The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. ArmentroutThe Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Harlequin Teen on May 17th, 2016
Pages: 480
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD | Indiebound | BAM!
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

Wow, I have no words for this book. Jennifer L. Armentrout is one of those authors who I don’t even bother reading the synopsis for any book she writes..I just usually dive in to the book. The Problem with Forever is a heartbreakingly beautiful book and when I started reading the prologue I knew that it was unlike anything she’s written before.

Mallory is a high school senior who has spent the last so many years being homeschooled. After having such a traumatic childhood that has left her with a severe case of PTSD, she is ready to drop her shield and face her fears by attending Public School.

Mallory is not a girl of many words, She uses silence as a shield. It’s what she knows, it’s what Rider told her to do, it’s what she did to survive her childhood.  It’s been four years since the event that lead to Mallory getting out of the foster house she lived in with Rider. It’s been FOUR YEARS since she’s even seen Rider or talked to Rider. She’s been adopted by an amazing and supportive couple. She’s learning how to overcome what she’s been through. She’s learning that it is ok to speak, or make a sound. She’s ready to take on school and get over her fears, make friends and to live her life.

Mallory’s first day as a senior at Lands High doesn’t go so well. She’s having trouble find the words to respond to a simple “hi” from the girl a few lockers down, the atmosphere in the cafeteria is too overwhelming for her, etc. When she gets to the last class of the day, the class that she probably fears the most, SPEECH, it’s there where she runs into her knight in shining armor…

Rider Stark grew up with Mallory, they were both foster kids that ended up in one of those foster homes straight out of a nightmare. He did everything he could to protect her, he even saved her from their horrific life though it ended up taking her away from him. After the events that took Mallory away from him, Rider ends up in a group home and then from there it ends up in Mrs. Luna’s house.

The second that Rider sees Mallory, it’s like the four years it had been since they’ve seen one another never happened. It’s obvious that he hasn’t forgotten her, that she has never been that far from his mind. They re-connect instantaneously and it’s a beautiful thing.

Jennifer did a really good job of putting Mallory’s discomfort when speaking aloud into this story. Every time she “spoke” in the book, you could tell that she was fighting her urge to just stop talking. With Rider’s help and the help of her new friends, Mallory slowly gets over her fear of using words, of speaking to and being around people.

Rider is just going along with everything, he thinks that he doesn’t deserve to do anything in life. He’s just existing..but Mallory shows him that he deserves to have anything and everything in life that he wants. Just because he grew up in the system doesn’t mean that he shouldn’t try to make his life better. That he shouldn’t go to college or to art school. He’s obviously extremely smart and a very talented artist. He just doesn’t think he’s good enough for all that, or good enough for Mallory. In the end, Rider being there in her life and doing what he always did for her, helped push Mallory into HELPING him. Showing him that he found a HOME WITH PEOPLE WHO CARE ABOUT HIM, the same as her. Mallory makes him realize that he can do anything he wants.

I really enjoyed this story, even as I had tears running down my face through it. The characters were great, the story line will definitely have your emotions all over the place and in the end..Rider and Mallory are finally finding the happiness that everyone deserves to have in their life.

Thanks to InkslingerPR, Harlequin Teen and Jennifer L. Armentrout for the chance to read and review this book for the blog tour!

 

** I FINALLY GET TO MEET JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT on her book tour for The Problem with Forever on May 19th! I am getting a copy of the book autographed to GIVEAWAY to a lucky reader of ours!! Enter to win below!! There’s also a giveaway being hosted by Inkslinger in part with the Blog Tour, don’t forget to enter that giveaway as well! 🙂

 


*** I don’t normally don’t add songs to posts…but..
I thought maybe this song would sum up Mallory and Rider’s childhood.

This song is Rider..

Hmm..I might add more later..

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The autographed copy of The Problem with Forever giveaway is open to those only in the USA. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

12593561_778780958890135_7477090847338317775_o

Pre-Order The Problem with Forever and register your purchase to receive a FREE fan pack! Fan pack includes:Inspirational Wall Art, flag-as-you-read stickers, a poster AND an excerpt of TPWF to start reading now! Pre-Order now from Amazon, B&N, Kobo, iBooks, The Book Depository, Indiebound or BAM!
Register your pre-order here to receive the FREE FAN PACK! http://bit.ly/24awVFw

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: Take Me On by Katie McGarryTake Me On by Katie McGarry
Series: Pushing the Limits #4
Published by Harlequin Teen on May 27, 2014
Pages: 544
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Acclaimed author Katie McGarry returns with the knockout new story of two high school seniors who are about to learn what winning really means.

Champion kickboxer Haley swore she'd never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. But then the guy she can't stop thinking about accepts a mixed martial arts fight in her honor. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she'd stay away from. Yet he won't last five seconds in the ring without her help.

West is keeping a big secret from Haley. About who he really is. But helping her-fighting for her-is a shot at redemption. Especially since it's his fault his family is falling apart. He can't change the past, but maybe he can change Haley's future.

Hayley and West have agreed to keep their relationship strictly in the ring. But as an unexpected bond forms between them and attraction mocks their best intentions, they'll face their darkest fears and discover love is worth fighting for.

review

My thoughts…

Take Me On is part of one of my favorite YA series. It’s well written and very enjoyable. I really liked West in the previous book and was happy that Take Me On was his book. I also really liked Haley too. She’s a very strong heroine and I think her and West made a great couple. I enjoyed sinking into their world.

Even though I really enjoyed this book it took me some time to get through it. It started out slow for me and I had trouble getting into it. Along with that I kept getting distracted. :/

The storyline was intriguing though and there were a few surprises along the way that kept thing interesting. Once I did reach the end I was very happy with the way things turned out.

Overall, Take Me On is a great addition to this incredible series. I can’t wait to see who’s book is next.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
REVIEW: Red at Night by Katie McGarryRed at Night by Katie McGarry
Published by Harlequin Teen on April 1, 2014
Pages: 84
Format: eBook
Source: Free Book
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In Red at Night, Stella and Jonah are total opposites. She's the girl with purple hair from the wrong part of town. He's a high school senior who hangs with the cool crowd. Until a car accident leaves him haunted by guilt, and Jonah starts spending time at Stella's favorite refuge…the local cemetery.

Stella knows she should keep her distance—after all, she spent her girlhood being bullied by Jonah's friends. Once he's sorted out his tangled emotions, Jonah won't have time for her anymore. Too bad she's already fallen for him.

review

My thoughts…

What a great novella. It’s a beautifully written short story about two high school seniors who come from different backgrounds. Way different. I found both Jonah and Stella interesting and I enjoyed slipping into their world. Even though they’ve been aware of each other for years, they’ve never been friends. That all changes in the most unlikely place.

Once I started reading I couldn’t put this one down. It had me experiencing all sorts of emotions. I cried, I got mad, I cried a bit more, and I awe’d a little bit too.

The moral of this story is that people can change. They can stand up for what is right, treat everyone with respect regardless of their background, and live life as a better person.

Brilliant. Loved this one.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
ARC Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer ArmentroutWhite Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: The Dark Elements #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on February 25, 2014
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

I’m writing this short and sweet review because I received an ARC and I am required to. Erin already posted about WHK and you can check out her more in depth review here.

You can check out my Psych Ward file on Jennifer here.

I read Bitter Sweet Love and White Hot Kiss in one fell swoop. I fell in love with gargoyles in fiction last summer when I read Page Morgan’s The Beautiful and The Cursed. I felt like it was a new and fresh addition to the paranormal romance scene and ended up LOVING  TB&TC and the novella about one of the gargoyle’s back story as well. When I saw that JLA was doing a series featuring gargoyles, I thought she must be jumping on the coat tails of a new trend that Page Morgan started. Or maybe she was just inspired to write about gargoyles before that. Either way, who cares. I really enjoyed WHK.

Alex Layla, our narrator, is one confused half-breed chick. I would not want to be in her shoes. Layla has some unique struggles to deal with given her DNA. Part demon, part gargoyle, the struggle to fit in with her adopted family of Wardens (gargoyles that hunt demons) is getting harder every day. Especially after she meets Roth. He’s wholly demon and has his eye on Layla. Soon after the two meet, Roth has his lips and hands on Layla as well. I quite liked this aspect of the story. Layla is yet another funny and relatable female protagonist from Jennifer Armentrout. I usually prefer the male characters to female characters, whether primary or secondary, in all the books I read. That’s not the case with Jennifer’s books. I end up liking the chicks as much as the dudes. While I was more interested with Layal and Roth’s story arcs than Layla and Zaynes, I still felt like Zayne was monstrously swoon-worthy.

Seth Roth, the antihero of the novel was of course, MY FAVE. We are given a glimpse of Roth in Bitter Sweet Love at the very end. I knew he was going to rock my socks off in WHK by the song he is heard humming in BSL. Roth might as well be sex-on-a-stick. He has inky black hair, wicked golden eyes, a serpant tattoo, and he is cut in all the right places. Jennifer uses her signature cocky-heart of gold charm with Roth’s character and I wanted to devour him. (Kind of like Bambi devours under-worldly creatures. That last sentence will make absolutely no sense to you unless you’ve read the book.) Let’s just say Roth has something bad-ass up his sleeve when it comes to protecting Layla for his nefarious purposes.

Aiden Zayne is Layla’s rock. Or stone to be more exact. He’s a Warden and turns to stone in his gargoyle form to sleep and recover from a full night of hunting demons. He’s a few years older than Layla but they have been connected at the hip ever since Layla was adopted into his gargoyle family. I love the relationship between Layla and Zayne. It’s soft and warm and sweet and SEDUCTIVE. In his human form, Zayne is a blonde hair, blue eyed stud in peak physical condition. His chest stretches sweaters across them like no others. It’s easy to see why Layla would have complicated feelings for this guy who grew up with her like a brother. The complicated feelings Zayne and Layla have for each other in this book creates some AWESOME tension.

The characters and story world are well rounded and wonderfully defined (double meaning there). I love when an author doesn’t try to be coy about where they get a lot of inspiration for their novels. Jennifer acknowledges Supernatural not only by name in WHK, but also by story content.

Fans of JLA’s Covenant series will fall hard for The Dark Elements. I was really sad when The Covenant series ended but this series seems like it will be filling that gap.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Release Day Launch / ARC Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout + Giveaway!

Release Day Launch / ARC Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout + Giveaway!White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: The Dark Elements #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on February 25th, 2014
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

Erin’s Review

First off, This review needs a song…

[sc_embed_player fileurl=”http://mereadalot.net/muzak/06%20Paradise%20City.mp3″] <- Click  the play button for this review’s theme song.
(Paradise City by Guns N Roses)

 

Second…one of the best characters in this book: BAMBI. That’s all I’m gonna say..I’ll let you meet Bambi on your own. 😉

Jennifer L. Armentrout never fails when bringing us a swoony boy..and this book is no exception..In fact, she gave us TWO SWOONY BOYS! We’ve got Zayne ,who is a warden (aka Gargoyle) and Roth, who is a demon.

Our female MC in this book is Layla. Layla is half-warden, half-demon. She was raised by the Wardens and because of that she feels insecure around them. She may be half-warden, but she doesn’t have the capabilities they possess, so she feels…inconsequential? around them.. Yeah, something like that. She does have the ability to “tag” demons, which she uses to help the Wardens, who hunt at night, identify them. Which in turn makes their job a bit easier..and makes Layla feel as though she’s doing something positive.

Due to her being half-demon, she has the ability to suck the soul right out of someone..literally. Because of that whole soul-sucking thing, she’ll never be able to have the one boy she wants..Zayne, or anyone else for that matter.. That all changes when she meets Roth. Roth is a demon, he has no soul, so his lips are free game to Layla..and boy does she take advantage of that..Or maybe it’s Roth that takes advantage of that… 😉

 

The chemistry between Layla and Roth was so explosive.. I thought my iPad was going to over heat.. 🙂 I loved them together. I loved Roth and the things that came out of his mouth..the way he was with Layla and how he managed to look out for her even when he wasn’t actually there. I’ve heard that Daemon’s character was based on Roth and I can totally see it..Big Ego, Snarky Comments, Total Bad Ass. Yep.. a lot like Daemon…BUT.. I think I might like Roth more than Daemon. Roth is a real bad boy, I mean.. he is a demon after all! He has a legit reason to be a bad boy…and well I like my book boyfriends to be bad. Yum! 🙂

ZAYNE! OMG Zayne! You gave me so many feels in this book..I don’t even know if I can talk about it. Zayne, you had me in tears quite a few times. I HOPE THAT YOU MAKE IT UP TO ME IN THE NEXT ONE. I have a feeling he will most definitely make it up to us somehow in the book..because after the way this book ended (HOLY CRAP! DID NOT SEE THAT COMING!!!) Zayne better be there for me Layla.

White Hot Kiss is a great start to a new and unique book series. Jennifer Armentrout did not disappoint. This is a great story with amazing characters and some interesting twists. YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK if you haven’t already. But first, You’ll definitely need to check out the Prequel BITTER SWEET LOVE.

 

Thanks to HarlequinTEEN for sending me this ARC in exchange for an honest review!

 

Some of my favorite quotes from White Hot Kiss:

“We demons are all alike. We covet pretty things, corrupt what is pure and whole, take what we can never have.” – Roth

“Free Will is bullshit.” – Roth

“See, I was raised in Hell. You could say I’m socially awkward.” – Roth

“Free Will, huh? Damn. It is a bitch.” – Roth

“I lost myself the moment I found you.” – Roth

“Just so you know, your virtue isn’t safe with me. So when you look like you want me to devour every inch of your mouth, I will, without an ounce of regret.” – Roth

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Heartbeat by Elizabeth ScottHeartbeat by Elizabeth Scott
Published by Harlequin Teen on January 28, 2014
Pages: 304
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Life. Death. And...Love?

Emma would give anything to talk to her mother one last time. Tell her about her slipping grades, her anger with her stepfather, and the boy with the bad reputation who might be the only one Emma can be herself with.

But Emma can't tell her mother anything. Because her mother is brain-dead and being kept alive by machines for the baby growing inside her.

Meeting bad-boy Caleb Harrison wouldn't have interested Old Emma. But New Emma-the one who exists in a fog of grief, who no longer cares about school, whose only social outlet is her best friend Olivia-New Emma is startled by the connection she and Caleb forge.

Feeling her own heart beat again wakes Emma from the grief that has grayed her existence. Is there hope for life after death-and maybe, for love?

My thoughts…

I have been waiting, and waiting to read this book. When I noticed it on Netgalley and read the synopsis I knew I HAD to read it. I was happy that I got approved to read and review it. The is the first story by author Elizabeth Scott that I’ve read. This story captured my attention from beginning and held it until the very end. I didn’t skim through pages at all. I had a hard time putting it down.

This was a heart wrenching story. I found the plot for Heartbeat to be unique. I don’t believe I’ve ever read a story like this one. Maybe once, but it was a different set of circumstances all together.

Both of the main characters have suffered a great deal of loss in their young lives. They are both emotionally scarred. Each understands what the other is going through and it’s because of this that Emma and Caleb are drawn to each other.

My heart broke for Emma and her situation. I cannot image having to see a brain dead parent kept alive on life support so that the child she’s pregnant with can grow enough until it’s safe for him/her to be born. It certainly would be hard to gain closure and except the loss of a loved one.

The relationship she has with Dan, her stepfather, is severely strained after her mother dies. She doesn’t agree with his decision to keep her mother on life support. He never asked her thoughts on it and believes that keeping his wife alive for the sake of the baby is what she would have wanted. Emma feels differently. This decision has torn apart their relationship. Emma won’t talk to Dan and she locks herself in her room so she doesn’t have to deal with him. To say she has anger issues would be an understatement. In a way I can understand why she acted the way she did.

Caleb’s circumstances are a bit different from Emma’s. His younger sister died. He blames himself for her death. His parents also do as well. I was so mad at the way his parents treated him. I can’t imagine parents who would do such a thing.

Overall, I really enjoyed this reading this one. I feel a little hesitant to say that though considering the subject matter of the book. It’s highly emotional and difficult to read at times.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Crash into You by Katie McGarryCrash into You by Katie McGarry
Series: Pushing the Limits #3
Published by Harlequin Teen on November 26, 2013
Pages: 474
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From acclaimed author Katie McGarry comes an explosive new tale of a good girl with a reckless streak, a street-smart guy with nothing to lose, and a romance forged in the fast lane

The girl with straight As, designer clothes and the perfect life-that's who people expect Rachel Young to be. So the private-school junior keeps secrets from her wealthy parents and overbearing brothers...and she's just added two more to the list. One involves racing strangers down dark country roads in her Mustang GT. The other? Seventeen-year-old Isaiah Walker-a guy she has no business even talking to. But when the foster kid with the tattoos and intense gray eyes comes to her rescue, she can't get him out of her mind.

Isaiah has secrets, too. About where he lives, and how he really feels about Rachel. The last thing he needs is to get tangled up with a rich girl who wants to slum it on the south side for kicks-no matter how angelic she might look.

But when their shared love of street racing puts both their lives in jeopardy, they have six weeks to come up with a way out. Six weeks to discover just how far they'll go to save each other.

My thoughts…

Omigosh! I loved this book so much!!! This is a fantastic series. One of my favorite young adult series. Crash Into You didn’t disappoint. The storyline was intriguing. The characters and the situation they were faced were realistic. I just loved this story overall.

The hero is Isaiah. He has been a secondary character in the first two books. I was so excited to get my hands on this one because I really liked him in the previous books. There is just something about him that drew me in and I couldn’t wait to read his story.

His love interest is Rachel. I really liked her. She’s a replacement “sister / daughter” for her older sister that died of Leukemia. She is expected to be someone she is not and I couldn’t help but feel bad for her. There just seemed to be all these expectations and it didn’t matter that she would have to sacrifice herself to please others.

Together Isaiah & Rachel share of love of fast cars. Mustangs in particular. Their love of cars is what brought them together. That’s pretty much all they had in common. Their backgrounds couldn’t have been more different. Isaiah is a part of the system. His mother was sent to prison when he was six years old and he was placed in foster care. Rachel has grown up in a big house. It seemed money wasn’t a problem for her family. She had a badass car, name brand clothes, jewelry, and a lot of things Isaiah did not.

Even though they come from different backgrounds I think they were good for each other and great together. Rachel could be her true self with Isaiah. She didn’t have to pretend to be someone she wasn’t. And Rachel excepted Isaiah for who he was. She didn’t look down on him because he was a foster kid with tattoos and piercings.

Crash Into You is really fast paced. I was able to read it relatively quickly. I kept turning page after page because I had to know what would happen next.

Overall, this book was really good. If you’re a fan of young adult contemporary series I highly suggestion this series.

Up next is Rachel’s brother West’s story. I’m so excited Ms McGarry is writing more books. Rachel has four brothers. I hope they each get their own book.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Book Review: Bitter Sweet Love by Jennifer L. Armentrout + Giveaway!Bitter Sweet Love by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: The Dark Elements #0.5
Published by Harlequin Teen on December 1st, 2013
Pages: 105
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In a sizzling prequel novella to her new series THE DARK ELEMENTS, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout draws readers into the extraordinary, irresistible world of Wardens and demons.

Dez wasn't just Jasmine's crush. A gargoyle Warden like Jas, he helped her come to terms with her destiny—fending off demons and maintaining balance between good and evil. He was her everything...right until the moment he disappeared without a trace. It didn't help that Jas's father had just announced that she and Dez would one day be mated. Hard not to take that personally.

And now he's back, three years older, ten times hotter, ready to pick up exactly where they left off. But Jas isn't taking that risk again. Dez has seven days to meet all her conditions and earn back her trust. Seven days filled with terrifying danger and sweet temptation. Seven days to win her heart—or shatter it all over again...

To be honest, when this book series was first announced I was like, ‘Gargoyles?!! Why would anyone write about gargoyles?’ Then I remembered that this is Jennifer L. Armentrout that is writing these books! I shouldn’t question her for writing about gargoyles, I should just trust the knowledge that we all know: Jennifer L. Armentrout writes the most swoon-worthy male characters EVER. After that realization I started to get excited!

One day Jasmine’s father has announced his wishes for Jasmine and Dez to Mate, the next Dez has up and left without a word to Jasmine. It’s kind of hard to not take that personally. Especially seeing as Jas had spent the last 8 years of her life in love with him. So for 3 years, Jasmine mourns the loss of Dez and then one day He comes back and lays claim to Jasmine.

Oh, but Jasmine is NOT HAPPY. She’s just spent the last 3 years of her life wondering what she did to make him leave and now he’s back all of the sudden and wants to mate? Oh no, Jasmine is not having any of that. Jasmine has seven days to say yes or no to Dez’s claim. Instead of saying ‘NO’ right off the bat, she comes up with conditions and she makes him work for that ‘Yes.’

We get a brief introduction to Layla (half demon & half gargoyle teen girl being raised by the DC Warden Clan.), Zayne (A Warden from the Clan that’s raised Layla and whom she’s had a crush on forever!), and for a very brief second, Roth (An Upper Level Demon). These 3 Characters are who we will get to know better in White Hot Kiss, the next installment from the Dark Elements, and the first full length novel in the series.

This novella was amazing and JEN DOES NOT DISAPPOINT.. Dez was smoking hot and very sweet. She had me swooning over him the minute he appears in this book. I almost wish I could have gotten a bit more time with him and Jasmine, but what time we did get with them was BEAUTIFUL.

We have yet to learn more about Zayne, as he only got but a brief introduction in this book, but he most definitely has swoon potential!

Thanks to JLA for the sweet introduction to her new world. A world where Gargoyles have had to out themselves to the Mortal world in order to keep doing what they were put on this Earth for. Something big is happening and I can’t wait to read White Hot Kiss to see what’s going on. I mean, what’s happening that made the Wardens come out? Is Layla the reason behind what’s happening? Are we going to fall in love with Zayne? Or is Roth going to come and collect our hearts? We shall see come February!

Giveaway

Want to win a copy of Bitter Sweet Love on me? Enter below! I will send the winners an e-copy of Bitter Sweet Love via Amazon.com or BN.com. 😉

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Pawn by Aimee CarterPawn by Aimee Carter
Series: The Blackcoat Rebellion #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on November 26th, 2013
Pages: 346
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister's niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There's only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed …and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that's not her own, she must decide which path to choose—and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she's only beginning to understand.

Meet Kitty Doe, a 17 year old girl who just took the test that determines what’s going to happen with the rest of her life. Her test results? A III. NOT what she was expecting, neither was the Job Assignment in Denver which will take her away from D.C. and Benjy. But what she needs to realize is that a III is better than a I, which will get you sent to Elsewhere.

Kitty is given the chance to become  a VII and she hardly even puts some thought into her decision. The next thing you know, she’s waking up with a brand new face. You see Kitty has been masked, and now she has one of the most powerful faces in the Union.

I really enjoyed this book, it reminded me a lot of the Airhead series by Meg Cabot but with a dystopian twist. It had a lot of backstabbing, betrayal, loyalty and hope. This book had a lot going on it and it kept my attention throughout it. There were some things revealed in the book that were quite shocking and literally had my jaw dropping. In this first book, there wasn’t much of a romance going on, seeing as Kitty’s boyfriend Benjy wasn’t really there for a good chunk of the book. I’ve read some reviews where people are happy that there isn’t a Love Triangle (between Kitty, Benjy and Lila’s fiance Knox), but this is only the first book and I can totally see Kitty and Knox together in the future. I think I might like Knox more than Benjy, though in this book we’ve gotten to know Knox a bit better than Benjy. Maybe I’ll change my mind in book 2.  😉 I’m really looking forward to the next book  and seeing what Kitty will do with Lila’s face now that’s she gotten past some obstacles in Pawn.

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Aimee Carter

I attended the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor and received a degree in Screen Arts and Cultures (a fancy way of saying I was forced to watch a lot of old movies) with a subconcentration in Screenwriting. I write. I watch a lot of new movies. Read a lot of books. Tweet too much. Love dogs and have two spoiled Papillons.

I’m represented by the magical Rosemary Stimola of Stimola Literary Studio, and on very rare occasions I blog over at WordPress.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Dare You To by Katie McGarryDare You To by Katie McGarry
Series: Pushing The Limits #2
Published by Harlequin Teen on May 28, 2013
Pages: 462
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

"I dare you..."

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk's home life, they'd send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom's freedom and her own happiness. That's how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn't want her and going to a school that doesn't understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn't get her, but does....

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can't tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn't be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won't let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all....

My thoughts…

I really didn’t know what to expect with this book. I loved the Pushing The Limits which is the first book in this series. I wasn’t a fan of Beth in the first book. I thought she was both mean and rude. Hardened if you will. But after reading her story I can understand why she acts or acted the way she did. She’s hard it rough. A hard life from the time she was born.

After moving from her hometown of Louisville, she’s transplanted to Groveton with her Uncle Scott and his wife Allison. Right from the beginning Beth and Allison don’t get along. She’s not real thrilled to be living with her Uncle Scott either. Immediately they start to change her. New clothes that aren’t her style. They put a stop to any and drug use and smoking. She’s not allowed to see or visit her friends from back home in Louisville. Basically she’s not happy at all.

Before she moved Groveton, Beth had an encounter with Ryan in a Taco Bell. Ryan was dared by his best friend, Chris, to ask Beth for her phone number. Ryan isn’t a loser and doesn’t back down from a dare but ultimately he’s wasn’t able to get her number. The next week school starts and Ryan is faced with seeing Beth again. This time he’ll do whatever he can to get her number. But when Chris finds out Beth is also going to the same school the dare changes. Ryan must get Beth to agree to a date.

Ryan tries to talk Beth into dating him. She doesn’t like him. He’s leads the perfect life or so it seems from the outside. He’s not at all Beth’s type and she thinks guys like Ryan only use girls like herself. She wants no part of him.

Even though these two butted heads in the beginning, it was enjoyable to read just how things played out for them. The attraction between these two was apparent from the beginning and as the story unfolded you get to see that although they are different in many ways including their backgrounds that they really are perfect each other.

The next book in this series is Crash Into You which is Isaiah’s book. As of this posting there isn’t a set release date for this book. I’ll be patiently waiting for it’s release. I’ve really enjoyed this series so far.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarryPushing The Limits by Katie McGarry
Series: Pushing The Limits #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on July 31, 2012
Pages: 392
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

My thoughts…

Pushing the Limits is a contemporary story written by Author Katie McGarry. She’s a new author to me and I wasn’t sure what to expect when selecting this book. I have heard many good things about it and I’ve read several positive reviews so I decided to take a chance on it and I’m very happy that I did. This highly emotional realistic story will captivate you from the beginning and keep your interest until the very end.

I loved getting to know both Echo and Noah. They’ve both been through some hard times and faced challenges most normal teenagers will never have to face. Their story is an love story that will take you on an emotional journey. I highly recommend Pushing the Limits and hope you will take a chance like I did and give it a try.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star