Tag: Funny

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

July 18, 2016 1 Comment Regina

I am glad I read this book a year after it released. I originally wanted to read it upon release day because there was so much hype about it in the blogger world/twitterverse. But again, so glad I did not. I think I would have been monumentally disappointed if I had. Instead, I was just a little disappointed after reading it last week. The poetic name and aesthetic appeal of the novel set the bar […]

#PastPostingDate: RE JANE by Patricia Park

#PastPostingDate: RE JANE by Patricia Park

January 29, 2016 0 Comments Regina

Yeaaaaah, I was supposed to post a review about this AMAZING book (more than) a few months ago but lets move on, shall we? *clears throat* The thing is, I enjoyed this re-telling of Jane Eyre so much that I was waiting for my intellect to catch up. RE JANE was incredibly clever, insightful, poignant, and funny. Sometimes it’s hard to come up with the words to review such a smart book. I bow down […]

Palace of Spies by Sarah Zettel

Palace of Spies by Sarah Zettel

January 25, 2015 2 Comments Regina

Let’s start with the AWESOME book trailer, shall we?   Fans of Etiquette and Espionage will (should) love Palace of Spies. I try to refrain from doing this- but after reading the book and giving it five stars on Goodreads, I scanned some of the less than stellar reviews of the novel. One reviewer commented that the book had ”casual racism” in it and I was a little perplexed by this. There were no instances […]

Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg

Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg

July 8, 2014 0 Comments Regina

This book made me feel embarrassed to be a Texan. It reminded me of every time I cringe when I see a national commercial showing guys and gals wearing cowboy hats and Wranglers, driving out to their Texas ranches in their Chevy trucks at five a.m. It’s why my cousins in New York can’t believe I drive a Honda and don’t raise cattle for a living. I feel like Texas was demonized in this novel, […]

Mafia Girl by Deborah Blumenthal

Mafia Girl by Deborah Blumenthal

March 22, 2014 0 Comments Regina

I’m like a Sofia Coppola film. I love pop music, pop culture, trendy clothes, and glittery, sparkly, never-ending-shimmery things. On sunny days you can find me driving to work with my sun roof open, jamming Britney Spears and admiring how my freshly painted nails contrast with my gold steering wheel cover. The truth is, I LOVE bubble gum pink, Chanel lipstick, and pretty things. So does Gia. Sounds superficial, right? But zoom in on the […]

ARC Review: Alienated by Melissa Landers + Alienated #2 Cover Reveal

ARC Review: Alienated by Melissa Landers + Alienated #2 Cover Reveal

February 21, 2014 6 Comments Regina

[sc_embed_player fileurl=”http://mereadalot.net/muzak/Britney%20Spears%20-%20Alien.mp3″] <- Click  the play button for this review’s theme song.(Alien by Britney Spears)    “A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.” -Bill Sweeny, Alienated Na-Nu, Na-Nu! Calling all Earthlings! Pick up a copy of Alienated at your local bookstore today!   Check out my psychological analysis of interview with Melissa here. From a distance, he’d seemed unremarkable, but up close, his appearance intimidated her. Taller than any of Midtown’s athletes, his fitted uniform outlined […]

ARC Review+GIVEAWAY: The Weight of Words by Georgina Guthrie

ARC Review+GIVEAWAY: The Weight of Words by Georgina Guthrie

December 2, 2013 6 Comments Regina

First, there was Shakespeare. Then, there was Georgina Guthrie. Sometimes you stumble upon a book that appeals to all your senses. A book that wraps itself around you, and warms you to your core like a chenille sweater during a Canadian winter. The Weight of Words is one of those books. In my mind’s eye, TWoW is leather-bound in Oxblood-red with roughly edged, cream colored pages. It’s a romantic contemporary classic that deserves to be […]

Stars in September: Stardust by Mimi Strong

Stars in September: Stardust by Mimi Strong

September 20, 2013 1 Comment Regina

“Faster, Lionheart, you little stud-pony, faster!” If Stardust was a woman (or a man), s/he would be fast, easy, and funny. This book showed up on Amazon’s Best Seller list, so I shrugged and thought “why not”. A few chapters in, I almost ditched it because I felt like I was losing brain cells. Then, I turned on the television and proceeded to watch Hardcore Pawn. I decided that was quite ironic, and went back […]

Teaser Tuesday: Love Rehab by Jo Piazza

Teaser Tuesday: Love Rehab by Jo Piazza

May 21, 2013 0 Comments Erin

Teaser Tuesday is brought to you by MizB @ Should Be Reading. To participate you: Grab your current read Open to a random page Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (Make sure that what you share doesn’ t give too much away! You don’ t want to ruin the book for others!) Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add […]