The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas (Review & Giveaway)The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas
on September 6th, 2016
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE THIS MAN TRILOGY ANDONE NIGHT TRILOGY!

People think they have Camille Logan nailed: daddy's girl; beautiful, spoiled young woman with her father's bank balance to fund her lifestyle. But Camille is determined to have a life free from his strings. Out on her own, she's made mistakes, including one that found her clawing her way back after a stint in rehab and plenty of bad press. Now, after fighting so hard to be independent and happy, she finds her life threatened as a result of her father's ruthless business dealings. Caught between resentment and fear, Camille prepares herself for the measures her father will take to protect her. But nothing could prepare her for the ex-SAS sniper who crashes into her life.

Jake Sharp resides in his own personal hell. He was distracted from duty once before, and the consequences were devastating--both personally and professionally. He vowed never to let that happen again. Accepting the job of bodyguard to Camille Logan isn't the kind of distraction from his demons he should take. Women and Jake don't mix well, yet protecting the heiress seems the lesser of two evils. But Jake soon discovers that she isn't the woman she's perceived to be. She's warm, compassionate, her presence settling, and his duty to protect her soon goes deeper than a well-paid job, no matter how hard he fights it. He needs absolution. He comes to need Camille. But he knows he can't have both.

 

Book Trailer

 

 

Review

Oh. my. GOD. This is another masterpiece from Jodi Ellen Malpas. If you love a Tall, Dark and Moody hero then Jake Sharp is the Book Boyfriend for you.

Jake Sharp has serious demons and he lives with them every day. The only ways that help him keep them at bay is drinking, sex and work. When a job comes in to guard the daughter of a rich business man he’s reluctant to take it at first glance. What he’s expecting is a rich spoiled girl brat, but it isn’t what he gets.

Camille Logan is a smart, independent woman who is determined to make a name for herself without the help of her father.

The moment the two of them meet in the story the chemistry is there and it builds up quite nicely throughout the story. I really enjoyed getting to know the two of them. Jake’s backstory is quite heartbreaking and I definitely didn’t expect for it to turn out the way it did. But in the end it works out quite nicely and it will definitely bring a tear or two to your eyes. It was a very sweet ending.

The Protector is a standalone novel, unlike Jodi’s previous work, and I’m quite sad that we won’t get to spend any more time with Jake and Camille. Who knows? Maybe in the future she’ll re-visit them again. We’ll see…

Jodi definitely knows how to write a Swoony-worthy guy and if you love Jesse and Miller, you’ll LOVE JAKE. Read this book now! If you haven’t read Jodi’s previous series This Man or One Night, you should DEFINITELY check those out as well. 🙂

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

Blog Tour: One Night: Unveiled by Jodi Ellen Malpas

Blog Tour: One Night: Unveiled by Jodi Ellen MalpasOne Night: Unveiled by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Series: The One Night Trilogy #3
Published by Grand Central Publishing on February 10th, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A life without secrets and a passion without end . . .The story of Livy and M's passionate love affair comes to a stunning conclusion in the final book in the One Night trilogy!

Livy has never known pure desire like this. The gorgeous Miller Hart captivates her, seduces her, and worships her in deliciously sinful ways. He knows her innermost thoughts, drawing her ever deeper into his dangerous world.

Miller will do anything to keep Livy safe, even if it means risking his own life. But his dark history isn't the only thing that threatens their future together. As the truth of Livy's family legacy unravels, an unsettling parallel between past and present comes to light. Her world spinning out of control, Livy finds herself caught between the rapture of an all-consuming love-and a deadly obsession that could destroy them both . . .

miller-time

 

I loved this book so much more than the last book. This book starts out a few days after the last one ends. Olivia and Miller are in New York trying to escape from everything happening in London. It doesn’t take long for something to happen causing them to have to go back to London and face everything.

Miller’s trying find a way out of his profession and Olivia’s mother comes back from the dead. Turns out she’s been alive all this time.. Huh. You won’t believe the story behind that. It’s insane! I also would like to point out my suspicions throughout the last two books were RIGHT! Though at first they were so very wrong. 😉 I won’t even say what I’m talking about, but when you finish this book you’ll know exactly what I’m referring to. 😀  The twists & turns in this story are crazy..including what we finally learn about Miller and his boss….I didn’t see any of that coming and it sure did surprise me!

Miller is imperfectly perfect as always… and Olivia, sometimes I wanted to smack her for being such a brat… But that’s what I pretty much expect with all female characters these days. They’re all so stubborn and never do what is best for them..

Nan, we can’t forget about her. She was just as amazing in this book as she has been in the last two books. I’m sad I won’t get to see her or Miller any more after this. 🙁

Now let’s get to that Epilogue. It is written from Miller’s POV and it’s quite long and very sweet. I really loved meeting Harry and learning about his quirks. It was a beautifully written epilogue and a great way to end the story. I’m so glad that EVERYONE got a happily ever after in this story. 😉

I can’t wait to see what JEM will bring in the future.

 

Erin's Review
Erin’s Review
Erin's Review
Erin’s Review

 

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas (It’s MILLER TIME!)

One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas (It’s MILLER TIME!)One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Series: The One Night Trilogy #2
Published by Forever, Grand Central Publishing on November 11th, 2014
Pages: 448
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The passion that burned between Livy and Miller in One Night: Promised may end up destroying them both in this new novel of overwhelming desire and shocking discoveries...

He's amazingly wealthy, sinfully gorgeous, and can bring her to heights of pleasure she's never before known. For Livy, there's no turning back. She's determined to be the light in Miller Hart's dark world. Yet this new life comes with a steep price...

Miller knows that the power he possesses hasn't come without sacrifices-but he won't let Livy be one of them. Though he wants nothing more than to have her in every way, his first duty is to protect her at all costs...from his sins, his enemies, and especially himself.

But as their insatiable affair intensifies, the two attract the attention of an obsessive-and dangerous-third party. Discovering new revelations about Miller that rock her to the core, Livy will have to decide whether he's ruined beyond repair. And he must face his fear that in order to save her, he may have to lose her after all...

miller-time

 

Miller’s name always makes me think of the  “It’s Miller Time” slogan by Miller Beer, so this review will be now called “It’s Miller <3 Time!” Because..well, it is Miller time.

Raise your hands if you love Miller Hart!

hand-raise

 

 

First off, I’ve read a few other reviews on this book. Some things I agree with while some others I don’t.

First, there was some weird editing in this book.
For example, The end of chapter 10/beginning of chapter 11. Did Scotty beam her there? How did she go from Miller’s apartment to being inside of a hotel room. Also, how did she manage to get that specific hotel room? That just totally confused the hell out of me when I read it.

Why is everyone hating on Miller and his “Thing?”

I think it’s adorable. Olivia is the first person in his life he’s allowed to get close to him in that way and so of course it’s going to be an addiction, A THING, that he’ll want. Did anyone get tired of Jesse wanting to “Make Friends” because that was totally his “THING”. I think Miller’s “thing” is JEM just making him more adorable. Just like I thought Jesse and his “making friends” was adorable.

Shut up and let Miller have his "Thing!" It's awwwwwdorable.
Shut up and let Miller have his “Thing!” It’s awwwwwdorable.

 

I enjoyed the first book of this series immensely.  This one I found not to be as good as the first book. Doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, I did..but I think this one seems more like just a filler between Promised and Unveiled.  Not a whole lot happens in this book, with the exception of the last 20% or so. That was when the story started to get a bit more interesting. Yeah, we do learn a little more about Miller and his past, but not a whole lot. Livy was given the chance to talk to Miller and ask him anything but she didn’t do a good job of playing the twenty questions game. Unfortunately she really didn’t ask him any good important questions.

We do see a lot more of William in this book. View Spoiler » Livy takes advantage of William popping up everywhere and learns more about him and his relationship with her Mother in this book.

Livy and Gregory’s relationship is all sorts of FUCKED UP in this book. Some weird shit goes down between Gregory and Livy that honestly I don’t think should have. They both seemed to turn into completely different people at times..and that one scene between them View Spoiler »  was just… odd.

I have to say that while I love Miller, I think that maybe Livy’s Nan had the best quotes in the whole book! I seriously love her Nan. She’s absolutely hilarious.

“I’m no spring chicken, but I can still bump and grind with the best of ’em.”

“I might audition for Beyonce’s next music video. Think I’ll rock it?”

And the scene when Nan is collecting laundry…..

KOCOyHyFA9

 

*Sigh*
And that ending….

cliffhanger

Wow, I didn’t expect that. I can’t wait to see what happens in Unveiled!

While it wasn’t as good as Promised, this book was still an enjoyable read. It could’ve been better..but.. eh, I think it did set us up well for the third and final book. I hope that JEM will blow us away with Unveiled!!

Some of my favorite quotes…

 “Forget the world outside and be with me for ever.” “You’ve underestimated my determination to fix us.”
 “The second I looked at you, I saw light through my constant darkness.”

 “I’ve never made love to a woman in my life.” I barely hear his words. “Only you.”

 “I’m your someone. Everyone has a someone, and I’m yours, like you are mine.”

 “You fit me just right,” he groans, slowly closing his eyes. “The only thing in my life that has ever been truly perfect is you.”

“I love your bones Miller Hart.”

“What’s the most resilient part of you?”
“My heart, Livy. My heart is the most resilient part of me.”

Excerpt

I know I look out of place as I stand near the gym entrance, clearly hesitant, and looking a little overwhelmed. All the machines look like spaceships, hundreds of buttons or levers on each one, and I haven’t the first idea how to operate them. My one-hour induction last week did a great job of distracting me, but the information and instructions fell straight from my memory the second I left the exclusive fitness center. I scan the area, fiddling with my ring, seeing masses of men and women pounding the treadmills, going hell for leather on the bikes and pumping weights on huge lifting devices. They all look like they know exactly what they’re doing.
In an attempt to blend in, I make my way over to the water machine and gulp down a cup of ice water. I’m wasting time being hesitant when I could be releasing some stress and anger. I spot a punching bag hanging in the far corner with no one within ten meters of it, so I decide to give it a try. There are no buttons or levers on that.
I help myself to the boxing gloves hanging on the wall nearby. After securing the Velcro, I give the bag a little poke. I’m surprised at how heavy it is. I inject some power into my weak arm and throw some effort into my next hit. I grunt too, and the bag shifts significantly this time, moving away from me and seeming to pause in midair before it’s on its way back toward me. Fast. I panic and quickly pull back my fist, then extend my arm to prevent being knocked to the ground. Shockwaves fly up my arm when my glove connects with the bag, but it’s moving away from me again. I smile and spread my legs a little, bracing myself for its return, then smack it hard again, sending it sailing away from me.
My arm is aching already and I suddenly realize I have two gloved hands so I pummel it with my left this time, smiling wider, the impact of the bag on my fists feeling good. I’m breaking out in a sweat, my feet are beginning to shift and my arms getting into a rhythm. My shouts of satisfaction spur me on and the bag morphs into more than a bag. I’m beating the shit out of it and loving every moment.
I don’t know how long I’m there, but when I finally let up and take a moment to think, I’m drenched, my knuckles are sore and my breathing erratic. I catch the bag and let it settle, then take a cautious glance around the gym. No one is staring. I’ve gone totally unnoticed, everyone focused on their own workout. I smile to myself and collect a cup of water and a towel from the nearby shelf, wiping my brow as I make my way from the huge room. For the first time in weeks, I feel prepared to take the day on.
I head toward the changing rooms, feeling like a lifetime of stress and woes have just been knocked out of me. The urge to go back in and pound for another hour is hard to resist, but I’m already at risk of being late for work so I push on, thinking this could get addictive. I’ll be back tomorrow morning, maybe even after work today, and I’ll thrash that bag until there are no more traces of Miller Hart and the pain he’s caused me.
I pass door after door, all with glass panes, and peek into each class that’s in session—yoga, spinning, kickboxing. I might try one or two. Or I could give them all a go.
As I’m passing the final door before the women’s changing rooms, something catches my eye. It’s a punching bag swinging from the ceiling hook, but no one’s in sight. I step closer to the door, then gasp and jump back as someone comes into view, bare chested and barefoot. I feel dizzy.
He has those shorts on, the ones he wore when he was trying to make me comfortable. I’m shaking, but my shock doesn’t stop me from peering back through the glass, just to check I wasn’t hallucinating. I wasn’t. He’s here, his ripped physique mesmerizing. He looks violent as he attacks the hanging bag like it’s a threat to his life, punishing it with powerful punches and even more powerful kicks. His body weaves and dodges the bag when it comes back at him. He looks like a pro. He looks like a fighter.
I’m frozen on the spot as I watch Miller move around the hanging bag with ease, his fists wrapped in some kind of bandages, his limbs delivering controlled, punishing blows time and time again. Who does he see before him?
My mind spins, questions mounting, as I quietly observe the refined, well-mannered, part-time gentleman become a man possessed, that temper he has warned me about clear and present. But then I retreat a pace when he suddenly grabs the bag with both hands and rests his forehead on the leather, his body falling into the now subtle sway of the punching bag. His back is dripping and heaving, and I see his solid shoulders rise suddenly. Then he begins to turn toward the door. It happens in slow motion. I’m rooted in place as his chest, slicked with a sheen of sweat, comes into view and my eyes slowly crawl up his torso until I see his side profile. He knows he’s being watched.

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Discussion

I read in an interview with JEM that she doesn’t disclose her character muses (boo!) which means we have to cast her characters ourselves.
Who do you guys picture as Miller Hart? What about Livy?

Honestly I haven’t visually cast anybody as Livy, but I do sort of picture maybe a younger version of Jonathan Rhys Meyer as Miller Hart. Of course not when he’s doing his bug eyes. He tends to do that in photos sometimes. Hahaha.

Jonathan-Rhys-Meyers

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: What If by Rebecca DonovanWhat If by Rebecca Donovan
Published by Grand Central Publishing on September 16, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

What if you had a second chance to meet someone for the first time?

Cal Logan is shocked to see Nicole Bentley sitting across from him at a coffee shop thousands of miles from their hometown. After all, no one has seen or heard from her since they graduated over a year ago.

Except this girl isn't Nicole.

She looks exactly like Cal's shy childhood crush, but her name is Nyelle Preston and she has no idea who he is. This girl is impulsive and daring, her passion for life infectious. The complete opposite of Nicole. Cal finds himself utterly fascinated-and falling hard. But Nyelle is also extremely secretive. And the closer he comes to finding out what she's hiding, the less he wants to know.

When the secrets from the past and present collide, one thing becomes clear: Nothing is what it seems.

review

My thoughts…

Wow! What If is unlike any other book I’ve read before. It’s beautifully written and masterfully crafted. There are so many layers to this story. It is told from multiple POVs. It engages the reader to really focus on what’s happening not only in present day, but several years back when these characters were four best friends growing up.

I’m finding that writing a review for this book a bit challenging. It would be so easy to give away spoilers without meaning too. So I’m going to just stick with the basics.

The four friends this book revolves around are unique. Each are an integral part to the story. I loved slipping into their world and getting to know them. Ms Donovan did a excellent job with character and story development. I really felt connected to the story and it’s characters.

As I mentioned before, there are multiple layers that make up this story. Each layer is a piece of the overall puzzle. I found myself trying to figure this story out the whole time I was reading it. Every time I thought I might have it figured out something would happen and the story would take another turn. I loved this about the story! It kept me intrigued and kept me turning the page.

Overall, I really loved What If and how it ended! It made me experience so many emotions while I was reading it. It made me think about how I would act if faced with similar situations. It also made me ask myself “What If?”

And finally, it reminded me of how much I love being a reader!!! Of how much respect I have for authors who not only pour so much of themselves into creating stories, but also for the time often spent away from their families in order to bring us readers hours of entertainment.

So to Ms Donovan I say “Thank You.” You nailed it girlie!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Mini Book Review: Perfect Kind of Trouble by Chelsea FinePerfect Kind of Trouble by Chelsea Fine
Series: Finding Fate #2
Published by Forever, Grand Central Publishing on June 17th, 2014
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Sometimes when perfect falls apart, a little trouble fixes everything . . . 

Twenty-one-year-old Kayla Turner has lost everything. After spending most of her life taking care of her ailing mother, she just wants to spot a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. So when her late father-a man she barely knew-leaves her an inheritance, she finally breathes a sigh of relief . . . until she learns the inheritance comes with strings. Strings in the form of handsome playboy Daren Ackwood, her father's protégé. To see any of her inheritance, she's forced to team up with him. From his expensive car to those sexy dimples, Kayla's seen his type before. But Daren isn't who he seems to be . . .

Struggling to make amends for his family's mistakes, Daren has a life more Oliver Twist than Richie Rich these days. He's beyond grateful that James Turner included him in his will, but working with Turner's princess of a daughter to fulfill his cryptic last wish is making Daren wonder if being broke is really so bad. Still, she's just as beautiful as she is stubborn, and the more time he spends with Kayla, the less it feels right being without her. Soon Daren and Kayla begin to wonder if maybe the best gift Kayla's dad could have left them . . . was each other.

Boy. This book gave me some serious feels at 5am. I stayed up reading this book until almost 7am..oops. It’s obvious that I enjoyed this book if I couldn’t be bothered to notice the sun was rising right in front of my face. This book is a dual POV and I really enjoyed reading the story from both characters, Kayla and Daren’s, in this book. You watch them really evolve over a 3 day period and learn that there is more to themselves than a pretty face and sexual prowess. Yes, this book is pretty much instalove..but..given the circumstances the two main characters find themselves in, it was a given.

OH. MY. GOD.

I am just now finding out this book is #2 in a series. WOW. I didn’t even realize..well that’s another good thing about this book. It’s obvious you don’t need to read the first one, Best Kind of Broken, to jump right in to this one. Kudos to the author for that! 😉 (You know what’s really bad? I just realized that Regina had signed us up for the RDL of the first one and there’s a blog post for it in our archives. LOL!!)

Anyways, yes I really liked this book and I’m going to go check out the first one in this series now. 😉 I think you should too!

View Spoiler »
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Chelsea Fine

Chelsea lives in Phoenix, Arizona where she spends most of her time writing stories, painting murals, and avoiding housework at all costs. She’s ridiculously bad at doing dishes and claims to be allergic to laundry. Her obsessions include: superheroes, coffee, sleeping-in, and crazy socks. She lives with her husband and two children, who graciously tolerate her inability to resist teenage drama on TV and her complete lack of skill in the kitchen.

Mini Review: Kaleidoscope by Kristen AshleyKaleidocope by Kristen Ashley
Series: Colorado Mountain #6
Published by Forever, Grand Central Publishing on February 4th, 2014
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne Star

Sexy, gifted, and loyal, PI Jacob Decker is a tall, cool drink of perfection who had Emmanuelle Holmes at "hello." His relationship with Emme's best friend kept them apart for years, but things have changed. Now that a case has brought him to Gnaw Bone, Colorado, the road is wide open for Emme and Deck to explore something hotter and deeper than Emme dreamed possible. So why is she sabotaging the best thing that's ever happened to her?

It isn't easy to catch Deck off guard, but Emme does just that when she walks back into his life after nine long years. The curvy brunette had her charms back in the day, but now she's a bona fide knockout . . . and she wants to rekindle their friendship. Deck, however, wants more. Emme's always been the one; she excites Deck's body and mind like no other woman can. But a dark chapter from Emme's past overshadows their future together. Now only Deck can help her turn the page-if she'll let him . . .

I think it’s time to put the Colorado Mountain series to bed, because Jagged and Kaleidoscope aren’t anywhere near as good as the first four books in this series. They’re seriously lacking the suspense and the “OMGWTF is happening?” moments of the previous 4 books in this series. While I did like Kaleidoscope better than Jagged, it still pales in comparison to the rest of the series.
I’m wondering if Kristen thought since Emme already went through some traumatic events as a child, that maybe Kristen decided not to put her through something again in her adult years. If that’s the case, this book seriously didn’t belong in this series. You know what’s sad about this? I know that she went through something as a child, but as I’m finally writing my review for this book I can’t remember for the life of me what it was. That’s how much this book did not do it for me. I can barely remember the details of the story. I can tell you what every other Kristen Ashley book is about..but this one..No. My mother and sister-in-law always read Kristen Ashley’s newest book with me whenever she releases one..and even they found this one to be lacking.

Kristen Ashley books tend to be ones that you can read over and over again… Jagged and Kaleidoscope will probably never be rereads for me. I hope this is just a phase and you’ll find your mojo again, Kristen!

One StarOne StarOne Star

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana, and has lived in Denver, Colorado, and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multigenerational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland, and Kristen grew up listening to the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon, and Whitesnake. Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music and love was a good way to grow up. And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: Once in a LifetimeOnce in a Lifetime by Jill Shalvis
Series: Lucky Harbor #9
Published by Grand Central Publishing on February 18, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

SOMETIMES WRONG IS OH-SO-RIGHT

After a wrenching loss, Ben McDaniel tried to escape his grief by working in dangerous, war-torn places like Africa and the Middle East. Now he's back in his hometown and face-to-face with Aubrey Wellington, the hot-as-hell woman who is trouble with a capital T. Family and friends insist she's not the one to ease his pain, but Aubrey sparks an intense desire that gives Ben hope for the future.

Determined to right the wrongs of her past, Aubrey is working hard to make amends. But by far, the toughest challenge to her plan is sexy, brooding Ben - even though he has absolutely no idea what she's done . . .

Can this unlikely couple defy the odds and win over the little town of Lucky Harbor?

reviewMy thoughts…

I loved this book! Ms Shalvis has written another great story that fits nicely into the Lucky Harbor series. In case you didn’t know, the Lucky Harbor series is one of my favorite contemporary romance series. Each book not only features a hot alpha hero, but beautiful heroines to boot. Most of which are sassy in their own way. To say I love this series is an understatement. You can always count on Ms Shalvis to deliver a funny story that will keep you chuckling.

Both Ben & Aubrey were secondary characters in previous books. I really liked both of them and enjoyed getting to know them better in this book. Together these two make for an unlikely couple in my opinion. Where Ben is quiet and sort of reserved, Aubrey is more feisty. Ben has spent the better part of the last five years away from Lucky Harbor. He lost his late wife in a car accident. Since then he takes jobs far away from home so he’s not reminded of what he lost. After a bit of bad luck Aubrey, is trying to balance the karma scales. She’s decided to make a list and try to make amends to those she’s wronged.

The attraction between these two is apparent from the beginning. I enjoyed watching them dance around each other. I knew it was only a matter of time before they acted on that attraction and I couldn’t wait. When they do come together things heat up nicely. The sexual scenes are comparable to adult mainstream, but are still hot all the same.

Overall, I think this is a great addition to the Lucky Harbor series. The plot was intriguing and once I started reading it I couldn’t put it down. Up next is It’s in His Kiss. It’s Sam’s book and after reading the synopsis it sounds like another great read. I can’t wait to read it. It’s due out later this year.

series-listSimply Irresistible (Lucky Harbor, #1) *Goodreads

The Sweetest Thing (Lucky Harbor, #2)*Goodreads

****To purchase books #1 AND #2 together in ONE book***
Amazon


Small Town Christmas (Lucky Harbor, #2.5)

Goodreads | Amazon

Head Over Heels (Lucky Harbor, #3)
Goodreads | Amazon

Lucky in Love (Lucky Harbor, #4)
Goodreads | Amazon

At Last (Lucky Harbor, #5)Goodreads | Amazon

Forever and a Day (Lucky Harbor, #6)
Goodreads | Amazon

Under the Mistletoe (Lucky Harbor, #6.5)
Goodreads | Amazon

It Had to Be You (Lucky Harbor, #7)Goodreads | Amazon

Always On My Mind (Lucky Harbor, #8)Goodreads | Amazon

A Christmas to Remember (Lucky Harbor, #8.5)
Goodreads | Amazon

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Always On My Mind by Jill ShalvisAlways on My Mind by Jill Shalvis
Series: Lucky Harbor #8
Published by Grand Central Publishing Source: Netgalley
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

THERE'S NOTHING LIKE THE REAL THING

After dropping out of pastry school and messing up her big break on a reality cooking show, Leah Sullivan needs to accomplish something in her life. But when she returns home to Lucky Harbor, she finds herself distracted by her best friend, Jack Harper. In an effort to cheer up Jack's ailing mother, Dee, Leah tells a little fib - that she and Jack are more than just friends. Soon pretending to be hot-and-heavy with this hunky firefighter feels too real to handle . . .

No-strings attachments suit Jack just fine - perfect for keeping the risk of heartbreak away. But as Jack and Leah break every one of their "just friends" rules, he longs to turn their pretend relationship into something permanent. Do best friends know too much about each other to risk falling in love? Or will Jack and Leah discover something new about each other in a little town called Lucky Harbor?

My thoughts…

I’ve been waiting a long time for this one. I love both Leah and Jack. They’ve been in previous books and I couldn’t wait to read their story.

Leah is a pastry chef who doesn’t ever complete anything. It stems from her youth when her father would constantly berate her and tell her things like “You’ll never amount to nothing” or “You never finish anything you start.” At the beginning of this book she has just walked away from culinary school where she only had three weeks left to graduate.

Jack. He’s one of the town’s most eligible bachelors. He’s a hot fireman. *sigh* He’s also a bit of a ladies man. He has commitment issues. He tends to break things off before things progress to far. A relationship guy he is not.

Jack and Leah have been friends for years. They lived next door to each other when they were younger. When Leah’s dad would mistreat her she would sneak into Jack’s bedroom where he would comfort and protect her.

When Leah comes back to Lucky Harbor to help her ill grandmother run her bakery things start to get interesting. There’s an attraction between Jack and Leah, but neither is willing to take the first step. They sort of dance around each other which made for an interesting read. I was like come on guys, get with the program. 🙂

When Leah’s gets a bright idea on how to perk Jack’s ill mother up things get a little crazy. She tells his mother than she and Jack are actually dating. This takes Jack completely off guard when he’s informed of it. His reaction is really quite comical.

See that’s the thing with Ms Shalvis’ writing style. She is really good at writing sweet contemporary romance novels that are light and funny. This element makes her books that much more enjoyable.

I really enjoyed how things progressed in Jack & Leah’s fake relationship. Even though their relationship was suppose to be fake, their feelings for each other got stronger.

Ms Shalvis added an element of suspense to this one. I was able to figure out the person who “did it” before all was revealed towards the end though. I’m just good like that lol

Overall, this one was really enjoyable. I’m such a big fan of this of the books that make up the Lucky Harbor series. If you are a fan of sweet and funny contemporary romance I highly suggest giving this series a try.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: It Had to Be You by Jill ShalvisIt Had to Be You by Jill Shalvis
Series: Lucky Harbor #7
Published by Grand Central Publishing on May 28, 2013
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Ali Winters is not having a good day. Her boyfriend left her, everyone in town thinks she's a thief, and now she's about to be kicked out of her home. Her only shot at keeping a roof over her head and clearing her name is to beg for help from a police detective who's as sexy as he is stern....

After a high-profile case goes wrong, Luke Hanover returns to his hometown for some peace and quiet. Instead he finds a bombshell brunette in a heap of trouble. As he helps Ali put her world back together, the pieces of Luke's own life finally seem to fall into place. Is this the start of a sizzling fling? Or are Luke and Ali on the brink of something big in a little town called Lucky Harbor?

My thoughts…

I loved this one! It Had to Be You is a funny contemporary romance that’s sure to touch your heart. It’s book #7 in the Lucky Harbor series by author Jill Shalvis.

Both Ali & Luke aren’t looking for love. Ali’s boyfriend has dumped her, she’s lost her job, and she doesn’t have a place to live anymore since the lease on her boyfriends house is up.

Enter Luke Hanover. He’s the owner of said house and walks in on Ali while she’s on the phone with the ex-boyfriend. Did I mention she’s dressed in only her bra and panties?

Right from the beginning these two shared a strong attraction. Neither is looking to get involved but sometimes things don’t happen the way you plan for them too.

The sexual scenes within this book are relatively mainstream and not overly explicit.

The suspense element kept me guessing until the very end. I never did figure it out until it was revealed. I love books like that.

Next up is Leah & Jack’s story and I can’t wait to read it.

If you haven’t read the Lucky Harbor series you are seriously missing out. It’s one of my favorite series.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Under The Mistletoe by Jill ShalvisUnder the Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis
Series: Lucky Harbor #6.5
Published by Grand Central Publishing on December 4, 2012
Pages: 55
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

JUST ONE MORE KISS

There's no place like home for the holidays. And the Lucky Harbor Bed & Breakfast is bursting with festive lights and good cheer. But for Mia, Christmas is turning out to be anything other than merry and bright. Her recent break-up with her boyfriend Nick has made her return bittersweet. But then a surprise arrives, when Nick follows her to town bearing gifts-and asking for forgiveness.

Nick grew up without a family of his own so he's overwhelmed by the love that Mia receives from all her relatives, gathered together to celebrate the season. Under their watchful eyes, Nick finds earning back her trust the hardest thing he's ever had to do. If he succeeds, he will receive the greatest gift of all, Mia's love for a lifetime.

My thoughts…

Just in time for the holidays comes Under The Mistletoe. This novella length story is part of The Lucky Harbor series by Ms. Shalvis.

Mia and Nick share a common bond. They were both given up at birth. Mia was adopted by a wonderful couple while Nick hadn’t been so lucky.

I really enjoyed these two. They have great chemistry together. As the story progressed it was refreshing to see them overcome their fears of committing.

Under The Mistletoe was a short but sweet read. The Lucky Harbor series is one of my favorites and is on my auto-buy list. I love it so much that I don’t even have to read the blurb because I know it is going to be amazing.

Kick off your holiday season by reading Under The Mistletoe. You’ll be so happy you did.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star