Cover Reveal: Chasing River by K.A. TuckerChasing River by K.A. Tucker
Series: Burying Water #3
Published by Atria on July 7, 2015
Format: eBook
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon

Armed with two years' worth of savings and the need to experience life outside the bubble of her Oregon small town, twenty-five-year old Amber Welles is prepared for anything. Except dying in Dublin. Had it not been for the bravery of a stranger, she might have. But he takes off before she has the chance to offer her gratitude.

Twenty-four-year-old River Delaney is rattled. No one was supposed to get hurt. But then that American tourist showed up. He couldn't let her die, but he also couldn't risk being identified at the scene—so, he ran. Back to his everyday life of running his family’s pub. Only, everyday life is getting more and more complicated, thanks to his brother, Aengus, and his criminal associations. When the American girl tracks River down, he quickly realizes how much he likes her, how wrong she is for him. And how dangerous it is to have her around. Chasing her off would be the smart move.

Maybe it's because he saved her life, or maybe it's because he's completely different from everything she's left behind, but Amber finds herself chasing after River Delaney. Amber isn’t the kind of girl to chase after anyone.

And River isn't the kind of guy she'd want to catch.

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

Reviews: Confess by Colleen HooverConfess by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria, Atria Books on March 10, 2015
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

First of all I just want to say that Colleen Hoover is one of my favorite authors. She’s an automatic auto buy for me. To say I love her books would be an understatement. I love everything about her books. Her writing style. Her characters. Her ability to grab the readers attention from the very first page and hold it until the very end of the book.

Owen Mason Gentry aka O.M.G. is an amazing hero. I fell hard for him from the very first meeting between him and Auburn. I loved his sense of humor. Auburn did right away too. These two connected right away. Their playful banter had me laughing a lot. The chemistry between them was so strong. If ever two characters were meant for each other it’s these two.

The flow of this story was wonderfully paced. It kept building and building. I had a hard time putting it down. All I wanted to do was read it uninterrupted. I love books that are like this one. Books that capture my attention and hold it until the very last page. Books that have unique plots. I can tell you that this is typical for Ms Hoover’s books.

When I reached the end of this book I was happy with the outcome. I liked the way things ended for these two. I also like the way Auburn grew a backbone and finally took a stand. It was refreshing to see her grow into the woman she became.

Overall, if you’re a fan of Colleen Hoover’s books you’ll definitely want to read this one. It’s another physical book buy for my shelves. And if you haven’t yet read her books I highly suggest you give them a try. I’m telling you… she’s a truly gifted author.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: Burying Water by K.A. TuckerBurying Water by K.A. Tucker
Published by Atria on October 7, 2014
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The top-selling, beloved indie author of Ten Tiny Breaths returns with a new romance about a young woman who loses her memory—and the man who knows that the only way to protect her is to stay away.

Left for dead in the fields of rural Oregon, a young woman defies all odds and survives—but she awakens with no idea who she is, or what happened to her. Refusing to answer to “Jane Doe” for another day, the woman renames herself “Water” for the tiny, hidden marking on her body—the only clue to her past. Taken in by old Ginny Fitzgerald, a crotchety but kind lady living on a nearby horse farm, Water slowly begins building a new life. But as she attempts to piece together the fleeting slivers of her memory, more questions emerge: Who is the next-door neighbor, quietly toiling under the hood of his Barracuda? Why won’t Ginny let him step foot on her property? And why does Water feel she recognizes him?

Twenty-four-year-old Jesse Welles doesn’t know how long it will be before Water gets her memory back. For her sake, Jesse hopes the answer is never. He knows that she’ll stay so much safer—and happier—that way. And that’s why, as hard as it is, he needs to keep his distance. Because getting too close could flood her with realities better left buried.

The trouble is, water always seems to find its way to the surface.

review

My thoughts…

STOP!!! – the first few lines of this review may be spoilish.

Against my better judgement I’m giving this book four stars. There are a few things I consider “hard limits” when I’m selecting books to read. One of them is cheating. I don’t like it. I don’t like it when it’s not mentioned in the synopsis letting me know ahead of time. I can understand for the sake of this story (plot wise) that it was necessary, but still I gotta say overall that I don’t like cheating. It’s because of this that I almost DNF’d this book early on. The reason I didn’t and decided to stick with it is because K.A.Tucker is one of my favorite authors. I love her books and I just couldn’t give up on this story. Now after having finished Burying Water I’m really glad I stuck with it.

I loved both Water & Jesse from the beginning. They meet under extraordinary circumstances. It struck me as a little bit unrealistic that Water would react the way she did upon meeting Jesse, but the more I read the more I could see why she did. Both of these characters are very interesting. And I really enjoyed getting to know them. They seemed drawn to each other right away. I think Jesse was sort of a safe Haven for Water. Someone she could confide in. Someone she could trust.

I’m finding it hard to not give away spoilers in this review. So I’m going to keep this review short and simple. Burying Water has multiple layers to it. It switches in time from the past and to the present. It will hold your attention all the way through. At least it did for me. It will keep you guessing about what’s going to happen next. I love stories like this. I love trying to figure out what’s going to happen next and how things are going to end. While I had a few things figured out, there were others I didn’t.

Overall, I really liked this book and how things ended. It really was an enjoyable read. I can’t wait to read more of Ms Tucker’s books in the future.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: Five Ways to Fall by KA TuckerFive Ways to Fall by K.A. Tucker
Series: Ten Tiny Breaths #4
Published by Atria on June 24, 2014
Pages: 384
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Purple-haired, sharp-tongued Reese MacKay knows all about making the wrong choice; she’s made plenty of them in her twenty-odd-years. So when her impulsive, short-lived marriage ends in heartbreak, she decides it’s time for a change. She moves to Miami with the intention of hitting reset on her irresponsible life, and she does quite well…aside from an epically humiliating one-night stand in Cancun with a hot blond bouncer named Ben. Thank God she can get on a plane and leave that mistake behind her.

Football scholarship and frat parties with hot chicks? Part of charmer Ben Morris’s plan. Blown knee that kills any hope of a professional football career? So not part of the plan. Luckily Ben has brains to go with his knockout looks and magnetism. After three long years of balancing law school with his job as a bouncer at Penny’s Palace, he’s ready to lead a more mature life—until his first day of work, when he finds himself in the office of that crazy, hot chick he met in Cancun. The one he hasn’t stopped thinking about.

If Ben truly were a smart guy, he’d stay clear of Reese. She’s the boss’s stepdaughter and it’s been made very clear that office romances are grounds for dismissal. Plus, rumor has it she’s trouble. The only problem is, he likes trouble, especially when it’s so good-looking…

review

My thoughts…

I’m so sad this is the final book in this series. I just wanna sob and email KA Tucker to say “say it isn’t so.” This is one of my most favorite series ever. I have loved each and every book as well as all of the characters within the stories.

Ben was a secondary character in the previous books and I couldn’t wait to read his story. He’s the type of guy who’s pretty much a ladies man. I’m not saying he’s a player because he’s not. He just doesn’t do relationships. He’s a “just one night” type of guy. He’s also a jokester.And Reese. I really liked her. I felt a connection to her right away. She has been through a lot and has a mother from hell. Her dad left her in a diner when she was just a few years old. I felt bad for her and what she has endured in her young life. She too is also a jokester. So naturally the first meeting between her and Ben was hilarious to say the least. I laughed so hard. Their second meeting, some two months later was also hilarious and a little bit awkward.

I felt a wide range of emotions while reading this book. I laughed, almost cried (ok I sniffed), squeed, and laughed some more. One of my favorite things about this story was that Ben was very sweet at times. He referred to his mom as “mama.” I loved that about him. It made me love him even more.

Overall, I think Ms Tucker did a fantastic job writing this story. Sometimes later books in a series aren’t as good as the first couple. I hate to say that, but in my experience that is true sometimes. That’s not the case with Five Ways to Fall. I pretty much loved everything about it. The story flowed smoothly and kept my attention from beginning to end. And once I reached the end I was both happy and sad. Happy because I loved the ending. Sad because I’ve reached the end a great series.

If you haven’t started reading this series yet I highly recommend it.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

REVIEW: Maybe Someday by Colleen HooverMaybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria on March 18, 2014
Pages: 367
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

At twenty-two years old, aspiring musician Sydney Blake has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her good friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter cheating on her with Tori—and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by her mysterious neighbor, Ridge Lawson. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the daily guitar playing he does out on his balcony. She can feel the harmony and vibrations in his music. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either: He seems to have finally found his muse. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

review

My thoughts…

I could just SQUEE! I’ve been waiting for this one and it seems likes it’s taken forever for release day to get here. Finally though… It’s here!! This book was a highly emotional read for me. I teared up quite a few times while reading it. I love books like this one. Books that touch your heart. Maybe Someday did that and so much more.

There are so many things I want to share with you about this story, but I don’t want to give anything away. 🙁 Let me just say that there’s a surprise that happens pretty early on that will shock you. Or at least it shocked me. I kept thinking that there was no way for Ms Hoover to make this surprise believable. Gosh I wish I could tell you what it is!!! You’re gonna have to read this one!!

The main characters and some of the secondary characters were amazing. I liked both Ridge and Sydney from beginning. They developed a strong connection through music right away and I loved that about them! I enjoyed experiencing how they shared their feelings for each other through the songs they created together.

One of the coolest things about this book is that it has a companion music CD you can purchase and listen too. If you’re reading Maybe Someday in eBook form you have the option of listening to the song that coincides with that particular part of the book via the web for FREE. I really liked being able to read the lyrics and then listening to the finished song after. It’s a cool thing to experience.

Although this is a romance there is only one sex scene. The main focus wasn’t the sex part of this book and I’m ok with that. Maybe Someday has such a strong and powerful storyline that the main focus was the actual storyline. The scene itself wasn’t explicit in nature. It was well written and had a sweetness about it. It was perfect.

Overall I loved this book and it’s characters. I’m happy and satisfied with how things ended.
If you’re already a fan of Colleen Hoover and her work I think you’re going to love this one. If you’ve never read her work before you’re seriously missing out. You need to read this one along with her other works.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour, Giveaway & Review: Four Seconds to Lose by K.A. TuckerFour Seconds to Lose by K.A. Tucker
Series: Ten Tiny Breaths #3
Published by Atria on November 4, 2013
Pages: 256
Format: eBook
Source: the Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

When a gorgeous young dancer walks through his door, a strip club owner must decide whether to follow his rules or his heart in the third novel by the author of One Tiny Lie and Ten Tiny Breaths.

Owning a strip club isn’t the fantasy most guys expect it to be. With long hours, a staff with enough issues to keep a psych ward in business, and the police regularly on his case, twenty-nine-year-old Cain is starting to second guess his unspoken mission to save the women he employs. And then blond, brown-eyed Charlie Rourke walks through his door, and things get really complicated. Cain abides by a strict “no sleeping with the staff” rule. But being around Charlie challenges Cain’s self-control…and it’s been a long time since any woman has done that.

Twenty-two-year-old Charlie Rourke needs a lot of money, really fast, in order to vanish before it’s too late. Taking her clothes off for men makes her stomach curl but Charlie tells herself that at least she’s putting her acting and dancing skills to good use. And though her fellow dancers seem eager to nab their sexy, sophisticated, and genuinely caring boss, she’s not interested. After all, Charlie Rourke doesn’t really exist—and the girl pretending to be her can't get distracted by romance.

Unfortunately, Charlie soon discovers that developing feelings for Cain is inevitable, and that those feelings may not be unrequited—but losing him when he finds out what she’s involved with will be more painful than any other sentence awaiting her.

My thoughts…

I have been patiently err not so patiently waiting for this one!!!! I love this series so much!!! The plot is really good. I kept turning page after page because I had to know what was going to happen next. I literally couldn’t put this book down.

Although Charlie is a new character to this series Cain is not. He’s been in previous books and I couldn’t wait for his story so I could learn more about him. Speaking of Cain, he is hot, loyal, a fighter, and incredibly sexy. *swoon* He’s also highly attracted to Charlie. Even though he doesn’t get involved with his employees, he just can’t seem to help himself where she is concerned.

Charlie. I really liked her. She’s sucked into the role of being a drug trafficker via her step-father. She wants out, but first she needs to make enough money to start over and buy herself a new identity. One where her step-father has no way of finding her.

Together the chemistry these two share is electric. The sexual scenes were really HOT! I was sort of surprised about this because things didn’t get that hot in the first two books. Having said that I can sort of understand why these were hotter though. Since Cain does indeed own a strip club the scenes had to be hot otherwise I believe the reader would have been disappointed. I think Ms Tucker did a great job writing them.

Overall, I loved Four Seconds to Lose. In the acknowledgements Ms Tucker talks about struggling with this story. Even if that is the case I can totally say that I think she nailed it. I’m so happy with the way this story turned out. There isn’t anything that I didn’t like about it.

Up next is Ben’s story. It will be the last book in the Ten Tiny Breaths series and I cannot wait for it!!! It’s going to be so good! I’ve really liked Ben in previous books. I can’t wait for him to meet his match!

 

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuireWalking Disaster by Jamie McGuire
Series: Beautiful #2
Published by Atria on April 2, 2013
Pages: 433
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Finally, the highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Beautiful Disaster.

Can you love someone too much?

Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.

In Walking Disaster, the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. But just when he thinks he is invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.

Every story has two sides. In Beautiful Disaster, Abby had her say. Now it’s time to see the story through Travis’s eyes.

My thoughts…

I’m a fan of reading the heroes POV in stories. I like to experience how they perceived things. I loved Travis Maddox in Beautiful Disaster so I knew that I needed to read his story. I’m happy that I did. I really enjoyed it. I think the author did a great job writing this companion novel. I didn’t grow bored with it. I didn’t find myself skimming. It captured and held my attention from the beginning until the very end.

Although the story is the same it’s written from a different perspective. I can say that at times I think Travis acted a bit crazy. He wanted Abby so bad, but didn’t think he deserved to have her. He didn’t think he was good enough for her. Even though he thought that way he was a bit selfish. He didn’t want anyone else to have her either. It was interesting to get his reactions on how things happened. When he fell for Abby he fell hard.

Overall, I’m glad I took the time to read this novel. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It would be awesome is Ms McGuire would write a book for each of Travis’s brothers.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Review: One Tiny Lie by K.A. TuckerOne Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker
Series: Ten Tiny Breaths #2
Published by Atria on June 11, 2013
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents' tragic death and Kacey's self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would...and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.

Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?

As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows.

My thoughts…

One Tiny Lie was a really quick read for me. I was able to read it within one day. It held my attention from the very beginning and didn’t let go.

Livie is off to college. Princeton exactly. She’s always dreamed of attending Princeton, her fathers alma mater, and becoming a doctor. I loved her in Ten Tiny Breaths. She’s the younger sister of Kacey Clearly. She’s 18 and a bit naive. She tends to play things safe. Choosing to stay on her chosen path and not really experience what life has to offer. Once at Princeton she meets Ashton.

Ashton. He’s the captain of the men’s rowing team. He’s gorgeous, sexy, and also a man whore. The night Livie meets him she experiences a lot of firsts. She gets drunk for the first time. She gets her first kiss. She gets…… Let’s just say things get very interesting.

Now back to Ashton. I really liked him. It’s apparent from the beginning that he and Livie have a strong attraction to each other, but Ashton has a set of problems that makes it impossible for him to give Livie what she deserves. *pout*

I liked the tension between these two. They sort of dance around each other throughout this story. I wanted them to become a couple so bad. They both have issues they’re dealing with, but I thought they would be good for each other.

Going into this one I knew what issues Livie had, but it’s not until later on into the story that Ashton’s issues come to light. My heart broke for him.

I liked the secondary characters for the most part. Some of them are from the first book, but others are new to the series.

Connor seemed nice enough, but there was just something about him that didn’t quite fit. It’s like his relationship with Livie just wasn’t developed enough for how the way things play out between the two of them.

Overall, I really enjoyed One Tiny Lie and how things ended up for Livie. After checking Goodreads it appears there will at least be two more books in this series. One will be Ben’s story and the other will be Cain’s. I can’t wait to read them!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Torn by K.A. RobinsonTorn by K.A. Robinson
Series: Torn #1
Published by Atria on May 7, 2013
Pages: 268
Source: Netgalley
One StarOne StarOne Star

Chloe hasn't had the best life. With a mother who is gone more often than not, she has had to raise herself. After graduating high school, she leaves to start a new life away at West Virginia University with her best friends Amber and Logan, determined to leave her demons in the past.

On her first day, she meets a stranger who takes her breath away at first sight. Until she met Drake, no one had ever sparked her interest. Now this tattooed and pierced bad boy is all she can think about, no matter how hard she fights it.

Falling for Drake was never part of her plans, but when it happens, things seem to do anything but fall into place.

Dealing with a tragic past, Drake has never cared about anyone else but himself and his band. But when Chloe takes the empty seat next to him in class, things start to change. Instantly drawn to her, he begins to wonder if one girl can take a cold hearted womanizer and change every part of him?

Long hidden feelings are revealed and friendships tested to the brink.

My thoughts…

Torn was an emotional roller coaster. I experienced a whirlwind of emotions while reading this one. It was a fast read for me. I finished it in less than a day. I just couldn’t seem to put it down.

I really liked Chloe. The poor girl has had a hard life. Her mother had her at a young age and was mean and cruel to her. Sometimes she would leave Chloe for weeks at a time to fend for herself.

Logan is Chloe’s best friend. I really liked him. His feelings for Chloe were totally different from her feelings for him though. He’s wanted her for a long time, but she seemed oblivious to this fact.

Drake. *swoon* He’s a bad boy rocker she meets the first day of class. He’s tatted up and pierced in all sorts of places. I really like him too. He’s definitely swoon worthy. He’s also a player and doesn’t try to hide this fact. Even though *swoon*

There’s a love triangle between these three. I’m not really sure how I felt about that. On the one hand I liked Logan and thought he was a safe bet for Chloe. But on the other hand Drake seemed to be the one that drove her wild.

There are few instances within this book that had me shaking my head. I don’t want to give too much away. Let’s just say that I can’t understand why some things happened the way they did.

1) I’m not a fan of cheating. I can’t justify it in my mind and don’t think it has a place in a romance novel.

2) I think the hero offering another woman’s clothes to the heroine to wear is all kinds of wrong. Doesn’t matter that said clothing still has “tags” on them. Just wrong. I’m not even sure what the point of that was.

Even though there were a few things I didn’t care for, I can honestly say that I really did enjoy this story and I’m looking forward to reading Twisted.

I’m not sure if the author is planning to write any more books, but I’d like to see how things end up for Logan. He sort of faded away at the end of this one.

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Losing Hope by Colleen HooverLosing Hope by Colleen Hoover
Series: Hopeless #2
Published by Atria on July 8, 2012
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In the follow-up to Colleen Hoover’s #1 New York Times bestseller Hopeless, the charming and irresistible Dean Holder tells the passionate story that has melted thousands of hearts.

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.

My thoughts…

This book was amazing. I loved it so much! Holder has got to be one of the best heroes I had the privilege to read about.

Losing Hope is written in Holders POV. I know that seems to be the new thing these days. Authors writing a companion novels in the leading males POV. I’ve heard some negative things about this as well as positive. Normally the deciding factor for me is if I really loved the first book.

Some of the complaints I’ve heard are that the authors are trying to cash in. Make more money just for the sake of it. That a book written in the males POV isn’t necessary. That the story has already been told and doesn’t need to be told again.

Here’s how I feel about it. Even though I know how things happened in Hopeless, I had to know how all of this affected Holder. He’s suffered two huge losses in his life and he felt as though he failed both Hope and Les. That’s a huge burden to carry around for such a young man. The internal struggle his character faced was heart wrenching. He blamed himself for things that happened that were not in his control to accept the responsibility for in the first place. To get a first hand look at how these issues affected him was necessary. His story needed to be told and I’m very happy that Ms Hoover wrote Losing Hope.

I highly recommend both Hopeless and Losing Hope. Both of these novels are incredible stories and I hope you will give them a chance.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

Review: This Girl by Colleen HooverThis Girl by Colleen Hoover
Series: Slammed #3
Published by Atria on April 30, 2013
Pages: 304
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

There are two sides to every love story. Now hear Will’s.

Colleen Hoover’s New York Times bestselling Slammed series has brought countless readers to their knees with a whirlwind of love, passion, and heartache.

Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.

In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from hispoint of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

My thoughts…

What a great way to end a great series. This is such a great book.

The story is told in Will’s POV. It’s a little different in the sense that the book switches back in forth between the past and present. While they’re on their honeymoon, Will is telling Lake his point of view of the things they experienced in the past. I thought this was a unique way of telling this story. As a reader I was able to learn his thoughts about the past, but also what they were experiencing during their honeymoon.

I felt a little sad that Will and Lake’s story was ending, but I think the way Ms Hoover wrote it was perfect.

If you’ve yet to read this series I highly recommend it. It’s definitely one of my favorites.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

Review: The Sea of Tranquility by Katja MillayThe Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
Published by Atria on November 13, 2012
Pages: 448
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.

Former piano prodigy Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone learning about her past and to make the boy who took everything from her—her identity, her spirit, her will to live—pay.

Josh Bennett’s story is no secret: every person he loves has been taken from his life until, at seventeen years old, there is no one left. Now all he wants is be left alone and people allow it because when your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, the mysterious new girl at school who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. But the more he gets to know her, the more of an enigma she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he will ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding—or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a rich, intense, and brilliantly imagined story about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.

My thoughts…

While I really enjoyed this one it took me a long time to get to the end. It’s over 400 pages long and at times I felt myself wanting to give up on it, but when I finally did reach the end I was very happy that I stuck with it.

This story is very complex and highly emotional.

Nastya. She’s broken. She hides herself behind dark make-up, dark clothing, and a don’t mess with me attitude. She also doesn’t talk. Her story is a heart wrenching one.

Josh. I really liked him. He has been dealt a bad hand in life and I couldn’t help but sympathize with him.

Together they develop a strong friendship that eventually leads to something more. I think they were good for each other in a lot of ways and I was happy when their friendship developed into something more.

The sexual content is nearly nonexistent, but that was okay because it wasn’t the main focus of the story.

Overall I think The Sea of Tranquility is a great read. I was very emotional towards the end and cried messy snotty tears. I think this story is one that’s going to stay with me for a really long time.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star