings for each other. But a familiar danger looms and tragedy strikes. As the campus recovers, the star-crossed couple must decide what they’re willing to risk to be together, and what they’re willing to lose if they’re not…

review

My thoughts…

I enjoyed this story for the most part. There were a few minors things that I didn’t care for, but overall I enjoyed it. I found the plot to be intriguing and I couldn’t wait to get started reading it. Once I got started I couldn’t put it down. I was able to read it in a day which is pretty fast for me.

I loved both main characters. Jase & Teresa were secondary characters in book one. Jase is one of Cam’s best friends, and Teresa is Cam’s little sister. (for those of you who haven’t read the first book, Cam is the hero in book one) I was happy to hear they were getting their own book.

There were times while reading it that I found things to be predictable. That didn’t take away from the story though. There are a few twists and turns that keep this one really interesting. It held my attention until the very end.

Jase ticked me off a few times. I’m not going to lie. At times I was hoping someone would smack him upside the head. In the end though he straightened out. 🙂

Overall, I enjoyed this one. I think it’s a great addition to the series. Up next is book three which is entitled Stay with Me. It’s Calla’s book. She’s a secondary character in Be with Me.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Release Day & Review: Savor by Monica MurphySavor by Monica Murphy
Series: Billionaire Bachelors Club #3
Published by Avon Impulse on January 21, 2014
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy concludes her sexy Billionaire Bachelors Club series with a fiery romance that refuses to be left at the office…

Bryn James can’t take much more. Smart, sexy Matthew DeLuca is everything she wants in a man, but he’s also her boss—the youngest, hottest vineyard owner in the Napa Valley—and he doesn’t see her as anything more than his shy assistant. That’s all about to change. Armed with a hot new look and an attitude to match, Bryn is determined to catch Matt’s eye… professionalism be damned.
With his winery’s grand reopening approaching, Matt is trying to stay focused, but Bryn is suddenly making it very difficult. He’s always thought her prim demeanor effortlessly sexy, but Matt can’t deny that her transformation is jaw-dropping …and going to make it very difficult to keep his hands to himself.

But when one thing leads to another and suddenly Matt is stripping Bryn bare, he’ll be faced with the biggest risk of his career—and his heart. Can he convince her—and himself—that this might just be more than a no-strings office affair?

reviewMy thoughts…

Savor is the third novella in Billionaire Bachelors Club series. As with the first two I enjoyed this one. I don’t think it was quite the story book one was, but it was enjoyable.

I liked Matt’s character in both books one and two and I’ve been really excited about reading his book.  I found him to be an interesting guy. It’s not everyday an ex pro-ball player buys a Winery with absolutely no experience in running one.

Matt’s love interest is Bryn. I liked her too. She’s young and a little bit naive. She’s his assistant. Having previously worked for the previous owner Matt hired her on. Together they share a strong attraction to each other and have been dancing around each other for six months.

Savor has a bit of a insta-love element to it. The sexual scene (yes, I said scene) was comparable to adult mainstream and not explicit in nature. Whereas Crave & Torn had plentiful sexual scenes, Savor came up short.

Overall, I liked this one. I’m sort of sad the series is over. :/

series-listBook One: Crave | My Review | Purchase
Book Two:  Torn | My Review | Purchase

giveawaya Rafflecopter giveaway

 

One StarOne StarOne Star

About Monica Murphy

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling
author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her
family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon.
She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Rome by Jay CrownoverRome by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men #3
Published by William Morrow on January 7, 2014
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

Cora Lewis is a whole lot of fun, and she knows how to keep her tattooed bad boy friends in line. But all that flash and sass hide the fact that she’s never gotten over the way her first love broke her heart. Now she has a plan to make sure that never happens again: She’s only going to fall in love with someone perfect.

Rome Archer is as far from perfect as a man can be. He’s stubborn and rigid, he’s bossy and has come back from his final tour of duty fundamentally broken. Rome’s used to filling a role: big brother, doting son, super soldier; and now none of these fit anymore. Now he’s just a man trying to figure out what to do with the rest of his life while keeping the demons of war and loss at bay. He would have been glad to suffer it alone, until Cora comes sweeping into his life and becomes the only color on his bleak horizon.

Perfect isn’t in the cards for these two, but imperfect might just last forever . . .

My thoughts…

Rome is book three in the Marked Men series. I’ve been waiting for this one to become available. I love military heroes. There is just something about them that draws me in. This story had me laughing and crying. Yes, Ms Crownover brought me to tears a couple of times. Both Rome and Cora are secondary characters from previous books and I was happy they got their own book.

Rome. He’s a sexy alpha male who suffers from PTSD. He’s in a grumpy mood most of the time. Even though he’s grumpy I loved him. He’s strong willed and a protector.

Cora aka Tink. She’s smart and sassy, doesn’t take crap from anyone, and is very protective of her friends. She also meddles. I didn’t really care for this aspect of her. Since starting this series there has been a time or two where I think she overstepped her boundaries. Having said that I liked her for the most part and I think she had the best of intentions in her actions.

While I enjoyed Rome I did have a few issues with it:

The plot was interesting and held my attention for the most part, but there were a few times I found myself skimming pages. 🙁

The hero and heroine have unprotected sex from the get go. Although I’m against this I do however understand that sometimes this is necessary for storyline purposes.

They both agree that they’re not each other’s type, but Rome goes on to state Cora is smoking hot. I don’t get the “She’s smoking hot, but not really my type thing” It just doesn’t make sense to me.

Overall, I liked this one. It didn’t blow me away, but it was good. If you’re a fan of this series I think you’ll enjoy this one. If you haven’t read it yet I hope you’ll give it a try.

series-listRule (Marked Men #1)
My Review | Purchase
Jet (Marked Men #2)
My Review | Purchase

.

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Needing Her by Molly McAdamsNeeding Her by Molly McAdams
Published by William Morrow Impulse on December 23, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne Star

She’s the Girl Next Door

Maci Price isn’t really into relationships. Having four very protective older brothers has always made having a boyfriend very difficult, anyway. But her friend is set on finding her the perfect guy – and thinks the mysterious Connor Green is the perfect pick.

He’s Her Brother’s Best Friend

Connor Green is trying to find himself again. He loved then lost and it’s time for him to pick up the pieces. His brooding is making his friends crazy, but, Maci Price, who has grown up into a gorgeous and incredibly sexy woman, is about to break the spell.

They’re Made for Each Other

When Maci starts up old pranks to get Connor out of his slump, an all out war leads to a night that will break all their rules, and a relationship they must keep hidden. Together they’re electric. Apart they’re safe. And soon they’ll find they’re exactly what the other needs.

A fabulous, fun, and sexy, New Adult novella from New York Times bestselling author Molly McAdams. If you loved Connor in From Ashes, this is the story for you.

My thoughts…

Needing Her is a short novella. I liked it. It wasn’t fantabulous, but it was enjoyable. I found the plot to be interesting and I couldn’t wait to get started reading this one. Even though this is a short read, it did take me a bit to get through it.

My thoughts on the characters:

Maci. I liked her. I felt bad for her considering how her brothers threatened to take down any potential boyfriends she might have. She lives next door to Connor who is a police detective, and also her brothers best friend.

Speaking of her brothers. Did I like them? No. They were annoying as hell. Not so much the older two, but the twins. They were all over protective. Very over protective. The way they all spoke to Maci was harsh. It wasn’t playful banter. It was f* you or some other cuss word. I was sort of put off by that.

I liked Connor. Even though he dated… err I guess taking a willing female home for sex often isn’t really dating… He was a likable guy. He treated Maci like a little sister in the beginning though. In fact it seemed to me that he didn’t think of her in any other way until one day a spark ignited.

Maci & Connor liked to play pranks on each other. I thought they were hilarious. I laughed so hard at times. All I can say is that the shower and green kool-aid prank is epic.

Together I thought they made a good couple. They both had issues, but I think they were good together.

I really liked Maci’s friend Amber. Now she’s a secondary character I would like to see get her own book. She does have a boyfriend in this book, but the twins, well, they were definitely interested in her.

The Sex:

The sexual content is a bit hotter then adult mainstream. I had to fan myself quite a few times. It’s well written and plentiful.

Overall, I found Needing Her to be enjoyable. I like Ms McAdams writing style and I looking forward to reading more of her work in the future.

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Torn by Monica MurphyTorn by Monica Murphy
Series: Billionaire Bachelors Club #2
Published by Avon Impulse on November 19, 2013
Pages: 100
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Marina Knight came to this party for one thing only: to slap Gage Emerson in the face. Poised to snatch up her family’s real estate empire, the sexy tycoon is on the verge of making an enemy for life—even if he can make her melt with a single kiss …

When Gage discovers that the alluring woman before him is the key to his latest acquisition, claiming her as his suddenly doesn’t seem quite so cut-and-dried. To get what he wants, he must get to know the fierce woman willing to face him down—as she steadily steals his heart.

Gage’s persistence and intense passion war with Marina’s determination to protect her family. As they delve deeper into an affair they didn’t see coming, Marina’s torn: Will she lose her heart to Gage—or everything she holds dear?

My thoughts…

Torn was a very fast read for me. It can easily be read in one sitting. I liked it. Gage was a secondary character in the first novella in this series and I was really looking forward to him getting his own story. He’s not one for relationships so I couldn’t wait to meet the woman who would bring him to his knee’s.

Speaking of… I really liked Marina. She’s tough as nails and doesn’t take crap from anyone. I enjoyed the banter between Gage and Marina. They go from not being able to stand each other to scorching up the sheets in no time.

The sexual content is comparable to mainstream romance. It’s not overly explicit, but still enjoyable to read. There are plenty scenes within this one.

Overall, I really liked this one. There may have been a time or two that I feel things were rushed, but overall this is a great read.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Monica Murphy

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling
author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her
family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon.
She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: Trust in Me by J. LynnTrust in Me by J. Lynn
Series: Wait for You #1.5
Published by William Morrow Impulse on October 22, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

It's Wait for You as you've never seen it. Trust in Me lets you in on Cam's side of the #1 New York Times bestselling story.

Cameron Hamilton is used to getting what he wants, especially when it comes to women. But when Avery Morgansten comes crashing into his life—literally—he finally meets the one person who can resist his soulful baby blues. But Cam's not ready to give up. He can't get the feisty and intriguing girl out of his head.

Avery has secrets, secrets that keep her from admitting the feelings Cam knows she has for him. Will persistence (and some delicious homemade cookies) help him break down her barriers and gain her trust? Or will he be shut out of Avery's life, losing his first real shot at the kind of love that lasts forever?

My thoughts…

I absolutely loved Wait for You (book one) and Cameron. So when Trust in Me was announced I couldn’t wait to read it and get Cam’s POV on how things played out between both him and Avery. Some readers aren’t a fan of authors writing subsequent books or novellas from the heroes POV. I happen to enjoy it. It’s interesting to experience things from the heroes perspective.

Cameron. He is perfect. Well, at first he’s described as a ladies man, but I didn’t really get that vibe from him. It was hinted at, but there just wasn’t anything there to back it up. Not only is he hot, but he also bakes. *swoon*

There were a couple times tears came to my eyes. Even though I read the first book I still wanted to cry when things looked bleak.

The sexual scenes. There weren’t many of them. I can understand why. The fact that they were limited didn’t take away from the story at all.

Overall, I think Ms Lynn did a great job writing this novella. Next up is Teresa & Jase’s book. I cannot wait to read it. It’s going to be so good. If you’re a fan of new adult contemporary romance I highly suggest this series.

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY
a Rafflecopter giveaway
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Wait for You by J. LynnWait for You by J. Lynn
Series: Wait for You #1
Published by Self Published on February 26, 2013
Pages: 332
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Some things are worth waiting for…

Traveling thousands of miles from home to enter college is the only way nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten can escape what happened at the Halloween party five years ago—an event that forever changed her life. All she needs to do is make it to her classes on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe—please God—make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself.

Some things are worth experiencing…

Cameron Hamilton is six feet and three inches of swoon-worthy hotness, complete with a pair of striking blue eyes and a remarkable ability to make her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere, with his charm, his witty banter, and that damn dimple that’s just so… so lickable. Getting involved with him is dangerous, but when ignoring the simmering tension that sparks whenever they are around each other becomes impossible, he brings out a side of her she never knew existed.

Some things should never be kept quiet…

But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she’s has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her or will he be dragged down with her?

And some things are worth fighting for…

My thoughts…

I love New Adult. And I loved this one. The characters were really interesting and I loved getting to know them.

Avery. I liked her. She’s running from a past that isn’t quite explained until the end. I sort of figured out what it is based on the hints that are given throughout the story though. I didn’t however like her parents. They seemed anything but loving.

Cam. *swoon* He is awesome and definitely swoon worthy. At the beginning he sort of has a rep as a player, but I didn’t see that in him. Sure he had a girl that he would hook up with from time to time in the past, but it wasn’t something that played a big role in this story.

Wait for You is a really funny read. The playful banter between Cam and Avery kept me laughing the entire time while reading it. Cam sort of has a high opinion of himself, but not in a way that is conceited. Most of the ways he refers to himself are in playful sense and I couldn’t laugh.

There is a little bit of a suspense element. Avery receives text and email messages that are from an unknown person. They refer to Avery as a whore, etc. You’ll find out who’s behind them towards the end. I can say that I found it odd that she would just ignore the messages and not do anything about them. If it was me I would want to know right away who was behind them.

The sexual content is pretty hot and the scenes are well written.

Overall I loved this one. It’s a great read and I’m happy I gave it a chance. There are going to be more stories in this series. After checking goodreads it looks like Cam’s sister Teresa and Cam’s best friend Jase’s story is next.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Crave by Monica MurphyCrave by Monica Murphy
Series: Billionaire Bachelors Club #1
Published by Avon Impulse on August 6, 2013
Pages: 100
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Billionaire Archer Bancroft always gets what he wants—and he’s wanted Ivy Emerson, his best friend’s sister, for far too long. Being forbidden and untouchable only makes her more tempting. When a million-dollar bet with his friends throws down a challenge—last bachelor standing takes all—Archer knows he can win. That is, until one enchanted evening with Ivy takes his heart for a ride.

Ivy knows Archer is nothing but bad news: Infuriating, arrogant…and completely intoxicating. But despite her best efforts, she can’t seem to keep away. When a stolen kiss leads to a night of heated passion, Ivy realizes she’s in trouble and in head over heels.

But in the light of day, everything seems clearer and Archer’s not so sure a one-night stand is all he wants. Concocting a plan to keep Ivy by his side, Archer might just be willing to lose this bet…and win the jackpot instead.

My thoughts…

Amazing. I loved this story. Even though it’s a short read things didn’t seem to be rushed. The story flowed smoothly and kept my attention from beginning until the very end. I was able to read it in one sitting.

Both Ivy & Archer have known each other for a long time. He’s always been attracted to his best friend little sister, but has never crossed the line where she is concerned. To say he’s a player would be an understatement. He goes through woman almost as fast as he changes underwear. He is not the commitment type of guy that’s for sure.

Having said that I loved him from the beginning. Even though he’s not the commitment type he admits to himself that if he were then Ivy would be the woman he’d consider committing too.

Ivy’s has always thought Archer was gorgeous and sexy, but she knows how he is. She knows he’s a player and she doesn’t want to go down that road. Plus he’s her brothers best friend so that’s basically a no-no as well.

I was so happy when they acted upon their mutual attraction. I thought they made a great couple and I couldn’t wait for Archer to commit to Ivy and only Ivy.

The sexual scenes are pretty much mainstream. They are not overly explicit in nature, but they are enjoyable to read.

The secondary characters are all very interesting in this book and I’m looking forward to reading both Gage & Matt’s stories.

Overall, I truly loved this one. If you’re a fan of Monica Murphy stories I highly suggest you give this book a try. This is going to be a fantastic series.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Monica Murphy

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling
author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her
family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon.
She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Binding Agreement by Kyra DavisBinding Agreement by Kyra Davis
Series: Just One Night #3
Published by Pocket Star on May 20, 2013
Pages: 128
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Part 3 of the Just One Night series. One wild night in a Vegas hotel changed everything for Kasie. Sleeping with a powerful, sexy stranger made her rethink her impending marriage, and a whole lot more.

As her affair threatens her job and the sexy billionaire Robert Dade becomes more controlling, Kasie has to figure out if her passion is leading her down a path she really wants. She’s seduced by his gifts of power, success, and adventure, she’s overwhelmed by what he can make her feel with a single touch, the way he can make her ache for him with just a look. But is the cost of absolute power and pleasure a price Kasie can afford? And does she truly know this man who says he can give her everything…or is he still a stranger after all?

My thoughts…

The conclusion to the Just One Night series couldn’t have ended better. I loved this one!! When I first started it I was curious to see how things would end up for Kasie and Mr. Dade.

The last book ended with her walking away from him. So of course I expected them to get back together. What I didn’t expect was the way Robert wanted Kasie to act. It’s like he wanted to completely change her. Mold her into his ideal of a perfect woman at which point I started to really not like him or the book. I almost gave up on it a couple times, but I just had to continue reading it. I needed to know how things would end up for them. I’d already invested time in this series by reading both book one and book two. I had to see it through and you know what? I’m glad I did. I glad I didn’t give up on it.

Binding Agreement was a really quick read for me. I don’t normally finish a book in one day but I did this one. I was sucked into it and kept turning page after page to see what would happen next.

The sexual content in this series has been oh so smoking H-O-T! The chemistry that Kasie & Robert share is off the charts. *fans self* It’s a very steamy series and it’s sure to get your heart beating double time.

Overall I LOVED this series!! Yes, it’s sort of Fifty’ish in nature, but Ms Davis put a spin on it and I enjoyed it so much more. So, if you like hot and steamy romance might I suggest the Just One Night series? It’s an extremely delectable series!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Exposed by Kyra DavisExposed by Kyra Davis
Series: Just One Night #2
Published by Pocket Star Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Part 2 of the Just One Night series. One passionate night with a stranger turned Kasie’s world upside down, and just when she thought she was getting the hang of things, her fiancé finds out...

You should sleep with a stranger—those words whispered in her ear by her best friend became a challenge Kasie took to heart. Suddenly, the man who gave her the most shocking pleasure in that upscale Vegas hotel—a man whose name she never bothered to find out—is her company’s biggest client.

As this unknown man becomes Mr. Dade at the office, and Mr. Dade becomes Robert in the bedroom, Kasie discovers her true nature and begins to question the carefully controlled, modest image she has crafted to please her family and friends. But when her fiancé, Dave, finds out, his rage and desire to both keep her and punish her could cost her everything—including Robert, the only man who has wanted Kasie for who she really is and the only man who makes her feel truly alive.

My thoughts…

I’ve been patiently waiting to get my hands on this book. I loved the first book in this series. The Stranger ended with a surprising cliffhanger that I didn’t see coming and I’ve been excited to see what would happen next with this story.

Kasie’s fiancé, Dave, finds out that she’s having an affair with Robert Dade who is one of her new clients. I sort of felt sorry for Dave in the first book because he and Kasie has a plain and boring relationship and she cheats on him while she and her BFF go to Vegas for a weekend of fun before she and Dave get married.

When Dave finds Kasie leaving Robert Dades boat, Dave confronts her and tells her to get in the car and drive. He drastically changes after discovering the affair. He turns mean, controlling, and threatens to ruin Kasie’s life.

Kasie feels trapped. She has a controlling fiancé who not only wants her to go back to the person she was before she went to Vegas, but also wants her to do everything he tells her to do. Robert also seems to have the same agenda.

The angel within her tells her to drop things with Robert and go back to her safe relationship with Dave while the devil inside her wants to take all that Robert can give her.

It was interesting to see which path Kasie decides to take. There are a few scenes within the story where you’ll find yourself thinking man I didn’t see that coming. Which is a good thing. I’m not a fan of predictable stories. I like it when the author mixes things up and keeps me guessing what will happen next.

I am really looking forward to the conclusion of this story. I can’t wait to see how things end up for Kasie. This story has it all. Love, lust, smoking hot sex and a heroine who strives to find the woman she wants to be.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star