Book Review: Fire In You by J. Lynn + Giveaway!

Book Review: Fire In You by J. Lynn + Giveaway!Fire in You by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Wait For You #6
on November 28th, 2016
Pages: 360
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Jillian Lima’s whole world was destroyed in a span of a few hours. The same night her childhood love, Brock ‘the Beast’ Mitchell, broke her heart, her life was irrevocably altered by the hand of a stranger with a gun. It takes six years to slowly glue together the shattered pieces of her life, but Jillian is finally ready to stop existing in a past full of pain and regret. She takes a job at her father’s martial arts Academy and she’s going out on her first date since a failed relationship that was more yuck than yum. Jillian is determined to start living.

She just never expected Brock to be a part of her life again. But he’s firmly back in her life before she knows it, and not only is he older, he’s impossibly more handsome, more teasing and more everything. And when he sees Jillian, he’s no longer capable of thinking of her as the little girl who was his shadow growing up or the daughter of the man who gave him a second chance at life. He sees the woman who’d always been there for him, the one person who believed in him no matter what.

Brock knows she’s the one he should’ve made his, and what begins as a tentative friendship quickly turns to red-hot chemistry that sparks a flame that burns brighter than lust. Falling for Brock again risks more than her heart, because when the sorrow-filled and guilt-ridden past resurfaces, and a web of lies threatens to rip them apart, the fallout could lay waste to everything they’ve fought to build together, and destroy the dreams of those they care most about.

I can’t believe that it’s the end of the Wait For You series!! I love these characters and I’m sad to see this series getting a wrap!

We’ve met Brock and Jillian in previous books of the Wait For You series. Jillian is a bit younger than the rest of the crew in this series and last we saw her she was crushing hardcore on Brock, all the while, Brock just saw her as a little sister.

This book takes place about six years after the rest of the series. Jillian is working in insurance and hasn’t seen Brock in those six years. The reason why being that the one night she decides to tell Brock how she feels about him, he pretty much blows her off. Minutes later after she leaves the Mona’s after she had been waiting for him, her life dramatically changes and definitely NOT IN A GOOD WAY.

Now it’s six years later and Jillian is still trying to get past the tragic event that she went through.. She finally decides to take a job at her father’s MMA training academy, only later finding out that Brock is her boss…and little does she know Brock has finally realized that she’s more than just a “kid sister” to him…

OH MY GOD. Why is this series over? I can’t get enough of Cam and Avery! They’re my favorite couple out of this entire series! As I was writing up this review I realized that this entire story is pretty much an epilogue for the entire series, while Brock and Jillian’s story is the main story line..you definitely get to see what the rest of the gang has been up to in the last 6 years.. I really loved that aspect of this story.. Although View Spoiler »

Jennifer did an amazing job with this story and I loved both Jillian and Brock.. Jillian had me crying in the first chapter and every chapter after that. Every time she revisited that night and we learned a little more about what happened I had tears running down my face. Jennifer really got the best of my emotions with this book. Brock seemed like a total player with a bright future in MMA when we first met him in the earlier series..but he’s definitely grown up since then. He wasn’t right for Jillian back then, but he’s definitely perfect for her now.

Thank you so much for this beautiful series, Jennifer. I can’t believe it’s over now. 🙁

Book Trailer

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour

Check out the rest of the stops on the Fire in You Blog Tour!

November 21

The Book Bratz-Review
This Wacky Mama Reads!-Review & Excerpt
Booklovers For Life-Character Q & A-Jillian

November 22

The Reading Geek-Review
Words With Sarah-Review & Author Interview

November 23

Grown Up Book Reviews (MundieMoms)-Review
Krista’s Dust Jacket-Review & Excerpt
Oh My Growing TBR-Review & Excerpt

November 24

A Bookish Escape-Review
Star-Crossed Book Blog-Review & Author Interview

November 25

Book Bitches Blog-Review & Excerpt
The Irish Banana Reviews-Review & Author Interview

November 26

Stuck In YA Books-Review & Top 5 List
Step Into Fiction-Review & Excerpt

November 27

Less Reality, More Books-Review & Character Q & A-Kristen
My YA NA Book Obsession-Review & Author Interview

November 28

RentasticReads-Review
Stuck in Books-Dual Reviews
Mrs. Leif’s Two Fangs About It-Review
MEReadAlot-Review

November 29

Milky Way of Books-Review
Love Between the Sheets-Review & Character Q & A-Brock
Book Boyfriend Reviews-Review

November 30

The Cover Contessa-Review & Top 5 List
Deity Island-Review & Excerpt
All Romance Reviews-Review & Excerpt

December 1

Cocktails and Books-Review
Readers Live 1000 Lives-Review & Character Q & A-Avery & Cam
K-Books-Review

December 2

Tome Tender-Review & Excerpt
The Book Hookup-Review & Excerpt

December 3

Nose Stuck in a Book-Review & Excerpt
Kimberlyfaye Reads-Review & Top 5 List

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. ArmentroutThe Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Harlequin Teen on May 17th, 2016
Pages: 480
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD | Indiebound | BAM!
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

Wow, I have no words for this book. Jennifer L. Armentrout is one of those authors who I don’t even bother reading the synopsis for any book she writes..I just usually dive in to the book. The Problem with Forever is a heartbreakingly beautiful book and when I started reading the prologue I knew that it was unlike anything she’s written before.

Mallory is a high school senior who has spent the last so many years being homeschooled. After having such a traumatic childhood that has left her with a severe case of PTSD, she is ready to drop her shield and face her fears by attending Public School.

Mallory is not a girl of many words, She uses silence as a shield. It’s what she knows, it’s what Rider told her to do, it’s what she did to survive her childhood.  It’s been four years since the event that lead to Mallory getting out of the foster house she lived in with Rider. It’s been FOUR YEARS since she’s even seen Rider or talked to Rider. She’s been adopted by an amazing and supportive couple. She’s learning how to overcome what she’s been through. She’s learning that it is ok to speak, or make a sound. She’s ready to take on school and get over her fears, make friends and to live her life.

Mallory’s first day as a senior at Lands High doesn’t go so well. She’s having trouble find the words to respond to a simple “hi” from the girl a few lockers down, the atmosphere in the cafeteria is too overwhelming for her, etc. When she gets to the last class of the day, the class that she probably fears the most, SPEECH, it’s there where she runs into her knight in shining armor…

Rider Stark grew up with Mallory, they were both foster kids that ended up in one of those foster homes straight out of a nightmare. He did everything he could to protect her, he even saved her from their horrific life though it ended up taking her away from him. After the events that took Mallory away from him, Rider ends up in a group home and then from there it ends up in Mrs. Luna’s house.

The second that Rider sees Mallory, it’s like the four years it had been since they’ve seen one another never happened. It’s obvious that he hasn’t forgotten her, that she has never been that far from his mind. They re-connect instantaneously and it’s a beautiful thing.

Jennifer did a really good job of putting Mallory’s discomfort when speaking aloud into this story. Every time she “spoke” in the book, you could tell that she was fighting her urge to just stop talking. With Rider’s help and the help of her new friends, Mallory slowly gets over her fear of using words, of speaking to and being around people.

Rider is just going along with everything, he thinks that he doesn’t deserve to do anything in life. He’s just existing..but Mallory shows him that he deserves to have anything and everything in life that he wants. Just because he grew up in the system doesn’t mean that he shouldn’t try to make his life better. That he shouldn’t go to college or to art school. He’s obviously extremely smart and a very talented artist. He just doesn’t think he’s good enough for all that, or good enough for Mallory. In the end, Rider being there in her life and doing what he always did for her, helped push Mallory into HELPING him. Showing him that he found a HOME WITH PEOPLE WHO CARE ABOUT HIM, the same as her. Mallory makes him realize that he can do anything he wants.

I really enjoyed this story, even as I had tears running down my face through it. The characters were great, the story line will definitely have your emotions all over the place and in the end..Rider and Mallory are finally finding the happiness that everyone deserves to have in their life.

Thanks to InkslingerPR, Harlequin Teen and Jennifer L. Armentrout for the chance to read and review this book for the blog tour!

 

** I FINALLY GET TO MEET JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT on her book tour for The Problem with Forever on May 19th! I am getting a copy of the book autographed to GIVEAWAY to a lucky reader of ours!! Enter to win below!! There’s also a giveaway being hosted by Inkslinger in part with the Blog Tour, don’t forget to enter that giveaway as well! 🙂

 


*** I don’t normally don’t add songs to posts…but..
I thought maybe this song would sum up Mallory and Rider’s childhood.

This song is Rider..

Hmm..I might add more later..

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The autographed copy of The Problem with Forever giveaway is open to those only in the USA. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

12593561_778780958890135_7477090847338317775_o

Pre-Order The Problem with Forever and register your purchase to receive a FREE fan pack! Fan pack includes:Inspirational Wall Art, flag-as-you-read stickers, a poster AND an excerpt of TPWF to start reading now! Pre-Order now from Amazon, B&N, Kobo, iBooks, The Book Depository, Indiebound or BAM!
Register your pre-order here to receive the FREE FAN PACK! http://bit.ly/24awVFw

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

The Power by Jennifer L. ArmentroutThe Power by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Titan #2
Published by Spencer Hill Press on February 23rd, 2016
Pages: 344
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | TBD
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

With any great change, there is always strife, and the Covenant University has become the frontline between pure-bloods who want the Breed Order reinstated and the half-bloods who want the right to control their own destinies.
Fate has other plans.

The violence is escalating and war between the races seems inevitable, and it couldn’t come at a worse time. Hyperion may be out of commission, but Josie and Seth know they have only earned a reprieve. Seth must get Josie fully prepared, which means controlling her newfound abilities, and they need to find the other demigods before the Titans do.
But the gods are sensing a greater threat.

Only one thing is more dangerous than a bunch of starved Titans, and that’s an out-of-control Apollyon. The aether in Josie is drawing Seth in deeper, and when lust mixes with love and gives way to power, he knows being close to her is not only dangerous to her, but to everyone around them, but letting her go requires a level of selflessness that just isn’t Seth’s style.

The paths taken in the past are becoming the roads of the future.

Just as chaos breaks out, familiar faces from the past return, complicating the already strained bond between Josie and Seth, and when the danger from the Titans erupts with devastating consequences, the dark allure of power calls to Seth again, but this time Josie might not be able to pull him back.

And when the struggle between power and love becomes the deadliest battleground, there may be no salvation.

Ok wow, This book was even better than The Return. I really started to like Seth a whole lot more. I mean he finally started to grow on me in the Return (I kind of wanted to punch in the Covenant books…so that’s saying a lot), but I like him even more now, though he did have a few moments where someone needed to bitchslap him, but he found his way again…

This book kind of dragged for me a bit in the beginning but it really started to pick up when we got towards the middle. We see quite a few people from the Covenant series in this book series (OMG guess who shows up in this book?! I bet you’ll never guess! :P) and we even meet a new demigod in the Power. Hercules. Yes, THAT Hercules shows up to help out a bit… and WOW. I don’t think I’ve ever rolled my eyes so hard at a character in a book before. He made for some good entertainment in this book, that is for sure.

Wow, the end of the book. I have no words.. I was definitely not expecting that to happen and neither was Seth or anyone else for that matter, it seems. Something’s changed.. and Josie hasn’t given up on Seth, and I don’t think she should. Because even though he doesn’t see it, I don’t think the situation he’s found himself in is anywhere near as bad as everyone thinks it will be. Hopefully Josie will be able to fix everything in the next book, I have faith in her love for Seth!!

Thanks to the Publisher for giving me an ARC for an honest review!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

ARC Review: Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. ArmentroutDon't Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Disney Hyperion on April 15th, 2014
Pages: 372
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took "mean girl" to a whole new level, and it's clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She's getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she's falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of Sam's memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

WARNING: Do not attempt to start this book at night before you go to bed. If you do, YOU WILL BE UP ALL NIGHT LONG. This book will not allow you to put it down once you start reading.

This book is about a girl who finds herself wandering down a road covered in blood. She doesn’t have any clue as to where she’s at, why she’s there and who she even is. She finds out her name is Sam and she’s been missing for FOUR DAYS. She disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, whom still hasn’t been found. Unfortunately  Sam’s memories of that night or any night before that are missing as well.

Once I started reading this book, I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. I lost track of time.. what only seemed like minutes instead were hours. I realized it was 2am and not 11pm and I had to be to work at 7am. I unfortunately had to put the book down for the night…. The next day I forgo my lunchtime cat nap because I HAD TO FINISH THE BOOK. WOW. This book is incredible. I loved Sam, we got to discover her as a person as she discovered herself. What she was finding out about herself she did not like and she decided she didn’t WANT to be the way she used to be. It even seems that maybe though she was a certain way before the whole disappearance thing, in reality she really didn’t want to be the mean girl that she’s been made out to be..Now is her chance to turn her life around and stop caring what other people think..and she does just that. 😉

Carson Ortiz is the help’s son…the old Sam doesn’t want anything to do with him, though they used to be BFFs once upon a time before High School Politics came in to play… Now that she’s a new person rediscovering herself, she’s finding herself attracted to him.
At first, Carson is a bit stand-offish when he’s around Sam. Once she finally convinces him that she’s not playing him, that she really doesn’t remember the way she was and she really does want to be friends wit him, he starts to thaw a bit towards her.

Her boyfriend, Del, once we meet him in the book he totally annoyed the crap out of me and gave me the heebiejeebies. He seems like a total dick and in the end..that’s exactly what he is. #TEAMCARSON

Though the old Sam wasn’t the nice person in the world, even to her twin brother, Scott, and his girlfriend, Julie, they totally have her back as she struggles to remember what happened the night she disappeared.

Now let’s get to the whodunit. NO, I won’t ruin it for you and tell you did it, but WOW it totally is the last person you thought it would be..and the reasoning for it was totally unexpected. HUH. Good Job, Jenn. I didn’t see any of that coming.. This book has you going around in circles going “DID THIS PERSON DO IT? Did Sam do it? OMG did he do it? OMGWTF THAT PERSON DID IT? HOLY CRAP I DIDN’T SEE THAT COMING!!!”

Yeah, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat til the very end. If you haven’t read it yet, GET ON IT NOW.

ENJOY!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

ARC Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer ArmentroutWhite Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: The Dark Elements #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on February 25, 2014
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

I’m writing this short and sweet review because I received an ARC and I am required to. Erin already posted about WHK and you can check out her more in depth review here.

You can check out my Psych Ward file on Jennifer here.

I read Bitter Sweet Love and White Hot Kiss in one fell swoop. I fell in love with gargoyles in fiction last summer when I read Page Morgan’s The Beautiful and The Cursed. I felt like it was a new and fresh addition to the paranormal romance scene and ended up LOVING  TB&TC and the novella about one of the gargoyle’s back story as well. When I saw that JLA was doing a series featuring gargoyles, I thought she must be jumping on the coat tails of a new trend that Page Morgan started. Or maybe she was just inspired to write about gargoyles before that. Either way, who cares. I really enjoyed WHK.

Alex Layla, our narrator, is one confused half-breed chick. I would not want to be in her shoes. Layla has some unique struggles to deal with given her DNA. Part demon, part gargoyle, the struggle to fit in with her adopted family of Wardens (gargoyles that hunt demons) is getting harder every day. Especially after she meets Roth. He’s wholly demon and has his eye on Layla. Soon after the two meet, Roth has his lips and hands on Layla as well. I quite liked this aspect of the story. Layla is yet another funny and relatable female protagonist from Jennifer Armentrout. I usually prefer the male characters to female characters, whether primary or secondary, in all the books I read. That’s not the case with Jennifer’s books. I end up liking the chicks as much as the dudes. While I was more interested with Layal and Roth’s story arcs than Layla and Zaynes, I still felt like Zayne was monstrously swoon-worthy.

Seth Roth, the antihero of the novel was of course, MY FAVE. We are given a glimpse of Roth in Bitter Sweet Love at the very end. I knew he was going to rock my socks off in WHK by the song he is heard humming in BSL. Roth might as well be sex-on-a-stick. He has inky black hair, wicked golden eyes, a serpant tattoo, and he is cut in all the right places. Jennifer uses her signature cocky-heart of gold charm with Roth’s character and I wanted to devour him. (Kind of like Bambi devours under-worldly creatures. That last sentence will make absolutely no sense to you unless you’ve read the book.) Let’s just say Roth has something bad-ass up his sleeve when it comes to protecting Layla for his nefarious purposes.

Aiden Zayne is Layla’s rock. Or stone to be more exact. He’s a Warden and turns to stone in his gargoyle form to sleep and recover from a full night of hunting demons. He’s a few years older than Layla but they have been connected at the hip ever since Layla was adopted into his gargoyle family. I love the relationship between Layla and Zayne. It’s soft and warm and sweet and SEDUCTIVE. In his human form, Zayne is a blonde hair, blue eyed stud in peak physical condition. His chest stretches sweaters across them like no others. It’s easy to see why Layla would have complicated feelings for this guy who grew up with her like a brother. The complicated feelings Zayne and Layla have for each other in this book creates some AWESOME tension.

The characters and story world are well rounded and wonderfully defined (double meaning there). I love when an author doesn’t try to be coy about where they get a lot of inspiration for their novels. Jennifer acknowledges Supernatural not only by name in WHK, but also by story content.

Fans of JLA’s Covenant series will fall hard for The Dark Elements. I was really sad when The Covenant series ended but this series seems like it will be filling that gap.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Release Day Launch / ARC Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout + Giveaway!

Release Day Launch / ARC Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout + Giveaway!White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: The Dark Elements #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on February 25th, 2014
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

Erin’s Review

First off, This review needs a song…

[sc_embed_player fileurl=”http://mereadalot.net/muzak/06%20Paradise%20City.mp3″] <- Click  the play button for this review’s theme song.
(Paradise City by Guns N Roses)

 

Second…one of the best characters in this book: BAMBI. That’s all I’m gonna say..I’ll let you meet Bambi on your own. 😉

Jennifer L. Armentrout never fails when bringing us a swoony boy..and this book is no exception..In fact, she gave us TWO SWOONY BOYS! We’ve got Zayne ,who is a warden (aka Gargoyle) and Roth, who is a demon.

Our female MC in this book is Layla. Layla is half-warden, half-demon. She was raised by the Wardens and because of that she feels insecure around them. She may be half-warden, but she doesn’t have the capabilities they possess, so she feels…inconsequential? around them.. Yeah, something like that. She does have the ability to “tag” demons, which she uses to help the Wardens, who hunt at night, identify them. Which in turn makes their job a bit easier..and makes Layla feel as though she’s doing something positive.

Due to her being half-demon, she has the ability to suck the soul right out of someone..literally. Because of that whole soul-sucking thing, she’ll never be able to have the one boy she wants..Zayne, or anyone else for that matter.. That all changes when she meets Roth. Roth is a demon, he has no soul, so his lips are free game to Layla..and boy does she take advantage of that..Or maybe it’s Roth that takes advantage of that… 😉

 

The chemistry between Layla and Roth was so explosive.. I thought my iPad was going to over heat.. 🙂 I loved them together. I loved Roth and the things that came out of his mouth..the way he was with Layla and how he managed to look out for her even when he wasn’t actually there. I’ve heard that Daemon’s character was based on Roth and I can totally see it..Big Ego, Snarky Comments, Total Bad Ass. Yep.. a lot like Daemon…BUT.. I think I might like Roth more than Daemon. Roth is a real bad boy, I mean.. he is a demon after all! He has a legit reason to be a bad boy…and well I like my book boyfriends to be bad. Yum! 🙂

ZAYNE! OMG Zayne! You gave me so many feels in this book..I don’t even know if I can talk about it. Zayne, you had me in tears quite a few times. I HOPE THAT YOU MAKE IT UP TO ME IN THE NEXT ONE. I have a feeling he will most definitely make it up to us somehow in the book..because after the way this book ended (HOLY CRAP! DID NOT SEE THAT COMING!!!) Zayne better be there for me Layla.

White Hot Kiss is a great start to a new and unique book series. Jennifer Armentrout did not disappoint. This is a great story with amazing characters and some interesting twists. YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK if you haven’t already. But first, You’ll definitely need to check out the Prequel BITTER SWEET LOVE.

 

Thanks to HarlequinTEEN for sending me this ARC in exchange for an honest review!

 

Some of my favorite quotes from White Hot Kiss:

“We demons are all alike. We covet pretty things, corrupt what is pure and whole, take what we can never have.” – Roth

“Free Will is bullshit.” – Roth

“See, I was raised in Hell. You could say I’m socially awkward.” – Roth

“Free Will, huh? Damn. It is a bitch.” – Roth

“I lost myself the moment I found you.” – Roth

“Just so you know, your virtue isn’t safe with me. So when you look like you want me to devour every inch of your mouth, I will, without an ounce of regret.” – Roth

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Book Review: Bitter Sweet Love by Jennifer L. Armentrout + Giveaway!Bitter Sweet Love by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: The Dark Elements #0.5
Published by Harlequin Teen on December 1st, 2013
Pages: 105
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In a sizzling prequel novella to her new series THE DARK ELEMENTS, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout draws readers into the extraordinary, irresistible world of Wardens and demons.

Dez wasn't just Jasmine's crush. A gargoyle Warden like Jas, he helped her come to terms with her destiny—fending off demons and maintaining balance between good and evil. He was her everything...right until the moment he disappeared without a trace. It didn't help that Jas's father had just announced that she and Dez would one day be mated. Hard not to take that personally.

And now he's back, three years older, ten times hotter, ready to pick up exactly where they left off. But Jas isn't taking that risk again. Dez has seven days to meet all her conditions and earn back her trust. Seven days filled with terrifying danger and sweet temptation. Seven days to win her heart—or shatter it all over again...

To be honest, when this book series was first announced I was like, ‘Gargoyles?!! Why would anyone write about gargoyles?’ Then I remembered that this is Jennifer L. Armentrout that is writing these books! I shouldn’t question her for writing about gargoyles, I should just trust the knowledge that we all know: Jennifer L. Armentrout writes the most swoon-worthy male characters EVER. After that realization I started to get excited!

One day Jasmine’s father has announced his wishes for Jasmine and Dez to Mate, the next Dez has up and left without a word to Jasmine. It’s kind of hard to not take that personally. Especially seeing as Jas had spent the last 8 years of her life in love with him. So for 3 years, Jasmine mourns the loss of Dez and then one day He comes back and lays claim to Jasmine.

Oh, but Jasmine is NOT HAPPY. She’s just spent the last 3 years of her life wondering what she did to make him leave and now he’s back all of the sudden and wants to mate? Oh no, Jasmine is not having any of that. Jasmine has seven days to say yes or no to Dez’s claim. Instead of saying ‘NO’ right off the bat, she comes up with conditions and she makes him work for that ‘Yes.’

We get a brief introduction to Layla (half demon & half gargoyle teen girl being raised by the DC Warden Clan.), Zayne (A Warden from the Clan that’s raised Layla and whom she’s had a crush on forever!), and for a very brief second, Roth (An Upper Level Demon). These 3 Characters are who we will get to know better in White Hot Kiss, the next installment from the Dark Elements, and the first full length novel in the series.

This novella was amazing and JEN DOES NOT DISAPPOINT.. Dez was smoking hot and very sweet. She had me swooning over him the minute he appears in this book. I almost wish I could have gotten a bit more time with him and Jasmine, but what time we did get with them was BEAUTIFUL.

We have yet to learn more about Zayne, as he only got but a brief introduction in this book, but he most definitely has swoon potential!

Thanks to JLA for the sweet introduction to her new world. A world where Gargoyles have had to out themselves to the Mortal world in order to keep doing what they were put on this Earth for. Something big is happening and I can’t wait to read White Hot Kiss to see what’s going on. I mean, what’s happening that made the Wardens come out? Is Layla the reason behind what’s happening? Are we going to fall in love with Zayne? Or is Roth going to come and collect our hearts? We shall see come February!

Giveaway

Want to win a copy of Bitter Sweet Love on me? Enter below! I will send the winners an e-copy of Bitter Sweet Love via Amazon.com or BN.com. 😉

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Book Review: Unchained by J. LynnUnchained by J. Lynn, Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Nephilim Rising #1
Published by Entangled Edge on September 17th, 2013
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Between the pissed off creatures that want demon-hunter Lily Marks dead and the fallen angel who just...wants her, Lily is about ready to trade in forever for a comfy job in a cubicle farm.

The fact that she and Julian are civil to one another is enough to have her thrown out of the Sanctuary, but she can't shake her not-so-angelic stalker or how he brings her dangerously close to ecstasy.

Her forbidden relationship with Julian provides the perfect fuel for suspicion when a traitor is discovered to be working within the Sanctuary. Lily quickly finds herself hunted by well, everyone.

Her only hope is to discover the real traitor before she loses everything--and she'll need Julian's help. That is, if Julian is really there to help her...and not destroy her.

Yeah, being a Nephilim isn't everything it's cracked up to be.

This book started out slow for me. It took a while for me to warm up to Lily, but eventually I got there. Like other female characters of JLA’s, Lily was full of some good snark and I think that is what finally got me. Lily is one kick-ass girl who hardly ever gets into a situation that she can’t get herself out of. Though, that doesn’t mean she doesn’t have a guardian angel looking out for (stalking) her. Enter Julian, an absolutely swoon-worthy fallen angel who just can’t seem to stay away from Lily. JLA sure knows how to write them swoony hot boys and Julian is no different. That man is one HOT angel. The things he says to Lily, oh boy, and the chemistry between the two of them is absolutely sinful.
I read in another review that the reviewer found his stalking “a little creepy.” Hey guys, He didn’t watch her sleep at night, at least not to our knowledge. Hah.

A 30 something cop and undetected Nephilim, Michael, is discovered by Lily in the book. No one understands why he went undetected, but it makes you wonder if he plays an important part in the bigger picture.

This book had some absolutely smoldering smexy times in it, which is to be expected in a J. Lynn book. I had to fan myself a few times. Like I said before, the chemistry between Julian and Lily was sinful, and when she finally gave into Julian, the sexy times were even more…WOW. I can’t even think of a good word to explain how hot they were. 🙂

After Lily finally won me over, I really started to enjoy this book. I cannot wait to see what happens in the next book with Lily and Julian, as well as learn more about where Michael came from and why.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer Armentrout + Giveaway!!!!Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Entangled on August 27, 2013
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

Katy’s boyfriend’s back, and someone’s gonna be in trouble…

[sc_embed_player fileurl=”http://mereadalot.com/muzak/06-the_raveonettes-my_boyfriends_back.mp3″] <–Click for this review’s theme music.  (My Boyfriend’s Back by the Raveonettes)

We’re gonna need a bigger movie studio for this one.

 

I don’t really know how to review this book, except by ”objectifying” it. When I first saw the cover of Origin, it brought me to my knees. I freaked out. My friends freaked out. The blogosphere freaked out. WE ALL FREAKED OUT. That icy-blue cover with that hot-as-hell alien staring down the world, set my blood boiling and gave me chills in all the right places. I thought to myself, ” Damn. I hope Origin lives up to it’s cover.” I didn’t even consider the possibility that the story would surpass the cover, but that’s exactly what it did. Writing and scene crafting of such EPIC-PROPORTIONS lay between the pages of this book. It’s feisty and luxurious like a kitten on sexy, satin sheets.  The dual POV was played out to perfection. This was the hottest piece of Lit I have had my hands on in recent memory.

 

Origin satisfies on so many levels. Being inside Daemon’s head made me embrace his character as so much more than an Alien-Adonis, with wicked powers and an ego to match. In Origin, more than any of the other Lux books, we see Daemon surrender to his humanity. His heart is no longer his own. Katy is his weakness, and he welcomes it. Daemon will do whatever it takes to save her from Daedalus, including walking into the arms of the enemy to do it. Katy and Daemon prove they are stronger together, than apart. When they are reunited under the watch of Daedalus, the warmth, joy, fear, and raw emotion that Jennifer builds between them is like Ambrosian nectar . Daemon and Katy find out some serious stuff about the Luxen and Arum while imprisoned. When Daemon and Katy find an undercover ally amongst themselves, an escape plan starts to fall into place and it’s non-stop, heart-pounding action from there on out.

 

An out-of-this-world discovery is made. Friends and family reunite.New friendships are forged. Someone is betrayed. New lives are taken, and new lives are made. Jennifer brings on the bad-ass in monumental currency, and I swear I felt like I could kick a juggernaut’s ass, or stomp my foot down and split the Earth after reading this book. Origin will take over your brain like an alien invasion. This is a long book, but trust me. You will want to finish it in one sitting.

 

We meet a handful of new characters in Origin. Some of them are trustworthy, and some of them deserve to die. Intimate and cathartic moments mixed with intense, high-anxiety scenes give Origin a blockbuster presence.  Origin appealed to all of  my senses. It made me laugh, purr, and cry. It gave me mega, super, FEELS. When it was over, I wanted to experience it again, and again. It made me feel like an Origin. Set free for the very fist time. Lux #4 has brains, brawn, and beauty. Jennifer made so many emotions; sentiment and sarcasm, sensuality and severity, give depth and meaning to what I thought was gonna be a quick, one-night-stand. You are going to want to take this one home, and hold it close. Enter the giveaway below, and you could win a date with win a signed copy of Origin. I’m going to see Jennifer at the Houston Bookrave in November, and the lucky winner will get a personalized copy of Origin. I will send it out after having it signed.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Book Review: Obsession by Jennifer L. ArmentroutObsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Entangled on May 31, 2013
Pages: 370
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

He’s arrogant, domineering, and... To. Die. For.

Hunter is a ruthless killer. And the Department of Defense has him firmly in their grasp, which usually doesn’t chafe too badly because he gets to kill bad guys. Most of the time he enjoys his job. That is, until he’s saddled with something he’s never had to do before: protect a human from his mortal enemy.

Serena Cross didn’t believe her best friend when she claimed to have seen the son of a powerful senator turn into something... unnatural. Who would? But then she witnesses her friend’s murder at the hands of what can only be an alien, thrusting her into a world that will kill to protect their secret.

Hunter stirs Serena’s temper and her lust despite their differences. Soon he’s doing the unthinkable—breaking the rules he’s lived by, going against the government to keep Serena safe. But are the aliens and the government the biggest threats to Serena’s life…or is it Hunter?

OH H-O-L-Y CRAP.

So Obsession came out on Friday (5/31), but I was lucky enough to win an ARC from the Publisher the night before so I got an early start on my reading!!

This book was a great way to hold us ADULT fans of the LUX series over until the release of Origin. When I found out that JLA was releasing an adult book from the LUX universe I got super excited!! I love super hot romances and I must say Obsession is SMOKIN’ HOT!!!! I almost had to take a cold shower when I got done reading it because it had some SUPER HOT SEXY TIMES!!!

I LOVED LOVED LOVED HUNTER!! He consisted of all the best ingredients to make a super hot alpha male WHO IS AN ALIEN!!!! He was cocky, arrogant, bossy, snarky, etc, etc.. He was PERRRRRFECT!!! Amazing!

“That´s an alien. I´m an alien. We´re aliens. Aliens everywhere, actually, which is why we have to leave. I´m sure someone called the police by now.” – Hunter

Serena was also amazing…She didn’t take Hunter’s crap at all and dished it right back at him! We like girls who are sassy, makes for interesting banter between characters!! But like most girls who are sassy, they usually don’t always know what’s good for them..so they tend to do some stupid things and Serena is not any different!

“Never in my life had I been more frustrated. Go figure it wouldn’t be with a human but a freaking alien. At least I now knew that the male species were asses no matter what planet they hailed from.” -Serena

In this book we learn that maaaaaybe the LUXEN aren’t always going to be the good guys and just maybe the Arum aren’t always going to be the bad guys. It was interesting to get a whole different angle of the luxenverse (HA. YES! I JUST CAME UP WITH THAT. Let’s now refer to the world of the LUXEN and ARUM novels as LUXENVERSE. :D) and see it from the POV of someone who is one of the supposed “bad guys” of the story.

We also learn a little bit of information about something called Project Eagle in and how it may play part in the next LUX book, Origin.

View Spoiler »

 

Wow. Yeah..I’m wondering if maybe the Good Luxen and the good Arum will be teaming up in the future? We shall see….

Overall this book was a great read, I couldn’t put it down once I started reading it. It is supposed to be a stand alone novel, so if you’ve never read the LUX series, it’s alright because JLA does a good job of explaining things as the story goes along.  I do hope that we get to see more of Hunter & Serena in the future!

Now we only have to wait another…
[fergcorp_cdt]
until we can finally FINALLY KNOW WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON in the LUX Series. 🙂

Oh, I forgot to mention…I’m totally conflicted now. I don’t know whether I should be #TeamLuxen or #TeamArum!!!! 🙁 🙁 🙁

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.