Book Review: Stay With Me by J. Lynn (Blog Tour)

Book Review: Stay With Me by J. Lynn (Blog Tour)Stay With Me by J. Lynn
Series: Wait For You #3
Published by William Morrow on September 23rd, 2014
Pages: 448
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

At 21, Calla hasn't done a lot of things. She’s never been kissed, never seen the ocean, never gone to an amusement park. But growing up, she witnessed some things no child ever should. She still carries the physical and emotional scars of living with a strung-out mother, Mona—secrets she keeps from everyone, including her close circle of college friends.

But the safe cocoon Calla has carefully built is shattered when she discovers her mom has stolen her college money and run up a huge credit card debt in her name. Now, Calla has to go back to the small town she thought shed left behind and clean up her mom’s mess again. Of course, when she arrives at her mother’s bar, Mona is nowhere to be found. Instead, six feet of hotness named Jackson James is pouring drinks and keeping the place humming.

Sexy and intense, Jax is in Calla’s business from they moment they meet, giving her a job and helping her search for Mona. And the way he looks at her makes it clear he wants to get horizontal . . . and maybe something more. Before Calla can let him get close, though, she’s got to deal with the pain of the past—and some very bad guys out to mess her up if she doesn't give them her mom.

Stay With Me is another amazing book from one of our favorite authors Jennifer L. Armentrout. Book 3 in her new adult series WAIT FOR YOU, Stay With Me follows Teresa Hamilton’s friend Calla as she tries to put her life back together after discovering that her mother has stolen her college money and racked up a massive amount of debt in Calla’s name.
While the book starts out at the College and town where Wait For You and Be With Me take place in, the story leaves there and goes to Calla’s hometown outside of Philly.

Calla has escaped a strung out mother and memories of a tragedy that has left Calla scarred both physically and emotionally with plans to make for a better life for herself. When it comes time to pay for her next semester in school she discovers that the money in her college fund is missing. Not only that, but someone has racked up a huge credit card debt in her name. When Calla can’t get a hold of the person who is responsible for this, her mother, she goes back to her hometown to try and find out what’s going on.

Entering Plymouth Meeting, her hometown, Calla goes straight to the one place where her mother should be. Only to find a hot bartender who gives Jase a run for his money as lieutenant of the Hot Guy Brigade. Which is what she calls the guys (Cam, Jase, Ollie, etc..) in her circle of friends.

Jax is a hot guy ex-marine, who spends his nights tending bar and has his own flaws. I think he makes the perfect, or not so perfect, match for Calla. I really enjoyed Jax a lot. He was a lot different from Cam and Jase.. The only thing that bothered me about Jax is the way he handled the Aimee situation… it was a serious ‘DUH!’ moment..and he should’ve realized that he was handling it all wrong. Other than that he was great with Calla.

I loved meeting Katie and Roxy. You never knew what was going to come out of Katie’s mouth. I hope that we see more of her in the future as well as Roxy, there’s definitely a story to Roxy and I do believe we will be getting behind her next. I can’t wait!!

Poor Calla, she’s had so much heartbreak in her life and really no one to share it with. She’s afraid to tell her friends about her past. She’s so independent until one day she’s not..and on top of that she’s never really LIVED her life. She has so much to experience and I find that maybe her mother screwing her over financially may have been the best thing to happen to her. She learns to trust her friends and open up to them..and she finds some one who helps her experience the things she’s been missing out on. 😉

I really enjoyed this book, it was a bit different from the last two books in the series.. It was a lot more suspenseful and I really liked that about this book. It also had a cameo from some of JLA’s other characters and I’m not talking about the characters from the Wait For You series, because they’re a given..you shall see. 😉

Thanks to the publisher for allowing me to read and review this book! I look forward to the next book in the series, Fall with Me, which the cover for will be revealed next month so look out for it!!

 

The Wait For You Series by J. Lynn

wait-for-you trustinyou bewithme

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Be with Me by J. LynnBe with Me by J. Lynn
Series: Wait for You #2
Published by Harper Collins on February 4, 2014
Pages: 299
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Teresa Hamilton is having a rough year—she’s in love with her big brother’s best friend, but he hasn’t spoken to her since they shared a truly amazing, mind-blowing, change-your-life kiss. She got out of a terrible relationship. And now an injury is threatening to end her dance career for good. It’s time for Plan B – college. And maybe a chance to convince Jase that what they have together is real.

Jase Winstead has a huge secret that he’s not telling anyone. Especially not his best friend’s incredibly beautiful sister. Even though he and Teresa shared the hottest kiss of his life, he knows that his responsibilities must take priority. He certainly doesn’t have time for a relationship. But it doesn’t help that all he can think about kissing the one girl who could ruin everything for him.

As they’re thrown together more and more, Jase and Tess can’t keep denying their feelings for each other. But a familiar danger looms and tragedy strikes. As the campus recovers, the star-crossed couple must decide what they’re willing to risk to be together, and what they’re willing to lose if they’re not…

review

My thoughts…

I enjoyed this story for the most part. There were a few minors things that I didn’t care for, but overall I enjoyed it. I found the plot to be intriguing and I couldn’t wait to get started reading it. Once I got started I couldn’t put it down. I was able to read it in a day which is pretty fast for me.

I loved both main characters. Jase & Teresa were secondary characters in book one. Jase is one of Cam’s best friends, and Teresa is Cam’s little sister. (for those of you who haven’t read the first book, Cam is the hero in book one) I was happy to hear they were getting their own book.

There were times while reading it that I found things to be predictable. That didn’t take away from the story though. There are a few twists and turns that keep this one really interesting. It held my attention until the very end.

Jase ticked me off a few times. I’m not going to lie. At times I was hoping someone would smack him upside the head. In the end though he straightened out. 🙂

Overall, I enjoyed this one. I think it’s a great addition to the series. Up next is book three which is entitled Stay with Me. It’s Calla’s book. She’s a secondary character in Be with Me.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Review: Be With Me by J. Lynn (@JLArmentrout)Be With Me by J. Lynn
Series: Wait For You #2
Published by HarperCollins, William Morrow on February 4th, 2014
Pages: 299
Format: eARC
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Teresa Hamilton is having a rough year—she’s in love with her big brother’s best friend, but he hasn’t spoken to her since they shared a truly amazing, mind-blowing, change-your-life kiss. She got out of a terrible relationship. And now an injury is threatening to end her dance career for good. It’s time for Plan B – college. And maybe a chance to convince Jase that what they have together is real.

Jase Winstead has a huge secret that he’s not telling anyone. Especially not his best friend’s incredibly beautiful sister. Even though he and Teresa shared the hottest kiss of his life, he knows that his responsibilities must take priority. He certainly doesn’t have time for a relationship. But it doesn’t help that all he can think about kissing the one girl who could ruin everything for him.

As they’re thrown together more and more, Jase and Tess can’t keep denying their feelings for each other. But a familiar danger looms and tragedy strikes. As the campus recovers, the star-crossed couple must decide what they’re willing to risk to be together, and what they’re willing to lose if they’re not…

I have yet to read a book written by Jennifer L. Armentrout that I haven’t loved. Be With Me is no exception.
This book is about Teresa Hamilton, who we met in Wait For You. At the start of the book she’s starting her freshman year while she’s recovering from an torn ACL. She’s working on Plan B, while she waits for her body to heal so she can go back to her dancing. For the last so many years she’s been secretly crushing on her brother’s best friend,  Jase Winstead. A year ago they kissed..once..and since then they’ve pretty much been ignoring each other.. Until now. 😉

Now that Tess is going to college while she heals from her injury, she’s “reconnected” with Jase. Tess keeps getting hot and cold signals from Jase. One minute he wants her, the next he’s pushing her away. He’s hiding something from her, from everyone. It seemed obvious to me as to what was keeping him from having  a relationship with Tess, but when he finally opened up and talked to Teresa, I was totally shocked to see my theory was right.

On top of Tess having to deal with indecisive Jase, she’s having to deal with problems with her roommate. If you’ve read Wait For You, you  have an idea as to what Teresa has already endured in the past..but now we’re hearing it from HER point of view and we’re seeing her witness her roommate go through the same predicament.. Teresa uses what she’s learned from her past experiences and she attempts to stand up for her roommate… and boy..Jenn threw us a serious curve ball, because what happened with that entire situation, HOLY CRAP I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING!! Wow. That was, I have no words for it… Insane. 

Cam and Avery, I LOVE THEM. I WANT MORE FROM THEM. You see them quite a bit in this book and they’re just as amazing as secondary characters as they were as the main characters. Though I would kill to get some more one-on-one time with them, especially if Cam is ever successful in his current endeavors. Ha.

Jack, Jase’s little brother, was absolutely adorable! And Jase was sooooooo good with him. I loved seeing Jase with his little brother.

While I think the story started out a bit slow, it finally got up to speed and from there I really enjoyed it.  Jenn gave us some some predictable and some NOT-SO-PREDICTABLE twists in this story. I can’t wait to see what she has in store for us with the next book, Stay With Me!

 

The Wait For You Series by J. Lynn

wait-for-you trustinyou bewithme

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: Trust in Me by J. LynnTrust in Me by J. Lynn
Series: Wait for You #1.5
Published by William Morrow Impulse on October 22, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

It's Wait for You as you've never seen it. Trust in Me lets you in on Cam's side of the #1 New York Times bestselling story.

Cameron Hamilton is used to getting what he wants, especially when it comes to women. But when Avery Morgansten comes crashing into his life—literally—he finally meets the one person who can resist his soulful baby blues. But Cam's not ready to give up. He can't get the feisty and intriguing girl out of his head.

Avery has secrets, secrets that keep her from admitting the feelings Cam knows she has for him. Will persistence (and some delicious homemade cookies) help him break down her barriers and gain her trust? Or will he be shut out of Avery's life, losing his first real shot at the kind of love that lasts forever?

My thoughts…

I absolutely loved Wait for You (book one) and Cameron. So when Trust in Me was announced I couldn’t wait to read it and get Cam’s POV on how things played out between both him and Avery. Some readers aren’t a fan of authors writing subsequent books or novellas from the heroes POV. I happen to enjoy it. It’s interesting to experience things from the heroes perspective.

Cameron. He is perfect. Well, at first he’s described as a ladies man, but I didn’t really get that vibe from him. It was hinted at, but there just wasn’t anything there to back it up. Not only is he hot, but he also bakes. *swoon*

There were a couple times tears came to my eyes. Even though I read the first book I still wanted to cry when things looked bleak.

The sexual scenes. There weren’t many of them. I can understand why. The fact that they were limited didn’t take away from the story at all.

Overall, I think Ms Lynn did a great job writing this novella. Next up is Teresa & Jase’s book. I cannot wait to read it. It’s going to be so good. If you’re a fan of new adult contemporary romance I highly suggest this series.

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY
a Rafflecopter giveaway
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Book Review: Unchained by J. LynnUnchained by J. Lynn, Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Nephilim Rising #1
Published by Entangled Edge on September 17th, 2013
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Between the pissed off creatures that want demon-hunter Lily Marks dead and the fallen angel who just...wants her, Lily is about ready to trade in forever for a comfy job in a cubicle farm.

The fact that she and Julian are civil to one another is enough to have her thrown out of the Sanctuary, but she can't shake her not-so-angelic stalker or how he brings her dangerously close to ecstasy.

Her forbidden relationship with Julian provides the perfect fuel for suspicion when a traitor is discovered to be working within the Sanctuary. Lily quickly finds herself hunted by well, everyone.

Her only hope is to discover the real traitor before she loses everything--and she'll need Julian's help. That is, if Julian is really there to help her...and not destroy her.

Yeah, being a Nephilim isn't everything it's cracked up to be.

This book started out slow for me. It took a while for me to warm up to Lily, but eventually I got there. Like other female characters of JLA’s, Lily was full of some good snark and I think that is what finally got me. Lily is one kick-ass girl who hardly ever gets into a situation that she can’t get herself out of. Though, that doesn’t mean she doesn’t have a guardian angel looking out for (stalking) her. Enter Julian, an absolutely swoon-worthy fallen angel who just can’t seem to stay away from Lily. JLA sure knows how to write them swoony hot boys and Julian is no different. That man is one HOT angel. The things he says to Lily, oh boy, and the chemistry between the two of them is absolutely sinful.
I read in another review that the reviewer found his stalking “a little creepy.” Hey guys, He didn’t watch her sleep at night, at least not to our knowledge. Hah.

A 30 something cop and undetected Nephilim, Michael, is discovered by Lily in the book. No one understands why he went undetected, but it makes you wonder if he plays an important part in the bigger picture.

This book had some absolutely smoldering smexy times in it, which is to be expected in a J. Lynn book. I had to fan myself a few times. Like I said before, the chemistry between Julian and Lily was sinful, and when she finally gave into Julian, the sexy times were even more…WOW. I can’t even think of a good word to explain how hot they were. 🙂

After Lily finally won me over, I really started to enjoy this book. I cannot wait to see what happens in the next book with Lily and Julian, as well as learn more about where Michael came from and why.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Wait for You by J. LynnWait for You by J. Lynn
Series: Wait for You #1
Published by Self Published on February 26, 2013
Pages: 332
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Some things are worth waiting for…

Traveling thousands of miles from home to enter college is the only way nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten can escape what happened at the Halloween party five years ago—an event that forever changed her life. All she needs to do is make it to her classes on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe—please God—make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself.

Some things are worth experiencing…

Cameron Hamilton is six feet and three inches of swoon-worthy hotness, complete with a pair of striking blue eyes and a remarkable ability to make her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere, with his charm, his witty banter, and that damn dimple that’s just so… so lickable. Getting involved with him is dangerous, but when ignoring the simmering tension that sparks whenever they are around each other becomes impossible, he brings out a side of her she never knew existed.

Some things should never be kept quiet…

But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she’s has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her or will he be dragged down with her?

And some things are worth fighting for…

My thoughts…

I love New Adult. And I loved this one. The characters were really interesting and I loved getting to know them.

Avery. I liked her. She’s running from a past that isn’t quite explained until the end. I sort of figured out what it is based on the hints that are given throughout the story though. I didn’t however like her parents. They seemed anything but loving.

Cam. *swoon* He is awesome and definitely swoon worthy. At the beginning he sort of has a rep as a player, but I didn’t see that in him. Sure he had a girl that he would hook up with from time to time in the past, but it wasn’t something that played a big role in this story.

Wait for You is a really funny read. The playful banter between Cam and Avery kept me laughing the entire time while reading it. Cam sort of has a high opinion of himself, but not in a way that is conceited. Most of the ways he refers to himself are in playful sense and I couldn’t laugh.

There is a little bit of a suspense element. Avery receives text and email messages that are from an unknown person. They refer to Avery as a whore, etc. You’ll find out who’s behind them towards the end. I can say that I found it odd that she would just ignore the messages and not do anything about them. If it was me I would want to know right away who was behind them.

The sexual content is pretty hot and the scenes are well written.

Overall I loved this one. It’s a great read and I’m happy I gave it a chance. There are going to be more stories in this series. After checking goodreads it looks like Cam’s sister Teresa and Cam’s best friend Jase’s story is next.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Review: Frigid by J. LynnFrigid by J. Lynn
Published by Spencer Hill on July 15, 2013
Pages: 240
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn't anything new. They'd been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the 'man' in man-whore. He's never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn't want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she's perfect and she's everything. But the feelings he has for her, he's always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they're stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor'easter, there's nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.

My thoughts…

What a great contemporary story. I really liked this one.

It goes something like this…

Kyler and Sydney have been friends since childhood. Both of them are in love with each other, but neither has a clue that the other feels the same way.

I loved Sydney from the beginning. Even though she’s deeply in love with Kyler, she keeps her feelings to herself because she knows he’s a player and doesn’t want to risk losing their friendship.

Kyler’s a pretty interesting guy. He’s described as having an athletic body. He’s sporting a well defined 8 pack and makes Sydney swoon like no other guy has. He’s in love with Sydney, but he doesn’t feel like he’s good enough for her so it loses himself in any willing female night after night.

From the beginning Kyler is very territorial where Syd is concerned. He doesn’t want any guy in the general vicinity of her and tries his best to make sure she doesn’t hook up with any guy. He on the other hand is a man whore.

It seems like I’ve read similar stories along these lines. You know where the hero and heroine have been best friends since they were kids. How they each are into each other but don’t have the balls to tell the other. And even though I’ve read stories similar to this one in the past I really did enjoy Kyler & Sydney’s story. The author adds a suspense element to the story that makes it even more interesting.

Frigid was a really quick read for me. I was able to read it within one day and it kept my attention from the beginning until the very end. I didn’t find myself skimming through the pages.

There is going to be a companion book next. I’m *hoping* it’s Andrea and Tanner’s story. Those two are interesting secondary characters and I’d like to read their story, but I don’t know for sure whose story it will be since the blurb hasn’t been released yet.  🙁

If you’re a fan of new adult contemporary romance then Frigid’s should be right up your alley

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About J. Lynn

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.