He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. TuckerHe Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker
Published by Atria Books on February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The USA TODAY bestselling author of the Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water series makes her suspense debut with this sexy, heartpounding story of a young woman determined to find justice after her best friend’s death, a story pulsing with the “intense, hot, emotional” (Colleen Hoover) writing that exhilarates her legions of fans.

Twenty-eight-year-old Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a bottle of Xanax and a handle of vodka, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers secrets in the childhood lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man who Celine herself claimed would be her ruin.

On the hunt for answers that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.

Ah! Ms Tucker is for sure one of my favorite and must read authors. Ten Tiny Breaths was the first book by Ms Tucker that I read and let me tell you… It literally blew me away. The twist was completely amazing. I totally did not see that coming.

He Will Be My Ruin is Ms Tucker’s first attempt at writing a thriller. Believe me when I say that she nailed it. I loved it! This storyline kept me guessing. Every time I thought I had it solved, I was proven wrong.

Books like this one are my favorite’s. I’m a big fan of books that challenge you. Books that keep you guessing. Books that feature storylines that keep you turning page after page as quickly as possible. Books that you just don’t want to put down.

Ms Tucker achieved all those things within the pages of this one. Did I mention I loved this book? Lol

The character’s were both intriguing and well developed. The storyline unique. I completely, totally, and positively loved it. And that ending! Speechless! I even had to tweet Me Tucker about it.

So overall, if you like books that keep you guessing and completely sick you in. He Will Be My Ruin is definitely one you don’t want to miss!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

Cover Reveal: Chasing River by K.A. TuckerChasing River by K.A. Tucker
Series: Burying Water #3
Published by Atria on July 7, 2015
Format: eBook
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon

Armed with two years' worth of savings and the need to experience life outside the bubble of her Oregon small town, twenty-five-year old Amber Welles is prepared for anything. Except dying in Dublin. Had it not been for the bravery of a stranger, she might have. But he takes off before she has the chance to offer her gratitude.

Twenty-four-year-old River Delaney is rattled. No one was supposed to get hurt. But then that American tourist showed up. He couldn't let her die, but he also couldn't risk being identified at the scene—so, he ran. Back to his everyday life of running his family’s pub. Only, everyday life is getting more and more complicated, thanks to his brother, Aengus, and his criminal associations. When the American girl tracks River down, he quickly realizes how much he likes her, how wrong she is for him. And how dangerous it is to have her around. Chasing her off would be the smart move.

Maybe it's because he saved her life, or maybe it's because he's completely different from everything she's left behind, but Amber finds herself chasing after River Delaney. Amber isn’t the kind of girl to chase after anyone.

And River isn't the kind of guy she'd want to catch.

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: Burying Water by K.A. TuckerBurying Water by K.A. Tucker
Published by Atria on October 7, 2014
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The top-selling, beloved indie author of Ten Tiny Breaths returns with a new romance about a young woman who loses her memory—and the man who knows that the only way to protect her is to stay away.

Left for dead in the fields of rural Oregon, a young woman defies all odds and survives—but she awakens with no idea who she is, or what happened to her. Refusing to answer to “Jane Doe” for another day, the woman renames herself “Water” for the tiny, hidden marking on her body—the only clue to her past. Taken in by old Ginny Fitzgerald, a crotchety but kind lady living on a nearby horse farm, Water slowly begins building a new life. But as she attempts to piece together the fleeting slivers of her memory, more questions emerge: Who is the next-door neighbor, quietly toiling under the hood of his Barracuda? Why won’t Ginny let him step foot on her property? And why does Water feel she recognizes him?

Twenty-four-year-old Jesse Welles doesn’t know how long it will be before Water gets her memory back. For her sake, Jesse hopes the answer is never. He knows that she’ll stay so much safer—and happier—that way. And that’s why, as hard as it is, he needs to keep his distance. Because getting too close could flood her with realities better left buried.

The trouble is, water always seems to find its way to the surface.

review

My thoughts…

STOP!!! – the first few lines of this review may be spoilish.

Against my better judgement I’m giving this book four stars. There are a few things I consider “hard limits” when I’m selecting books to read. One of them is cheating. I don’t like it. I don’t like it when it’s not mentioned in the synopsis letting me know ahead of time. I can understand for the sake of this story (plot wise) that it was necessary, but still I gotta say overall that I don’t like cheating. It’s because of this that I almost DNF’d this book early on. The reason I didn’t and decided to stick with it is because K.A.Tucker is one of my favorite authors. I love her books and I just couldn’t give up on this story. Now after having finished Burying Water I’m really glad I stuck with it.

I loved both Water & Jesse from the beginning. They meet under extraordinary circumstances. It struck me as a little bit unrealistic that Water would react the way she did upon meeting Jesse, but the more I read the more I could see why she did. Both of these characters are very interesting. And I really enjoyed getting to know them. They seemed drawn to each other right away. I think Jesse was sort of a safe Haven for Water. Someone she could confide in. Someone she could trust.

I’m finding it hard to not give away spoilers in this review. So I’m going to keep this review short and simple. Burying Water has multiple layers to it. It switches in time from the past and to the present. It will hold your attention all the way through. At least it did for me. It will keep you guessing about what’s going to happen next. I love stories like this. I love trying to figure out what’s going to happen next and how things are going to end. While I had a few things figured out, there were others I didn’t.

Overall, I really liked this book and how things ended. It really was an enjoyable read. I can’t wait to read more of Ms Tucker’s books in the future.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: Five Ways to Fall by KA TuckerFive Ways to Fall by K.A. Tucker
Series: Ten Tiny Breaths #4
Published by Atria on June 24, 2014
Pages: 384
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Purple-haired, sharp-tongued Reese MacKay knows all about making the wrong choice; she’s made plenty of them in her twenty-odd-years. So when her impulsive, short-lived marriage ends in heartbreak, she decides it’s time for a change. She moves to Miami with the intention of hitting reset on her irresponsible life, and she does quite well…aside from an epically humiliating one-night stand in Cancun with a hot blond bouncer named Ben. Thank God she can get on a plane and leave that mistake behind her.

Football scholarship and frat parties with hot chicks? Part of charmer Ben Morris’s plan. Blown knee that kills any hope of a professional football career? So not part of the plan. Luckily Ben has brains to go with his knockout looks and magnetism. After three long years of balancing law school with his job as a bouncer at Penny’s Palace, he’s ready to lead a more mature life—until his first day of work, when he finds himself in the office of that crazy, hot chick he met in Cancun. The one he hasn’t stopped thinking about.

If Ben truly were a smart guy, he’d stay clear of Reese. She’s the boss’s stepdaughter and it’s been made very clear that office romances are grounds for dismissal. Plus, rumor has it she’s trouble. The only problem is, he likes trouble, especially when it’s so good-looking…

review

My thoughts…

I’m so sad this is the final book in this series. I just wanna sob and email KA Tucker to say “say it isn’t so.” This is one of my most favorite series ever. I have loved each and every book as well as all of the characters within the stories.

Ben was a secondary character in the previous books and I couldn’t wait to read his story. He’s the type of guy who’s pretty much a ladies man. I’m not saying he’s a player because he’s not. He just doesn’t do relationships. He’s a “just one night” type of guy. He’s also a jokester.And Reese. I really liked her. I felt a connection to her right away. She has been through a lot and has a mother from hell. Her dad left her in a diner when she was just a few years old. I felt bad for her and what she has endured in her young life. She too is also a jokester. So naturally the first meeting between her and Ben was hilarious to say the least. I laughed so hard. Their second meeting, some two months later was also hilarious and a little bit awkward.

I felt a wide range of emotions while reading this book. I laughed, almost cried (ok I sniffed), squeed, and laughed some more. One of my favorite things about this story was that Ben was very sweet at times. He referred to his mom as “mama.” I loved that about him. It made me love him even more.

Overall, I think Ms Tucker did a fantastic job writing this story. Sometimes later books in a series aren’t as good as the first couple. I hate to say that, but in my experience that is true sometimes. That’s not the case with Five Ways to Fall. I pretty much loved everything about it. The story flowed smoothly and kept my attention from beginning to end. And once I reached the end I was both happy and sad. Happy because I loved the ending. Sad because I’ve reached the end a great series.

If you haven’t started reading this series yet I highly recommend it.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour, Giveaway & Review: Four Seconds to Lose by K.A. TuckerFour Seconds to Lose by K.A. Tucker
Series: Ten Tiny Breaths #3
Published by Atria on November 4, 2013
Pages: 256
Format: eBook
Source: the Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

When a gorgeous young dancer walks through his door, a strip club owner must decide whether to follow his rules or his heart in the third novel by the author of One Tiny Lie and Ten Tiny Breaths.

Owning a strip club isn’t the fantasy most guys expect it to be. With long hours, a staff with enough issues to keep a psych ward in business, and the police regularly on his case, twenty-nine-year-old Cain is starting to second guess his unspoken mission to save the women he employs. And then blond, brown-eyed Charlie Rourke walks through his door, and things get really complicated. Cain abides by a strict “no sleeping with the staff” rule. But being around Charlie challenges Cain’s self-control…and it’s been a long time since any woman has done that.

Twenty-two-year-old Charlie Rourke needs a lot of money, really fast, in order to vanish before it’s too late. Taking her clothes off for men makes her stomach curl but Charlie tells herself that at least she’s putting her acting and dancing skills to good use. And though her fellow dancers seem eager to nab their sexy, sophisticated, and genuinely caring boss, she’s not interested. After all, Charlie Rourke doesn’t really exist—and the girl pretending to be her can't get distracted by romance.

Unfortunately, Charlie soon discovers that developing feelings for Cain is inevitable, and that those feelings may not be unrequited—but losing him when he finds out what she’s involved with will be more painful than any other sentence awaiting her.

My thoughts…

I have been patiently err not so patiently waiting for this one!!!! I love this series so much!!! The plot is really good. I kept turning page after page because I had to know what was going to happen next. I literally couldn’t put this book down.

Although Charlie is a new character to this series Cain is not. He’s been in previous books and I couldn’t wait for his story so I could learn more about him. Speaking of Cain, he is hot, loyal, a fighter, and incredibly sexy. *swoon* He’s also highly attracted to Charlie. Even though he doesn’t get involved with his employees, he just can’t seem to help himself where she is concerned.

Charlie. I really liked her. She’s sucked into the role of being a drug trafficker via her step-father. She wants out, but first she needs to make enough money to start over and buy herself a new identity. One where her step-father has no way of finding her.

Together the chemistry these two share is electric. The sexual scenes were really HOT! I was sort of surprised about this because things didn’t get that hot in the first two books. Having said that I can sort of understand why these were hotter though. Since Cain does indeed own a strip club the scenes had to be hot otherwise I believe the reader would have been disappointed. I think Ms Tucker did a great job writing them.

Overall, I loved Four Seconds to Lose. In the acknowledgements Ms Tucker talks about struggling with this story. Even if that is the case I can totally say that I think she nailed it. I’m so happy with the way this story turned out. There isn’t anything that I didn’t like about it.

Up next is Ben’s story. It will be the last book in the Ten Tiny Breaths series and I cannot wait for it!!! It’s going to be so good! I’ve really liked Ben in previous books. I can’t wait for him to meet his match!

 

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

Review: One Tiny Lie by K.A. TuckerOne Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker
Series: Ten Tiny Breaths #2
Published by Atria on June 11, 2013
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents' tragic death and Kacey's self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would...and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.

Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?

As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows.

My thoughts…

One Tiny Lie was a really quick read for me. I was able to read it within one day. It held my attention from the very beginning and didn’t let go.

Livie is off to college. Princeton exactly. She’s always dreamed of attending Princeton, her fathers alma mater, and becoming a doctor. I loved her in Ten Tiny Breaths. She’s the younger sister of Kacey Clearly. She’s 18 and a bit naive. She tends to play things safe. Choosing to stay on her chosen path and not really experience what life has to offer. Once at Princeton she meets Ashton.

Ashton. He’s the captain of the men’s rowing team. He’s gorgeous, sexy, and also a man whore. The night Livie meets him she experiences a lot of firsts. She gets drunk for the first time. She gets her first kiss. She gets…… Let’s just say things get very interesting.

Now back to Ashton. I really liked him. It’s apparent from the beginning that he and Livie have a strong attraction to each other, but Ashton has a set of problems that makes it impossible for him to give Livie what she deserves. *pout*

I liked the tension between these two. They sort of dance around each other throughout this story. I wanted them to become a couple so bad. They both have issues they’re dealing with, but I thought they would be good for each other.

Going into this one I knew what issues Livie had, but it’s not until later on into the story that Ashton’s issues come to light. My heart broke for him.

I liked the secondary characters for the most part. Some of them are from the first book, but others are new to the series.

Connor seemed nice enough, but there was just something about him that didn’t quite fit. It’s like his relationship with Livie just wasn’t developed enough for how the way things play out between the two of them.

Overall, I really enjoyed One Tiny Lie and how things ended up for Livie. After checking Goodreads it appears there will at least be two more books in this series. One will be Ben’s story and the other will be Cain’s. I can’t wait to read them!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. TuckerTen Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker
Series: Ten Tiny Breaths #1
on December 11, 2012
Pages: 262
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Kacey Cleary’s whole life imploded four years ago in a drunk-driving accident. Now she’s working hard to bury the pieces left behind—all but one. Her little sister, Livie. Kacey can swallow the constant disapproval from her born-again aunt Darla over her self-destructive lifestyle; she can stop herself from going kick-boxer crazy on Uncle Raymond when he loses the girls’ college funds at a blackjack table. She just needs to keep it together until Livie is no longer a minor, and then they can get the hell out of Grand Rapids, Michigan.

But when Uncle Raymond slides into bed next to Livie one night, Kacey decides it’s time to run. Armed with two bus tickets and dreams of living near the coast, Kacey and Livie start their new lives in a Miami apartment complex, complete with a grumpy landlord, a pervert upstairs, and a neighbor with a stage name perfectly matched to her chosen “profession.” But Kacey’s not worried. She can handle all of them. What she can’t handle is Trent Emerson in apartment 1D.

Kacey doesn’t want to feel. She doesn’t. It’s safer that way. For everyone. But sexy Trent finds a way into her numb heart, reigniting her ability to love again. She starts to believe that maybe she can leave the past where it belongs and start over. Maybe she’s not beyond repair.

But Kacey isn’t the only one who’s broken. Seemingly perfect Trent has an unforgiveable past of his own; one that, when discovered, will shatter Kacey’s newly constructed life and send her back into suffocating darkness.

My thoughts…

Amazing. Brilliant. Emotional. Heart Wrenching. Shocking. Astonishing. Awe-Inspiring. Spectacular. Epic.

Ten Tiny Breaths is the first story by Author K.A. Tucker that I’ve read. This story was amazing! It’s easily the best book I’ve read so far this year. Yes, I loved it that much!

I loved the main and secondary characters.

Kacey & Livie lost their parents in a automobile 4 years ago. Livie was sick at the time of the accident, but Kacey was in the car accident that killed her mother, her father, he best friend, and her boyfriend. She was nearly killed herself. She’s haunted by that night. She suffers a severe case of PTSD. She has nightmares nightly, but she refuses to get treatment. Instead she likes to work out her problems on a punching bag at the gym. After her uncle tries to slip into her sister Livies bed one night, she decides that it’s time for them to leave and start their life over in a new place.

I really admired Kacey’s strength. Even though she has a lot of issues, her main priority was to insure that Livie has a stable life. That Livie stays on track working towards her dream of going to Princeton and becoming a doctor one day. Kacey could’ve taken the easy way out and left Livie, but she didn’t and that’s why I admired her so much.

Storm & Mia stole my heart from the beginning. They are what you could say “Good people.” I really liked them both.

Trent. *sigh* He’s amazing. Like ah-maz-zing (sorry spelling wrong, but you get my point :D)
I really, really liked him from the get go. I think he was good for Kacey in so many ways, but he had issues of his own.

There is a big shocker within this one. Well, it was big for me. I never saw it coming and I was completely blown away. It’s this shocker that took me by surprise that made Ten Tiny Breaths easily the best book I’ve read so far in 2013.

If you’re a fan of the new adult romance genre I highly suggest reading Ten Tiny Breaths. It truly is an amazing read. Up next is One Tiny Lie. It’s Livie story.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.