Pucked Off by Helena HuntingPucked Off by Helena Hunting
on February 21st, 2017
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD | Indiebound | BAM!
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

***A Standalone novel in The Pucked Series***

I’m NHL defenseman Lance Romero, AKA Lance “Romance."

I’m notorious for parties and excess. I have the most penalty minutes in the league. I get into the most fights. I take the most hits. I’m a player on and off the ice. I’m the one women with no inhibitions want.

Not because I like the notoriety, but because I don’t know how to be any other way.

I have secrets. Ones I shared with the wrong person, and she used them against me. Sometimes she still does. I should cut ties. But she makes it difficult, because she’s the kind of bad I deserve.

At least that’s what I believed until someone from my past gets caught up in my present. She’s all the good things in this world. She lights up my dark.

I shouldn’t want her.

But I do.

I should leave her alone.

But I won’t.

Another great book from the Pucked series!

You might go in to this book thinking you KNOW Lance.. He’s all about the partying and the puck bunnies, yeah… NO. He’s a completely different person than we all thought he was. I’m not going to go in to too many details about this book because Helena wanted the heroine to stay a secret. Is it Tash, is it someone new? You’ll have to start reading this book to find out for yourself.

However, this book was definitely a lot darker, I think, compared to the rest of the series. It’s not as laugh out loud as the previous books. Sure, we see the rest of the gang here and there in this book, but not enough to make this a romantic comedy like the previous books. Lance’s story is not what I thought it would be. It’s very heartbreaking and will have you crying at times. When we are getting to know more about Lance, I didn’t realize he’d have something in common with Christian Grey..and NO, it’s not what you’re thinking. You’ll have to read it and come back and tell me what you think it is.

In the end though, Lance gets his happily ever after. 🙂

I really enjoyed this book, but it needs more Violet! I can never get enough of her!

Check out the rest of the series:

Pucked by Helena Hunting Pucked Up by Helena Hunting Pucked Over by Helena Hunting Forever Pucked by Helena Hunting Pucked Under by Helena Hunting
 Amazon
Apple
B&N
 Amazon
Apple
B&N
 Amazon
 Apple
B&N
 Amazon
Apple
B&N
 Amazon
Apple
B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
A Murder in Time (Kendra Donovan #1) by Julie McElwainA Murder in Time by Julie McElwain
Published by Pegasus Books on April 11, 2016
Pages: 498
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Beautiful and brilliant, Kendra Donovan is a rising star at the FBI. Yet her path to professional success hits a speed bump during a disastrous raid where half her team is murdered, a mole in the FBI is uncovered and she herself is severely wounded. As soon as she recovers, she goes rogue and travels to England to assassinate the man responsible for the deaths of her teammates.

While fleeing from an unexpected assassin herself, Kendra escapes into a stairwell that promises sanctuary but when she stumbles out again, she is in the same place - Aldrich Castle - but in a different time: 1815, to be exact.

Mistaken for a lady's maid hired to help with weekend guests, Kendra is forced to quickly adapt to the time period until she can figure out how she got there; and, more importantly, how to get back home. However, after the body of a girl is found on the extensive grounds of the county estate, she starts to feel there's some purpose to her bizarre circumstances. Stripped of her twenty-first century tools, Kendra must use her wits alone in order to unmask a cunning madman.

Does the cover of this book not beckon you to read it!?

Yes, I will admit, I judged this book by its cover. I am glad I read the story synopsis and thought it sounded rad as well.

This would be a great book to use that Christmas book money on or gift to your bibliophile friends who love murder mysteries, feminist fiction, Doctor Who, and Sherlock Holmes.

I think fans of Outlander are going to fall in love with the Kendra Donovan series.
I think fans of Outlander are going to fall in love with the Kendra Donovan series.

Strong female lead? Check.

Action? Check.

Time travel? Check.

History? Check!

Mystery? Check!

Who can resist a time-travelling-historical-fiction-mystery with a bad-ass female protagonist? Not me, and you will not be able to either, once you are introduced to the crime fighting, slightly messed-up world of FBI agent, Kendra Donovan. ( I really like using hyphens.)

Kendra Donovan is the twenty-something offspring of ambition-driven, cold and calculating parents.

The story of Donovan’s parents and her past sound like they were equally plucked from the early twentieth century and some time in the future. This will make sense if you read the book and are familiar with the term eugenics.

While the first third of Kendra’s story unfolds in the present, the majority of the book takes place in a castle. In nineteenth-century England. DELIGHTFUL.

It was entertaining to listen to Kendra’s thoughts as she compared and contrasted the customs and rituals of polite and lower-class society in 1815 to the customs and social class divisions of our present time. There was a fun Upstairs, Downstairs/ Downton Abbey atmosphere to the story. Unfortunately for Kendra, she was plopped “downstairs” when she travelled back in time, and there are some hilarious moments in which things just aren’t working out for her and she loses her cool.

“The accouterments of humanity may change, but its heartbeat remained the same.”

There is great blend of Jane Austen and Sherlock Holmes-esque imagery and plot in the novel. It was fun to witness how the modern FBI agent had to mask her modern crime detection skills under the guise of being a uniquely educated foreigner.

I kind of ended up imagining Kendra Donovan like this in the present...
I kind of ended up imagining Kendra Donovan like this in the present…
...And like this in the 19th century, although her hair is very different as described in the book.
…And like this in the 19th century (although her hair is very different as described in the book).

The main character often references some of the most familiar historical aspects (writers, tropes, concepts, philosophies) of the time period while trying to navigate her way around society. It might come off as trite, but the reader has to remind themselves that Kendra Donovan is a brainiac, prone to encyclopedic thought-streams.

This book was darker than I anticipated. There are grisly murders and graphic autopsies, but if you are a fan of other nineteenth-century crime/mystery novels, then it is nothing too shocking. Jack the Ripper comes to mind…

If you are looking for something with the level of romance and rendezvous that the Outlander series had, then you will be a little disappointed. While there is the hint of a developing romance throughout the book, we do not see any real ”action” until the end. But I liked this aspect of the novel. I enjoyed that the novel focused on this strong and smart, liberated woman solving crimes instead of her swooning over some English heartthrob. That being said, the story ends in a way that lets us know there is definitely more romance to come in the next novel.

Overall, A Murder in Time was an action-packed, atmospheric, fun and absorbing read. I am excited to read the next novel in the series, A Twist in Time, due out this April.

a-twist-in-time-cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
The Girl at Midnight by Melissa GreyThe Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
Series: The Girl at Midnight
Published by Delacorte Press on April 28, 2015
Pages: 357
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne Star

Magic lives in our darkest corners.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants…and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

I am glad I read this book a year after it released. I originally wanted to read it upon release day because there was so much hype about it in the blogger world/twitterverse. But again, so glad I did not. I think I would have been monumentally disappointed if I had. Instead, I was just a little disappointed after reading it last week.

The poetic name and aesthetic appeal of the novel set the bar pretty high for what I was expecting and it is not that I was disappointed with the story itself, but in the way it was delivered.

Ran across this on Polyvore and it reminded me of TGaM cover:

New York Nights ~ Raeven Steal
New York Nights ~ Raeven Steal by sorrel-noir featuring fine jewelry

 

The Girl at Midnight came across as a mid-grade level read for me, and I was expecting something a lot darker and bad-ass in tone I guess. A lot of the dialogue came off as too cheesy/trying too hard when it came to the comic relief attempts throughout the story. Despite that, there were descriptions and sentences scattered throughout the novel that were poetic in their delivery, and I continued reading the book for those moments.

As for the plot/storyline, fans of The Mortal Instruments, The Vampire Diaries, Aladdin,  and the old-school X Men cartoons will enjoy the familiar feel that The Girl at Midnight evokes. The story still maintains an entertaining uniqueness even if some of the characters and story threads seem plucked from other popular series.

I enjoyed the dynamic between all of the characters. Echo, the main female protagonist, was easy to relate to and fall for because of her background and love of libraries, literature, and languages. I enjoyed her role throughout the story and I think I will like her even more in the next novel.

Outside view of NYPL.
Outside view of NYPL.

The story world is both in and out of this world. I think the setting(s) was probably my favorite aspect of The Girl at Midnight. I mean, who hasn’t dreamt of living in their own secret nook hidden in the New York Public Library?! I also loved that Echo was able to globetrot in search of mystical clues via the use of magic and the ”in between” .

A lovely indoor shot of the NYPL.
A lovely indoor shot of the NYPL.

Have you read The Girl at Midnight? I’d love to hear your thoughts on it in the comment section below.

One StarOne StarOne Star
The Empty Jar by M. LeightonThe Empty Jar by M. Leighton
on May 8th, 2016
Pages: 414
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Three months touring Europe.
Romantic. Dazzling. Unforgettable.
The trip of a lifetime.

But some lifetimes are shorter...

We couldn’t have known it would work out this way.
No one could. No one could’ve guessed that something so beautiful could be so tragic.

But it is tragic.

Yet so, so beautiful.

That’s what sacrifice is—beauty and tragedy.
It’s pain and suffering for something or someone you love.

And this is the ultimate sacrifice.
One stunning act of true love.

This is our story.
Our true love story.

Hello fellow bookworm,
I hope you’re having a good day. I’m not sure how often you read, but I just finished a book called “The Empty Jar.” I can’t wait to tell you about it.
I think you will enjoy reading it. It is written by M. Leighton. She sent me an advanced copy before it was released so I could read and review it. She’s written several books. Most of which are racy romance, but this book is not at all racy. It’s not a romance per say. It is a love story. One that is beautifully written, emotionally heartbreaking at times, and real. One that I hope you’ll read. One that I think you’ll enjoy all the same because you’ll come out on the other side better for it.
It’s not an easy read at times, but again it is real and I am so thankful I read it. You see, Michelle, lost her father around the time I lost mine. In fact, her father died of stage IV cancer a couple weeks before my dad passed away. I’m not sure if it’s because of her personal experience with losing a father that had me drawn to this story. I could relate with much of the book and the emotional journey the characters were faced it. It is fictional, but has a truth to it that is all too real. To say I cried is an understatement. I sobbed. Like snotty tears sobbed. The note from Michelle at the end of the book made me sob too.
Michelle is an amazing person. I’ve chatted with her off and on over the last few years and I’ve never read one tweet or one Facebook post where she has ever said anything remotely negative about anyone. Even at times where some went out of their way to be negative and downright rude and hurtful to her. She is definitely a genuine person. The world needs more people like her in it.
So in closing, again, I hope you’ll take the time to read this story. Once you start reading you won’t want to put it down. You’ll be caught up in Lena & Danny’s story. A love story.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About M. Leighton

I was born and raised in the United States, and I’ve lived in several of the fabulous fifty. Though I currently live in the deep South, I spent much of my childhood up North and hope to return there one day. A few other things about me: I believe that sometimes you have to look really, REALLY hard to find the good in people, but it’s there. I believe that I’m shrinking (I swear five years ago I was two inches taller). I believe my husband is quite possibly one of the most amazing men in the entire world (I can’t be sure because I haven’t met all of them). I believe coffee and chocolate, when combined, could be the basis for world peace. I believe that Jesus rocks and communism doesn’t. I believe that white makes me look fat and black collects lint. I believe summer’s too hot, winter’s too cold and fall was made for football. I like dogs better than cats and the first movie in a trilogy is invariably the best. But most of all, I believe that love conquers all.

Review & Giveway: The Rule Book by Jennifer BlackwoodThe Rule Book by Jennifer Blackwood
Series: The Rule Breakers #1
on May 9th, 2016
Pages: 290
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD | Indiebound | BAM!
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Starr Media Second-Assistant Survival Guide
1. Don't call your hot boss the antichrist to his face.
2. Don't stare at hot boss's, um, package or his full sleeve of tattoos. (No. Really. Stop!)
3. Don't get on the malicious first assistant's bad side.
4. Don't forget to memorize the 300-page employee manual.
5. If you value your cashmere, steer clear of boss’s dog.
6. Boss’s dimples are lust-inducing. Do. Not. Give. In.
7. “The elevator ate your clothes” is not a valid excuse for showing up to important meetings half dressed.
8. Don't break seven of the rules within the first week of employment if you, ya know, are in dire need of money to support your sick mom.
9. Whatever you do, don’t fall for the boss. See rule eight about sick mom.
10. Never forget the rules.

That synopsis SOLD ME. I was scrolling through my facebook feed and I saw one of the Publicists for Entangled that I am friends with on Facebook post the synopsis for this book last week and I one-clicked the shit out of it when I got done reading the synopsis.

I started reading this book last night and I finished it when I was supposed to be working today at work. Oops, my bad. I just couldn’t put it down.

Lainey is fresh out of college with a job in Seattle as the second assistant to Brogan Starr, the CEO of Starr Media. She’s being told by the first assistant that the boss is the “Antichrist” and she has a 300 employee handbook with 4028502846 rules that proves it.

Brogan Starr is apparently the Antichrist but when Lainey finally gets the chance to meet him and see him interact with his employees it’s obvious that maybe he really isn’t the “Devil”. It’s just his first assistant being an ass. No big surprise there, seeing as Jackson is an asshole from the very beginning. Brogan seems to get along with everyone who works for him and isn’t anything like Jackson made him out to be. Sure he has 5 million rules to be followed but it’s because he’s trying to protect himself.

I really enjoyed this book, Lainey is a witty, entertaining girl with a big heart. She’s doing what she can to help out her sick mom, giving up the finer things in life that she loves so much to make sure her mom gets the treatments she needs. I loved Lainey and Brogan together, even when she’s sticking her foot in her mouth (all the time). The banter between them was cute. Brogan is obviously affected by her but he’s trying to fight what he’s feeling for her. He’s a very private person and he doesn’t even let her touch a picture frame in his office.

If you’re looking for a romantic comedy that’s quirky and sweet, definitely check out this book! This book had a sweet epilogue but I have to wonder what’s going to happen with the rest of the series. I can’t wait to see what it will bring. Are we gonna get more of Lainey & Brogan’s story or are we going to move on to Lainey’s roommate Zoey? I kind of hope it’s more of Lainey and Brogan…but I guess we shall see. 🙂

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer Blackwood

Jennifer Blackwood is an English teacher and contemporary romance author. She lives in Oregon with her husband, son, and poorly behaved black lab puppy. When not chasing after her toddler, you can find her binging on episodes of Gilmore Girls and Supernatural, and locking herself in her office to write.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Some Sort of Happy by Melanie HarlowSome Sort of Happy by Melanie Harlow
Series: Happy Crazy Love #1
on September 22nd, 2015
Pages: 420
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I almost didn’t believe it was him.

In high school, Sebastian Pryce had been an aloof outsider who kept to himself. But now, ten years later, he’s back and unusually attractive. With muscle in all the right places and hands that know exactly what they’re doing, Sebastian is everything I didn’t know I needed. And while he isn’t exactly friendly, he has a magnetism that draws me in.

He pulls away, afraid he’ll break me.

Until the night I demanded more—and he gave it. (Hard and deep. Twice.)

Were we just two lost, lonely people seeking solace?

Or could a disgraced reality TV star and a flawed, frustrating man actually find some sort of happy together?

** SOME SORT OF HAPPY is a full-length standalone romance. **

 

This book is amazing! I just re-read it for a second time THIRD TIME. I don’t usually re-read a book so soon after I read it the first time or second time, but I had to. I just LOVED Sebastian. He was imperfectly perfect. You get so used to reading about these PERFECT GUYS in romance novels, that it’s a little refreshing to find one who isn’t so perfect.

Reading the blurb, you’re not sure what you’re gonna get when you dive in to this book. You’ve got Skylar Nixon, fresh off the farm, er.. a stint on a reality show about riding cowboys. ;P She is a former Cherry Queen, who went out in to the world to try and find it as actress. Only to find herself on a reality TV show riding a mechanical bull. After realizing that she misses home, she’s back in Northern Michigan staying in a guest house on her parents’ property and working at a local vineyard.

Then you’ve got Sebastian Pryce, who recently relocated back to Michigan after breaking off his engagement to his ex-fiancee in New York City. He’s a lawyer working in his dad’s law firm and he’s working through some issues.

After Skylar’s time on a Reality TV show comes back to bite her in the ass. She ends up visiting Lighthouse Park to sit on the beach and just think about what she’s going to do with her life. When she’s leaving she notices a man sitting on the beach with her…when she realizes she forgot her shoes and turns back to get them, she falls down. After an awkward and somewhat rude re-introduction to each other, Skylar stomps up the stairs and takes off..and that’s how Skylar and Sebastian “meet.”

I really loved the characters of this book. Skylar is trying to find herself as a person after a failed attempt at an acting career in NYC and Sebastian is struggling with his severe OCD. Skylar is amazing when it comes to Sebastian and his quirks. She was understanding and patient with him and it really opened him up and they were just perfect together. Sebastian was also very supportive of Skylar and he really helped her re-discover herself.

This book was great and it’s the first in the Happy, Crazy, Love series. I definitely suggest you check this book out and the two sequels that follow it, Some Sort of Crazy and Some Sort of Love. I hope that some day Melanie revisits these two. I really loved them and I would love to see some more of them!

Also, This series takes place in Traverse City, MI. A lot of the locations mentioned in the book do exist. I happen to be in Traverse City over this last weekend and I took a couple of photos of places mentioned in this book. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to every place mentioned in the series but I did get to a couple.

The set of pictures below is Lighthouse Park where Skylar goes to sit and think about what to do with her life. It’s there that she falls down and runs into Sebastian. The staircase in the first photo is the staircase that she falls down by and ends up stomping up the stairs to get away from Sebastian.

 

 

 
Sleder's Family Tavern This is where Skylar and Sebastian go on their first "date" and get burgers. :)
Sleder’s Family Tavern

This is where Skylar and Sebastian go on their first “date” and get burgers. 🙂

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Melanie Harlow

Melanie Harlow likes her martinis dry, her heels high, and her history with the naughty bits left in. When she’s not writing or reading, she gets her kicks from TV series like VEEP, Game of Thrones, House of Cards, and Homeland. She occasionally runs three miles, but only so she can have more gin and steak.
Melanie is the author of the HAPPY CRAZY LOVE series, the FRENCHED series, and the sexy historical SPEAK EASY duet, set in the 1920s. She lifts her glass to romance readers and writers from her home near Detroit, MI, where she lives with her husband, two daughters, and pet rabbit.

Book Review: Nine Minutes by Beth FlynnNine Minutes by Beth Flynn
Series: Nine Minutes #1
Published by Createspace on July 23rd, 2014
Pages: 317
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

On May 15, 1975, fifteen-year-old Ginny Lemon is abducted from a convenience store in Fort Lauderdale by a member of one of the most notorious and brutal motorcycle gangs in South Florida.

From that moment on, her life is forever changed. She gets a new name, a new identity and a new life in the midst of the gang’s base on the edge of the Florida Everglades—a frightening, rough and violent world much like the swamps themselves, where everyone has an alias and loyalty is tantamount to survival.

And at the center of it all is the gang’s leader, Grizz: massive, ruggedly handsome, terrifying and somehow, when it comes to Ginny, tender. She becomes his obsession and the one true love of his life.

So begins a tale of emotional obsession and manipulation, of a young woman ripped from everything she knows and forced to lean on the one person who provides attention, affection and care: her captor. Precocious and intelligent, but still very much a teenager, Ginny struggles to adapt to her existence, initially fighting and then coming to terms with her captivity.

Will she be rescued? Will she escape? Will she get out alive—or get out at all? Part psychological thriller, part coming-of-age novel, filled with mystery, romance and unexpected turns, Nine Minutes takes readers into the world of one motorcycle gang and inside the heart of a young girl, whose abduction brought about its fall.

Wow! This book was amazing! Well, if you can overlook an adult having sex with a fifteen year old. Normally I would have DNF’d the book right away, but after reading tons of reviews I knew I was going to go ahead and read it anyway. And honestly I’m glad I did.

There are so many layers to this story. I was hooked from the very first page. I can honestly say this book is easily one of the best books I’ve read in 2015. The plot, the interesting characters, the flow of the story were all masterly crafted by Ms Flynn. There wasn’t a single time while I was reading this book that I wanted to skim. I was devouring the pages as quickly as I possibly could. I was just so caught up in these characters that I had to know .what was going to happy next.

Speaking of characters… I liked all but a couple of them in this book. Most were interesting in their own right. Ms Flynn did a wonderful job building their back stories. I think that’s why I was so hooked on this book. With each turn of the pages I learned more and more about them. It felt like I couldn’t get enough of them. And the plot… Oh the plot. Unique and and addicting.

Overall, I am so happy I went ahead and read Nine Minutes. I’m going to start book two, Out of Time. There’s also suppose to be a book three that’s releasing sometime in 2016. I’m hoping it’s not far away. Out of Time released July 21, 2015 so maybe it won’t be long.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Beth Flynn

Beth Flynn is a fiction writer who lives and works in Sapphire, North Carolina, deep within the southern Blue Ridge Mountains. Raised in South Florida, Beth and her husband, Jim, have spent the last 17 years in Sapphire, where they own a construction company. They have been married 31 years and have two daughters and two dogs.

In her spare time, Beth enjoys writing, reading, gardening, church and motorcycles, especially taking rides on the back of her husband’s Harley. She is a five-year breast cancer survivor.

Book Review: November 9 by Colleen HooverNovember 9 by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria Books on November 10th, 2015
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Hmm… As most of you know I’m a huge fan of Colleen Hoover. I love her books. For the most part.

The Slammed series was ah-maz-ing and also The Hopeless series was too. I have to say Hopeless and Losing Hope are my favorite books by her. I know without a doubt that at some point in the future I will read all of those books again.

Fast forward to Maybe Someday. The plot was intriguing and characters were well developed. I liked the idea of a companion music CD was also released. Although, I must say… I didn’t purchase it.

Then comes Ugly Love. I loved this one too. Miles Archer was a very interesting hero. And in case you haven’t heard. Ugly Love is going to be made into a movie. Nick Bateman will play Miles Archer. I think he’s a good fit.

Confess released next. O.M.G. has a new meaning in this book. It’s the initials for the hero. Owen Mason Gentry. He’s an amazing hero. One I was completely smitten with right from the beginning. The plot was unique and I loved pretty much everything about this book.

And finally we have Ms Hoover’s newest release. November 9. Once again the plot is unique, but sadly it’s a bit predictable. I’m not sure I was sold on the whole “only meeting once a year” idea. Again while it’s unique, I don’t think it’s realistic. A lot can happen in a year. 365 days is a long time.

As far as the characters go, I liked both the hero and heroine. I think Ben was good for Fallon’s self-esteem. At times he seemed older then he was. More mature then the average young twenty-something.

For the most part, I liked this book. I can’t say I loved it. It’s not one of my favorite’s by Ms Hoover, but still an enjoyable read.

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.

Bathing Beauties, Booze and Bullets ( A Jazz Age Mystery #2) by Ellen Mansoor CollierBathing Beauties, Booze and Bullets by Ellen Mansoor Collier
Series: A Jazz Age Mystery #2
Published by Decodame Press on May 5, 2013
Pages: 260
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The last thing Jazz wants to do is compare make-up tips with ditzy dames competing in the Miss Universe contest, known as the "International Pageant of Pulchritude and Bathing Girl Revue." She'd rather help solve the murders of young prostitutes who turn up all over town, but city officials insist on burying the stories during Splash Day festivities. After Jazz gets to know the bathing beauties, she realizes there's a lot more to them than just pretty faces and figures.

Jazz becomes suspicious when she finds out the contest is also sponsored by the Maceos, aspiring Beach Gang leaders and co-owners of the Hollywood Dinner Club, where the girls will perform before the parade and pageant. Worse, her half-brother Sammy Cook, owner of the Oasis, a speakeasy on a rival gang's turf, asks her to call in a favor from handsome Prohibition Agent James Burton: He wants Agent Burton to raid the Hollywood Club during the bathing beauties dance routine--or risk revenge from the Downtown Gang leader. Her loyalties torn, Jazz is faced with an impossible task that could compromise both of their jobs and budding romance.

Meanwhile, Jazz fends off advances from Colin Ferris, an attractive but dangerous gangster who threatens Sammy as well as Burton. In the end, she must risk it all to save her friends from a violent killer hell-bent on revenge. Inspired by actual events. (Sequel to FLAPPERS, FLASKS AND FOUL PLAY, the first "Jazz Age Mystery" in the series.)

You can check out my review of the first book in this series, Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play HERE.

“”Boardwalk Empire” meets “Miss Universe” in 1927 Galveston, Texas-the “Sin City of the Southwest.” Jasmine (“Jazz”) Cross is an ambitious 21-year-old society reporter for the Galveston Gazette who wants to be taken seriously by the good-old-boy staff, but the editors only assign her fluffy puff pieces, like writing profiles of bathing beauties.”

Here’s a fun alternate version of the cover:

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00069]

 

I discovered this Jazz Age Mystery series while researching 1920s fiction and I tested the waters with Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play, which I adored. But, I gotta be honest. I enjoyed Bathing Beauties, Booze and Bullets EVEN MORE than the first book in this series!

Have no idea what ”Bathing Beauties” are or what the “Bathing Girl Revue” is? Then check out this cool footage of 1925 Galveston Beauties competing for the grand prize:

The plot, the slang, the characters, the details- they swirled together with all the cinematic verve of a Billy Wilder film! Twists and turns in the story definitely had me guessing (and getting it wrong, lol) more than in the first book.

Jasmine Cross (aka Jazz), the ballsy belle the Jazz Age Mysteries revolve around, continues to be fleshed-out in BBBB and I fell in love with her character a little more. I loved being inside Jazz’s head while she schemed all over town and connected overlooked dots to solve this Galveston murder mystery based on true events. Jazz is ready to move up from Society reporting and into the big time: Crime reporting. She proves to her fellow male colleagues at the Galveston Gazette that she’s got the moxie it takes to investigate big cases and I felt like Ms. Cross definitely left an impression on her boss. Maybe Jazz will be moving on up in the next novel? I’ll have to wait and see.

Vintage Bathing Beauties BW 1

There was a flicker of a romance in Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play that fans into a slightly bigger flame in Bathing Beauties. I really enjoyed the dynamic between Jazz and her love interest and can’t wait to see where it goes in the next novel.

The author does a really great job at capturing the cultural climate of Prohibition era Galveston. Everything from the customs, mannerisms, dialogue and gender roles/expectations bring this historical mystery to vivid life. Ellen Mansoor Collier has a knack for describing all the decadence of the era from saloons, to brothels, to dresses, to perfumed lamps. It’s like walking into a magical transporting antique store when reading the author’s descriptions of stuff from the 20s. It made me want to run to the nearest flea market or antique mall to find the cool collectibles she references. In short, these books have basically made me want to ditch my modern life and become a full-time flapper journalist. Ha!

Check out the author’s lovely website HERE and her ETSY shop HERE, where you can browse all sorts of vintage items and fabulous flapper finds!

bathing beauty color

 

Aaand just for fun:

Enjoy this 1920s dance craze montage. It will help you visualize some of the dance moves mentioned in Bathing Beauties, Booze and Bullets. 🙂

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNAOHtmy4j0

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Purchased, Purchased by Reviewer in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Fisher’s Light by Tara SivecFisher's Light by Tara Sivec
Published by Self Published on March 24, 2015
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

Fisher,
I guess this is it, huh? After fourteen years together, starting a life of our own on this island, five deployments and countless letters I’ve written you through it all, I finally go out to the mailbox and see something I’ve always dreamed of: an envelope with your handwriting on it. For one moment, I actually thought you’d changed your mind, that all the awful things you said to me were just your way of coping after everything you’d been through. I was still here, Fisher. I was still here, holding my breath, waiting for you to come back even though you told me you never would. You always said you’d find your way back to me. Out of all the lies you’ve told me, this one hurts the most.

Enclosed you will find the signed divorce papers, as requested.
I hope you find what you’re looking for. I’m sorry it wasn’t me.
Lucy

To get the ending they want, Lucy and Fisher will have to go back to the beginning. Through the good and the bad, they’ll be reminded of why they always made their way back to each other, and why this time, one way or another, it will be the last time.

REVIEW:

I’ve heard so many good things about this book. I’ve not read a book by Tara Sivic before so I thought why not. While I think the plot for this book was unique, I had a few issues with the overall story.

In the beginning I absolutely loathed Fisher. I hated him so much that I almost stopped reading. He was downright mean to Lucy. It’s not really revealed why he treats Lucy the way he does. But the more I read the more I began to understand. Still though he was a complete ass.

It took me a really long time to get through this book. Right at four hundred pages, it took me about a week. I do have to admit though that my reading time is limited as opposed to in the past. There were times I skimmed. I think some of the content could have been edited out.

This story was predictable in a lot of ways. That bothered me some. I want to read books that engage my mind and keep me guessing. Sadly that wasn’t the case with this one.

I liked the characters for the most part. Lucy was an amazingly strong woman considering what she’d had to go through. Ellie was a great friend to her. Trip? Well, what can I say. He was an amazing guy and was always there for Lucy whenever she needed him. Fisher? He slowly redeemed himself. Once things start to unfold, you get to see why he chose to make the decisions he did. At the end of the book I ended up loving him.

Overall, I liked this story. I wish it would have been about a hundred pages shorter. Like I said before, I skimmed through it at times.

One StarOne StarOne Star
Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play ( A Jazz Age Mystery #1) by Ellen Mansoor CollierFlappers, Flasks and Foul Play by Ellen M. Collier
Series: A Jazz Age Mystery #1
Published by Decodame Press on 7/1/2012
Pages: 296
Format: eBook
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

"Boardwalk Empire" meets "Downton Abbey" in this soft-boiled Jazz Age mystery, inspired by actual events. Real-life rival gangs fight over booze and bars during Prohibition in 1920s Galveston, Texas—the “Sin City of the Southwest.”

Jasmine Cross, a 21-year-old society reporter, feels caught between two clashing cultures: the seedy speakeasy underworld and the snooty social circles she covers in the Galveston Gazette. After a big-shot banker with a hidden past collapses at the Oasis—as speakeasy secretly owned by her black-sheep half-brother, Sammy Cook—Jazz suspects foul play. Was it an accident or a mob hit?

Soon handsome young Prohibition Agent James Burton raids the Oasis, threatening to shut it down if Sammy doesn't cooperate. Suspicious, he pursues Jazz, hoping for information (and some romance), but she refuses to rat on Sammy.

As turf wars escalate between the Downtown and Beach gangs, Sammy is accused of murder. To find the killer, Jazz must risk her life and career, exposing the dark side of Galveston’s glittering society. Now available in a revised trade paperback version with a glossary of 1920s slang.

 

Flapper Cover Original

I discovered Ellen Mansoor Collier’s Jazz Age Mystery series while doing some Historical research of my own, and by God, I feel like I struck gold, babies! GOLD!

We’ve all read the 1920s Historical Fiction set in New York, Chicago, Paris, New Orléans, but I never would have thought about experiencing the Jazz Age via Galveston, Texas until I read Flappers Flasks, and Foul Play. To be honest (I admit with my head hung in shame), the only history I really knew about Galveston had to do with The 1900 Storm that devastated the city.

The author’s smart and classy writing style keeps the familiar cadence of a ”whodunnit” novel or film noir feature. The female protagonist, Jasmine Cross, is clever and fearless as she plays her investigative cards in two different worlds: the seedy side and the socialite side to solve a crime that hits close to home. With all the moxie of Louis Lane, Jasmine Cross is the kind of strong female character you will find yourself rooting for.

Full of rich historical detail and colorful 1920s slang true to the era, Galveston, the “Ellis Island of the West” jumps off the pages. A fun and entertaining mystery drives the story along, but it was the story world that really won me over. Every aspect- from the cultural climate to the perfume and cosmetic cases- is fully realized and I couldn’t have asked for better world building. It was a special treat to learn so much about Prohibition era Galveston while having the pleasure of enjoying the fictional story that facts are built around. Hardcore History and Mystery Lovers alike will fall head over heels for this series, and general readers will be enlightened and entertained.

Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play left me fiending for more mystery and mayhem steeped in rich historical context. Luckily for me (and YOU), I can indulge myself in the next three books in this series: Bathing Beauties. Booze and Bullets, Gold-Diggers, Gamblers and Guns, and Vamps, Villains, and Vaudeville.

        Bathing Beauties CoverGold Diggers CoverVamps and Villains Cover

ATTENTION FELLOW HOUSTONIANS: Check out the Galveston Heritage Festival on Saturday, August 15, 2015 to experience first-hand some of the exciting history Ellen M. Collier brings to life in her Jazz Age Mystery series!

Galveston Heritage Festival Banner

Aaaand JUST FOR FUN:

Want a soundtrack with a 1920s feel to complete that Jazz Age Mystery feel? Then check out PostModern Jukebox for vintage renditions of modern radio songs. If you live in Houston (or surrounding areas) they will be performing at Cullen Performance Hall on December 2, 2015.

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Mini Book Review: Grey by E.L. JamesGrey by E.L. James
Series: Fifty Shades of Grey #4
Published by Vintage on June 18th, 2015
Pages: 576
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

See the world of Fifty Shades of Grey anew through the eyes of Christian Grey.

In Christian's own words, and through his thoughts, reflections, and dreams, E L James offers a fresh perspective on the love story that has enthralled millions of readers around the world.

Christian Grey exercises control in all things; his world is neat, disciplined, and utterly empty—until the day that Anastasia Steele falls into his office, in a tangle of shapely limbs and tumbling brown hair. He tries to forget her, but instead is swept up in a storm of emotion he cannot comprehend and cannot resist. Unlike any woman he has known before, shy, unworldly Ana seems to see right through him—past the business prodigy and the penthouse lifestyle to Christian’s cold, wounded heart.

Will being with Ana dispel the horrors of his childhood that haunt Christian every night? Or will his dark sexual desires, his compulsion to control, and the self-loathing that fills his soul drive this girl away and destroy the fragile hope she offers him?

This book is intended for mature audiences.

I thought I was going to devour this in a day. It took me FOUR AND A HALF DAYS to read this book. I also thought that it was going to span the entire trilogy. I was wrong. This only spans the first book, Fifty Shades of Grey. Sigh..while I did enjoy reading it, it was just not enough for me. For some reason I thought it might be a bitc raunchier coming from Christian’s POV. It wasn’t really.

Oh well, it was nice to get in to his head and see what he was thinking at critical points in the first book. We also got to learn a bit more about Elena and a couple of his past subs. I think the best part of the entire book was the last 10-15%. View Spoiler »

I’ve been hearing that we’re going to get Darker from his POV too, but we probably will not get Freed. I know I will read anything E.L. James gives us from the Grey universe..but instead of reading Darker/Freed from his POV, I would much rather read AFTER Freed from his POV. Ana’s pregnancy. I think that would be interesting to see through his eyes. He’s so overprotective of Ana before she was pregnant, I can’t imagine how he is during her pregnancy. His anxiety is probably through the roof during her pregnancy. I think it’d be interesting to see him mentally prepare for fatherhood with Ana helping him realize that HE CAN BE A GOOD FATHER.

What are you thoughts on Grey? What would you like to see from Christian’s POV? Let me know in the comments section below!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Release Day Blitz: Beat by Vi KeelandBeat by Vi Keeland
Series: Life on Stage #2
Published by Self Published on June 15, 2015
Pages: 300
Format: eBook
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon

From New York Times and USA Today Bestseller Vi Keeland comes a steamy new standalone novel about a rockstar. Or two.

Dimpled smile of a boy
Hard body of a man
Sings like an angel
Fucks like the devil

I was stuck between a rock(star) and a hard place.

At fifteen, his poster hung on my bedroom wall. At twenty-five his body hovered over mine. Every girl’s fantasy became my reality. I was dating a rockstar. Yet I was slowly falling for another man. The problem was—the two men—they shared a tour bus.

Flynn Beckham was the opening act.
Dylan Ryder was the headliner.

What happens when the opening act begins to shine so bright, it seems to dim everything else in its wake?

I’ll tell you what happens. Things get ugly.

beat

About Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a native New Yorker with three children that occupy most of her free time, which she complains about often, but wouldn’t change for the world. She is a bookworm and has been known to read her kindle at stop lights, while styling her hair, cleaning, walking, during sporting events, and frequently while pretending to work. She is a boring attorney by day, and an exciting New York Times & USA Today Best Selling smut author by night!

In 2013, she released four romance novels, including the first story in the new MMA Fighter series, Worth the Fight. Three more are planned for release in 2014. Her novels have appeared on the Top 5 lists of Amazon USA, UK, Canada and Barnes & Noble.

Book Review: Pucked by Helena HuntingPucked on May 3rd, 2015
Pages: 380
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

With a famous NHL player for a step-brother, Violet Hall is well acquainted with the playboy reputation many hockey stars come with. She’s smart enough to steer clear of those hot, well-built boys with unparalleled stamina. That is until she meets the legendary team captain—Alex Waters.

Violet isn’t interested in his pretty, beat-up face, or his rock-hard six-pack abs. But when Alex inadvertently obliterates Violet’s previous misapprehension regarding the inferior intellect of hockey players, he becomes more than just a hot body with a face to match.

In what can only be considered a complete lapse in judgment, Violet finds out just how good Alex is with the hockey stick in his pants. But what starts out as a one-night stand, quickly turns into something more. Post-night of orgasmic magic, Alex starts to call, and text, and e-mail and send extravagant—and quirky—gifts, making him difficult to ignore, and even more difficult not to like.

The problem is, the media portrays Alex as a total player, and Violet doesn’t want to be part of the game.

I have to admit, this is the first Helena Hunting book I’ve read and I am NOT DISAPPOINTED. I’m always looking for a book that will give me a good giggle and I definitely found it in this book! This book is LAUGH OUT LOUD hilarious.  It’s also got a little bit of sweet and a little bit of sexy going on in this book.

I am so glad I decided to check it out. Half way through I texted Melanie and told her that she NEEDED to check this book out. We both love a good laugh when it comes to our romances and I knew she’d love this one.

Violet is recently out of college and working as a junior account for a PR firm that specials in Sports Financial Management. Her stepdad Sidney is a scout for the NHL, her stepbrother plays for the NHL, and she’s straight surrounded by hockey.

Alex Waters is the captain for the Hawks, a professional hockey team. He’s a little nerdy and is well-versed in English Lit.

The characters in this book are great. I thought they were all very entertaining in their own right.

Violet is quirky and has no brain to mouth filter. She says whatever she’s thinking and a lot of it is down right dirty. I can be a bit inappropriate at times with my humor too, so with all the dirty talk in this book I wasn’t bothered a all.

I really enjoyed Alex too; I think he’s a bit more tame compared to Violet, but he could dish out as well. There was a part or two when he was being a dumbass, but he’s a boy and it’s expected! As we all know boys can be stupid,  it always takes a hard lesson for them to learn! Alex definitely learns his in this book.

Buck, he’s not really all that deep, but when he was around he added even more hilarity to the book. Him and Violet may only be his step siblings, but he treats her like she’s blood. He was very overprotective of her at times and it was very sweet.

I think Helena should make this a series and give us books for Violet’s brother, Buck, her BFF Charlene and Darren?! I would love to see more of all of these characters!!

This book really entertained me and underneath the toilet humor it was a very sweet romance. If you’re a fan of books like the Chocolate Lovers series by Tara Sivec check this book out! I think you’ll enjoy it. 😉

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Pre-Release Tour: Under the Influence by L.B. SimmonsUnder the Influence by L.B. Simmons
Published by Self Published on May 11, 2015
Format: eBook
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.

Dalton,

I loved you once. A love I thought irrevocable. A love I mistakenly believed could transcend both time and circumstance. Under the influence of my dimwitted, naïve, traitorous heart, I became intoxicated with what I now know was simply a figment of my self-indulgent imagination. So drunk on the feeling, I couldn’t see what was right in front of my face. So foolishly enamored, I blindly followed my heart into the depths of an emotion that would ravage me.

Years later, I know now what I wish I knew then. I am stronger. Smarter. Tougher. I will not allow myself to be broken again.

I loved you.

I raged for you.

I wept for you.

And now, I’m letting you go.

Author’s Note: Under the Influence is the journey of two childhood friends that spans the course of five pivotal years in their lives. It is a story about their discovery of true friendship as it blossoms into first love, their experience of crucial sacrifice and ultimate betrayal, and their endurance of agonizing heartbreak on the way to finding lasting redemption.

 

 

teaser

 

releasing

About L.B. Simmons

L.B. Simmons is a graduate of Texas A&M University and holds a degree in Biomedical Science. She has been a practicing Chemist for the last 11 years. She lives with her husband and three daughters in Texas and writes every chance she gets.

Monarch Madness: His Last Mistress by Andrea Zuvich Review + GIVEAWAY!His Last Mistress by Andrea Zuvich
Published by Self Published on July 5, 2013
Pages: 206
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

This story charts the tragic romance between the dashing but doomed James Scott, Duke of Monmouth and the virtuous Lady Henrietta Wentworth. Monmouth, eldest illegitimate son of King Charles II, is already married and infamous for his womanising ways. Henrietta is engaged to another. Despite the dangers, Henrietta finds she cannot resist him. When his father dies, the malleable Monmouth falls prey to schemes, plots and rebellion that will surely lead to the Tower.

His Last Mistress is a passionate, sometimes explicit, carefully researched and ultimately moving story of love and loss, set against a backdrop of dangerous political unrest, brutal religious tensions, and the looming question of who will be the next King.

MEReadALOT's Monarch Madness Blog Hop

I’m wrapping up my Monarch Madness posts this weekend!

Today I’m reviewing and posting a GIVEAWAY of Andrea Zuvich’s intoxicating novel, His Last Mistress.

You will fall madly in love with this book if you are a fan of The Seventeenth Century, political intrigue, court gossip, romance, and betrayal.

His Last Mistress follows the passionate love affair between the Duke of Monmouth, an illegitimate son of King Charles II, and Henrietta Wentworth, a Lady of the court who is doomed to a loveless marriage until she catches the eye of Monmouth.

To my knowledge, I had never read anything about this romantic duo until His Last Mistress, and I loved being introduced to characters who are usually left to the peripheral of the historical eye. This Historical Romance/Biographical Fiction elegantly mixes in well researched facts with the author’s captivating storytelling. Fans of general Historical Fiction and die-hard Merry Monarch fans will both be swept up in this tragic tale.

I enjoyed the pace of the novel and was wholly entertained by the two main characters. His Last Mistress is full of fist-biting moments both in and out of the bedroom. ENTER BELOW TO WIN an EBOOK of His Last Mistress, and stop by Andrea Zuvich’s wonderful website: The Seventeenth Century Lady. Seriously. Her website is a dream for History lovers of this era.

william-and-mary

 

About the Author

aed814cf952b2186aafa3bf3faacf0da

 

I’m a 17th-Century historian, specialising in the Late Stuart period, with an emphasis on the reign of William and Mary (1689-1702). I live in Windsor, England.

I studied at Rockledge High School, from which I received my Diploma, then Brevard Community College where I obtained my Associate’s Degree in History, and became a member of Phi Theta Kappa honour society. I went on to study at the University of Central Florida, where I obtained two Bachelor’s degrees – one in Anthropology and one in History. I then continued my education in history online through the University of Oxford, Princeton University, and the Curtis Institute of Music.

Since graduating in 2008, I have been independently researching the 17th-century – a time I have always loved and had a keen interest in, and that passion has turned into this website and my work in historical fiction and history articles.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Visit Andrea’s website and get your EBook SIGNED via the Authorgraph on the right side of her page!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Until July by Aurora Rose ReynoldsUntil July by Aurora Rose Reynolds
Series: Until Her #1
on April 13th, 2015
Pages: 238
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne Star

Wes Silver wasn’t looking for love, but when July Mayson literally knocks him on his ass during their first encounter, his world is turned upside down by the quirky blonde, and every moment with her makes him more determined to protect her.

July Mayson doesn’t understand the pull she feels toward the bad boy biker Wes Silver, but she knows being with him is like nothing she’s ever felt before. Now all she has to do is tell her overprotective father, Asher Mayson, that she’s found her boom.

I don’t even know where I want to start with this… This isn’t a typical review or anything. It’s more of me going on about what didn’t make sense in the story… So I have to warn you that it has spoilers..so don’t read on if you haven’t read the book and you do not want to be spoiled.

I just had a conversation with my mother over this book. She was smart and re-read the Until series before starting this book. I started talking to her about Until July going on about how  I thought that it was missing a bunch of details. At least, that’s what I think. She told me that she found that Until July was a lot more well written and edited compared to the Until series.

There were a few things that bothered me about this story and I’m about to list them off in no particular order.

1. When writing a spin off series about the offspring of couples you’ve already written about. You should not make pop culture references. I’m assuming, due to the use of cell phones (with pictures) in Until November  that November and Asher’s story takes place in this century. Fast forward 26 years and July has her own book and she’s “seeing” Fifty Shades of Grey in the Fall (September-ish). Do children in bookish words age 20+ years in a matter of 5 minutes like they do in the Soap Operas? O_o

2. WHAT THE HELL DOES JAX HAVE TO DO WITH ANYTHING? There was like NO DETAILS as to what the hell he does for a living. All we know is that he sticks is nose into illegal goings-ons and he apparently does not work for any of the authorities. Unless he does and no one knows? I don’t know. All I know is that he’s asking Wes for help trying to intercept some girls that have been taken for trafficking and getting them away from the bad people.

3. Speaking of Wes, Even HE said they don’t want to get in to anything illegal. They’re not all SAMCRO running guns and shit… They’re just a bunch of veteran bikers who own a Motorcycle Parts/Shop. Are they secretly COMMANDO bikers doing the bidding for people?

I don’t know, I think I might be a tad confused?! I know there were a few other things that irritated me about this story but I can’t think of them now… What did you like or not like about this story?’

This story was alright, I liked it enough to not DNF it. I just think it could have been a LOT better. I’ll probably still read the next one in the series when it comes out. We’ll see.

 

One StarOne Star
Review: Back to You by Priscilla GlennBack to You by Priscilla Glenn
Published by Createspace, Self Published on October 20, 2012
Pages: 328
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

When Lauren Monroe first laid eyes on Michael Delaney back in high school, she had every reason to stay away from him; within minutes of their first encounter, his volatile actions confirmed his notorious reputation. But Lauren saw something in him that caused her to question his bad-boy persona, and against her better judgment, she took a chance. She had no way of knowing that the unlikely friendship they formed would become so important to her.

Or that it would end so painfully.

Eight years later, when Lauren begins her new job at Learn and Grow Day Care, Michael is the last person she expects to see. Refusing to revisit the hurt and confusion of their past, Lauren vows to keep her distance from him. But staying away from Michael proves to be more difficult than she thought, despite her lingering grief and her instincts for self-preservation.

As Lauren and Michael recall the friendship that changed them forever and the events that tore them apart, will they finally be able to heal? Or will the ghosts of Michael’s past prove to be too much to overcome?

This is the second time I’ve read Back to You. The first time I left a small review on Goodreads. I guess it really wasn’t a review. More like a sentence or two.

“I loved everything about this book. It had me sobbing like a baby a few times, but that’s a sign of a really good story. Heartfelt. Loved it. Highly recommend.”

See. Not much of a review.

Anyway, this book is one of my favorites. It is so filled with emotions. And as I said above. It had me sobbing like a baby. Ugly snotty tears. When I reached the end though I felt as though it couldn’t have ended better. I had a wide smile on my face.

One cool thing I did notice upon reaching the Epilogue was that the year is 2015. I initially read this book in late 2012. Just something that caught my attention that I thought was neat.

The hero and heroine couldn’t have been more different. Their backgrounds weren’t even close to being the same. I loved both of them so much! I had so much compassion for Michael aka Del. Lauren did too. To say he had a rough upbringing is an understatement. Lauren befriended him when most people took a wide path around him. Eventually Lauren and Michael became best friends.

But this being a love story there’s bound to be problems, mistakes made, and misunderstandings. There were no shortages of those, but there were also good times, heartfelt moments, and forgiveness as well.

Overall, I hope you will read Back to You. It offers emotional characters, heartfelt moments, and a beautiful love story.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Review: Girl Underwater by Claire KellsGirl Underwater by Claire Kells
Published by Dutton Books on March 31st, 2015
Pages: 304
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne Star

An adventurous debut novel that cross cuts between a competitive college swimmer’s harrowing days in the Rocky Mountains after a major airline disaster and her recovery supported by the two men who love her—only one of whom knows what really happened in the wilderness.

Nineteen-year-old Avery Delacorte loves the water. Growing up in Brookline, Massachusetts, she took swim lessons at her community pool and captained the local team; in high school, she raced across bays and sprawling North American lakes. Now a sophomore on her university’s nationally ranked team, she struggles under the weight of new expectations but life is otherwise pretty good. Perfect, really.

That all changes when Avery’s red-eye home for Thanksgiving makes a ditch landing in a mountain lake in the Colorado Rockies. She is one of only five survivors, which includes three little boys and Colin Shea, who happens to be her teammate. Colin is also the only person in Avery’s college life who challenged her to swim her own events, to be her own person—something she refused to do. Instead she’s avoided him since the first day of freshman year. But now, faced with sub-zero temperatures, minimal supplies, and the dangers of a forbidding nowhere, Avery and Colin must rely on each other in ways they never could’ve imagined.

In the wilderness, the concept of survival is clear-cut. Simple. In the real world, it’s anything but.

I honestly can’t pinpoint how I actually feel about this book. I feel like I’m all over the place on the love/hate spectrum with this one because I loved most of it, but then I got to the ending and after reading it I was left feeling disappointed and possibly confused.This book is about Avery, a college swimmer who goes home for Thanksgiving when her plane crashes over the Rocky’s. The story flashes back and forth between the crash/immediate aftermath of the crash and the present where Avery is dealing with  post traumatic stress disorder as a result of the crash. Avery is one of 5 survivors, the five others being Collin, a fellow swimmer/teammate and 3 little boys. They all play a role in Avery’s recovery and emotional healing process. There is a romance between Avery and Collin but for most of the story it’s uncertain. Also, Avery has Lee her college boyfriend, so there’s that little detail.

I’d say that everything about the crash and what Avery experienced after the crash was written very well, and with all the aviation incidents happening today this story seemed more real then I imagine it would have otherwise. I felt pretty in tune with what Avery was experiencing and how she acted/reacted made total sense to me for the majority of the story. The ending however seemed to spin things off track and I got a little confused. I was disappointed that a story that was so good throughout had a confusing ending that I would comfortably call dull. I wanted more.

Overall, the premise was intriguing and promising, but by the end I felt disappointed and underwhelmed. If the ending were executed better I might give this one a 4.5.

One StarOne StarOne Star

About Claire Kells

Claire Kells was born outside Philadelphia and has lived in Boston, Chicago, and San Francisco since graduating from Princeton University in 2005. An English major, she didn’t start writing fiction until her first year of medical school. Now a second-year resident, she spends her free time writing stories about love, loss, and adventure.

GIRL UNDERWATER is her first novel.

Cover Reveal: Chasing River by K.A. TuckerChasing River by K.A. Tucker
Series: Burying Water #3
Published by Atria on July 7, 2015
Format: eBook
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon

Armed with two years' worth of savings and the need to experience life outside the bubble of her Oregon small town, twenty-five-year old Amber Welles is prepared for anything. Except dying in Dublin. Had it not been for the bravery of a stranger, she might have. But he takes off before she has the chance to offer her gratitude.

Twenty-four-year-old River Delaney is rattled. No one was supposed to get hurt. But then that American tourist showed up. He couldn't let her die, but he also couldn't risk being identified at the scene—so, he ran. Back to his everyday life of running his family’s pub. Only, everyday life is getting more and more complicated, thanks to his brother, Aengus, and his criminal associations. When the American girl tracks River down, he quickly realizes how much he likes her, how wrong she is for him. And how dangerous it is to have her around. Chasing her off would be the smart move.

Maybe it's because he saved her life, or maybe it's because he's completely different from everything she's left behind, but Amber finds herself chasing after River Delaney. Amber isn’t the kind of girl to chase after anyone.

And River isn't the kind of guy she'd want to catch.

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Ugly Love by Colleen HooverUgly Love by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria Books on August 5, 2014
Pages: 337
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Ugly Love was a really good book. The plot was intriguing. The characters were full of emotions. I was sort of surprised at how much emotion Miles showed. He’s the type of guy that when he falls, he falls hard. I’ve never met a guy like that in real life. I have a feeling they’re few and far between. I really liked him though. Even when he acted like a butt. And he did. Acted like a butt that is. Several times.

Tate was amazing. I loved her determination when it came to being with Miles. I sort of think the synopsis is a bit misleading when it describes her. I think she acted just the opposite of how she’s described.

The sex in this book is pretty hot for Ms Hoover’s work. Her romance scenes are usually more tame. Almost adult mainstream. In Ugly Love though things gets really hot. Multiple times.

I’ve heard this book will most likely be made into a movie. I’m pretty sure I’ll be seeing it. Rumors are Nick Bateman may portray Miles. He even posted a picture of himself holding a copy of the book on Instagram. I’m still trying to decide if I like him as Miles.

If you’re a fan of Colleen Hoover, you’ll definitely want to grab a copy of this one.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s love for writing began in 1985 when she was five years old. Her first story was titled “Mystery Bob” and was a huge hit with her mother, who was really good at faking interest.
Colleen continued to write short stories for friends and family until December of 2011, when she decided to write a long story she titled, “Slammed.” She self-published SLAMMED to Amazon in January, 2012 and it hit the NYT’s bestsellers list in May, 2012. She has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, and now has six NYT’s bestsellers. Colleen prefers to be called a writer, as the term “author” still terrifies her and makes this feel like a job with expectations. She doesn’t work well under pressure and hopes writing will always remain fun and exciting.