The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas (Review & Giveaway)The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas
on September 6th, 2016
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE THIS MAN TRILOGY ANDONE NIGHT TRILOGY!

People think they have Camille Logan nailed: daddy's girl; beautiful, spoiled young woman with her father's bank balance to fund her lifestyle. But Camille is determined to have a life free from his strings. Out on her own, she's made mistakes, including one that found her clawing her way back after a stint in rehab and plenty of bad press. Now, after fighting so hard to be independent and happy, she finds her life threatened as a result of her father's ruthless business dealings. Caught between resentment and fear, Camille prepares herself for the measures her father will take to protect her. But nothing could prepare her for the ex-SAS sniper who crashes into her life.

Jake Sharp resides in his own personal hell. He was distracted from duty once before, and the consequences were devastating--both personally and professionally. He vowed never to let that happen again. Accepting the job of bodyguard to Camille Logan isn't the kind of distraction from his demons he should take. Women and Jake don't mix well, yet protecting the heiress seems the lesser of two evils. But Jake soon discovers that she isn't the woman she's perceived to be. She's warm, compassionate, her presence settling, and his duty to protect her soon goes deeper than a well-paid job, no matter how hard he fights it. He needs absolution. He comes to need Camille. But he knows he can't have both.

 

Book Trailer

 

 

Review

Oh. my. GOD. This is another masterpiece from Jodi Ellen Malpas. If you love a Tall, Dark and Moody hero then Jake Sharp is the Book Boyfriend for you.

Jake Sharp has serious demons and he lives with them every day. The only ways that help him keep them at bay is drinking, sex and work. When a job comes in to guard the daughter of a rich business man he’s reluctant to take it at first glance. What he’s expecting is a rich spoiled girl brat, but it isn’t what he gets.

Camille Logan is a smart, independent woman who is determined to make a name for herself without the help of her father.

The moment the two of them meet in the story the chemistry is there and it builds up quite nicely throughout the story. I really enjoyed getting to know the two of them. Jake’s backstory is quite heartbreaking and I definitely didn’t expect for it to turn out the way it did. But in the end it works out quite nicely and it will definitely bring a tear or two to your eyes. It was a very sweet ending.

The Protector is a standalone novel, unlike Jodi’s previous work, and I’m quite sad that we won’t get to spend any more time with Jake and Camille. Who knows? Maybe in the future she’ll re-visit them again. We’ll see…

Jodi definitely knows how to write a Swoony-worthy guy and if you love Jesse and Miller, you’ll LOVE JAKE. Read this book now! If you haven’t read Jodi’s previous series This Man or One Night, you should DEFINITELY check those out as well. 🙂

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. ArmentroutThe Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Harlequin Teen on May 17th, 2016
Pages: 480
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD | Indiebound | BAM!
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

Wow, I have no words for this book. Jennifer L. Armentrout is one of those authors who I don’t even bother reading the synopsis for any book she writes..I just usually dive in to the book. The Problem with Forever is a heartbreakingly beautiful book and when I started reading the prologue I knew that it was unlike anything she’s written before.

Mallory is a high school senior who has spent the last so many years being homeschooled. After having such a traumatic childhood that has left her with a severe case of PTSD, she is ready to drop her shield and face her fears by attending Public School.

Mallory is not a girl of many words, She uses silence as a shield. It’s what she knows, it’s what Rider told her to do, it’s what she did to survive her childhood.  It’s been four years since the event that lead to Mallory getting out of the foster house she lived in with Rider. It’s been FOUR YEARS since she’s even seen Rider or talked to Rider. She’s been adopted by an amazing and supportive couple. She’s learning how to overcome what she’s been through. She’s learning that it is ok to speak, or make a sound. She’s ready to take on school and get over her fears, make friends and to live her life.

Mallory’s first day as a senior at Lands High doesn’t go so well. She’s having trouble find the words to respond to a simple “hi” from the girl a few lockers down, the atmosphere in the cafeteria is too overwhelming for her, etc. When she gets to the last class of the day, the class that she probably fears the most, SPEECH, it’s there where she runs into her knight in shining armor…

Rider Stark grew up with Mallory, they were both foster kids that ended up in one of those foster homes straight out of a nightmare. He did everything he could to protect her, he even saved her from their horrific life though it ended up taking her away from him. After the events that took Mallory away from him, Rider ends up in a group home and then from there it ends up in Mrs. Luna’s house.

The second that Rider sees Mallory, it’s like the four years it had been since they’ve seen one another never happened. It’s obvious that he hasn’t forgotten her, that she has never been that far from his mind. They re-connect instantaneously and it’s a beautiful thing.

Jennifer did a really good job of putting Mallory’s discomfort when speaking aloud into this story. Every time she “spoke” in the book, you could tell that she was fighting her urge to just stop talking. With Rider’s help and the help of her new friends, Mallory slowly gets over her fear of using words, of speaking to and being around people.

Rider is just going along with everything, he thinks that he doesn’t deserve to do anything in life. He’s just existing..but Mallory shows him that he deserves to have anything and everything in life that he wants. Just because he grew up in the system doesn’t mean that he shouldn’t try to make his life better. That he shouldn’t go to college or to art school. He’s obviously extremely smart and a very talented artist. He just doesn’t think he’s good enough for all that, or good enough for Mallory. In the end, Rider being there in her life and doing what he always did for her, helped push Mallory into HELPING him. Showing him that he found a HOME WITH PEOPLE WHO CARE ABOUT HIM, the same as her. Mallory makes him realize that he can do anything he wants.

I really enjoyed this story, even as I had tears running down my face through it. The characters were great, the story line will definitely have your emotions all over the place and in the end..Rider and Mallory are finally finding the happiness that everyone deserves to have in their life.

Thanks to InkslingerPR, Harlequin Teen and Jennifer L. Armentrout for the chance to read and review this book for the blog tour!

 

** I FINALLY GET TO MEET JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT on her book tour for The Problem with Forever on May 19th! I am getting a copy of the book autographed to GIVEAWAY to a lucky reader of ours!! Enter to win below!! There’s also a giveaway being hosted by Inkslinger in part with the Blog Tour, don’t forget to enter that giveaway as well! 🙂

 


*** I don’t normally don’t add songs to posts…but..
I thought maybe this song would sum up Mallory and Rider’s childhood.

This song is Rider..

Hmm..I might add more later..

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The autographed copy of The Problem with Forever giveaway is open to those only in the USA. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

12593561_778780958890135_7477090847338317775_o

Pre-Order The Problem with Forever and register your purchase to receive a FREE fan pack! Fan pack includes:Inspirational Wall Art, flag-as-you-read stickers, a poster AND an excerpt of TPWF to start reading now! Pre-Order now from Amazon, B&N, Kobo, iBooks, The Book Depository, Indiebound or BAM!
Register your pre-order here to receive the FREE FAN PACK! http://bit.ly/24awVFw

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. TuckerHe Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker
Published by Atria Books on February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The USA TODAY bestselling author of the Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water series makes her suspense debut with this sexy, heartpounding story of a young woman determined to find justice after her best friend’s death, a story pulsing with the “intense, hot, emotional” (Colleen Hoover) writing that exhilarates her legions of fans.

Twenty-eight-year-old Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a bottle of Xanax and a handle of vodka, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers secrets in the childhood lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man who Celine herself claimed would be her ruin.

On the hunt for answers that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.

Ah! Ms Tucker is for sure one of my favorite and must read authors. Ten Tiny Breaths was the first book by Ms Tucker that I read and let me tell you… It literally blew me away. The twist was completely amazing. I totally did not see that coming.

He Will Be My Ruin is Ms Tucker’s first attempt at writing a thriller. Believe me when I say that she nailed it. I loved it! This storyline kept me guessing. Every time I thought I had it solved, I was proven wrong.

Books like this one are my favorite’s. I’m a big fan of books that challenge you. Books that keep you guessing. Books that feature storylines that keep you turning page after page as quickly as possible. Books that you just don’t want to put down.

Ms Tucker achieved all those things within the pages of this one. Did I mention I loved this book? Lol

The character’s were both intriguing and well developed. The storyline unique. I completely, totally, and positively loved it. And that ending! Speechless! I even had to tweet Me Tucker about it.

So overall, if you like books that keep you guessing and completely sick you in. He Will Be My Ruin is definitely one you don’t want to miss!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

Blog Tour: Beauty and the Boss by Diane Alberts

Blog Tour: Beauty and the Boss by Diane AlbertsBeauty and the Boss by Diane Alberts
Series: Modern Fairytales #1
Published by Entangled on November 16th, 2015
Pages: 190
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Beauty is about to tame her beast...

Researcher Maggie Donovan has no luck with men, and it doesn't help that she can't keep her eyes off of her sexy boss - the one everyone else in the office calls The Beast. Relationships in the office are forbidden. So no one is more surprised than Maggie when she pretends to be his fiancée to save him during a difficult situation. Not only has she put her job on the line, but the future of the company.

Billionaire Benjamin Gale III doesn't believe in love or romance, but the look on his mother's face when Maggie tells her that she's his fiancée is worth millions. Instead of firing her for her insubordination, he goes along with the ruse. In his arms-and in his bed-she'd be everything he could ever want…which is why he can't have her.

But if he doesn't let her go, they'll lose everything…

OK to be honest, it took a while for me to get in to this book.. Sorry but I have this weird thing about stories being told in the third person. It drives me bonkers! I DON’T KNOW WHY!! But once I got past that, I started to enjoy the story.

Normally I might go in and try to summarize the book for you, but that’s what the synopsis is supposed to be for right? So I’m going to skip that. Obviously this is supposed to be a modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast but other than, Benjamin (or Benji as Maggie started to call him in the book), being referred to as the “Beast” by his employees, I’m not sure how it compares to the Beauty and the Beast story.. But to be honest I’m not all that familiar with the story. I don’t think I ever saw the Disney movie and..it never really appealed to me. I’m more familiar with Snow White, Cinderella, etc.. I know, I think I might be a little weird. LOL. For those of you who have read this book? How does it compare to Beauty and the Beast? Let me know in the comments section below!

Maggie’s character really annoyed me for a bit at the beginning of the story. I liked her just fine in the very beginning but the part when her and Benji go on their “first” date, she came off a total bitch. But when she finally explained herself..it made sense and then I started to like her again. 🙂

Poor Benji, he has had it rough since his dad died. No mother should ever treat her son that way. I felt really bad for him every time his mother showed up in the story. And those people.. Do rich people really act that way? LOL. I mean most books that involve characters that come from money, the people they grew up around always seem.. AWFUL. But this is fiction… Maybe they really aren’t that bad in the real world?

There was a typo at one point in the book when his mother is trying to push him into marrying his ex girlfriend. Telling him that he needs to “Marry someone of god breeding.” I’m assuming that it was supposed to be “good breeding” right? But when I read it I thought that maybe “god breeding” might be right too. Maybe the blue bloods like to think they descend from GODS. Good, God? Eh..

Anyways, other than my stupid issue with POVs..I really ended up liking this book. I didn’t realize until I was working on my reveiw that this is the first book in the “Modern Fairytales” Series. Hmmm…I hope that maybe the next book in the series will be about Maggie’s roommate Becca. I really liked her for the 3 seconds that she showed up in this book. I hope so, because the epilogue in this book wasn’t satisfying enough for me..so maybe if Becca gets a book, I’ll get to see more of Benji & Maggie’s happily ever after. 😉

If you like modern retellings, check this series out for sure. Also please let me know how you think it compares to Beauty and the Beast will you? 🙂

Thanks to Entangled and Diane Alberts for allowing me to read and review this book for the Blog Tour. 🙂

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Diane Alberts

Diane Alberts is a multi-published, bestselling contemporary romance author with Entangled Publishing. She also writes New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling new adult books under the name Jen McLaughlin. She’s hit the Top 100 lists on Amazon and Barnes and Noble numerous times with numerous titles. She was mentioned in Forbes alongside E. L. James as one of the breakout independent authors to dominate the bestselling lists. Diane is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency.

Diane has always been a dreamer with a vivid imagination, but it wasn’t until 2011 that she put her pen where her brain was, and became a published author. Since receiving her first contract offer, she has yet to stop writing. Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, and a cat. Her goal is to write so many fantastic stories that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: This Is Where It Ends by Marieke NijkampThis Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on January 5, 2016
Pages: 292
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama's high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won't open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student's calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

REVIEW:

~ 54 minutes. The entire story spans a timeframe of fifty four minutes. ~

Although there are other published books that deal with this topic. I think the way this story is written sets it apart from the others. It’s told in multiple points of view, and I really enjoyed learning each featured characters perspective. Learning how they were connected with each other in one way or another. Ms Nijkamp did a great job building the backstory. I felt like I really knew these characters.

There were a few times the story seemed to drag on a bit. I found myself wanting to skim a couple times, but I stuck it out and read the entire book. For the most part though I’m ok with how it ended. I think the author left a few strings untied. I would have really liked to know how things ended up for one of the main major characters.

Overall, this story is pretty good for a debut. I’ll be looking forward to reading more of Ms Nijkamp’s work.

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: There You Stand by Christina LeeThere You Stand by Christina Lee
Series: Between Breaths #5
Published by Inter Mix on April 21, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From the author of All of You and Before You Break comes a new Between Breaths male/male standalone romance about the silent, inked up skateboarder and the tattoo artist who unravels him piece by piece…

Tattoo artist Cory Easton has worked long enough at Raw Ink to know, just by looking at a dude, what his body art reveals, what makes him tick, what even makes him scared. Until he meets the quiet and remote Jude York—so unreadable, so unreachable, and so unlike anyone else, he can’t help but arouse Cory’s curiosity.

As captivating and complex as his ink, Jude is a mystery—and Cory’s falling fast and hard under his spell. Against his better judgment to steer clear.

The rumors of Jude’s past overshadow him—whispers of prison and an unmentionable secret that’s kept him in the protective shadows of a local motorcycle club. As Cory probes deeper, he wonders how much he really wants to know. Especially since Jude has awakened something inside him that has been buried too long—and has him feeling completely alive for the first time in forever…

REVIEW:

I’m sorta at a stand still after reading this book. Though M/M is not normally something I would read. I really liked Cory in the previous books and was happy to hear he was going to get his own book.

This story itself was a good one. It’s well written and offers interesting characters. I found Jude to be an interesting guy, but also a little bit annoying. He doesn’t talk much and at times I found myself getting irritated with him because of it. Although, as the story progressed the more I began to understand his actions.

There You Stand offers a suspense element that kept me guessing throughout the entire book. I love books like this. Early on I thought I had Jude all figured out, but I had it wrong. So wrong.

Since this is a romance there is of course sex. I think Ms Lee did a great job writing it. Again M/M is not my thing, but it was passionate. There were several scenes and I think they really portrayed the feelings Cory and Jude shared.

The one thing I didn’t like about this book was the overuse of the word god****. Its used over and over again. I know this is a M/M book, but is it really necessary to use it obsessively? I’m not a prude, but I don’t care for that word being used in stories at all. It really doesn’t do anything to enhance the story.

Overall, I think There You Stand is a great addition to this series. If I had my way the two remaining single characters within this series would also get their own book. That would be Dex and Emmy. At this point there is no plan for that that I’m aware of. 🙁

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Promise Me This by Christina LeePromise Me This by Christina Lee
Series: Between Breaths #4
Published by Inter Mix on October 7, 2014
Pages: 246
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A new love will test the boundaries of passion between a privileged boy next door and the tattooed, blue-haired girl who helps him embrace his wild side...

Nate has developed quite a playboy reputation around campus. It's not that he doesn't respect or trust women; he doesn't trust himself. The men in Nate’s family are prone to abusive behavior—a dirty secret that Nate’s been running from his entire life—so Nate doesn't do relationships. But he can’t help himself around one girl…

Jessie is strong, independent, and works at a tattoo parlor. Nate can’t resist getting close to her, even if it’s strictly a friendship. But it doesn't take long for Nate to admit that what he wants with Jessie is more than just friendly.

With Jessie, he can be himself and explore what he’s always felt was a terrifying darkness inside him. Even when Nate begins to crave her in a way that both shocks and horrifies him, Jessie still wants to know every part of him. Testing their boundaries together will take a trust that could render them inseparable… or tear them apart.

REVIEW:

Finally! Nate & Jessie’s story. I’ve been looking forward to this one. Nate was a tough nut to crack and I couldn’t wait to find our what made him the man he was. He’s the hookup kind of guy. Never going back for seconds. He also hardly ever uses his tongue. His reasoning. “It’s too intimate.” I get that.

Jesse is a hell of a spitfire. She’s a take know prisoners type of girl. I loved her spunkiness. She and Nate have this playful banter between them. I really enjoyed it. Jessie is completely different from Nate. Jessie sports crazy colored hair and several tattoos. She also dresses in her own style. Combat books are certainly the norm for her.

Nate couldn’t be anymore different from Jessie. He’s muscular, has no tattoos, and comes from a privileged family. Although that family may not be all that it seems to be.

I loved these two together. It was a long hard fight for them, but when all was said and done, I was happy with the outcome.

The sex scenes were hot. Hotter than mainstream romance. Which is normal for Ms Lee. They’re well written and plentiful.

Overall, I think Promise Me This is a great addition to the Between Breaths series. If you’ve yet to give this series a try I highly suggest you do. It’s a great New Adult series.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Book Review & Giveaway: The Only Way by Magan VernonThe Only Way by Magan Vernon
Series: Only #4
Published by Beautifully Broken Books on March 18th, 2015
Pages: 333
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

William "Tripp" Chapman has always been the black sheep of his family's political dynasty. His oldest brother works on Wall Street, his youngest-groomed for the senate. And Tripp is the brother known for wrecking his Porsche after a drinking bender and winding up in rehab.

On the night of his father's presidential election he takes a detour and meets a waitress at a local hole-in-the wall. Samantha "Sam" Green is just as broken as he is, but covers it up with enough snark so no one tries to get too close.

When Sam gets kicked out of her apartment, Tripp agrees that she can crash on his couch until she gets on her feet. But as they grow closer physically, the ghosts of their past threaten to burden their new relationship

The Only Way they can overcome their demons is to face them instead of running. Can Sam help Tripp find his way or will their own battles bury them further?

The Only series is a series of standalone novels. You do not need to read one in order to fully understand the other. M/F. HEA.

Another great book by Magan Vernon. I don’t know about you guys, but I LOVE THE CHAPMAN BROTHERS. We got to meet and fall in love with Trey in The Only Exception and The Only Answer. In The Only Way we get to the meet his brother, Tripp, who happens to be the “black sheep” of the family. He’s fresh out of rehab and being whisked away to his father’s election night party. On the way there, he makes a detour to a hole-in-the-wall diner where he meets a waitress named Samantha “Sam” Green.

Sam isn’t any better off than Tripp. She’s got her own problems she’s dealing with and she keeps everyone at arms length with her snark. After being kicked out of her apartment, Tripp comes to the rescue. Soon she’s crashing on his couch and helping him out in exchange.

I really enjoyed this book. Magan did a good job of getting into the mind of a recovering addict who is trying to find himself after getting out of rehab. He may come from what seems like the perfect family, but he and his family are far from perfect and we’re beginning to see more of that in this book. I really liked him and Sam. They were GREAT together and they really helped each other out. She helps him find himself and his calling in the world. I loved that their relationship started out as a friendship and we got to witness their relationship blossom instead of just jumping straight into a romantic relationship. 🙂

Oh and we got to know a little bit more about the other Chapman, Trigg, in this book and I hope that we get his story in the future! Pretty Please, Magan? 🙂

If you haven’t checked this series out, you definitely should! Especially if you like more than just fluff with your romance novels. Magan deals with some serious issues in this series and I think she does a good job with the tough subject matter in these books.

With that said, I am giving you guys the chance to check out the ENTIRE SERIES! Enter below for your chance to win the ebooks of all four books in this series!


The Only Exception

icon_goodreads amazon Nook apple kobo


the-only-answer

icon_goodreads amazon Nook apple kobo


The Only One ebooklg

icon_goodreads amazon Nook apple kobo


103ff-reveal-theonlyway

icon_goodreads amazon Nook apple kobo




a Rafflecopter giveaway
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Magan Vernon

Magan Vernon is a Young Adult and New Adult writer who lives with her family in the insurance capital of the world. When not writing she spends her time fighting over fake boyfriends via social media.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Release Day & Review: All the Rage by Courtney SummersAll the Rage by Courtney Summers
Published by Spencer Hill Press on April 14, 2015
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

The sheriff’s son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, the truth about him has cost her everything—friends, family, and her community. Branded a liar and bullied relentlessly by a group of kids she used to hang out with, Romy’s only refuge is the diner where she works outside of town. No one knows her name or her past there; she can finally be anonymous. But when a girl with ties to both Romy and Kellan goes missing after a party, and news of him assaulting another girl in a town close by gets out, Romy must decide whether she wants to fight or carry the burden of knowing more girls could get hurt if she doesn’t speak up. Nobody believed her the first time—and they certainly won’t now — but the cost of her silence might be more than she can bear. 

With a shocking conclusion and writing that will absolutely knock you out, All the Rage examines the shame and silence inflicted upon young women after an act of sexual violence, forcing us to ask ourselves: In a culture that refuses to protect its young girls, how can they survive?

All the Rage is written by a new to me author. The synopsis sounded really interesting so I thought I’d give it a try. For the most part I think the book was okay. It didn’t really blow me away.

At times it was slow going. The suspense aspect was good, but I was easily able to figure that it out pretty easily. I found Romy to be quite a strange girl. I can’t really say that I liked her. I didn’t really connect with her or any of the other characters. I’d say that Leon was my favorite character of all. He seemed like a really nice guy.

The sexual content is pretty much non-existent. I really didn’t know what to expect in that aspect.

Overall, I’m going to give All the Rage three stars. It just sort of fell flat for me.

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Release Day and Review: Manwhore by Katy EvansManwhore by Katy Evans
Series: Manwhore #1
Published by Gallery Books on March 24, 2014
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Is it possible to expose Chicago’s hottest player—without getting played?

This is the story I've been waiting for all my life, and its name is Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Don’t be fooled by that last name though. There’s nothing holy about the man except the hell his parties raise. The hottest entrepreneur Chicago has ever known, he’s a man’s man with too much money to spend and too many women vying for his attention.

Mysterious. Privileged. Legendary. His entire life he’s been surrounded by the press as they dig for tidbits to see if his fairytale life is for real or all mirrors and social media lies. Since he hit the scene, his secrets have been his and his alone to keep. And that’s where I come in.

Assigned to investigate Saint and reveal his elusive personality, I’m determined to make him the story that will change my career.

But I never imagined he would change my life. Bit by bit, I start to wonder if I'm the one discovering him...or if he's uncovering me.

What happens when the man they call Saint, makes you want to sin?

I have so many feels for this book. It started off a bit slow to me. There was a lot of push and pull between these two characters. I could understand Rachel’s hesitance in the beginning, but after a while it got old. I found myself sort of growing bored with the story. I wanted them to get down and dirty. Instead though, things sort of stalled. I stuck with it though.

It seems Malcolm, clearly known as a Manwhore, acted out of character. You’d think he’d just move on after a couple of denials from Rachel. Instead though, he hung in there. Gotta give him props for that. Most Manwhore’s wouldn’t.

I’m not sure exactly what my real issue with the first part of this book was. Things just seemed to move at a snails pace. And at times some scenes seemed a bit awkward.

Finally though, the characters got their butts in gear and started acting like they should. The sex, once it started…was scorching hot and Ms Evans wrote a lot of it. One thing I will say about it though is that it seemed a bit repetitive. Like the sex was the same throughout the entire book.

After Malcolm let his guard down I really started to like him. Not only was he rich, strong, and sexy. He was also very smart and caring.

The suspense at the end was so amazing? Ah I want Manwhore +1 like right now. I have to know what happens between these two like right now.

Also, I’d like to know if Ms Evans will be writing books for both Tahoe and Callen. I found both of those guys intriguing. I think their stories could be a whole lot of fun. They are Malcolm’s buddies and are pretty funny.

Overall, I’m giving Manwhore 3 strong stars.

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Katy Evans

Katy Evans grew up with books and book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love. They married and are now hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which is, hopefully, only the beginning

I received this book for free from Author, Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Ripped by Katy EvansRipped by Katy Evans
Series: Real #5
Published by Gallery Books on December 9, 2014
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: Author, Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The fifth book in the New York Times new adult series that began with Real. When an angry, heartbroken girl is forced to be near her rocker ex-boyfriend, only time will tell if the fire between them will consume them both.

Pandora, the gothic friend of Brooke (Real, Mine, Remy) and Melanie, thought that getting her heart broken by her bad boy rocker ex could only happen once. But now, he's back in town with the biggest concert of the year. Pandora hates him so much that she gets Melanie to come with her and play a prank on him at his gig. But when they are caught by security, and her ex himself is summoned, he decides not to press charges if she'll follow certain conditions. Pandora likes none of his rules, or that he's in charge of her, especially since they seem designed to make sure she's in close contact with him again. But the closeness reignites the passion they once shared, and soon no matter how much she wants to hate him, it's clear she's still hung up on him. And worse: he knows it too.

While I enjoyed this book, I don’t think it was as good as the first four. I guess Remy spoiled the series for me. I mean don’t get me wrong. This was a great read, but to me it didn’t hold my attention as well as the previous books. I didn’t get that “I can’t put it down” feeling.

Pandora is an odd duck. I’ve always felt she was the weird friend. It isn’t that I didn’t like her, because I did. She’s just different. Her and Kenna go way back. Back in high school they were a thing until he abruptly left.

I think the chemistry between them was strong. The sex was hot which is pretty common for all of Katy Evans’ books. The characters really scorch up the sheets. Frequently.

In the end, I was happy with how things turned out for these two. I’m looking forward to reading more books in this series. It’s one of my favorites.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Katy Evans

Katy Evans grew up with books and book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love. They married and are now hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which is, hopefully, only the beginning

Blog Tour: One Night: Unveiled by Jodi Ellen Malpas

Blog Tour: One Night: Unveiled by Jodi Ellen MalpasOne Night: Unveiled by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Series: The One Night Trilogy #3
Published by Grand Central Publishing on February 10th, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A life without secrets and a passion without end . . .The story of Livy and M's passionate love affair comes to a stunning conclusion in the final book in the One Night trilogy!

Livy has never known pure desire like this. The gorgeous Miller Hart captivates her, seduces her, and worships her in deliciously sinful ways. He knows her innermost thoughts, drawing her ever deeper into his dangerous world.

Miller will do anything to keep Livy safe, even if it means risking his own life. But his dark history isn't the only thing that threatens their future together. As the truth of Livy's family legacy unravels, an unsettling parallel between past and present comes to light. Her world spinning out of control, Livy finds herself caught between the rapture of an all-consuming love-and a deadly obsession that could destroy them both . . .

miller-time

 

I loved this book so much more than the last book. This book starts out a few days after the last one ends. Olivia and Miller are in New York trying to escape from everything happening in London. It doesn’t take long for something to happen causing them to have to go back to London and face everything.

Miller’s trying find a way out of his profession and Olivia’s mother comes back from the dead. Turns out she’s been alive all this time.. Huh. You won’t believe the story behind that. It’s insane! I also would like to point out my suspicions throughout the last two books were RIGHT! Though at first they were so very wrong. 😉 I won’t even say what I’m talking about, but when you finish this book you’ll know exactly what I’m referring to. 😀  The twists & turns in this story are crazy..including what we finally learn about Miller and his boss….I didn’t see any of that coming and it sure did surprise me!

Miller is imperfectly perfect as always… and Olivia, sometimes I wanted to smack her for being such a brat… But that’s what I pretty much expect with all female characters these days. They’re all so stubborn and never do what is best for them..

Nan, we can’t forget about her. She was just as amazing in this book as she has been in the last two books. I’m sad I won’t get to see her or Miller any more after this. 🙁

Now let’s get to that Epilogue. It is written from Miller’s POV and it’s quite long and very sweet. I really loved meeting Harry and learning about his quirks. It was a beautifully written epilogue and a great way to end the story. I’m so glad that EVERYONE got a happily ever after in this story. 😉

I can’t wait to see what JEM will bring in the future.

 

Erin's Review
Erin’s Review
Erin's Review
Erin’s Review

 

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas (It’s MILLER TIME!)

One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas (It’s MILLER TIME!)One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Series: The One Night Trilogy #2
Published by Forever, Grand Central Publishing on November 11th, 2014
Pages: 448
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The passion that burned between Livy and Miller in One Night: Promised may end up destroying them both in this new novel of overwhelming desire and shocking discoveries...

He's amazingly wealthy, sinfully gorgeous, and can bring her to heights of pleasure she's never before known. For Livy, there's no turning back. She's determined to be the light in Miller Hart's dark world. Yet this new life comes with a steep price...

Miller knows that the power he possesses hasn't come without sacrifices-but he won't let Livy be one of them. Though he wants nothing more than to have her in every way, his first duty is to protect her at all costs...from his sins, his enemies, and especially himself.

But as their insatiable affair intensifies, the two attract the attention of an obsessive-and dangerous-third party. Discovering new revelations about Miller that rock her to the core, Livy will have to decide whether he's ruined beyond repair. And he must face his fear that in order to save her, he may have to lose her after all...

miller-time

 

Miller’s name always makes me think of the  “It’s Miller Time” slogan by Miller Beer, so this review will be now called “It’s Miller <3 Time!” Because..well, it is Miller time.

Raise your hands if you love Miller Hart!

hand-raise

 

 

First off, I’ve read a few other reviews on this book. Some things I agree with while some others I don’t.

First, there was some weird editing in this book.
For example, The end of chapter 10/beginning of chapter 11. Did Scotty beam her there? How did she go from Miller’s apartment to being inside of a hotel room. Also, how did she manage to get that specific hotel room? That just totally confused the hell out of me when I read it.

Why is everyone hating on Miller and his “Thing?”

I think it’s adorable. Olivia is the first person in his life he’s allowed to get close to him in that way and so of course it’s going to be an addiction, A THING, that he’ll want. Did anyone get tired of Jesse wanting to “Make Friends” because that was totally his “THING”. I think Miller’s “thing” is JEM just making him more adorable. Just like I thought Jesse and his “making friends” was adorable.

Shut up and let Miller have his "Thing!" It's awwwwwdorable.
Shut up and let Miller have his “Thing!” It’s awwwwwdorable.

 

I enjoyed the first book of this series immensely.  This one I found not to be as good as the first book. Doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, I did..but I think this one seems more like just a filler between Promised and Unveiled.  Not a whole lot happens in this book, with the exception of the last 20% or so. That was when the story started to get a bit more interesting. Yeah, we do learn a little more about Miller and his past, but not a whole lot. Livy was given the chance to talk to Miller and ask him anything but she didn’t do a good job of playing the twenty questions game. Unfortunately she really didn’t ask him any good important questions.

We do see a lot more of William in this book. View Spoiler » Livy takes advantage of William popping up everywhere and learns more about him and his relationship with her Mother in this book.

Livy and Gregory’s relationship is all sorts of FUCKED UP in this book. Some weird shit goes down between Gregory and Livy that honestly I don’t think should have. They both seemed to turn into completely different people at times..and that one scene between them View Spoiler »  was just… odd.

I have to say that while I love Miller, I think that maybe Livy’s Nan had the best quotes in the whole book! I seriously love her Nan. She’s absolutely hilarious.

“I’m no spring chicken, but I can still bump and grind with the best of ’em.”

“I might audition for Beyonce’s next music video. Think I’ll rock it?”

And the scene when Nan is collecting laundry…..

KOCOyHyFA9

 

*Sigh*
And that ending….

cliffhanger

Wow, I didn’t expect that. I can’t wait to see what happens in Unveiled!

While it wasn’t as good as Promised, this book was still an enjoyable read. It could’ve been better..but.. eh, I think it did set us up well for the third and final book. I hope that JEM will blow us away with Unveiled!!

Some of my favorite quotes…

 “Forget the world outside and be with me for ever.” “You’ve underestimated my determination to fix us.”
 “The second I looked at you, I saw light through my constant darkness.”

 “I’ve never made love to a woman in my life.” I barely hear his words. “Only you.”

 “I’m your someone. Everyone has a someone, and I’m yours, like you are mine.”

 “You fit me just right,” he groans, slowly closing his eyes. “The only thing in my life that has ever been truly perfect is you.”

“I love your bones Miller Hart.”

“What’s the most resilient part of you?”
“My heart, Livy. My heart is the most resilient part of me.”

Excerpt

I know I look out of place as I stand near the gym entrance, clearly hesitant, and looking a little overwhelmed. All the machines look like spaceships, hundreds of buttons or levers on each one, and I haven’t the first idea how to operate them. My one-hour induction last week did a great job of distracting me, but the information and instructions fell straight from my memory the second I left the exclusive fitness center. I scan the area, fiddling with my ring, seeing masses of men and women pounding the treadmills, going hell for leather on the bikes and pumping weights on huge lifting devices. They all look like they know exactly what they’re doing.
In an attempt to blend in, I make my way over to the water machine and gulp down a cup of ice water. I’m wasting time being hesitant when I could be releasing some stress and anger. I spot a punching bag hanging in the far corner with no one within ten meters of it, so I decide to give it a try. There are no buttons or levers on that.
I help myself to the boxing gloves hanging on the wall nearby. After securing the Velcro, I give the bag a little poke. I’m surprised at how heavy it is. I inject some power into my weak arm and throw some effort into my next hit. I grunt too, and the bag shifts significantly this time, moving away from me and seeming to pause in midair before it’s on its way back toward me. Fast. I panic and quickly pull back my fist, then extend my arm to prevent being knocked to the ground. Shockwaves fly up my arm when my glove connects with the bag, but it’s moving away from me again. I smile and spread my legs a little, bracing myself for its return, then smack it hard again, sending it sailing away from me.
My arm is aching already and I suddenly realize I have two gloved hands so I pummel it with my left this time, smiling wider, the impact of the bag on my fists feeling good. I’m breaking out in a sweat, my feet are beginning to shift and my arms getting into a rhythm. My shouts of satisfaction spur me on and the bag morphs into more than a bag. I’m beating the shit out of it and loving every moment.
I don’t know how long I’m there, but when I finally let up and take a moment to think, I’m drenched, my knuckles are sore and my breathing erratic. I catch the bag and let it settle, then take a cautious glance around the gym. No one is staring. I’ve gone totally unnoticed, everyone focused on their own workout. I smile to myself and collect a cup of water and a towel from the nearby shelf, wiping my brow as I make my way from the huge room. For the first time in weeks, I feel prepared to take the day on.
I head toward the changing rooms, feeling like a lifetime of stress and woes have just been knocked out of me. The urge to go back in and pound for another hour is hard to resist, but I’m already at risk of being late for work so I push on, thinking this could get addictive. I’ll be back tomorrow morning, maybe even after work today, and I’ll thrash that bag until there are no more traces of Miller Hart and the pain he’s caused me.
I pass door after door, all with glass panes, and peek into each class that’s in session—yoga, spinning, kickboxing. I might try one or two. Or I could give them all a go.
As I’m passing the final door before the women’s changing rooms, something catches my eye. It’s a punching bag swinging from the ceiling hook, but no one’s in sight. I step closer to the door, then gasp and jump back as someone comes into view, bare chested and barefoot. I feel dizzy.
He has those shorts on, the ones he wore when he was trying to make me comfortable. I’m shaking, but my shock doesn’t stop me from peering back through the glass, just to check I wasn’t hallucinating. I wasn’t. He’s here, his ripped physique mesmerizing. He looks violent as he attacks the hanging bag like it’s a threat to his life, punishing it with powerful punches and even more powerful kicks. His body weaves and dodges the bag when it comes back at him. He looks like a pro. He looks like a fighter.
I’m frozen on the spot as I watch Miller move around the hanging bag with ease, his fists wrapped in some kind of bandages, his limbs delivering controlled, punishing blows time and time again. Who does he see before him?
My mind spins, questions mounting, as I quietly observe the refined, well-mannered, part-time gentleman become a man possessed, that temper he has warned me about clear and present. But then I retreat a pace when he suddenly grabs the bag with both hands and rests his forehead on the leather, his body falling into the now subtle sway of the punching bag. His back is dripping and heaving, and I see his solid shoulders rise suddenly. Then he begins to turn toward the door. It happens in slow motion. I’m rooted in place as his chest, slicked with a sheen of sweat, comes into view and my eyes slowly crawl up his torso until I see his side profile. He knows he’s being watched.

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Discussion

I read in an interview with JEM that she doesn’t disclose her character muses (boo!) which means we have to cast her characters ourselves.
Who do you guys picture as Miller Hart? What about Livy?

Honestly I haven’t visually cast anybody as Livy, but I do sort of picture maybe a younger version of Jonathan Rhys Meyer as Miller Hart. Of course not when he’s doing his bug eyes. He tends to do that in photos sometimes. Hahaha.

Jonathan-Rhys-Meyers

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: Burying Water by K.A. TuckerBurying Water by K.A. Tucker
Published by Atria on October 7, 2014
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The top-selling, beloved indie author of Ten Tiny Breaths returns with a new romance about a young woman who loses her memory—and the man who knows that the only way to protect her is to stay away.

Left for dead in the fields of rural Oregon, a young woman defies all odds and survives—but she awakens with no idea who she is, or what happened to her. Refusing to answer to “Jane Doe” for another day, the woman renames herself “Water” for the tiny, hidden marking on her body—the only clue to her past. Taken in by old Ginny Fitzgerald, a crotchety but kind lady living on a nearby horse farm, Water slowly begins building a new life. But as she attempts to piece together the fleeting slivers of her memory, more questions emerge: Who is the next-door neighbor, quietly toiling under the hood of his Barracuda? Why won’t Ginny let him step foot on her property? And why does Water feel she recognizes him?

Twenty-four-year-old Jesse Welles doesn’t know how long it will be before Water gets her memory back. For her sake, Jesse hopes the answer is never. He knows that she’ll stay so much safer—and happier—that way. And that’s why, as hard as it is, he needs to keep his distance. Because getting too close could flood her with realities better left buried.

The trouble is, water always seems to find its way to the surface.

review

My thoughts…

STOP!!! – the first few lines of this review may be spoilish.

Against my better judgement I’m giving this book four stars. There are a few things I consider “hard limits” when I’m selecting books to read. One of them is cheating. I don’t like it. I don’t like it when it’s not mentioned in the synopsis letting me know ahead of time. I can understand for the sake of this story (plot wise) that it was necessary, but still I gotta say overall that I don’t like cheating. It’s because of this that I almost DNF’d this book early on. The reason I didn’t and decided to stick with it is because K.A.Tucker is one of my favorite authors. I love her books and I just couldn’t give up on this story. Now after having finished Burying Water I’m really glad I stuck with it.

I loved both Water & Jesse from the beginning. They meet under extraordinary circumstances. It struck me as a little bit unrealistic that Water would react the way she did upon meeting Jesse, but the more I read the more I could see why she did. Both of these characters are very interesting. And I really enjoyed getting to know them. They seemed drawn to each other right away. I think Jesse was sort of a safe Haven for Water. Someone she could confide in. Someone she could trust.

I’m finding it hard to not give away spoilers in this review. So I’m going to keep this review short and simple. Burying Water has multiple layers to it. It switches in time from the past and to the present. It will hold your attention all the way through. At least it did for me. It will keep you guessing about what’s going to happen next. I love stories like this. I love trying to figure out what’s going to happen next and how things are going to end. While I had a few things figured out, there were others I didn’t.

Overall, I really liked this book and how things ended. It really was an enjoyable read. I can’t wait to read more of Ms Tucker’s books in the future.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: What If by Rebecca DonovanWhat If by Rebecca Donovan
Published by Grand Central Publishing on September 16, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

What if you had a second chance to meet someone for the first time?

Cal Logan is shocked to see Nicole Bentley sitting across from him at a coffee shop thousands of miles from their hometown. After all, no one has seen or heard from her since they graduated over a year ago.

Except this girl isn't Nicole.

She looks exactly like Cal's shy childhood crush, but her name is Nyelle Preston and she has no idea who he is. This girl is impulsive and daring, her passion for life infectious. The complete opposite of Nicole. Cal finds himself utterly fascinated-and falling hard. But Nyelle is also extremely secretive. And the closer he comes to finding out what she's hiding, the less he wants to know.

When the secrets from the past and present collide, one thing becomes clear: Nothing is what it seems.

review

My thoughts…

Wow! What If is unlike any other book I’ve read before. It’s beautifully written and masterfully crafted. There are so many layers to this story. It is told from multiple POVs. It engages the reader to really focus on what’s happening not only in present day, but several years back when these characters were four best friends growing up.

I’m finding that writing a review for this book a bit challenging. It would be so easy to give away spoilers without meaning too. So I’m going to just stick with the basics.

The four friends this book revolves around are unique. Each are an integral part to the story. I loved slipping into their world and getting to know them. Ms Donovan did a excellent job with character and story development. I really felt connected to the story and it’s characters.

As I mentioned before, there are multiple layers that make up this story. Each layer is a piece of the overall puzzle. I found myself trying to figure this story out the whole time I was reading it. Every time I thought I might have it figured out something would happen and the story would take another turn. I loved this about the story! It kept me intrigued and kept me turning the page.

Overall, I really loved What If and how it ended! It made me experience so many emotions while I was reading it. It made me think about how I would act if faced with similar situations. It also made me ask myself “What If?”

And finally, it reminded me of how much I love being a reader!!! Of how much respect I have for authors who not only pour so much of themselves into creating stories, but also for the time often spent away from their families in order to bring us readers hours of entertainment.

So to Ms Donovan I say “Thank You.” You nailed it girlie!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: Let Me Know by Stina LindenblattLet Me Know by Stina Lindenblatt
Series: Lost In You #2
Published by Carina Press on September 1, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

This shouldn't be happening again

Amber Scott thought her screaming nightmares would end now that her stalker is locked up and awaiting trial. But they return when her slam-dunk case starts to fall apart. Explicit letters she allegedly wrote surface, suggesting she was the mastermind behind her assault, a willing victim.

Amber only feels safe in the arms of her boyfriend Marcus, the one person she can lean on. Until damning evidence from Marcus's past collides with the case and the media circus drags them both down. To protect Amber's reputation, Marcus has only one option: end their relationship. He won't risk further damage to her case, even if it means breaking her heart.

Amber has to find the strength to step into the spotlight and bring awareness to victims' rights before she's convicted in the court of public opinion. And she's really not sure what's worse—that her kidnapper could walk free, or that the seemingly endless attention and speculation will drive Marcus away permanently.

review

My thoughts…

Let Me Know is the continuation of Marcus and Amber’s story. First let me say that it is necessary that you read Tell Me When which is the first book before starting this one.

I had so many feels while reading this book. I became emotionally attached to these characters while reading book one. That attachment only grew stronger when I started reading this one.

The main plot focuses on stalking. It’s not a topic that’s overly done in books which I think made the story more intriguing. I literally couldn’t put either of these books that make up this story down while reading them.

Let Me Know flowed smoothly, and captured and held my attention until the very end. There’s so much going on in this book. Amber is facing an upcoming trial against her stalker who is also a murderer. Marcus is trying hard to get his abuser charged and convicted of his crimes. Like I said. There’s a lot going on.

There’s a strong suspense element to this story. It keeps building and building until about 85ish % of the book and then Boom! all is revealed. When I was getting close to the end I kept thinking “please don’t let this book end in another cliffhanger.” I even DM’d the author on twitter to ask about this. Luckily, things are all wrapped up and I am extremely happy with how things turn out. I had a lot of theories about what was going to happen, but I never did figure it out on my own. That made me love this story all the more.

Overall, I think Ms Lindenblatt did a phenomenal job writing this series. From the intriguing plot, interesting and unique characters, to the overall well written storyline, this series is a must read.

PS: There is going to be a third book!!! It will be Jordan & Chase’s book. *squee* I’m really looking forward to it!!! I loved both of these secondary characters throughout books one and two and always secretly hoped they’d get together.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: Lead Me Not by A. Meredith WaltersLead Me Not by A. Meredith Walter
Published by Gallery Books on August 5, 2014
Pages: 288
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In this dangerously sexy novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Find You in the Dark, a straight-laced college student meets a handsome but enigmatic stranger who lures her into an underground club scene, where she finds it difficult to resist temptation

Aubrey Duncan understands loss. She knows what rock bottom looks like, and she is determined to crawl back up to the top after the sudden death of her younger sister. She blames herself for her part in the tragedy, convinced that she could have done something, anything, to help her.

In her effort to gain redemption, Aubrey starts fresh at Longwood University and facilitates an addiction support group, hoping she can support someone else in the way she failed her sister. But what she doesn’t count on is an all-consuming fascination with group member Maxx Demelo, a gorgeous, blond, blue-eyed enigma who hides dark secrets behind a carefully constructed mask. He only reveals what he wants others to see. But Aubrey glimpses another Maxx hidden below the surface—a Maxx who is drowning in his own personal hell.

As Aubrey and Maxx develop an attraction too intense to ignore, he pulls her into the dark underbelly of the city club scene, where she is torn by her desire to save him and an inexplicable urge to join him in his downward spiral. Worst of all, she is beginning to love everything she should run away from—a man who threatens to ignite in her a fire that could burn her alive…

review

My thoughts…

Wow! I really liked this book. I’ve only ever read one other book by this author and I DNF’d it because I couldn’t connect with the characters. That wasn’t the case with this book. I took a liking to Aubrey right away. She’s harboring a lot of guilt because she thinks she could have done more where her sister was concerned. She lost her sister to a drug overdose three years ago and she still carries this guilt around. I think this is one of the reasons she connects with Maxx so strongly.

Maxx is sort of an odd guy to me. He has some major issues. One of which is drugs. He doesn’t think he has a problem. It’s apparent from the beginning that he does though. He just can’t see it.

I think Ms Walters did a good job of showing both sides of substance abuse and how it effects those involved. At times I found my heart breaking for Maxx. At other times I would get so mad at him for doing the things he did. I guess I had a love/hate relationship with him.

Lead Me Not was a really quick read for me. Once I got started I had problems putting it down. The story truly captivated me and I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen between Aubrey & Maxx. I was a little disappointed once I reached the end and realized that there was going to be another book AND that said book wouldn’t be released until 2015 leaving things open-ended. I would have liked the story to be wrapped up in one book, but I can see why it wasn’t and I think I’m ok with this. I will be eagerly waiting for the next book to come out.

The sexual scenes are comparable to adult mainstream. They aren’t explicit in nature, but are well written. They don’t play a very big part in this story and I’m fine with that. This book has a strong storyline that stands on it’s own.

Overall, I’m really happy I gave this book a shot. I’m very excited to read the next book next year. I’ll be patiently or not so patiently waiting.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: His Reverie by Monica MurphyHis Reverie by Monica Murphy
Published by Self Published on July 28, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I knew from the moment I first saw her she was the one. The only girl I could ever want.

The only girl I could ever love.

She is light.

I am darkness.

She is innocent.

I’ve done too much.

She is good.

I am bad.

She is my every dream.

I should be her every nightmare.

We come from different worlds. She’s…perfect. And I’m…

Not.

Somehow she wants me anyway. So we’ll grasp at what we can. We’re going to make this summer count. She’s my secret. And I’m hers.

The problem with secrets is they never last for long. And when others discover we’re together, they’ll do whatever it takes to keep us apart. All I know is: I won’t let them.

Because Reverie Hale? She’s mine.

review

My thoughts…

*sigh* Monica Murphy has done it again. His Reverie is a beautifully written love story that touched my heart. I was able to read it in one night. It completely captivated me and just wouldn’t let go. I loved, loved, loved it!

Nick is completely taken with Reverie upon meeting her. She’s the most beautiful girl he has ever seen and he can’t help but want to be around her all the time. He’s had a rough life so far. He’s only 17, but it seems he should be older considering all of the things he’s had to go through in his short life.

Reverie is this beautiful, sweet, and innocent young girl that’s never been kissed before. The daughter of a preacher, Reverie, has led a very strict and sheltered life. He parents keep very close tabs on her.

I instantly fell in love with these characters. I loved the sweet innocence of their relationship. I loved how Reverie would write in her diary every day and express her feelings and emotions. Her diary being part of the story added something special to the overall book.

I think Ms Murphy did an excellent job of conveying what’s it’s like when two young people fall in love for the first time. It’s sweet, magical, can be highly emotional, and all consuming. She nailed it.

His Reverie is rated as a Mature YA. There are some light sexual elements, but the sex itself is not really detailed within the book. I wouldn’t have a problem with my young daughter reading it.

Overall, I completely loved this book. The only negative I can say is that it ends with a cliffhanger. But rest assured because the sequel releases next month so that’s not a very long wait.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Monica Murphy

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling
author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her
family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon.
She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: My Hunger by Lisa Renee JonesMy Hunger by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Inside Out #3.2
Published by Gallery Books on July 7, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

An Inside Out Novella in Mark's POV

While Chris and Sara have traveled to Paris to avoid the chaos of press and police after the tragic night we’d shared, I have stayed to face the reality of what has happened. But there is no peace to be found in facing the truth, and no truth to be found in the confessions that have been made and retracted. I am a Master, all about control, and yet right now, facing great tragedy, I feel as if I have none. With my club and my relationships of the past in the spotlight, I find sanctuary in the one place I’ve promised I will never be again, but cannot seem to resist. Her arms.

***Mark and Crystal's story begins in the novella Master Undone.

review
My thoughts…

Ah…. more Mark Compton. I wasn’t really a fan of his in the first book or two, but eventually I warmed up to him. He’s your typical dom. Hot, rich, and in total control at all times. Well, he seems to have developed a little loss in control in this novella.

It was sort of enjoyable to see his control shaken a bit where Crystal was concerned. There’s a story behind her that I’ve yet to figure out. I do believe that Mark has met his match. Although I’m still holding out hope that Rebecca isn’t actually dead. A girl can dream.

I was able to read this novella really fast. I’m not sure what the page count is, but I think it took me about an hour or so. It captured and held my attention from the beginning. I was desperate to find out more about Rebecca and what exactly happened to her. Sadly, there’s not many answers within the pages of this one. Though I wouldn’t consider this novella a filler, it just didn’t produce the answers I needed. It did however end with an interesting cliffhanger which of course only made me hunger for more.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: Five Ways to Fall by KA TuckerFive Ways to Fall by K.A. Tucker
Series: Ten Tiny Breaths #4
Published by Atria on June 24, 2014
Pages: 384
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Purple-haired, sharp-tongued Reese MacKay knows all about making the wrong choice; she’s made plenty of them in her twenty-odd-years. So when her impulsive, short-lived marriage ends in heartbreak, she decides it’s time for a change. She moves to Miami with the intention of hitting reset on her irresponsible life, and she does quite well…aside from an epically humiliating one-night stand in Cancun with a hot blond bouncer named Ben. Thank God she can get on a plane and leave that mistake behind her.

Football scholarship and frat parties with hot chicks? Part of charmer Ben Morris’s plan. Blown knee that kills any hope of a professional football career? So not part of the plan. Luckily Ben has brains to go with his knockout looks and magnetism. After three long years of balancing law school with his job as a bouncer at Penny’s Palace, he’s ready to lead a more mature life—until his first day of work, when he finds himself in the office of that crazy, hot chick he met in Cancun. The one he hasn’t stopped thinking about.

If Ben truly were a smart guy, he’d stay clear of Reese. She’s the boss’s stepdaughter and it’s been made very clear that office romances are grounds for dismissal. Plus, rumor has it she’s trouble. The only problem is, he likes trouble, especially when it’s so good-looking…

review

My thoughts…

I’m so sad this is the final book in this series. I just wanna sob and email KA Tucker to say “say it isn’t so.” This is one of my most favorite series ever. I have loved each and every book as well as all of the characters within the stories.

Ben was a secondary character in the previous books and I couldn’t wait to read his story. He’s the type of guy who’s pretty much a ladies man. I’m not saying he’s a player because he’s not. He just doesn’t do relationships. He’s a “just one night” type of guy. He’s also a jokester.And Reese. I really liked her. I felt a connection to her right away. She has been through a lot and has a mother from hell. Her dad left her in a diner when she was just a few years old. I felt bad for her and what she has endured in her young life. She too is also a jokester. So naturally the first meeting between her and Ben was hilarious to say the least. I laughed so hard. Their second meeting, some two months later was also hilarious and a little bit awkward.

I felt a wide range of emotions while reading this book. I laughed, almost cried (ok I sniffed), squeed, and laughed some more. One of my favorite things about this story was that Ben was very sweet at times. He referred to his mom as “mama.” I loved that about him. It made me love him even more.

Overall, I think Ms Tucker did a fantastic job writing this story. Sometimes later books in a series aren’t as good as the first couple. I hate to say that, but in my experience that is true sometimes. That’s not the case with Five Ways to Fall. I pretty much loved everything about it. The story flowed smoothly and kept my attention from beginning to end. And once I reached the end I was both happy and sad. Happy because I loved the ending. Sad because I’ve reached the end a great series.

If you haven’t started reading this series yet I highly recommend it.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: Take Me On by Katie McGarryTake Me On by Katie McGarry
Series: Pushing the Limits #4
Published by Harlequin Teen on May 27, 2014
Pages: 544
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Acclaimed author Katie McGarry returns with the knockout new story of two high school seniors who are about to learn what winning really means.

Champion kickboxer Haley swore she'd never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. But then the guy she can't stop thinking about accepts a mixed martial arts fight in her honor. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she'd stay away from. Yet he won't last five seconds in the ring without her help.

West is keeping a big secret from Haley. About who he really is. But helping her-fighting for her-is a shot at redemption. Especially since it's his fault his family is falling apart. He can't change the past, but maybe he can change Haley's future.

Hayley and West have agreed to keep their relationship strictly in the ring. But as an unexpected bond forms between them and attraction mocks their best intentions, they'll face their darkest fears and discover love is worth fighting for.

review

My thoughts…

Take Me On is part of one of my favorite YA series. It’s well written and very enjoyable. I really liked West in the previous book and was happy that Take Me On was his book. I also really liked Haley too. She’s a very strong heroine and I think her and West made a great couple. I enjoyed sinking into their world.

Even though I really enjoyed this book it took me some time to get through it. It started out slow for me and I had trouble getting into it. Along with that I kept getting distracted. :/

The storyline was intriguing though and there were a few surprises along the way that kept thing interesting. Once I did reach the end I was very happy with the way things turned out.

Overall, Take Me On is a great addition to this incredible series. I can’t wait to see who’s book is next.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star