Source: Purchased by Reviewer

Talk to the Paw by Melinda Metz

Talk to the Paw by Melinda Metz

October 17, 2018 0 Comments Regina

I read this book when it first came out, but I am just now getting around to reviewing it on the blog.   First, here’s a little history about the author. Melinda Metz is a librarian and the co-author of the original Roswell High book series that was eventually adapted for television as the CW’s Roswell T.V. show. The Roswell books and television series have a cult following and fans have been campaigning for a […]

Bring Me Their Hearts by Sara Wolf: Review + Giveaway!!!

Bring Me Their Hearts by Sara Wolf: Review + Giveaway!!!

August 28, 2018 3 Comments Regina

A couple of months ago, I had the pleasure of meeting and interviewing author Sara Wolf at her Katy Budget Books Bring Me Their Hearts release party. If you live in the Houston area, go and buy yourself a signed copy of BMTH! You can also order a signed copy to be shipped to you from their website.   First, I want to say that I was completely dazzled by author Sara Wolf (her nom […]

The Sharp Hook of Love: A Novel of Heloise and Abelard by Sherry Jones

The Sharp Hook of Love: A Novel of Heloise and Abelard by Sherry Jones

October 14, 2016 4 Comments Regina

Sapiophiles unite. Heloise and Abelard are our heroes. Faith. Knowledge. Friendship. Lust. CASTRATION. Thus is the story of Heloise and Abelard. A love story steeped in provocative intellectual sparring and the knowledge of forbidden fruit. If you are a fan of the great and tragic romances of Romeo and Juliet, Antony and Cleopatra, or Tristan and Isolde, then you are a fan of Heloise and Abelard: star-crossed lovers whose characters were crucified for the love […]

The Muse of the Revolution: The Secret Pen of Mercy Otis Warren and the Founding of a Nation by Nancy Rubin Stuart

The Muse of the Revolution: The Secret Pen of Mercy Otis Warren and the Founding of a Nation by Nancy Rubin Stuart

December 18, 2015 0 Comments Regina

There has been some what of a revival in American historical television dramas over the past few years, and I’d be lying if I said I liked them as much as the British historical dramas- based solely on the integrity of the history being presented to the public via the preferred medium of flat screens. Cable shows like TURN: Washington’s Spies, Sons of Liberty, and (the less recent) HBO series on John Adams are all wildly entertaining. […]

Rebel Mechanics: All is Fair in Love and Revolution by Shanna Swendson

Rebel Mechanics: All is Fair in Love and Revolution by Shanna Swendson

November 12, 2015 1 Comment Regina

” What if British Magic kept the American Revolution from ever occurring?” The premise of this book is pretty amazing. My synapses salivate at the thought of how Shanna Swendson conjured this story question. There are two story worlds in this novel. One is out in the open, filled with proper aristocrats and those who wish they were. The other is clandestine, filled with working-class folk who walk on the radical side. I loved how […]

Review: Fisher’s Light by Tara Sivec

Review: Fisher’s Light by Tara Sivec

August 11, 2015 0 Comments Christy

REVIEW: I’ve heard so many good things about this book. I’ve not read a book by Tara Sivic before so I thought why not. While I think the plot for this book was unique, I had a few issues with the overall story. In the beginning I absolutely loathed Fisher. I hated him so much that I almost stopped reading. He was downright mean to Lucy. It’s not really revealed why he treats Lucy the […]

Seared With Scars (Book 2 of The 2nd Freak House Series) by C.J. Archer

Seared With Scars (Book 2 of The 2nd Freak House Series) by C.J. Archer

June 30, 2015 0 Comments Regina

You can check out my reviews for the first Freak House Series HERE: and for C.J. Archer’s The Medium trilogy HERE: My review of The Memory Keeper, The 1st book in the 2nd Freak House series can be found HERE. C.J. Archer is my go-to-author for Historical Romance and luckily for me, she puts out books faster than I can keep up with. Especially concerning the Freak House series. The second book revolving around Charity […]

Wish You Were Italian (If Only… #2) by Kristin Rae + ARC Giveaway

Wish You Were Italian (If Only… #2) by Kristin Rae + ARC Giveaway

June 19, 2015 0 Comments Regina

It’s Summer time and when I’m sitting at my desk in the most air-conditioned city in the country,  I close my eyes and imagine that I’m lounging on the Spanish steps, my face raised towards the Sun, my skin turning as golden as freshly pressed olive oil while pistachio gelato drips off the waffle cone in my hand and down my toasty decolletage… *Snaps out of it* Okay. I’ll continue to my book review before […]

We’ll Always Have Paris: A Mother/Daughter Memoir by Jennifer Coburn

We’ll Always Have Paris: A Mother/Daughter Memoir by Jennifer Coburn

June 16, 2015 0 Comments Regina

If you’re like me, a Summer Vacation, or any kind of real vacation, is out of reach on a seasonal basis. Between paying for school, paying the bills, paying for my zoo, and just plain paying to live (the daily grind kind), I’m lucky if I have enough cash to go on a road trip from Houston to Austin. So, naturally, I spend all of the disposable income I just denied having on books that […]

Review: Back to You by Priscilla Glenn

Review: Back to You by Priscilla Glenn

April 10, 2015 0 Comments Christy

This is the second time I’ve read Back to You. The first time I left a small review on Goodreads. I guess it really wasn’t a review. More like a sentence or two. “I loved everything about this book. It had me sobbing like a baby a few times, but that’s a sign of a really good story. Heartfelt. Loved it. Highly recommend.” See. Not much of a review. Anyway, this book is one of […]

Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

April 1, 2015 4 Comments Christy

Ugly Love was a really good book. The plot was intriguing. The characters were full of emotions. I was sort of surprised at how much emotion Miles showed. He’s the type of guy that when he falls, he falls hard. I’ve never met a guy like that in real life. I have a feeling they’re few and far between. I really liked him though. Even when he acted like a butt. And he did. Acted […]

Reviews: Confess by Colleen Hoover

Reviews: Confess by Colleen Hoover

March 31, 2015 0 Comments Christy

First of all I just want to say that Colleen Hoover is one of my favorite authors. She’s an automatic auto buy for me. To say I love her books would be an understatement. I love everything about her books. Her writing style. Her characters. Her ability to grab the readers attention from the very first page and hold it until the very end of the book. Owen Mason Gentry aka O.M.G. is an amazing […]

Review: The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon

Review: The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon

March 30, 2015 2 Comments Christy

Amazingly brilliant. What an amazing story. I loved every word of this story. Even the ones that broke my heart. I was hooked from the very first page. Truly. There was just something that drew me in and I knew that when I finished this story I was going to come away from it amazed, happy, and complete. The writing. As I said above. Brilliant. Ms Harmon did a great job with the writing. There […]

Bad Girls Don’t Die (Bad Girls Don’t Die #1) by Katie Alender

Bad Girls Don’t Die (Bad Girls Don’t Die #1) by Katie Alender

March 12, 2015 1 Comment Regina

A fresh and funny take on the classic possessed-doll-poltergeist story. I love Katie Alender. Her writing is clever and carries that kind of quick-wit charm you see on the big screen or current television shows aimed at teens. I really enjoy Katie’s writing and her simple yet effective characterization. I first fell in love with Katie’s writing in her book, Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer. You can check out my review of that one, here. Alexis […]

The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez

The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez

March 1, 2015 0 Comments Regina

If you’ve ever been curious about how the other half of America lives- the immigrants and the undocumented and those who would never even imagine having enough money to spend any on buying books to read for pleasure- then this powerful piece of fiction is a great place to start. This book is for readers that enjoy character studies and learning about other cultures and socioeconomic classes. What I had first thought was going to […]

Euphoria by Lily King

Euphoria by Lily King

January 29, 2015 4 Comments Regina

Euphoria is one of those books that I feel a little nervous about reviewing because it is a story built around a very specific topic, and I don’t want to interpret something wrong or say something that is completely off target. So, for the most part, I’ll just keep it as general as possible. Although I did take an Intro to Anthropology class, and a Magic, Ritual, and Religion anthropology class in college, I don’t […]

Palace of Spies by Sarah Zettel

Palace of Spies by Sarah Zettel

January 25, 2015 2 Comments Regina

Let’s start with the AWESOME book trailer, shall we?   Fans of Etiquette and Espionage will (should) love Palace of Spies. I try to refrain from doing this- but after reading the book and giving it five stars on Goodreads, I scanned some of the less than stellar reviews of the novel. One reviewer commented that the book had ”casual racism” in it and I was a little perplexed by this. There were no instances […]

Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2) by Robin LaFevers

Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2) by Robin LaFevers

January 7, 2015 0 Comments Regina

You can check out my review for Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) HERE. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy Dark Triumph like I did Grave Mercy. This second book in the series was close to 200 pages shorter but seemed much longer. To be honest, it was a laborious read for me. Dark Triumph seamlessly picks up where Grave Mercy ends, but we are now looking through Sybella’s eyes. Sybella is a contemporary of Ismae’s. She […]

A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller

A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller

December 31, 2014 2 Comments Regina

It’s almost been a year since I read this book, but I can’t let the New Year ring in without reviewing it because A Mad, Wicked Folly was one of my FAVE books of 2014. Imagine the lush world created in 1998’s Titanic film or the luxurious settings of PBS’s Downton Abbey, and you  have the story world of  A Mad, Wicked Folly. As if that isn’t enough to make someone run to their nearest […]

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1)  by Robin LaFevers

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by Robin LaFevers

December 29, 2014 0 Comments Regina

I remember the first time I almost purchased Grave Mercy. It was a fateful spring night and under a facade of calmness, I was trying to decide on a book to purchase from Target’s limited selection of YA lit as the clock clicked closer to closing time. The book I had come for was out of stock, so I scanned the section for something else that looked appealing. I HAD to have a book. Going […]

The Memory Keeper (1st book of the 2nd Freak House trilogy) by C.J. Archer

The Memory Keeper (1st book of the 2nd Freak House trilogy) by C.J. Archer

December 15, 2014 0 Comments Regina

The Memory Keeper is the first book in the second Freak House series, which I love fiercely. You can check out my reviews for the first Freak House series, here. The Romance and Mystery continue at The Frankingham Estate aka Freak House: The Memory Keeper picks up with Samuel and Charity’s story right where we left off at the end of the first Freak House trilogy. I was SO ATTACHED and IN LOVE with Jack […]