by Victoria Scott
Published by Scholastic, Scholastic Press Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About the Book:

Title: HEAR THE WOLVES

Author: Victoria Scott

Pub. Date: March 28, 2017

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Pages: 240

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoodreads

 

It’s survival of the strongest in a contemporary, girl-versus-wild middle-grade début from Fire & Flood author Victoria Scott!

Sloan is a hunter.

So she shouldn’t be afraid of anything. But ever since her mom left the family and she lost hearing in one ear in a blizzard, it’s been hard to talk to people, and near-impossible to go anywhere or do anything without her dad or big sister within eyesight — it makes her too scared to be on her own.

When they leave her home alone for what should only be two nights, she’s already panicked. Then the snow starts falling and doesn’t stop. One of her neighbors is hurt in an accident. And the few people still left in Rusic need to make it to the river and the boat that’s tied there — their only way to get to a doctor from their isolated Alaska town.

But the woods are icy cold, and the wolves are hungry. Sloan and her group are running out of food, out of energy, and out of time. That’s when the wolves start hunting them . . .

Who else needs a poster of this AWESOME book art!?!

Dear Readers,

Be ready to tear through this book like a wolf through its prey. Victoria’s middle-grade début novel will snatch your imagination by the throat and shake it to its core. A fast-paced and attention-grabbing read, Hear the Wolves howls with tension, drama, fright, and courage.

I could not put this book down.

The ending of each chapter left me with so much anticipation, that I devoured the book in one sitting. I admit that I had reservations going into Hear the Wolves. First, I was not sure if a middle-grade novel would hold my attention. Secondly, as a diehard animal lover, I did not know if I would make it through much less enjoy a novel with a protagonist who was a hunter; but this is where an author’s skills shine through. Victoria’s deft handling of the realities of rural Alaskan life worked like magic, subduing my reservations. The complex characters and suspenseful plot absorbed my attention and propelled me through the story.

I loved the diversity of the setting and the flawed characters. Victoria explores the world of the Alaskan wilderness through the eyes of Sloan, the female protagonist, and her fellow townsfolk. Sloan is the kind of female MC that we need in fiction today. She is flawed and perfect because of it.  Intelligent, sensitive, and courageous, Sloan’s character ARC provides a powerful narrative for girls and boys alike: Your past does not define you. Your agency and courage in the face of adversity does. YOU ARE POWERFUL.

A unique and adrenaline-spiking story, Hear the Wolves also teaches a valuable lesson about the effects that human actions have on nature and wildlife. This is a MUST read for tweens, teens, and adults. Keep scrolling, and ENTER TO WIN a FINISHED COPY of this gorgeous book! US ONLY.

About Victoria:

Victoria Scott is the author of eight novels including Titans, Fire & Flood, Salt & Stone, the Dante Walker trilogy, Hear the Wolves (March 2017), and Violet Grenade (May 2017). She is published by Scholastic and Entangled Teen, and is represented by Sara Crowe of Pippin Properties.

Victoria’s latest novel, Titans, received two starred reviews, and Fire & Flood has been selected as a 2017 Spirit of Texas Reading Program book. Victoria’s novels have been bought and translated in fourteen foreign markets. The author currently resides in Philadelphia, and loves hearing from her readers.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of HEAR THE WOLVES, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 Tour Schedule:

Week One

3/20/2017- YA Books Central Interview

3/21/2017- Just Commonly– Review

3/22/2017- Falling For YA– Guest Post

3/23/2017- MEREADALOT– Review

3/24/2017- BookHounds YA– Interview

Week Two

3/27/2017- A Backwards Story– Review

3/28/2017- A Gingerly Review– Excerpt

3/29/2017- Book Briefs– Review

3/30/2017- Mundie Moms– Interview

3/31/2017- Library of a Book Witch– Review

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

Blog Tour: Salt & Stone (Fire & Flood #2) by Victoria Scott + GIVEAWAY!!!Salt and Stone by Victoria Scott
Series: Fire and Flood #2
Published by Scholastic on February 24, 2015
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In Fire & Flood, Tella Holloway faced a dangerous trek through the jungle and across the desert, all to remain a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed for a chance at obtaining the Cure for her brother. She can't quit--she has to win the race, save Cody, and then fight to make sure the race stops before it can claim any more lives. In the next legs of the race, across the ocean and over mountains, Tella will face frostbite, sharks, avalanche, and twisted new rules in the race.

But what if the danger is deeper than that? How do you know who to trust when everyone's keeping secrets? What do you do when the person you'd relied on most suddenly isn't there for support? How do you weigh one life against another?

The race is coming to an end, and Tella is running out of time, resources, and strength. At the start of the race there were one hundred twenty-two Contenders. As Tella and her remaining friends start the final part of the race, just forty-one are left--and only one can win.

saltandstone

You know that sequel you’ve been looking for that’s as good or even better than the first book? That seemingly elusive bad-ass second in a series that doesn’t disappoint? Well it’s finally here. 

I’m so honored to be on the Release Day blog tour stop for Victoria Scott’s sock-rocking Salt and Stone, the amazing second book in the Fire and Flood series.

You can check out my review for the first book in the series, Fire and Flood here.

I wanted to start a garage band in honor of Fire and Flood after the first book. Now I want a Salt and Stone tattoo to rock on my bicep.  The continuation of Tella’s story floored me on so many levels, and flooded my adrenal glands on multiple occasions.

My Tella.
My Tella.

Tella is better and braver than ever in Salt and Stone, and she doesn’t wuss out when she’s faced with some of the hardest decisions yet in this sequel. Victoria Scott is seriously awesome because she wrote a main character that I adored, yet still wanted to b-slap every other chapter. Talk about being real and keeping things interesting. It takes some balls and awesome characterization skills to make me feel so intensely about a character. Tella has grown up since she started the Brimstone Bleed, and her thoughts about her role in the race, her relationship with her teammates, and her relationship with Guy create a conflicting masterpiece of warring emotions and changing perceptions in Salt and Stone that gave this book the depth of an ocean.

My Guy. Ha!
My Guy. Ha!

Guy is HOTTER than ever, and we slowly see more pieces of his Sex-God-Armour peel away to reveal the altruistic and protective qualities that he quietly lets direct his motives. It was really interesting and seriously sexy seeing Guy and Tella navigate each other in a new, almost competitive way in Salt and Stone while they tried to adjust their ideas of one another in order to create a stronger team. All I have to say is, Salt and Stone can NOT be the end of this story. I will demand more. Everyone who reads this book will demand more. And the Scholastic Book Gods WILL give us more.

And of course I can’t leave out my fave little Pandora fox, Maddox. He’s so brave and feisty in Salt and Stone. He’s like a furbie Guy Chambers. And some of the scenes in which he has to prove himself brought tears to my eyes. I would definitely get a tattoo of Mads on my foot or bum. Just sayin’.

My Maddox.
My Maddox.

 

The action packed, often brutal plot was mystery and thriller combined and kept a match lit under this story. And the romance between Guy and Tella shined, making this book a multi-faceted masterpiece.

Salt and Stone is the stuff that dreams are made of. A pulse pounding, blood boiling, soul searing adventure that will grab readers by the throat and throttle them until the last page. Victoria creates some compelling questions here: How far would you go to survive? And what would you sacrifice to protect the ones you love? The characters in Salt and Stone are beautiful and raw, painting a very real picture of what human tragedy, fierce love, and human sacrifice can do to us all.

Keep on scrolling to ENTER TO WIN the BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY. As always, thanks for stopping by! PEACE.

Please check out the other super cool stops on this blog tour:

Week Two:

2/23/2015- Stuck in Books-Review

2/24/2015- MEREADALOT– Review

2/25/2015- Reading YA Rocks– Interview

2/26/2015- Curling Up With A Good Book– Review

2/27/2015- Mundie Moms– Review

BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Grab yo’ keys, and grab yo’ wallet, and GO BUY A COPY OF SALT & STONE! Your book lovin’ brain will thank you for it.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

The Warrior (Dante Walker #3) by Victoria Scott: Review+GIVEAWAY!!!The Warrior by Victoria Scott
Series: Dante Walker #3
Published by Entangled Teen on May 6, 2014
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

War between heaven and hell is coming, but Dante Walker makes it look damn good.

Dante’s girlfriend, Charlie, is fated to save the world. And Aspen, the girl who feels like a sister, is an ordained soldier. In order to help both fulfill their destiny and win the war, Dante must complete liberator training at the Hive, rescue Aspen from hell, and uncover a message hidden on an ancient scroll.

Dante is built for battle, but even he can’t handle the nightmares where spiders crawl from Aspen’s eyes, or the look on Charlie’s face that foretells of devastation. To make matters worse, the enemy seizes every opportunity to break inside the Hive and cripple the liberators. But the day of reckoning is fast approaching, and to stand victorious, Dante will have to embrace something inside himself he never has before—faith.

I don’t mind first endings, second endings or sad endings. But I do mind farewell endings.

There’s no one who hates the ”farewell” ending of a series more than I do.

Now, I can’t technically prove that last statement.

But I CAN prove how much I loved the Dante Walker trilogy and how much Victoria Scott’s debut series meant to me.

How can I prove this you ask? With glowing praise and reverent reviews and five-star ratings?

YES. To ALL of those things….. PLUS a pound of ass-fat.

 

It was July of 2014 and I was dragging myself through a Ripped in 30 Jillian Michael’s workout with the goal of losing some flab.  Physical exertion in the middle of a Texas summer is its own special kind of hell and all I could think about was turning off the dvd, plopping on to my cool faux-leather couch and giving into the awesome book waiting for me to finish it on my side-table.

The Warrior was calling to me. I had put off reading it long enough because I couldn’t handle the thought of my journey with Dante Walker ending and just as I was about to press the stop button on my workout, a thought popped into my head: What Would Dante Do?

Dante would get his ass to work and sweat until his balls chafed to maintain his enviable physique,  that’s what he would do! And then I thought: just like Dante’s built for battle in The Warrior, I’m built for this temporary workout hell.

I am arms for push-ups, I am legs for squat thrusts and I am abs for planks!

 

So, yeah. That’s just ONE of the ways Dante Walker changed my life. He made me drop a pant size.

This past summer, every time I felt like giving up during a workout I just asked myself: WWDD?  Or imagined him waiting to greet me at the end of my fat fry session in all of his sinfully sexy glory.

I feel a little silly sharing this story with you but Dante loves taking the credit for my firmer bum and I can’t deny him anything.

I have a crush on Victoria Scott like I have a crush on Shakespeare. The Warrior was the perfect ending to the Dante Walker series and just as potent and clever as a Shakespearean sonnet. Each scene in The Warrior had a captivating feel that would push, push, push and then pull back in the most perfect and sentimental moments between Dante and Charlie.

Charlie continues stepping backward and I continue pursuing her. Finally, I can’t take it any longer. I reach out and snatch her and make her mine. She’s my moon, and I’ve plucked her from the sky.

[…]

Her smile falls away. She turns her head to the sea. “It doesn’t seem so scary anymore.”

“What doesn’t?” I ask.

“Dying.”

The inner workings of Dante’s mind were both heartbreaking and empowering with each personal demon he fought. Victoria wrapped the soul of a poet into this egotistical bad boy and managed to shine a light through his spiritual imperfections, reforming him without losing any of the diabolical charm that won my heart in The Collector.

The battle scenes were EPIC, the subject matter was dark and the humor was perfection. The Warrior was the best farewell ending to the Dante Walker series that I could have asked for.

If you haven’t had a chance to read The Warrior yet, then enter for a chance to win a signed paperback copy below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

Fire & Flood: Victoria Scott Reviews Her Own Book!Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott
Series: Fire and Flood #1
Published by Scholastic on February 25, 2014
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother's life—and her own.

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

 

 

 

 

Sometimes authors CANNOT RESIST picking up a copy of their own book at their local bookstore. Yep. They wrote the darn book but they want to experience it again with fresh eyes, and pretend they are reading it for the first time. This psychological phenomenon leads these same authors to want to review their own books as well. The following is what happens when they do:

In Which Victoria Scott Reviews Her Own Book, Fire & Flood

What is this, FIRE & FLOOD? Okay, I’ll take a crack. Nice cover. Actually, I love that cover.

*opens book and begins reading*

So I’m to believe this teen girl is going to enter a dangerous race to save her brother? Her brother?

Siblings must have different relationships now than they did in my day, because when

I was growing up I wouldn’t have rolled over to save my sibling. There. I said it.

*keeps reading*

The Pandoras are cool. I’m down.

*keeps reading*

I’m sorry, am I reading this right? Leeches? Effing leeches? What a cheap trick to try and

entertain readers. Lame. Wait, who’s the new guy? Titus? He seems like a good chap.

*keep reading*

Titus is not a good chap.

*keep reading*

Titus is going to kill everyone.

*keeps reading*

Nope, I guess he’s not.

*closes book*

Well, let’s see. We’ve got a character with an unbelievable motivation, a guy way too hot to

like a chick with a self-imposed hack-job of a haircut, and world building that I don’t buy for a

second. I mean, genetically-engineered animals? Nice explanation. I give this book zero stars.

*looks at cover again*

Then again, I do like that cover. Five stars!

You can check out my review of Fire & Flood here, Erin’s review here, and a short Q&A about Victoria’s thoughts on ARCs here.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

Book Review: Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott + ARC giveaway!Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott
Series: Fire & Flood #1
Published by Scholastic on February 25, 2014
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother's life—and her own.

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

‘If you’re hearing this message, you are invited to be a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. All Contenders must report within forty-eight hours to select their Pandora companions. If you do not appear within forty-eight hours, your invitations will be eliminated.
The Brimstone Bleed will last three months and will take place across four ecosystems: desert, sea, mountains, jungle. The winning prize will be the Cure—a remedy for any illness, for any single person.
There will only be one champion.”

Erin’s Review

If you were given the chance to save a loved one from dying, would you do it? Even if you had to enter a contest where YOUR chances of survival might not be great? Imagine entering the Hunger Games..only you have to endure more than one type of terrain…. and you have a time limit to get to your destination. The Brimstone Bleed is like Hunger Games meets The Amazing Race. Only instead of a friend or a loved one as a partner, you have a PANDORA as a partner.

The Brimstone Bleed: A 3 Month long competition that goes across 4 different ecosystems. One winner will receive THE CURE.

Pandora: A genetically engineered animal. Each Pandora has special capabilities that will help their human companion make his or her way through the Brimstone Bleed. In order for a contestant to receive a Pandora the contestant must attend the Pandora Selection before the start of the Brimstone Bleed and choose their pandora.

This book is thrilling and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Tella gets invited to join the Brimstone Bleed…and she enters against her parents wishes to keep her out of it. You see, Tella’s brother has come down with a  disease that no one can diagnose and it looks like he won’t make it much longer.  The creators of the Brimstone Bleed have the cure and the winner of the competition will receive the cure for their sick loved one. Tella loves her brother, and just like anyone who is willing to do what they can to save their family, she is willing to sacrifice herself and enter an insane contest where the prize is a guaranteed cure to her brother’s illness.

Tella gets the very last Pandora..Unlike other contestants who just refer to their Pandoras by what must be their serial number of sorts, Tella actually NAMES her Pandora.  She does this before it even hatches. She forms a connection with her pandora, Madox(yes, that’s his name!), and treats him like a pet and not a weapon, where as the other contestants in the brimstone bleed only use them as a weapon. I think this works in Tella’s favor, because as most of you know…Pets are LOYAL to their  owners. If you feed and love your pet, it will love you back and stick to your side. LOYALTY is one thing you definitely NEED from your Pandora as you make your way through the Brimstone Bleed.  Your Pandora IS YOUR COMPANION so love it as you would any other companion you have in life. Do that, and it will always have your back.  The other contestants don’t seem to realize this and in the end.. well.. you’ll just have to read FIRE & FLOOD and see for yourself.

Tella Holloway is one of those characters that starts off by annoying the crap out of you, but she’s a teenage girl..that’s to be expected. Once she enters the Brimstone Bleed, that all starts to change. Her character has a purpose and she’s determined to save her brother and soon she grows on you and then you’re rooting for her.

Regina did a cast of F&F in her review and I don’t know the name of the person she casted as Tella, but when I read Fire & Flood that’s not who I pictured as Tella. For some reason, Anne Hathaway circa The Princess Diaries (before the makeover) is what popped in to my head when Tella was describing her hair. So Anne’s face stuck with me the entire book.. Even after she cuts all of her hair off…

 

anne-shorthairanne-longhair

 

 

 

Guy Chambers….Is one of the first people to HELP Tella out..and then after that..He’s in competition mode, focused on his mission and is kind of a douche. Eventually Guy and Tella become allies..He’s very closed off and determined to WIN this competiton, though it seems as though maybe he knows more about what’s going on then he’s telling people.. Eventually he starts to open up to Tella and we learn some interesting things…
Oh and he’s HOT. HOT HOT HOT HOT. There’s totally some romantic feels happening between Tella and Guy and I can’t wait to see what happens between them in the future!!

I would cast Guy, but I just can’t find anyone that I feel is a good Guy Chambers. BOO! So we’ll go with Victoria Scott’s vision of Guy..Who, now that I’m looking at him again…WORKS OUT JUST FINE. 😉 HAAAAAY GUY!!

guy

 

Madox is the most badass Pandora you’ll ever meet. What he can do is AMAZING and I think that Tella has a really good chance of winning this race if she makes it all the way through with Madox at her side. Thanks to Regina’s early Review of Fire & Flood that she posted before I got my chance to read the book…I pictured Madox as this little dude that Regina casted for him:

 

For the first couple of days Tella tries to make it through the Brimstone Bleed on her own.  Eventually she meets up with a gaggle of characters  and soon alliances are formed. These characters are all unique and bring twists to the story line that you DO NOT see coming.

While I am pretty sure this book is NOT  of the Dystopian genre, I think that fans of Dystopian will still enjoy this book. Once this book got really going it kept you on the edge of your seat and now I cannot WAIT to read the next book. I have to see where Victoria will take us on the next leg of the Brimstone Bleed. 

Giveaway

 I am giving away my Fire & Flood ARC to one of our lucky followers! Winner must be located in the US (sorry to our international fans!) Please enter via the Rafflecopter below!

photo (2)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

The Liberator by Victoria Scott: Review+Giveaway!!!

The Liberator by Victoria Scott: Review+Giveaway!!!The Liberator by Victoria Scott
Series: Dante Walker #2
Published by Entangled Teen on August 27, 2013
Pages: 331
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Dante has a shiny new cuff wrapped around his ankle, and he doesn't like that mess one bit. His new accessory comes straight from Big Guy himself and marks the former demon as a liberator. Despite his gritty past and bad boy ways, Dante Walker has been granted a second chance. When Dante is given his first mission as a liberator to save the soul of seventeen-year-old Aspen, he knows he’s got this. But Aspen reminds him of the rebellious life he used to live and is making it difficult to resist sinful temptations. Though Dante is committed to living clean for his girlfriend Charlie, this dude’s been a playboy for far too long…and old demons die hard. With Charlie becoming the girl she was never able to be pre-makeover and Aspen showing him how delicious it feels to embrace his inner beast, Dante will have to go somewhere he never thought he’d return to in order to accomplish the impossible: save the girl he’s been assigned to, and keep the girl he loves.

Dante Walker. Soul Collector turned Soul Protector. When does the video game come out!?

I’ve always been a sucker for the bad boys. When Dante Walker abdicated his Collector Cuff to save Charlie Cooper’s life at the end of The Collector, a little part of my demon-loving heart died. In The Liberator, Dante’s swingin’ for the other team. Big Guy’s team (a.k.a. Lord of the Heavens), and he’s officially turned his back on Lucille (a.k.a Lucifer). I had mixed emotions about this. I was skeptical about The Liberator, and didn’t know if Victoria could live up to her former glory from The Collector. I mean, Dante as a good guy? Really???

Yes.
Really.

“Is this just a Young Adult novel?!” I thought to myself. Victoria Scott’s The Liberator is genius and even BETTER than The Collector. Dante Walker raises some holy hell in The Liberator, and he’s hotter than ever. Who knew being good could be so bad-ass?

 [sc_embed_player fileurl=”http://mereadalot.com/muzak/SAL.mp3″] <- Click  the play button for this review’s 1st theme song.
(Turning Page by Sleeping At Last)

The first half of The Liberator reads like the calm before the storm. Dante is no longer Satan’s right-hand man, and all he can do is bid his time until more Collectors are sent to finish what he started with Charlie. Charlie’s love has turned a page in Dante’s life. He surrendered who he was for Charlie. Charlie sees what’s good in Dante, and for the first time he’s ready to leave behind his demon-chic life. But now Dante’s having a post-demon life crisis. He’s consuming alcohol and cigarettes like his warring emotions are consuming him. He doesn’t know how to be anything other than what he’s been; living for himself and doing bitch-work for Lucille. Dante’s love for Charlie is the only clear and constant thing in his life and he wants to be better for her, but he feels trapped by what he can’t define; himself. Dante is riding a downward spiral. This lost sense of self and identity might ruin Dante’s chances to stay a Liberator, so Big Guy sends Dante on a mission. Colorado is about to get a lot hotter. Dante Walker is coming to town.

Dante has to leave Charlie back at home for this assignment in Colorado. There’s this chick named Aspen sporting a black soul that needs some saving, and Dante is having a hell of a time resisting his bad boy ways and gaining Aspen’s trust. Despite everything inside of him screaming to party hard and join Aspen in her sinful ways, there’s something about her that won’t let him give up. If he doesn’t liberate Aspen’s soul, he won’t just fail Big Guy, he’ll fail Charlie as well. Aspen has her suspicions about Dante, but she’s lived a hard knock life and she can handle trouble like Bruce Lee handles nunchucks.

Bruce Lee's spirit lives on in Aspen.
Bruce Lee’s spirit lives on in Aspen.

 [sc_embed_player fileurl=”http://mereadalot.com/muzak/devil.mp3″] <-Click the play button for this review’s 2nd theme song.
(The Devil Takes Care of His Own by Band of Skulls)

This is who I imagine  Red to look like.
This is who I imagine Red to look like.

 

The tide turns for Lucille and the gang, and a new breed of soulless wash up on shore. Victoria introduces The Sirens in this second book, and they are more diabolical than The Collectors. They’ve snuck their way into Charlie’s life while Dante’s been gone, and they’ve been playing her. A secret is revealed, and Dante realizes he and the gang no longer have the upper hand with Charlie’s soul. Vallery (a.ka. Red) and Max (a.k.a. Dante’s best friend and a Collector) have been holding out on him. There’s an important piece of information that everyone knew except D-Dub, and when he finds out; Hell freezes over. Dante, Charlie and the gang find themselves in a nest of trouble and a certain legendary Liberator named Kraven might be the only one that can help them. The Devil takes care of his own and Dante’s Black Amex has been revoked. The Collectors and The Sirens are after Charlie with a vengeance and they will stop at nothing to drag her to hell.

 

This is kinda how I imagine Kraven to look like. #BenditlikeBeckham
This is kinda how I imagine Kraven to look like. #BenditlikeBeckham

 

#DavidBeckham #SexyKraven
#DavidBeckham #SexyKraven

 

Dante and Aspen take a pilgrimage in The Liberator, but only one of them returns. We learn something at the end of this book that completely changes the game. It’s genius, and monumental, and ohhhh such a good plot twist. Victoria gave me more than I could have ever hoped for in a sequel to The Collector. The love that builds and burns between Charlie and Dante in The Liberator is the stuff dreams are made of, and no panties are safe from (#pantyinferno). I don’t think I’ve ever read love being experienced so perfectly before. Charlie and Dante’s love is as shiny and pure as the gold-edged pages of a bible.

The Liberator was powerful. Like Moses parting the Red Sea powerful. Victoria has taken this rogue character of Dante, and shined a light through his imperfections. Dante has been transformed by the power of love, and love covers a multitude of sins. One of my favorite scenes in this book is between Dante and Charlie’s grandma. It charged me with such overwhelming feels. That scene could have blown up a city block with it’s emotional impact. It was easy for me to imagine how it felt when a sin seal left Dante’s chest in the The Collector to mark someone’s soul, but you will KNOW what it feels like to have a seal leave your chest to save someone’s soul in this book. Victoria might have mastered the alchemy of story telling.

The Liberator was more than a pulse-pounding, action packed, epic love story; it ministered to me in a way that even Jesus would be jealous of. It reminded me that under the baggage of years of hurt, guilt, anger, and misdeeds some of us carry; there’s still good in all of us, and no one is past the point of redemption. Dante let his demons go in The Liberator, and I think I set a few of mine free as well.

Victoria has a gift for charging the energy of words to their fullest meaning, and crafting a story that is significant beyond just what’s written on the page. This is a Young Adult novel. This is a book worth remembering. This is The Liberator, and it just might change your life.
I’m still looking for the perfect Dante, Charlie, Blue, Annabelle, and Aspen to cast. If I’m lucky, maybe I will have them in time to include with my review of The Warrior, the third and final book in the Dante Walker trilogy due out this May. Don’t forget to add Victoria’s soon to be released novel, Fire & Flood to your reading list!

 

If you want to start the New Year off with a POW!, read Dante Walker #1 & #2 by Victoria Scott. Enter below to win a signed copy of The Collector and The Liberator.
POW!

POW!

“Looking mighty fine, if I do say so myself: red v-neck, dark denim, designer combat boots, and enough testosterone rolling off me to satisfy Nicki Minaj. Pow!” – Dante Walker, The Liberator

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

ARC Review of Fire & Flood by Victoria ScottFire & Flood by Victoria Scott
Series: Fire & Flood #1
Published by Scholastic on February 25, 2014
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

This isn’t the Susan B. Komen Race for the Cure. This is the Brimstone Bleed.

 

I want to start a garage band just so I can name it after this book. I”m still debating on whether to name my new baby kitty Pandora, Tella, or Guy. I want a shirt that says, ” I skied the Brimstone Bleed. When Hell freezes over, I’ll ski that too!” There is just so much YES in this book, I can hardly begin to reign in all the coolness of it for a review.

Possible Tella pre-Brimstone Bleed?
Possible Tella pre-Brimstone Bleed?

 

Tella and her family have been taking things easy since her older brother Cody came down with a terminal illness. Her family has tucked itself away in the wilderness of Montana, and despite Tella’s concern for her brother, she’s going stir-crazy. “If you’re hearing this message, you are invited to be a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed.” This is where the match is struck in Fire & Flood. Tella receives a mysterious message, and she knows she can’t share it with her family. She has to follow these instructions, and taker her chances. On her own. Her brother’s life depends on it.

Possible Tella, post-Brimstone Bleed?
Possible Tella, post-Brimstone Bleed?

 

Victoria Scott surprised me at every turn in this novel. In this first book of the series, we travel with Tella through two ecosystems. The jungle and the desert. The story Victoria has dreamt up about Pandora’s and their creation is truly EPIC. They are ninja-hybrid, Pokemon-type creatures that will win your heart, and defend you til the death. Tella’s pandora is named Maddox, and he is arguably one of the coolest characters in the book.  He was created for one purpose: to keep Tella alive as they make their way through the ecosystems, racing to win “the cure”.

Hey, Mads. What's up?
Hey, Mads. What’s up?

 

I loved Tella’s character. She was so real. She isn’t very different from you or me. Tella’s your average girl who delights in the every day things that teenage girls do. The trials and decisions she is faced with are relatable on the most basic levels. What would you do to save someone you love? What would you do to survive? Victoria found a way to take Tella’s character and this epic, fantastical adventure, and make it relevant to my emotions and today’s society.

Victoria's casting choice for Guy.
Victoria’s casting choice for Guy.

 

Guy Chambers, who famously looks like a ”serial killer”, is one bad-ass dude. The moment he was introduced in Fire & Flood, my heart fluttered. There’s more to Guy than meets the eye. His character is like raw power rippling under the surface. His quite and stone-wall demeanor create a mystery and magnetism that Tella can’t ignore.

“Why do you ask so many questions?”

“Because I’m curious,” I say.

“About everything, apparently.”

“No, just about you.” Though I feel relaxed and carefree, this last admission feels like one I may later regret. My eyes find his, but he’s not looking at my eyes. He’s looking at my mouth.

I know it’s no secret that Tella and Guy become close in Fire & Flood. I don’t feel like I’m giving too much away by stating that. But, gah….You don’t even know until you read the book. What develops between Tella and Guy is so solid, and real, and right. Victoria handled the development of trust and romantic feelings between them beautifully.

As trials and tribulations unfold during the Brimstone Bleed, Tella discovers information that quite possibly changes everything she has known about her life. Are her parents who she thinks they are? Was she destined for this race? Did Cody’s illness play into a bigger picture of corruption and revenge? Threads of secrets and details that are foreign to Tella begin to piece together layers of a story that goes back farther than she imagined. Fire & Flood pulled on my heart strings, and buzzed my emotions. I am scared as eff of jungles, and Victoria managed to strap me in for the entire ride. I’m reluctant to read stories that might have bugs (no joke, this book gave me nightmares), or snakes, or tropical climates involved, but I  was too absorbed in the hypnotic pull of the story to think about it. You will forget yourself with this book. You will become Tella and remember what it’s like to love someone. To lose someone. To be desperate, hurt, brave, and afraid. You will laugh, and you will cry. You will finish reading this book, and be surprised when you look up from the last page and realize you’re still sitting in your room. Victoria took me on an emotional and heart-pounding journey in Fire & Flood. She even managed to make me feel a little more grateful to be alive.

I want to share the awesome experience that was Fire & Flood with you, so ENTER TO WIN one pre-order of the hardcover edition of this book below, and it will be shipped to you on release day. And make sure to check out the awesome Fire & Flood website!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

P.S. There is one truly CREEPTASTIC, perfect scene and secret in this book that will give you chills. I can’t wait for you to read it. 🙂

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

The Collector (Dante Walker #1) by @VictoriaScottYA Review and GiveawayThe Collector (Dante Walker #1) by Victoria Scott
Series: Dante Walker #1
Published by Entangled on April 2,2013
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

He makes good girls...bad. 

Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence have made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple: weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal-opportunity collector and doesn't want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within ten days.

Dante doesn't know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect, he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector…and uncover emotions deeply buried.

 The Antidote by St. Vincent

Dante gets ready to this song. 🙂

Contrary to popular belief, Dante Walker is a little piece of Heaven on Earth.
 
 Hey, guys. My name’s Regina. A while back I read this book called The Collector. One of my homegirls said I would like it, so I gave it a shot. 
Dante flippin’ Walker. I really didn’t want to like this guy. I heard he gave Daemon Black from the Lux series a run for his money, and I wasn’t about to give this book the time of day. I’m protective over my closet boyfriends (YA crushes), so I took a peek at The Collector synopsis to see if this Dante character was a threat. I was ready to put to bed the buzz I had been hearing about this guy, and I went into this story ready to defend Daemon as reigning king of YA heart-throbs.
[*Crickets*]
Love (ahem) is a very fickle thing.
The name Dante used to materialize images in my mind of marble Italian sculptures, classical literature, and pointy green trees. The lyrical and poetic prose of Dante Alighieri’s famously grotesque Inferno would burn brightly through my thoughts with unpleasant after effects. Things are different now. Since I submitted myself to The Collector, fitted black t-shirts and red Chuck Taylor’s dance through my head like sugar skulls at the name Dante, and I’m ready to wax poetic about this diabolical hunk. The name Dante never sounded so good.
When I think about Victoria Scott’s The Collector, the song from Breaking Dawn part 2 where Bella is arm wrestling Emmett and breaks the boulder plays through my head as I picture Dante’s studly figure standing in front of a hotel room sink, running a comb through his ink black hair as he prepares to go out and turn females into sweating hormones and seal some souls. Dante is an otherworldly hunk that roams around Earth collecting souls for the boss man himself (aka Satan). Dante’s arrogant attitude fits him like a pair of freshly dried dark jeans, and he knows his good looks didn’t die when he did. With only a handful of Collectors at Satan’s disposal, Dante is the head honcho. The best of his kind and the boss man has given him a special assignment: COLLECT CHARLIE COOPER’S SOUL.
In The Collector our bad boy Dante’s skills are seriously put to the test with this Charlie chic. She’s the antithesis of Dante and looks like the cover model to Home School Weekly. She’s the Violet to our Screech. How is Dante going to work his wily ways on a girl that’s more interested in feeding stray raccoons and organizing community service events than partying? Charlie’s soul is bright white and proves to be a challenge to corrupt.
Did I LOVE this book? HELL YES. I love the way Victoria makes everyone so familiar. Charlie and her friends are people I could have eaten lunch with in high school, and Dante’s that stud who passed out flyers in between classes to come see his band play at the local venue. The pacing of the story is swift and stylishly written. The chemistry Victoria creates between Charlie and Dante is sweet and forbidden. Every stepping stone of their relationship is played out in the most satisfying way. There’s nothing I love more in a book than when love and attraction sneak up on someone. Mr. Popularity falls for the dork. The jock falls for the choir chic. Charlie’s character is the best kind of dorky/endearing, and Dante’s bravado and swagger make him more hot than not. The other character’s that play an integral role in this novel were memorable and creative. Oh, and the plot is pretty cool, too. This book was so much fun to read and left me in withdrawal mode when it ended. Dare I say this novel is generation defining? I do. It’s the Never Been Kissed and She’s All That to this decade, but waaaay cooler. (If you’re too young to remember those movies, I highly recommend them.) This book is definitely reread material, and if you haven’t read The Collector yet, here’s your chance. The Liberator (Dante Walker #2) is coming out in August, and to celebrate we are giving away 2 e-book copies of Dante Walker #1.

Enter below to win a 1 of 2 copies of Victoria Scott’s THE COLLECTOR in ebook format (Kindle or Nook)between 6/19/13 – 6/26/13 (up until 11:59pm est)

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.