by Victoria Scott
Published by Scholastic, Scholastic Press Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About the Book:

Title: HEAR THE WOLVES

Author: Victoria Scott

Pub. Date: March 28, 2017

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Pages: 240

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoodreads

 

It’s survival of the strongest in a contemporary, girl-versus-wild middle-grade début from Fire & Flood author Victoria Scott!

Sloan is a hunter.

So she shouldn’t be afraid of anything. But ever since her mom left the family and she lost hearing in one ear in a blizzard, it’s been hard to talk to people, and near-impossible to go anywhere or do anything without her dad or big sister within eyesight — it makes her too scared to be on her own.

When they leave her home alone for what should only be two nights, she’s already panicked. Then the snow starts falling and doesn’t stop. One of her neighbors is hurt in an accident. And the few people still left in Rusic need to make it to the river and the boat that’s tied there — their only way to get to a doctor from their isolated Alaska town.

But the woods are icy cold, and the wolves are hungry. Sloan and her group are running out of food, out of energy, and out of time. That’s when the wolves start hunting them . . .

Who else needs a poster of this AWESOME book art!?!

Dear Readers,

Be ready to tear through this book like a wolf through its prey. Victoria’s middle-grade début novel will snatch your imagination by the throat and shake it to its core. A fast-paced and attention-grabbing read, Hear the Wolves howls with tension, drama, fright, and courage.

I could not put this book down.

The ending of each chapter left me with so much anticipation, that I devoured the book in one sitting. I admit that I had reservations going into Hear the Wolves. First, I was not sure if a middle-grade novel would hold my attention. Secondly, as a diehard animal lover, I did not know if I would make it through much less enjoy a novel with a protagonist who was a hunter; but this is where an author’s skills shine through. Victoria’s deft handling of the realities of rural Alaskan life worked like magic, subduing my reservations. The complex characters and suspenseful plot absorbed my attention and propelled me through the story.

I loved the diversity of the setting and the flawed characters. Victoria explores the world of the Alaskan wilderness through the eyes of Sloan, the female protagonist, and her fellow townsfolk. Sloan is the kind of female MC that we need in fiction today. She is flawed and perfect because of it.  Intelligent, sensitive, and courageous, Sloan’s character ARC provides a powerful narrative for girls and boys alike: Your past does not define you. Your agency and courage in the face of adversity does. YOU ARE POWERFUL.

A unique and adrenaline-spiking story, Hear the Wolves also teaches a valuable lesson about the effects that human actions have on nature and wildlife. This is a MUST read for tweens, teens, and adults. Keep scrolling, and ENTER TO WIN a FINISHED COPY of this gorgeous book! US ONLY.

About Victoria:

Victoria Scott is the author of eight novels including Titans, Fire & Flood, Salt & Stone, the Dante Walker trilogy, Hear the Wolves (March 2017), and Violet Grenade (May 2017). She is published by Scholastic and Entangled Teen, and is represented by Sara Crowe of Pippin Properties.

Victoria’s latest novel, Titans, received two starred reviews, and Fire & Flood has been selected as a 2017 Spirit of Texas Reading Program book. Victoria’s novels have been bought and translated in fourteen foreign markets. The author currently resides in Philadelphia, and loves hearing from her readers.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of HEAR THE WOLVES, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 Tour Schedule:

Week One

3/20/2017- YA Books Central Interview

3/21/2017- Just Commonly– Review

3/22/2017- Falling For YA– Guest Post

3/23/2017- MEREADALOT– Review

3/24/2017- BookHounds YA– Interview

Week Two

3/27/2017- A Backwards Story– Review

3/28/2017- A Gingerly Review– Excerpt

3/29/2017- Book Briefs– Review

3/30/2017- Mundie Moms– Interview

3/31/2017- Library of a Book Witch– Review

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Victoria Scott

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

Blog Tour: When My Heart Was Wicked Review+Giveaway!!!When My Heart Was Wicked Published by Scholastic Press on February 24, 2015
Pages: 198
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

"I used to be one of those girls. The kind who loved to deliver bad news. When I colored my hair, I imagined it seeping into my scalp, black dye pooling into my veins.

But that was the old Lacy. Now, when I cast spells, they are always for good."

16-year-old Lacy believes that magic and science can work side by side. She's a botanist who knows how to harness the healing power of plants. So when her father dies, Lacy tries to stay with her step-mother in Chico, where her magic is good and healing. She fears the darkness that her real mother, Cheyenne, brings out, stripping away everything that is light and kind.

Yet Cheyenne never stays away for long. Beautiful, bewitching, unstable Cheyenne who will stop at nothing, not even black magic, to keep control of her daughter's heart. She forces Lacy to accompany her to Sacramento, and before long, the "old" Lacy starts to resurface.

But when Lacy survives a traumatic encounter, she finds herself faced with a choice. Will she use her powers to exact revenge and spiral into the darkness forever? Or will she find the strength to embrace the light?

when_wicked

 

Check out the other stops on this Rockin’ Blog Tour:

Week Two:

3/2/2015- Two Chicks on Books– Guest Post

3/3/2015-MEREADALOT-Review

3/4/2015- paranormal book club (PBC)– Interview

3/5/2015- Bittersweet Enchantment-Review

3/6/2015- Magical Urban Fantasy Reads – Guest Post

 

Lyrical, dark, and beautifully twisted- I couldn’t put this book down. It was a refreshing piece of word-art among a market crowded with by-the-book wordsmiths. I can’t wait to read more of Tricia Stirling’s work.

What a dark and magical treat this book was.

Despite it’s brevity, this book will leave a lasting mark in my psyche because of the author’s vivid and poetic word painting. This is one of those books that you would refer to as ”a piece of art”. It’s dark, and beautiful, and abrasive, and lucid, and abstract, and heart-breaking all in one.

Tricia Stirling is a sorceress with words. She spins them all lyrical and heady like they’re crafted from moonlight. Her character-heavy tale tells the journey of a girl who must find herself in between all of the bad and good experiences that have shaped her life and her idea of herself.

There isn’t really a plot to this book, just a hint of macabre mystery and some dark secrets that unravel themselves by the end. The pacing and over all tone and flow of the story reminded me of another book I really enjoyed called All Our Pretty Songs.

Beautifully imagined and crafted phrases that were so raw and powerful are scattered like stars against midnight. The subject matter is intense and veers towards mature young-adult, and all I could think after finishing this book was: I really want to pick this author’s brain.

A little bit Practical Magic, a little bit The Craft, and a whole lot better than both of those, this book was a delight to read and will stick with me like a new favorite song.

 

ENTER TO WIN  a finished copy of When My Hear Was Wicked: US Only

 

a Rafflecopter
giveaway

About Tricia:

TriciaI am a writer. I am also a mother, daughter, wife, sometimes crafter, and voracious reader. I’m

outdoorsy and kind of shy. As a child, I was kicked out of girlscouts. I love cheese and bread. I love

Anthopologie and Mary Margaret’s apartment in Once Upon a Time. I’m a sloppy dogloving person, but

I admire the sleek cool of cats. My favorite writers include Alice Hoffman, Janet Fitch, Donna Tarte, and

Aimee Bender. Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm were also good.

Website | Blog | Twitter |Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
NOBLE NOVEMBER: Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie AllenderMarie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Allender
Published by Scholastic Press on September 24, 2013
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Colette Iselin is excited to go to Paris on a class trip. She’ll get to soak up the beauty and culture, and maybe even learn something about her family’s French roots.

But a series of gruesome murders are taking place across the city, putting everyone on edge. And as she tours museums and palaces, Colette keeps seeing a strange vision: a pale woman in a ball gown and powdered wig, who looks suspiciously like Marie Antoinette.

Colette knows her popular, status-obsessed friends won’t believe her, so she seeks out the help of a charming French boy. Together, they uncover a shocking secret involving a dark, hidden history. When Colette realizes she herself may hold the key to the mystery, her own life is suddenly in danger . . .

Acclaimed author Katie Alender brings heart-stopping suspense to this story of revenge, betrayal, intrigue — and one killer queen.

 

 

 

 

Let them eat cake….. AND DIE!!!
  [sc_embed_player fileurl=”http://mereadalot.com/muzak/02%20-%20Heads%20Will%20Roll.mp3″] (marie eat cake

I’m a die-hard Marie Antoinette fan (pun intended), and when I saw this book it was like a Parisian pastry calling to me from behind a shiny window display. I’ve read most of the heavy and historical stuff about Marie , so I was ready to eat up this fluffy-looking  fictitious spin on her legacy. Katie Allender successfully transported me to Paris on a pink, cotton-candy cloud of adventure, history, intrigue and romance.

The Eiffel Tower

Colette has had a rough year, and her French class school trip to Paris is a twinkling-light at the end of a dark tunnel. After her parent’s divorce, she’s had to downsize her life to the bare necessities, and she doesn’t want her two best friends to find out she’s been ”slumming it” in a small apartment and wearing thrift-store chic clothes.

While gathering the things she needs for her trip, Colette stumbles upon a unique family artifact. French blood runs on Colette’s paternal side of the family, and the boxed up mementos she finds have a distinctly French-feel to them. Especially the antique key that catches her eye amongst the boxed memories. Deciding it will give some je nais se qua to her trip attire, she decides to add it to her wardrobe as a necklace. Little does Colette know, this key will unlock a centuries old mystery and attract the very spectre of MARIE ANTOINETTE.

skeletonkey7

Heads roll like Parisian macaroons in this story, as a vengeful Maria Antoinette follows bloodlines straight to Colette. A fantastic and creepy tale takes shape as Colette makes her way through palaces and museums that Marie Antoinette herself used to inhabit. It seems destiny brought her on this trip to Paris, and also led her to a boy named Jules. He’s the handsome and sweet-as-caramel tour guide that is assigned to her group. He proves to be helpful to Colette in more ways than one, and the sweet-n-low romance that develops between them while Colette is trying to figure out her part in Marie’s rampage of revenge, gives this story just the right amount of saccharine.

Laduree Bakery

Katie Allender is the Sofia Coppola of historical fiction. Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer was a sumptuous lollipop for my brain. It appealed to all my senses, and has all the charm of a Parisian street at sunset. Katie’s clever creation of the Order of the Key was both believable, and exquisitely entertaining. Her detailed descriptions of Paris, and the historical figures and gowns in this novel were a visual treat. This story was fun like Mean Girls or Pretty Little Liars, and it hit the spot. This novel was like a pink velvet cake, with creamy, buttery icing. I couldn’t put it down. I wanted to EAT IT. This is the perfect fast, fun read you need for your holiday break. Treat yourself, and go pick up a copy. I know you’re dying to find out what the Order of the Key is…..I’m ending my review here because now I’m hungry for pastries. Adieu!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star