Format:eARC
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

 

THE LIBRARIAN Digital Assets

Title: THE LIBRARIAN

Author: Christy Sloat

Pub. Date: June 17, 2017

Publisher: CHBB Publishing

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 230

Find it: Amazon, B&N, Goodreads

 

He’s from 1892 England, she’s in a small library in 2017. And that’s just the start of their troubles.

Emme never meant to stay in Maine. She’d come only to find a librarian for her Gram’s library, a custodian for the collection of mysterious books she’d promised to protect. On a dark, wintery night, alone in the library, she takes her first glance into one of the antique novels and finds herself transported to 1892 England staring into the eyes of handsome and dashing hero Jack Ridgewell. As each chapter passes she learns you can truly fall in love with a character in a book, that book boyfriends are real and Emme must choose between the real world, and his.

When the last page is read he’s gone and Emme feels the cold loneliness of lost love. Will she find Jack again, or will their love be forever lost? The answer lies within the pages…

This book is for 21st century romantics who still believe in the magic of libraries to change lives and to transport them to different worlds. I recommend that readers who enjoyed Outlander, Lost in Austen, or The Librarians treat themselves to Christy Sloat’s novel the next time they have the pleasure of reading an afternoon away. The Librarian is a fast, absorbing, and atmospheric read that you will want to share with all of your bibliophile friends.

This book is full of all of those satisfying little things that make it unbearable to put a book down: family secrets, hidden rooms, dusty books, girl talk, and smoldering romance.

I enjoyed the back and forth between continents and time periods. The two main characters, Emme and Jack, were entertaining and intelligent depictions of a man and a woman from two different countries and time periods falling in love (or should I say lust) with each other. In fact, my only complaint is that this book was too short. I would have loved to experience the sparks between Emme and Jack smolder for a little longer.

I love the whole concept of this book. The plot, the title, the cover-everything is gorgeous and I highly recommend it. It is like the perfect literary shot of espresso for a lazy afternoon.

Giveaway Details:

1 winner will win a THE LIBRRAIAN Tote bag and swag , US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Christy: 

I am Southern California native, now living in New Jersey! How did that happen? I am married and have  two beautiful little girls who love to read just like Mommy. I have had a passion for books since I was a little girl and an imagination for just as long. I hope my books can inspire others to read and to write too.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

6/12/2017- Lost in Ever After– Interview

6/13/2017- Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf– Review

6/14/2017- Fire and Ice– Excerpt

6/15/2017- MEREADALOT– Review

6/16/2017- YA and Wine Interview

Week Two:

6/19/2017- Nerdophiles – Review

6/20/2017- BookHounds YA– Guest Post

6/21/2017- Kindle and Me– Review

6/22/2017- Two Chicks on Books– Interview

6/23/2017- Page Turners Blog– Review

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

by Corrie Wang
Published by Disney Hyperion Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

THE TAKEDOWN, Blog Tour Digital Assets

Title: THE TAKEDOWN

Author: Corrie Wang

Pub. Date: April 11, 2017

Publisher: Freeform

Pages: 384

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoodreads

 

Kyla Cheng doesn’t expect you to like her. For the record, she doesn’t need you to. On track to be valedictorian, she’s president of her community club, a debate team champ, plus the yummy Mackenzie Rodriguez has firmly attached himself to her hip. She and her three high-powered best friends don’t just own their senior year at their exclusive Park Slope, Brooklyn high school, they practically define the hated species Popular. Kyla’s even managed to make it through high school completely unscathed.

 

Until someone takes issue with this arrangement.

 

A week before college applications are due, a video of Kyla “doing it” with her crush-worthy English teacher is uploaded to her school’s website. It instantly goes viral, but here’s the thing: it’s not Kyla in the video. With time running out, Kyla delves into a world of hackers, haters and creepy stalkers in an attempt to do the impossible-take something off the internet-all while dealing with the fallout from her own karmic footprint. Set in near-future Brooklyn, where privacy is a bygone luxury and every perfect profile masks damning secrets, The Takedown is a stylish, propulsive, and provocative whodunit, asking who would you rely on if your tech turned against you?

 

Let me start off by saying that I REALLY LIKED THIS STORY. I admit that I signed up for this book because I could not resist the “hooking up with hot teacher” aspect of the plot. I was only minimally interested in the future/technology/internet aspect of the story. As a historian/librarian-in-training, I always have conflicting emotions about technology and the internet. But let me tell you, this book sucked me in like a stumbled upon episode of The Kardashians at I-can’t-sleep-so-I’m-flipping-through-channels-a.m.

Part Mean Girls, part Gossip Girl- this book was so fun and so hard to put down.

The author does an amazing job at creating the near future world in which humans have become appendages to technology and not vice versa. Humans are at the mercy of their devices in this carefully crafted story world, and there is a very creepy Big Brother vibe in the story. It gave me second thoughts about bring my cell phone with me into the restroom anymore *coughs*.

The main female character, Kyle, narrates the story with complete candidness and the kind of arrogance that you hate to love.  The mix of romantic and bestie/friend drama is perfectly balanced and gave the story such a realistic current that the younger me identified with. Although the story is set in the future, it really brought back memories, LOL.

The best part of this story, besides the integrated text-speak and the nostalgic memories of 1990’s high-school films and T.V. dramas that this book ironically evoked, was the compelling mystery at the center. I did not want to put this book down. I was addicted to it like most people are addicted to their cell phones. I HAD TO KNOW WHO WAS BEHIND THE MISCHIEF. In addition to the fun and engaging plot and storyworld, I loved the diversity of the characters that Corrie Wang so vividly animated in the prep-school setting.

This book is so fitting for today’s media and technology saturated culture. It will definitely have you thinking about your relationships with your devices and how much technology has embedded itself into your existence. It will also make you think twice about who you are both in private and public spaces.

This book is a super fast and surprisingly nuanced read. FIVE STARS, hands down. Did I mention how much I love the cover and the formatting inside? FUN.

About Corrie:

Corrie Wang is passionate about libraries, road trips, and eating all the food, everywhere. Corrie grew up in Buffalo but spent her formative years in Brooklyn, where one of her last paying gigs was managing a three-story nightclub on the Lower East Side. ​

She currently lives in Charleston, where she and her husband Shuai Wang own and operate Short Grain food truck— named one of Bon Appetit magazine’s Top 50 Best New Restaurants 2016 and a 2017 semi-finalist for a James Beard Award. The Takedown is Corrie’s debut novel.​

And fyi it’s pronounced Wong y’all.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of THE TAKEDOWN, US Only.
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Schedule:

Week One:

4/10/2017- Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Blogger Post

4/11/2017- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review

4/12/2017- YA and Wine– Review

4/13/2017- BookHounds YA– Blogger Post

4/14/2017- Storybook Slayers– Review

 

Week Two:

4/17/2017- Dazzled by Books– Review

4/18/2017- Wandering Bark Books– Blogger Post

4/19/2017- MEREADALOT– Review

4/20/2017- Book Briefs– Review

4/21/2017- Savings in Seconds– Review

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
The Deep End by Kristen AshleyThe Deep End by Kristen Ashley
Series: Honey #1
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on March 7th, 2017
Pages: 454
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Indiebound | BAM!
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Enter a decadent sensual world where gorgeous alpha males are pleasure slaves committed to fulfilling a woman's every desire. At the elite Honey club, no boundary will be left untested, and one's darkest desires will become a sensual reality.

Olivier isn’t sure what he’s gotten himself into when he joins the Honey Club, only that a dark part of him craves the lifestyle offered by this secret, exclusive club.

When Amèlie invites Olivier to surrender, she pushes him to explore his deepest desires as a submissive. As they grow closer and find themselves falling harder than either of them anticipated, the truth about Olivier’s past could threaten the budding relationship they both long for.

Gripping and seductive, The Deep End is the first book in a sensational new series from bestselling author Kristen Ashley.

Erin’s Review:

 

 

WOW. I recommend you turn the air conditioning when you start this book. It is seriously HOT. I thought Kristen Ashley’s Unfinished Hero series was dirty…those books have NOTHING on The Deep End. Wow. In the Unfinished Hero books, KA does dabble a bit in the BDSM when it came to some of the sex scenes but not anything like this book. This book was ALL SEX for the most part and most of it was the drrrty kind, not the plain ole vanilla kind.

Ok, I have to be honest, it took a while for me to really get in to the story. I got a little lost in the beginning of the book. It might have been the narrative, as I am not the biggest fan of third person, possibly just the story starting out really slow as well. There was a lot of inner dialogue I could have lived without, especially in the beginning of the book but eventually I started to get in to the story. I really enjoyed the second half of this book a lot more than the first half. Things definitely got a lot more interesting, there was more than just intense dirty sex happening ..the story developed a lot more.

Amelia is the DOMME in this book, and it was interesting, seeing the female in that role… and Olivier was referred to as an Alpha/Sub.. and he was definitely a Kristen Ashley ALPHA IN ALMOST ALL THE WAYS, except for the playroom. O_O Say what? He is what I saw someone refer to in another review as “Lion in the streets, kitten in the sheets.” and I TOTALLY AGREE with that.  This made for an interesting Kristen Ashley story for sure.

It’s not my favorite book of Kristen Ashley’s but I didn’t hate it. It’s just a lot different than what we are used to from her. That’s ok though. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book. I haven’t seen the synopsis for it yet (is there even one out?) but I can take a guess as who it could possibly be! 🙂

 

Excerpt:

At that moment, for the first time in years, she was paying no attention to Stellan.

This was because Talia’s tall frame shifting out of the way offered an unhindered view of something else that had slipped in without her notice.

And gazing at him, Amélie went still.

As did her breath.

And her heartbeat.

Leaning a shoulder against the wall beyond the edge of the bar, six or seven feet from the door to the playrooms, he was surveying the scene as if he wasn’t part of it.

Or as if it was he who was on the prowl.

But although a Dominant could mingle freely in the open space, this would be done with some intent.

If they were on the hunt, they’d be at a booth.

Subs were not allowed to sit in a booth unless the invitation was extended. They populated the floor, on display, it was requisite.

In the mesh of bodies, a sub could be identified in a variety of ways. The cast of their gaze. Their bearing. Jewelry that declared their status.

And their position in the hunting ground.

No Dominant would linger there like he was, partially for that reason. Clear communication and transparent messages were key in their world. No Dom would give the impression of being a sub.

This was explained at length during membership orientation.

That magnificent beast was a sub.

An alpha-sub, assuredly.

It came from his sheer size, like a cloak stitched to his skin he had no hope of shrugging off (not that he’d wish to).

He had to be six five, perhaps taller. His dark suit and mono-chromatic shirt necessarily tailored for his physique for there were very few men on this earth that had it. His shoulders as wide as a log. His chest a veritable wall. The muscles Amélie had no doubt were hidden under his clothing apparent in the exposed line of his throat. It wasn’t that he had no neck. But that lethal shank of corded, sinewy muscle could not be established and maintained if the rest of him didn’t match precisely.

She knew he was alpha beyond that. His stance at the wall, casual and self-assured, it was openly cocky. He knew his allure. He knew his beauty. He knew even if he wasn’t exactly your type, every being would understand with base instinct his attraction.

He also knew how to use this. All of it. It was his art as sure as reading it on him was Amélie’s.

From what she could tell, his hair was dark blond, the thickness of it, how it was longer at the top, clipped short at neck and ears was so appealing, she was willing to make that single allowance for she preferred her toys to have dark hair.

She made that allowance, but if she had her way, and she often did, he’d grow it longer so there’d be more of it to fist her fingers into as a means to use to make him serve her will.

His facial features only heightened his appeal that already, with the rest of him, defied belief.

A strong brow over eyes she couldn’t see the color of from her distance. Hollowed cheeks under high cheekbones and over a firm, cut, clean-shaven jaw. And a large nose that was openly pugilistic, the dent at the top of the bridge not created by God but by a break that he didn’t deem important enough to have set properly.

Staring at him, utterly incapable of not doing it openly, she felt the insides of her thighs tingle. And her nipples were hard buds, the restriction of the lace of her bra suddenly excruciating.

That…

Now that was whisky.

“Oh my, Leigh, are you seeing what I’m seeing?” Mirabelle asked. And before she could answer, her friend went on, “It’s like he was made for you.”

It was, indeed.


Blog Tour:

Kristen Ashley’s THE DEEP END – Review & Excerpt Tour Schedule:

February 27th

All Romance Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Crystals Book World – Excerpt

Foxy Blogs – Excerpt

Garden of REden – Review

Stacey is Sassy – Review

Steamy Reads – Review

February 28th

Books,Dreams,Life – Excerpt

Marieke’s Books – Review & Excerpt

Read more sleep less – Review

Scandalicious Book Reviews – Review

She Reads New Adult Book Blog – Review

The Book Bellas – Review & Excerpt

March 1st

After Dark Book Lovers – Review & Excerpt

Booklovers For Life – Review

FMR Book Grind – Review

Jax’s Book Magic – Excerpt

Reads All the Books – Review & Excerpt

Three Girls and a Book Obsession – Review & Excerpt

March 2nd

Agents of Romance – Review & Excerpt

Under the Covers – Review & Excerpt

Book Bitches Blog – Excerpt

Oh My Growing TBR – Review & Excerpt

Reading Keeps Me Sane – Review & Excerpt

The Review Loft – Review & Excerpt

March 3rd

Random Book Muses – Review

MEReadALOT – Review & Excerpt

Mommys naughty playground – Review

Stephanie’s Book Reports – Review & Excerpt

Vilma’s book blog – Review & Excerpt

March 4th

a crazy vermonters book reviews – Review

Book Babes Unite – Review

Love Between the Sheets – Review & Excerpt

Vagabonda Reads – Review

March 5th

All About Romance – Review

Mustreadbooksordie – Review & Excerpt

Angie and Jessica’s Dreamy Reads – Review & Excerpt

PBC – Excerpt

March 6th

About That Story – Review

Krista’s Dust Jacket – Review & Excerpt

KT Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Night Owl Reader – Review & Excerpt

Read-Love-Blog – Review

StuckInBooks – Review & Excerpt

March 7th

Shh Moms Reading – Review

Words We Love By/LucyLiciousReads – Review & Excerpt

Books to Breathe – Review & Excerpt

For The Love of Fictional Worlds – Review & Excerpt

Joyfully Reviewed – Review & Excerpt

Nose Stuck in a Book – Review & Excerpt

March 8th

Shameless Book Club – Review & Excerpt

A Fortress of Books – Excerpt

BJ’s Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Jen’s Reading Obsession – Excerpt

Lit Slave – Review & Excerpt

Straight Shootin’ Book Reviews – Excerpt

March 9th

Behind Closed Doors Book Review – Review

Dirty Girl Romance – Review

Friends Till The End Book Blog – Excerpt

iScream Books – Review & Excerpt

Red Cheeks Reads – Review

Smut Book Junkie Reviews – Review & Excerpt

March 10th

Bookcrack – Review & Excerpt

Two Girls with Books – Excerpt

E-Romance News – Excerpt

Four Chicks Flipping Pages – Review

Lit. 4 Ladies – Review & Excerpt

Natalie The Biblioholi – Review & Excerpt

True Story Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

March 11th

Aurora B’s Book Blog – Excerpt

Blushing babes are up all night – Review & Excerpt

Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents – Review & Excerpt

Reading Between the Wines Book Club – Excerpt

March 12th

Collector of book boyfriends – Review

Feeding My Addiction Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

I’m A Sweet And Sassy Book Whore – Review & Excerpt

Stormy Nights Reviewing & Bloggin’ – Excerpt

March 13th

Black heart reviews – Review

Nice Ladies, Naughty Books – Excerpt

Once Upon a Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Pretty Little Book Reviews – Review

Queenzany – Review & Excerpt

Sizzling Pages Romance Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Talk Books to Me – Review

March 14th

Abibliophobia Anonymous Book Reviews – Excerpt

Alpha Book Club – Review

G & T’s Indie Café – Excerpt

Once Upon An Alpha – Review & Excerpt

No BS Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

The BookWhisperer – Review & Excerpt

The Escapist Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana, and has lived in Denver, Colorado, and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multigenerational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland, and Kristen grew up listening to the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon, and Whitesnake. Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music and love was a good way to grow up. And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

Book Review: Fire In You by J. Lynn + Giveaway!

Book Review: Fire In You by J. Lynn + Giveaway!Fire in You by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Wait For You #6
on November 28th, 2016
Pages: 360
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Jillian Lima’s whole world was destroyed in a span of a few hours. The same night her childhood love, Brock ‘the Beast’ Mitchell, broke her heart, her life was irrevocably altered by the hand of a stranger with a gun. It takes six years to slowly glue together the shattered pieces of her life, but Jillian is finally ready to stop existing in a past full of pain and regret. She takes a job at her father’s martial arts Academy and she’s going out on her first date since a failed relationship that was more yuck than yum. Jillian is determined to start living.

She just never expected Brock to be a part of her life again. But he’s firmly back in her life before she knows it, and not only is he older, he’s impossibly more handsome, more teasing and more everything. And when he sees Jillian, he’s no longer capable of thinking of her as the little girl who was his shadow growing up or the daughter of the man who gave him a second chance at life. He sees the woman who’d always been there for him, the one person who believed in him no matter what.

Brock knows she’s the one he should’ve made his, and what begins as a tentative friendship quickly turns to red-hot chemistry that sparks a flame that burns brighter than lust. Falling for Brock again risks more than her heart, because when the sorrow-filled and guilt-ridden past resurfaces, and a web of lies threatens to rip them apart, the fallout could lay waste to everything they’ve fought to build together, and destroy the dreams of those they care most about.

I can’t believe that it’s the end of the Wait For You series!! I love these characters and I’m sad to see this series getting a wrap!

We’ve met Brock and Jillian in previous books of the Wait For You series. Jillian is a bit younger than the rest of the crew in this series and last we saw her she was crushing hardcore on Brock, all the while, Brock just saw her as a little sister.

This book takes place about six years after the rest of the series. Jillian is working in insurance and hasn’t seen Brock in those six years. The reason why being that the one night she decides to tell Brock how she feels about him, he pretty much blows her off. Minutes later after she leaves the Mona’s after she had been waiting for him, her life dramatically changes and definitely NOT IN A GOOD WAY.

Now it’s six years later and Jillian is still trying to get past the tragic event that she went through.. She finally decides to take a job at her father’s MMA training academy, only later finding out that Brock is her boss…and little does she know Brock has finally realized that she’s more than just a “kid sister” to him…

OH MY GOD. Why is this series over? I can’t get enough of Cam and Avery! They’re my favorite couple out of this entire series! As I was writing up this review I realized that this entire story is pretty much an epilogue for the entire series, while Brock and Jillian’s story is the main story line..you definitely get to see what the rest of the gang has been up to in the last 6 years.. I really loved that aspect of this story.. Although View Spoiler »

Jennifer did an amazing job with this story and I loved both Jillian and Brock.. Jillian had me crying in the first chapter and every chapter after that. Every time she revisited that night and we learned a little more about what happened I had tears running down my face. Jennifer really got the best of my emotions with this book. Brock seemed like a total player with a bright future in MMA when we first met him in the earlier series..but he’s definitely grown up since then. He wasn’t right for Jillian back then, but he’s definitely perfect for her now.

Thank you so much for this beautiful series, Jennifer. I can’t believe it’s over now. 🙁

Book Trailer

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour

Check out the rest of the stops on the Fire in You Blog Tour!

November 21

The Book Bratz-Review
This Wacky Mama Reads!-Review & Excerpt
Booklovers For Life-Character Q & A-Jillian

November 22

The Reading Geek-Review
Words With Sarah-Review & Author Interview

November 23

Grown Up Book Reviews (MundieMoms)-Review
Krista’s Dust Jacket-Review & Excerpt
Oh My Growing TBR-Review & Excerpt

November 24

A Bookish Escape-Review
Star-Crossed Book Blog-Review & Author Interview

November 25

Book Bitches Blog-Review & Excerpt
The Irish Banana Reviews-Review & Author Interview

November 26

Stuck In YA Books-Review & Top 5 List
Step Into Fiction-Review & Excerpt

November 27

Less Reality, More Books-Review & Character Q & A-Kristen
My YA NA Book Obsession-Review & Author Interview

November 28

RentasticReads-Review
Stuck in Books-Dual Reviews
Mrs. Leif’s Two Fangs About It-Review
MEReadAlot-Review

November 29

Milky Way of Books-Review
Love Between the Sheets-Review & Character Q & A-Brock
Book Boyfriend Reviews-Review

November 30

The Cover Contessa-Review & Top 5 List
Deity Island-Review & Excerpt
All Romance Reviews-Review & Excerpt

December 1

Cocktails and Books-Review
Readers Live 1000 Lives-Review & Character Q & A-Avery & Cam
K-Books-Review

December 2

Tome Tender-Review & Excerpt
The Book Hookup-Review & Excerpt

December 3

Nose Stuck in a Book-Review & Excerpt
Kimberlyfaye Reads-Review & Top 5 List

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Mr. President by Katy Evans + GIVEAWAY!

Mr. President by Katy Evans + GIVEAWAY!Mr. President by Katy Evans
Series: White House #1
on October 31st, 2016
Pages: 280
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Katy Evans comes a sizzling new contemporary romance.

He's won the hearts of millions. But is he willing to lose his?

I met the president’s son when we were both young. Matthew Hamilton was handsome, polished, and intelligent. I’d never met a guy like him.

He promised me that he’d never run for president. I promised that if he did, I’d be by his side.

Three terms later, an invitation to join Matthew Hamilton’s campaign is the most exhilarating opportunity I’ve ever experienced. I'm determined to make a difference; he is determined to win.

Focused on his goal, Matt is steadfast, ruthless, and disarming. All eyes are on him and his popularity is surging. But soon, the next possible president of the United States is possessing me in more ways than one—and despite the risks, I'm helpless to resist.

We're stealing touches, stealing moments, and stealing away at night. But our chemical connection is quickly becoming dangerously combustive, putting not only my heart, but Matt's chance at the presidency on the line.

Winning will take everything. Walking away will be the hardest thing of all.

I started this book the night before I was set to leave on vacation…I read until I couldn’t keep my eyes open..and then I woke up the next morning with a mile long list of things to do and pack before I left on a trip and instead of doing that, I sat down with my iPad and finished Mr. President. Let’s just say I left for my trip HOURS after I planned on doing so. Oops. 🙂 But this book was just THAT GOOD.

Charlotte was only eleven the first time she met Matt Hamilton. His father (then president) Lawrence Hamilton, brought him along to a dinner at Charlotte’s family’s home. Although Charlotte wasn’t originally supposed to attend the dinner she somehow talked her parents into letting her join. Good thing she did, because that dinner pretty much sealed her destiny. Charlotte was so charmed by Matt that she wrote him a letter after the dinner telling him that if he ever decided to run for president he had her vote and she’d even be willing to join his campaign..

Many years later, It appears that Matt was also charmed by Charlotte because he remembers her and her letter and calls on her offer 10+ years ago to join his campaign…and this is where the story really begins.

Though Charlotte doesn’t originally accept the offer to join the campaign, after re-thinking it she calls his campaign manager and accepts the position because she wants to be a part of History. She comes on as a political aide but is soon given a promotion that brings her on the campaign trail with Matt. It’s here where the two start up a secret romance even though they’re both afraid of any “scandal” that may come of it. Charlotte loves her country and Matt too much to make him choose her.

his-voice

I didn’t realize this was going to be a “series” until I got to the end. Good thing though, because I didn’t get enough of the characters. I can’t wait to see what becomes of Matt and Charlotte’s relationship.. I hope that Matt realizes that maybe romancing Charlotte will be good for his public image. The public loves a good love story and he could totally use it to his advantage.

I know you might be sick of Politics in the real world, but give this book a chance. You won’t be disappointed! It’s an intoxicating story that’ll have you casting your vote for Matt Hamilton as President by the time you’re done!

the-right-thing-2

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Katy Evans

Katy Evans grew up with books and book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love. They married and are now hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which is, hopefully, only the beginning

The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas (Review & Giveaway)The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas
on September 6th, 2016
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE THIS MAN TRILOGY ANDONE NIGHT TRILOGY!

People think they have Camille Logan nailed: daddy's girl; beautiful, spoiled young woman with her father's bank balance to fund her lifestyle. But Camille is determined to have a life free from his strings. Out on her own, she's made mistakes, including one that found her clawing her way back after a stint in rehab and plenty of bad press. Now, after fighting so hard to be independent and happy, she finds her life threatened as a result of her father's ruthless business dealings. Caught between resentment and fear, Camille prepares herself for the measures her father will take to protect her. But nothing could prepare her for the ex-SAS sniper who crashes into her life.

Jake Sharp resides in his own personal hell. He was distracted from duty once before, and the consequences were devastating--both personally and professionally. He vowed never to let that happen again. Accepting the job of bodyguard to Camille Logan isn't the kind of distraction from his demons he should take. Women and Jake don't mix well, yet protecting the heiress seems the lesser of two evils. But Jake soon discovers that she isn't the woman she's perceived to be. She's warm, compassionate, her presence settling, and his duty to protect her soon goes deeper than a well-paid job, no matter how hard he fights it. He needs absolution. He comes to need Camille. But he knows he can't have both.

 

Book Trailer

 

 

Review

Oh. my. GOD. This is another masterpiece from Jodi Ellen Malpas. If you love a Tall, Dark and Moody hero then Jake Sharp is the Book Boyfriend for you.

Jake Sharp has serious demons and he lives with them every day. The only ways that help him keep them at bay is drinking, sex and work. When a job comes in to guard the daughter of a rich business man he’s reluctant to take it at first glance. What he’s expecting is a rich spoiled girl brat, but it isn’t what he gets.

Camille Logan is a smart, independent woman who is determined to make a name for herself without the help of her father.

The moment the two of them meet in the story the chemistry is there and it builds up quite nicely throughout the story. I really enjoyed getting to know the two of them. Jake’s backstory is quite heartbreaking and I definitely didn’t expect for it to turn out the way it did. But in the end it works out quite nicely and it will definitely bring a tear or two to your eyes. It was a very sweet ending.

The Protector is a standalone novel, unlike Jodi’s previous work, and I’m quite sad that we won’t get to spend any more time with Jake and Camille. Who knows? Maybe in the future she’ll re-visit them again. We’ll see…

Jodi definitely knows how to write a Swoony-worthy guy and if you love Jesse and Miller, you’ll LOVE JAKE. Read this book now! If you haven’t read Jodi’s previous series This Man or One Night, you should DEFINITELY check those out as well. 🙂

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

ARC Review: The Architect of Song  by A.G. HowardThe Architect of Song Published by self-published on August 15, 2016
Pages: 425
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

A lady imprisoned by deafness, an architect imprisoned by his past, and a ghost imprisoned within the petals of a flower - intertwine in this love story that transcends life and death.

For most of her life, nineteen-year-old Juliet Emerline has subsisted – isolated by deafness – making hats in the solitude of her home. Now, she’s at risk to lose her sanctuary to Lord Nicolas Thornton, a twenty-seven-year-old mysterious and eccentric architect with designs on her humble estate. When she secretly witnesses him raging beside a grave, Juliet investigates, finding the name “Hawk” on the headstone and an unusual flower at the base. The moment Juliet touches the petals, a young English nobleman appears in ghostly form, singing a song only her deaf ears can hear. The ghost remembers nothing of his identity or death, other than the one name that haunts his afterlife: Thornton.

To avenge her ghostly companion and save her estate, Juliet pushes aside her fear of society and travels to Lord Thornton’s secluded holiday resort, posing as a hat maker in one of his boutiques. There, she finds herself questioning who to trust: the architect of flesh and bones who can relate to her through romantic gestures, heartfelt notes, and sensual touches … or the specter who serenades her with beautiful songs and ardent words, touching her mind and soul like no other man ever can. As sinister truths behind Lord Thornton’s interest in her estate and his tie to Hawk come to light, Juliet is lured into a web of secrets. But it’s too late for escape, and the tragic love taking seed in her heart will alter her silent world forever.

International and NYT bestselling author, A.G. Howard, brings her darkly magical and visual/visceral storytelling to Victorian England. The Architect of Song is the first installment in her lush and romantic Haunted Hearts Legacy series, a four book gothic saga following the generations of one family as - haunted by both literal and figurative ghosts - they search for self-acceptance, love, and happiness.

New Adult: Recommended for ages 16+.

*Sings in A minor to my Russian Blue cat using an operatic voice, “Why? Whhhhyyy didn’t I love this book- the book release of my obsession!?!?”*

When I saw the cover of A.G. Howard’s newest novel, The Architect of Song, I instantly coveted it. So, obviously, I was thrilled when I received a digital ARC for review. Despite my excitement for the novel, I made sure not to raise any ridiculous expectations that might ruin my reading experience. I have not read the author’s popular Splintered series yet, so I also did not know what to expect from her writing style.

To put it briefly, A.G. Howard’s writing is beautiful. There were sentences and descriptions in TAoS that dazzled me with their lyricism and poetic overtones. Her writing conjured images of jewel-toned velvets, Gothic architecture, and fairy-tale settings. Lovely descriptions made the story pop.

Crimson Peak is full of decadent eye candy and Howard's descriptions reminded me of the beautiful imagery from this film.
Crimson Peak is full of decadent eye candy and Howard’s descriptions reminded me of the beautiful imagery from this film.

Unfortunately, the romance at the heart of the novel fell completely flat for me. If I had rated this book on that aspect alone, it would have been 1.5 stars. I am a die-hard otherworldly lover/love triangle fan, but neither of these aspects drew me in or held my attention in TAoS. The dynamic between the characters was cheesy to me. It was like rushed lust that masqueraded as love by the end of the story. When I think of a gothic romance, I anticipate the wonderful yet torturous build up of passion and romance between the love interests. I didn’t really get this from TAoS.

Also, I feel like the title is a tad misleading. I thought music or singing was going to play a bigger role in the book, but it doesn’t. The music fan in me was disappointed by this.

I am still completely in love with the idea of this book and series, and I look forward to the next book in the Haunted Hearts Legacy to see if there has been any improvement in the development of the romantic thread.

Just for fun:

If you are into paranormal romances and Victorian era settings, than I highly recommend C.J. Archer’s Emily Chambers Spirit Medium series and The Freak House series. Both trilogies are to die for, but The Medium trilogy comes closest to TAoS. C.J. Archer does an amazing job of building up romantic tension between the human and ghost love interest, and is an absolute master of writing about the Victorian time period.

The Medium new cover

One StarOne StarOne Star

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. ArmentroutThe Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Harlequin Teen on May 17th, 2016
Pages: 480
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD | Indiebound | BAM!
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

Wow, I have no words for this book. Jennifer L. Armentrout is one of those authors who I don’t even bother reading the synopsis for any book she writes..I just usually dive in to the book. The Problem with Forever is a heartbreakingly beautiful book and when I started reading the prologue I knew that it was unlike anything she’s written before.

Mallory is a high school senior who has spent the last so many years being homeschooled. After having such a traumatic childhood that has left her with a severe case of PTSD, she is ready to drop her shield and face her fears by attending Public School.

Mallory is not a girl of many words, She uses silence as a shield. It’s what she knows, it’s what Rider told her to do, it’s what she did to survive her childhood.  It’s been four years since the event that lead to Mallory getting out of the foster house she lived in with Rider. It’s been FOUR YEARS since she’s even seen Rider or talked to Rider. She’s been adopted by an amazing and supportive couple. She’s learning how to overcome what she’s been through. She’s learning that it is ok to speak, or make a sound. She’s ready to take on school and get over her fears, make friends and to live her life.

Mallory’s first day as a senior at Lands High doesn’t go so well. She’s having trouble find the words to respond to a simple “hi” from the girl a few lockers down, the atmosphere in the cafeteria is too overwhelming for her, etc. When she gets to the last class of the day, the class that she probably fears the most, SPEECH, it’s there where she runs into her knight in shining armor…

Rider Stark grew up with Mallory, they were both foster kids that ended up in one of those foster homes straight out of a nightmare. He did everything he could to protect her, he even saved her from their horrific life though it ended up taking her away from him. After the events that took Mallory away from him, Rider ends up in a group home and then from there it ends up in Mrs. Luna’s house.

The second that Rider sees Mallory, it’s like the four years it had been since they’ve seen one another never happened. It’s obvious that he hasn’t forgotten her, that she has never been that far from his mind. They re-connect instantaneously and it’s a beautiful thing.

Jennifer did a really good job of putting Mallory’s discomfort when speaking aloud into this story. Every time she “spoke” in the book, you could tell that she was fighting her urge to just stop talking. With Rider’s help and the help of her new friends, Mallory slowly gets over her fear of using words, of speaking to and being around people.

Rider is just going along with everything, he thinks that he doesn’t deserve to do anything in life. He’s just existing..but Mallory shows him that he deserves to have anything and everything in life that he wants. Just because he grew up in the system doesn’t mean that he shouldn’t try to make his life better. That he shouldn’t go to college or to art school. He’s obviously extremely smart and a very talented artist. He just doesn’t think he’s good enough for all that, or good enough for Mallory. In the end, Rider being there in her life and doing what he always did for her, helped push Mallory into HELPING him. Showing him that he found a HOME WITH PEOPLE WHO CARE ABOUT HIM, the same as her. Mallory makes him realize that he can do anything he wants.

I really enjoyed this story, even as I had tears running down my face through it. The characters were great, the story line will definitely have your emotions all over the place and in the end..Rider and Mallory are finally finding the happiness that everyone deserves to have in their life.

Thanks to InkslingerPR, Harlequin Teen and Jennifer L. Armentrout for the chance to read and review this book for the blog tour!

 

** I FINALLY GET TO MEET JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT on her book tour for The Problem with Forever on May 19th! I am getting a copy of the book autographed to GIVEAWAY to a lucky reader of ours!! Enter to win below!! There’s also a giveaway being hosted by Inkslinger in part with the Blog Tour, don’t forget to enter that giveaway as well! 🙂

 


*** I don’t normally don’t add songs to posts…but..
I thought maybe this song would sum up Mallory and Rider’s childhood.

This song is Rider..

Hmm..I might add more later..

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The autographed copy of The Problem with Forever giveaway is open to those only in the USA. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

12593561_778780958890135_7477090847338317775_o

Pre-Order The Problem with Forever and register your purchase to receive a FREE fan pack! Fan pack includes:Inspirational Wall Art, flag-as-you-read stickers, a poster AND an excerpt of TPWF to start reading now! Pre-Order now from Amazon, B&N, Kobo, iBooks, The Book Depository, Indiebound or BAM!
Register your pre-order here to receive the FREE FAN PACK! http://bit.ly/24awVFw

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

Book Tour: Listen to Me by Kristen ProbyListen To Me by Kristen Proby
Series: Fusion #1
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks on April 12th 2016
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD | Indiebound
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Kristen Proby’s brand new series, five best friends open a hot new restaurant, but one of them gets much more than she bargained for when a sexy former rock star walks through the doors—and into her heart.
Seduction is quickly becoming the hottest new restaurant in Portland, and Addison Wade is proud to claim 1/5 of the credit. She’s determined to make it a success and can’t think of a better way to bring in new customers than live music. But when former rock star Jake Keller swaggers through the doors to apply for the weekend gig, she knows she’s in trouble. Addie instantly recognizes him—his posters were plastered all over her bedroom walls in high school—he’s all bad boy...exactly her type and exactly what she doesn’t need.
Jake Keller walked away from the limelight five years ago and yearns to return to what’s always driven him: the music. If he gets to work for a smart-mouthed, funny-as-hell bombshell, all the better. But talking Addie into giving him the job is far easier than persuading her that he wants more than a romp in her bed. Just when she begins to drop her walls, Jake’s past finally catches up with him.
Will Addie be torn apart once again or will Jake be able to convince her to drown out her doubts and listen to her heart?

Another great story from Kristen Proby and another great set of friends/family that I can’t wait to get to know!

Addison Wade and her closest friends have opened up Portland’s hottest new restaurant, Seduction! While Addison and Kat (one of her best friends and partner) out scoping local talent at an open mic night in an effort to bring some local music to their restaurant, we, the readers meet Jake Keller aka Jake Nash.

Jake Nash used to be a Rock God, but he left the limelight after an accident that he blames himself fore.. These days he prefers to be BEHIND THE MUSIC. He misses performing and goes to an open mic night just to do it. After realizing how much he misses it, his best friend talks him in to going to Seduction and see about getting the job performing there on the weekends.

Now this is where ADDIE and JAKE finally meet each other..and the sparks start flying!

Addie has been around the block when it comes to dating musicians and she is DONE after the last one. Or so she thinks…. Even though she can feel the chemistry between her and Jake..she does her best to not engage in anything with him. But we all know that wasn’t gonna last long… I really loved Jake and Addie together. Usually there’s something about one of the main characters that drives me crazy..but these two I really liked. Of course there was a drama, there should always be a little drama..but in the end it all works out!

I really liked both Addison’s friends AND Jake’s friends. They all seemed like super awesome people and I kind of wish I had a set of friends like that in my own life! Maybe I should move to Portland? Haha! I can’t wait to see where this series and the characters go in the future!

Also, THAT EPILOGUE.. seriously though.. WARNING: CLIFFHANGER…that will get you excited for the next ocuple in the series and it will have you counting the days until the release of Close to You.. (125 days as of the date I published this review.. LOL.)

 

If you love Kristen Proby’s books or if you love Contemporary Romances..DEFINITELY CHECK OUT LISTEN TO ME! I think you’ll really like it! 🙂

 

Thanks to Inkslinger and the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review for the blog tour. 🙂

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Kristen Proby

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author Kristen Proby is the author of the bestselling With Me In Seattle and Love Under the Big Sky series. She has a passion for a good love story and strong, humorous characters with a strong sense of loyalty and family. Her men are the alpha type; fiercely protective and a bit bossy, and her ladies are fun, strong, and not afraid to stand up for themselves.
Kristen lives in Montana, where she enjoys coffee, chocolate and sunshine. And naps.
The Power by Jennifer L. ArmentroutThe Power by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Titan #2
Published by Spencer Hill Press on February 23rd, 2016
Pages: 344
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | TBD
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

With any great change, there is always strife, and the Covenant University has become the frontline between pure-bloods who want the Breed Order reinstated and the half-bloods who want the right to control their own destinies.
Fate has other plans.

The violence is escalating and war between the races seems inevitable, and it couldn’t come at a worse time. Hyperion may be out of commission, but Josie and Seth know they have only earned a reprieve. Seth must get Josie fully prepared, which means controlling her newfound abilities, and they need to find the other demigods before the Titans do.
But the gods are sensing a greater threat.

Only one thing is more dangerous than a bunch of starved Titans, and that’s an out-of-control Apollyon. The aether in Josie is drawing Seth in deeper, and when lust mixes with love and gives way to power, he knows being close to her is not only dangerous to her, but to everyone around them, but letting her go requires a level of selflessness that just isn’t Seth’s style.

The paths taken in the past are becoming the roads of the future.

Just as chaos breaks out, familiar faces from the past return, complicating the already strained bond between Josie and Seth, and when the danger from the Titans erupts with devastating consequences, the dark allure of power calls to Seth again, but this time Josie might not be able to pull him back.

And when the struggle between power and love becomes the deadliest battleground, there may be no salvation.

Ok wow, This book was even better than The Return. I really started to like Seth a whole lot more. I mean he finally started to grow on me in the Return (I kind of wanted to punch in the Covenant books…so that’s saying a lot), but I like him even more now, though he did have a few moments where someone needed to bitchslap him, but he found his way again…

This book kind of dragged for me a bit in the beginning but it really started to pick up when we got towards the middle. We see quite a few people from the Covenant series in this book series (OMG guess who shows up in this book?! I bet you’ll never guess! :P) and we even meet a new demigod in the Power. Hercules. Yes, THAT Hercules shows up to help out a bit… and WOW. I don’t think I’ve ever rolled my eyes so hard at a character in a book before. He made for some good entertainment in this book, that is for sure.

Wow, the end of the book. I have no words.. I was definitely not expecting that to happen and neither was Seth or anyone else for that matter, it seems. Something’s changed.. and Josie hasn’t given up on Seth, and I don’t think she should. Because even though he doesn’t see it, I don’t think the situation he’s found himself in is anywhere near as bad as everyone thinks it will be. Hopefully Josie will be able to fix everything in the next book, I have faith in her love for Seth!!

Thanks to the Publisher for giving me an ARC for an honest review!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet.

He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. TuckerHe Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker
Published by Atria Books on February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The USA TODAY bestselling author of the Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water series makes her suspense debut with this sexy, heartpounding story of a young woman determined to find justice after her best friend’s death, a story pulsing with the “intense, hot, emotional” (Colleen Hoover) writing that exhilarates her legions of fans.

Twenty-eight-year-old Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a bottle of Xanax and a handle of vodka, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers secrets in the childhood lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man who Celine herself claimed would be her ruin.

On the hunt for answers that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.

Ah! Ms Tucker is for sure one of my favorite and must read authors. Ten Tiny Breaths was the first book by Ms Tucker that I read and let me tell you… It literally blew me away. The twist was completely amazing. I totally did not see that coming.

He Will Be My Ruin is Ms Tucker’s first attempt at writing a thriller. Believe me when I say that she nailed it. I loved it! This storyline kept me guessing. Every time I thought I had it solved, I was proven wrong.

Books like this one are my favorite’s. I’m a big fan of books that challenge you. Books that keep you guessing. Books that feature storylines that keep you turning page after page as quickly as possible. Books that you just don’t want to put down.

Ms Tucker achieved all those things within the pages of this one. Did I mention I loved this book? Lol

The character’s were both intriguing and well developed. The storyline unique. I completely, totally, and positively loved it. And that ending! Speechless! I even had to tweet Me Tucker about it.

So overall, if you like books that keep you guessing and completely sick you in. He Will Be My Ruin is definitely one you don’t want to miss!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About K.A. Tucker

K.A. Tucker is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water.

Born in small-town Ontario, K.A. Tucker published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader, and currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

Blog Tour: Beauty and the Boss by Diane Alberts

Blog Tour: Beauty and the Boss by Diane AlbertsBeauty and the Boss by Diane Alberts
Series: Modern Fairytales #1
Published by Entangled on November 16th, 2015
Pages: 190
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Beauty is about to tame her beast...

Researcher Maggie Donovan has no luck with men, and it doesn't help that she can't keep her eyes off of her sexy boss - the one everyone else in the office calls The Beast. Relationships in the office are forbidden. So no one is more surprised than Maggie when she pretends to be his fiancée to save him during a difficult situation. Not only has she put her job on the line, but the future of the company.

Billionaire Benjamin Gale III doesn't believe in love or romance, but the look on his mother's face when Maggie tells her that she's his fiancée is worth millions. Instead of firing her for her insubordination, he goes along with the ruse. In his arms-and in his bed-she'd be everything he could ever want…which is why he can't have her.

But if he doesn't let her go, they'll lose everything…

OK to be honest, it took a while for me to get in to this book.. Sorry but I have this weird thing about stories being told in the third person. It drives me bonkers! I DON’T KNOW WHY!! But once I got past that, I started to enjoy the story.

Normally I might go in and try to summarize the book for you, but that’s what the synopsis is supposed to be for right? So I’m going to skip that. Obviously this is supposed to be a modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast but other than, Benjamin (or Benji as Maggie started to call him in the book), being referred to as the “Beast” by his employees, I’m not sure how it compares to the Beauty and the Beast story.. But to be honest I’m not all that familiar with the story. I don’t think I ever saw the Disney movie and..it never really appealed to me. I’m more familiar with Snow White, Cinderella, etc.. I know, I think I might be a little weird. LOL. For those of you who have read this book? How does it compare to Beauty and the Beast? Let me know in the comments section below!

Maggie’s character really annoyed me for a bit at the beginning of the story. I liked her just fine in the very beginning but the part when her and Benji go on their “first” date, she came off a total bitch. But when she finally explained herself..it made sense and then I started to like her again. 🙂

Poor Benji, he has had it rough since his dad died. No mother should ever treat her son that way. I felt really bad for him every time his mother showed up in the story. And those people.. Do rich people really act that way? LOL. I mean most books that involve characters that come from money, the people they grew up around always seem.. AWFUL. But this is fiction… Maybe they really aren’t that bad in the real world?

There was a typo at one point in the book when his mother is trying to push him into marrying his ex girlfriend. Telling him that he needs to “Marry someone of god breeding.” I’m assuming that it was supposed to be “good breeding” right? But when I read it I thought that maybe “god breeding” might be right too. Maybe the blue bloods like to think they descend from GODS. Good, God? Eh..

Anyways, other than my stupid issue with POVs..I really ended up liking this book. I didn’t realize until I was working on my reveiw that this is the first book in the “Modern Fairytales” Series. Hmmm…I hope that maybe the next book in the series will be about Maggie’s roommate Becca. I really liked her for the 3 seconds that she showed up in this book. I hope so, because the epilogue in this book wasn’t satisfying enough for me..so maybe if Becca gets a book, I’ll get to see more of Benji & Maggie’s happily ever after. 😉

If you like modern retellings, check this series out for sure. Also please let me know how you think it compares to Beauty and the Beast will you? 🙂

Thanks to Entangled and Diane Alberts for allowing me to read and review this book for the Blog Tour. 🙂

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Diane Alberts

Diane Alberts is a multi-published, bestselling contemporary romance author with Entangled Publishing. She also writes New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling new adult books under the name Jen McLaughlin. She’s hit the Top 100 lists on Amazon and Barnes and Noble numerous times with numerous titles. She was mentioned in Forbes alongside E. L. James as one of the breakout independent authors to dominate the bestselling lists. Diane is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency.

Diane has always been a dreamer with a vivid imagination, but it wasn’t until 2011 that she put her pen where her brain was, and became a published author. Since receiving her first contract offer, she has yet to stop writing. Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, and a cat. Her goal is to write so many fantastic stories that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

Blog Tour: Bounce by Noelle August + Giveaway

Blog Tour: Bounce by Noelle August + GiveawayBounce by Noelle August
Series: Boomerang #3
Published by William Morrow on August 25th, 2015
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Playing the occasional club gig just isn’t cutting it for twenty-two-year-old cellist Skyler Canby, who’s trying to support herself and her mother back home in Kentucky. Persuaded by her best friend Beth to accompany her on an audition for the first feature film launched by Blackwood Entertainment, she figures why not? Beth’s a shoe-in for the lead, but maybe Skyler’s newly dyed pink hair will help her stand out enough to score a small speaking part.

Never in her wildest dreams does Skyler imagine she’ll land the lead role or that she’ll have her shoes knocked off her feet by the kiss her audition partner, Grey Blackwood, plants on her—a kiss that feels very real and not at all “acted. ”

After throwing a party that causes thousands of dollars of damage to his older brother’s home, reckless musician Grey Blackwood gets roped into working off his debt on the set of his CEO brother’s newest project. Grey spends his days fetching coffee and doing odd jobs around the studio, but he lives for nights when he performs with his band. He knows if he can stay focused, success as a singer is just around the corner. But that’s tough with a distracting pink-haired girl occupying his every waking thought.

Skyler and Grey have every reason to resist each other. But, like a song neither of them can get out of their minds, they have no choice but to go where the music takes them.

Bounce is the final book in the Boomerang series by Noelle August. It can be read as a standalone, but I suggest reading the first two books in the series as the characters from the previous books show up throughout this book and references to events in those books are mentioned.

Skyler is a musician from Kentucky looking to make it somehow in Los Angeles. She ends up at an audition for a movie with her roommate.

Grey is the younger brother of Adam Blackwood, who we get to know in the previous book Rebound. After a wild party Grey has pretty much destroys his brother’s house, Grey has to work off what he owes his brother for damages. One of the things he ends up having to do is to sit in an audition for a movie Adam has invested in. He’s standing in for the leading actor who can’t make it to the audition for the female lead.

After hours of reading lines with numerous girls, in comes Skyler and the sparks start flying.

Grey & Skyler have instant chemistry and it’s off the charts, but other than the first time they met you don’t really see them act on it all that much. Thanks to Adam for loaning Grey out to Garrett (the male lead in the movie they’re filming) as his personal assistant, he’s on set every day and is around Sky quite a bit.

Sky doesn’t see them working out, due to the fact that she is the ripe old age of TWENTY TWO to Grey’s NINETEEN. WOW, what an age difference! NOT. She makes such a big deal over it, when really it’s not that bad. I almost forgot that she was only in her early twenties. She made it seem like she was 30ish everytime she complained about how he was younger than her. She has such an issue with having feelings for Grey that she even goes so far as to “date” Brooks. It starts up this weird love triangle thing, but you quickly realize that it’s not really anything to be worried about.

Grey has some serious issues he needs to work through in this book and he does everything he can to avoid said issues..but eventually he gets his head out of his ass and sees that it doesn’t take blood to make someone your family and for people to love you like their own.

Eventually Sky falls victim to the pressures of being an actress in Hollywood and in the end it finally brings her and Grey together. THANK GOD.

Like I said, this book is supposed to be the final in the Boomerang series, but I can totally see them spinning of this series and go in to the lives of some of the characters we meet in this last book. Especially seeing as I didn’t get an EPILOGUE. >:( All series should end with an epilogue. WHO AGREES WITH ME?

Anyways, if you like cute light hearted romances, I definitely suggest you check this series out.

Thank you to William Morrow for an advanced copy in exchange for my honest review. 🙂

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Noelle August

Question: What do you get when friends pen a story with heart, plenty of laughs, and toe-curling kissing scenes? Answer: Noelle August, the pseudonym for renowned editor and award-winning writer Lorin Oberweger and New York Times bestselling YA author Veronica Rossi, the masterminds behind the Boomerang series.

Blog Tour+GIVEAWAY: The Last Necromancer (The Ministry of Curiousities #1) by C.J. ArcherThe Last Necromancer by C.J. Archer
Published by Createspace on August 11, 2015
Pages: 268
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | Kobo

Victorian London: For five years, Charlotte (Charlie) Holloway has lived as a boy in the slums. But when one theft too many gets her arrested, her only means of escape lies with a dead man. Charlie hasn't raised a spirit since she first discovered she could do so five years ago. That time, her father banished her. This time, she brings even more trouble upon herself.

People are now hunting Charlie all over London, but only one man succeeds in capturing her.

Lincoln Fitzroy is the mysterious head of a secret organization on the trail of a madman who needs a necromancer to control his newly "made" creatures. There was only one known necromancer in the world - Charlotte - but now there appears to be two. Lincoln captures the willful Charlie in the hopes the boy will lead him to Charlotte. But what happens when he discovers the boy is in fact the young woman he's been searching for all along? And will she agree to work for the man who held her against her will, and for an organization she doesn't trust?

Because Lincoln and his ministry might be just as dangerous as the madman they're hunting.

TheLastNecromancerTourBanner1

You can find my reviews of C.J. Archer’s Freak House series HERE and her stand alone novel, Surrender, HERE. Don’t forget to ENTER to WIN at the bottom!

Victorian London 1888 (1)victoriandress1111889 London slums

Victorian Era London, England

ATTENTION POLDARK FANS: You will LOVE the dynamic between the Female and Male protagonists in this novel.

I wish I could buy stock in C.J. Archer.

Once again, she’s blown me away with the start of another great series, The Ministry of Curiosities. When I read C.J.’s books, I imagine her conducting her research in wonderfully dusty libraries and some mystical, greenish light shooting up from the pages, illuminating her face and filling her with magical writing powers. I have always enjoyed how C.J. filters her love for history and all of her historical research through such addicting and entertaining novels.

The Last Necromancer has a scandalous start and immediately threw me into the reality of slum life in 1889 London. C.J.’s world building falls out of the pages and properly transports the reader to whatever setting our protagonist, Charlotte Holloway, is occupying.

Charlotte is like a mix of Eponine, from Les Mis, and Demelza, from Poldark. Her fighting spirit, sense of self-preservation and boldness was a nice departure from the quiet and helpless Victorian women so often portrayed in novels of this era. Charlotte has an edge to her, sharpened by experience, and she is a protagonist that I enjoyed from the first page. Charlotte Necromancer

Alexandra Dowling– My Charlotte Holloway

Without a word, he padded back to the casket and placed the weapon inside, then returned to the bedroom. He re-emerged after ten minutes wearing nothing but a towel around his hips and carrying another that he used to dry his hair.

His lack of attention to me allowed me to take in the sight of his chest and shoulders, the left one with a bandage covering it where I had shot him. The youths in the gangs I’d been in had never had bodies like that. Fitzroy’s shoulders were broad, with bulges of muscle rippling down his arms and across his chest. The sprinkle of dark chest hair tapered off before reaching his rigid stomach.

If Charlotte reminded me of Demelza, then Lincoln Fitzroy, the dashing and disturbing male protagonist, one-hundred percent reminded me of Ross Poldark. Lincoln is described as looking darkly handsome, like he could fit in with Gypsies. The below image is what instantly came to mind when his character was described in the book. By God, he is a likable character and I just *die* with anticipation every time I read a C.J. Archer book while waiting to be introduced to the male MC. She just gets them SO RIGHT every time. There are undercurrents of Heathcliffe from Wuthering Heights and Rochester from Jane Eyre in Lincoln Fitzroy and, of course, we all know that is an intoxicating combination.

Aidan Turner- My Lincoln Fitzroy

Aidan Turner– My Lincoln Fitzroy

The Last Necromancer is creative and has a unique twist with the pleasant familiarity of classic romance novels. This book was as spellbinding as C.J.’s other novels and thank goodness she writes faster than I can read because the second novel in the series, Her Majesty’s Necromancer is already out! So, basically, if you love reading, history, romance, and the paranormal and superhuman, then YOU WANT TO READ THIS BOOK. And can I just say, aren’t the covers AMAZING?!

Her Majesty's Necromancer cover

 

Aaaand just for fun:

There were some things about The Last Necromancer that reminded me about the Tooth and Claw Doctor Who episode. If that ep. was one of your favorites (as it was mine), then I think you will enjoy The Ministry of Curiosities series.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

ButtonXBT

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Gus (Bright Side #2) by Kim HoldenBrightside by Kim Holden
Published by Self Published on May 19, 2015
Pages: 389
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The journey that began in top-rated, best-selling Bright Side, continues ...

This is the story of Gus.
Losing himself.
Finding himself.
And healing along the way.

“ … but the honest-to-God truth is I don’t even know how to function anymore. Bright Side wasn’t only my best friend; she was like my other half ... the other half of my brain, the other half of my conscience, the other half of my sense of humor, the other half of my creativity, the other half of my heart. How do you go back to doing what you did before, when half of you is gone forever?”

I was so happy to hear that Gus was getting his own book. It wasn’t until almost release day that I did. Naturally of course I knew I had to read it. I really liked Gus in Bright Side. The friendship Gus and Kate shared was really tight. My heart broke for Gus at the end of Bright Side. Bright Side was an amazing read. In fact, I re-read it before starting this book.

Now onto Gus. He’s the lead singer of Rook. They’ve just released their first album and are starting a world tour. Gus is a good guy. He struggled a lot in the beginning of this book. I didn’t like a lot of the decisions he made, but could see where he’d might make some of them he did. I was really worried about him in the beginning.

It wasn’t until he met Scout that he started changing. Changing s-l-o-w-l-y. There was just something about her that was different. When I say Gus started changing slowly, I’m not kidding. He had so many issues to work through that he struggled a lot. He was so lost and I hurt for him.

Once he and Scout started communicating more though Gus started changing. I started rooting for him. I wanted the old Gus back. I wanted the long haired, buff, surfer who was a good looking rock star that was amazingly talented.

Ms Holden’s writing was exceptional yet again. I felt like I was part of the story. There wasn’t a time where I got bored with the story. The flow was smooth and held my attention.

The sex scenes were hot, well written, and plentiful. I loved how Gus made sure Scout was comfortable every step of the way.

Overall, if you’re looking for a new adult story that offers an interesting storyline, that will hold your attention, and leave feeling completely satisfied once you’ve reached the end. Then Gus is for you. I will say that you’ll need to read Bright Side first too get the entire picture. You won’t be sorry you did though. Brightside is amazing.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: This Is Where It Ends by Marieke NijkampThis Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on January 5, 2016
Pages: 292
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama's high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won't open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student's calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

REVIEW:

~ 54 minutes. The entire story spans a timeframe of fifty four minutes. ~

Although there are other published books that deal with this topic. I think the way this story is written sets it apart from the others. It’s told in multiple points of view, and I really enjoyed learning each featured characters perspective. Learning how they were connected with each other in one way or another. Ms Nijkamp did a great job building the backstory. I felt like I really knew these characters.

There were a few times the story seemed to drag on a bit. I found myself wanting to skim a couple times, but I stuck it out and read the entire book. For the most part though I’m ok with how it ended. I think the author left a few strings untied. I would have really liked to know how things ended up for one of the main major characters.

Overall, this story is pretty good for a debut. I’ll be looking forward to reading more of Ms Nijkamp’s work.

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: There You Stand by Christina LeeThere You Stand by Christina Lee
Series: Between Breaths #5
Published by Inter Mix on April 21, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From the author of All of You and Before You Break comes a new Between Breaths male/male standalone romance about the silent, inked up skateboarder and the tattoo artist who unravels him piece by piece…

Tattoo artist Cory Easton has worked long enough at Raw Ink to know, just by looking at a dude, what his body art reveals, what makes him tick, what even makes him scared. Until he meets the quiet and remote Jude York—so unreadable, so unreachable, and so unlike anyone else, he can’t help but arouse Cory’s curiosity.

As captivating and complex as his ink, Jude is a mystery—and Cory’s falling fast and hard under his spell. Against his better judgment to steer clear.

The rumors of Jude’s past overshadow him—whispers of prison and an unmentionable secret that’s kept him in the protective shadows of a local motorcycle club. As Cory probes deeper, he wonders how much he really wants to know. Especially since Jude has awakened something inside him that has been buried too long—and has him feeling completely alive for the first time in forever…

REVIEW:

I’m sorta at a stand still after reading this book. Though M/M is not normally something I would read. I really liked Cory in the previous books and was happy to hear he was going to get his own book.

This story itself was a good one. It’s well written and offers interesting characters. I found Jude to be an interesting guy, but also a little bit annoying. He doesn’t talk much and at times I found myself getting irritated with him because of it. Although, as the story progressed the more I began to understand his actions.

There You Stand offers a suspense element that kept me guessing throughout the entire book. I love books like this. Early on I thought I had Jude all figured out, but I had it wrong. So wrong.

Since this is a romance there is of course sex. I think Ms Lee did a great job writing it. Again M/M is not my thing, but it was passionate. There were several scenes and I think they really portrayed the feelings Cory and Jude shared.

The one thing I didn’t like about this book was the overuse of the word god****. Its used over and over again. I know this is a M/M book, but is it really necessary to use it obsessively? I’m not a prude, but I don’t care for that word being used in stories at all. It really doesn’t do anything to enhance the story.

Overall, I think There You Stand is a great addition to this series. If I had my way the two remaining single characters within this series would also get their own book. That would be Dex and Emmy. At this point there is no plan for that that I’m aware of. 🙁

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Fall Out Girl by L. DuarteFall Out Girl by L. Duarte
Published by Self Published on March 2015
Pages: 224
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Imagine a social outcast: Me. (Luna)

Imagine a popular boy: Him. (Caleb)

Sound like the characters of a cliché story, right? Here, hold my hand. Come away with me. I’ll tell you my story, and you’ll decide.

But I have a warning: Proceed at your own risk. Since it’s a snippet of my life, I’m one of the main characters. And to put it lightly, I’m not the most likable person in the world, cue the earned label. Also, unlike fairy tales, my story is real with a dash of sorrow and loss.

How do I start? Once upon a time…? Shoot me now, please.

The beginning? No, too boring.

Well, let’s start with the catalytic moment that set in motion a chain of events that changed my life, yet again.

As for a happily ever after? Sorry, no spoilers here. You’re going to have to figure that one out on your own. After you read my tale, it becomes yours, and as such, you’re entitled to your interpretation.

So, off we go!

Fasten your seat belts. This ride may get bumpy.

REVIEW:

Wow! I finished reading Fall Out Girl late yesterday afternoon and I’m still reeling. I experienced so many feels while reading this story. I had read the synopsis on Goodreads one day a few weeks ago and added it to my tbr list. Last week I was contacted by the author and offered an ARC for an honest review. I accepted and thought I’d get to it in a couple weeks. I’m really swamped right now. Here’s the thing though. It kept calling to me. After a few days I decided I’d read it next after I finished my current read.  Once I got started reading I was hooked. I fell in love with this story and its characters. Every time I had to put it down I’d feel sad. I didn’t want to. I wanted to continue reading and stay immersed inside Luna’s world. That’s how captivated I was with the story.

Even though the majority of this book takes place in a high school setting, there is sex within the pages of this one. I’d categorize it as a mature young adult that morphs into a new adult towards the very end. The sex is comparable to adult mainstream. Maybe a little more steamy. There are a few scenes. Not a lot though. What’s there is well written and fit perfectly within the story.

Fall Out Girl contains some quotes I really liked. The to-do list Luna’s father left her was amazing to read. You could tell that he was an amazing man and that he loved her fiercely. It sucked that she had to suffer such a loss in her young age.

Overall, I loved this book so much. I can honestly say without a doubt that it’s one of my favorites reads of this year. I highly recommend it. The unique storyline, amazing writing, and deeply flawed characters are sure to tug at your heartstrings. I can count at least four times I had to leave the room so I could cry in private. I didn’t want my family to think I was nuts. Lol Fall Out Girl really touched my heart and I hope you’ll give it a shot.

5 AMAZING STARS!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About L. Duarte

I have found that there is only one thing better than reading, and that is writing. I am always torn between the two. I am also frequently torn between chocolate and coffee. However, I emphatically do not like the month of February, lies, and flies. For me, bravery is defined by the courage to do what we fear the most. This conviction is reflected in my debut work of romantic fiction, Chasing Stars. I live in Connecticut with my husband and two children. Drop a few lines. I would love to hear from you.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Promise Me This by Christina LeePromise Me This by Christina Lee
Series: Between Breaths #4
Published by Inter Mix on October 7, 2014
Pages: 246
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A new love will test the boundaries of passion between a privileged boy next door and the tattooed, blue-haired girl who helps him embrace his wild side...

Nate has developed quite a playboy reputation around campus. It's not that he doesn't respect or trust women; he doesn't trust himself. The men in Nate’s family are prone to abusive behavior—a dirty secret that Nate’s been running from his entire life—so Nate doesn't do relationships. But he can’t help himself around one girl…

Jessie is strong, independent, and works at a tattoo parlor. Nate can’t resist getting close to her, even if it’s strictly a friendship. But it doesn't take long for Nate to admit that what he wants with Jessie is more than just friendly.

With Jessie, he can be himself and explore what he’s always felt was a terrifying darkness inside him. Even when Nate begins to crave her in a way that both shocks and horrifies him, Jessie still wants to know every part of him. Testing their boundaries together will take a trust that could render them inseparable… or tear them apart.

REVIEW:

Finally! Nate & Jessie’s story. I’ve been looking forward to this one. Nate was a tough nut to crack and I couldn’t wait to find our what made him the man he was. He’s the hookup kind of guy. Never going back for seconds. He also hardly ever uses his tongue. His reasoning. “It’s too intimate.” I get that.

Jesse is a hell of a spitfire. She’s a take know prisoners type of girl. I loved her spunkiness. She and Nate have this playful banter between them. I really enjoyed it. Jessie is completely different from Nate. Jessie sports crazy colored hair and several tattoos. She also dresses in her own style. Combat books are certainly the norm for her.

Nate couldn’t be anymore different from Jessie. He’s muscular, has no tattoos, and comes from a privileged family. Although that family may not be all that it seems to be.

I loved these two together. It was a long hard fight for them, but when all was said and done, I was happy with the outcome.

The sex scenes were hot. Hotter than mainstream romance. Which is normal for Ms Lee. They’re well written and plentiful.

Overall, I think Promise Me This is a great addition to the Between Breaths series. If you’ve yet to give this series a try I highly suggest you do. It’s a great New Adult series.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Blog Tour: Inside Game by Collette West

Blog Tour: Inside Game by Collette WestInside Game by Collette West
Series: New York Kings #5
on July 3rd, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Third baseman Drake Schultz is the undisputed bad boy of the New York Kings. So it's no surprise when Major League Baseball suspends him for taking performance-enhancing drugs. Furious with their superstar, the front office issues an ultimatum: either work with their sober companion or kiss the rest of his quarter-billion-dollar contract goodbye. Cocky and arrogant, Drake resists being saddled with a live-in babysitter—even one he's insanely attracted to.

Drake is Eva Sloane's first celebrity client as a substance abuse counselor, and she knows she's in trouble when he starts tempting her at every turn. The way he looks at her is as hot as sin, but she refuses to become his new drug of choice. Slowly, she helps him realize he has to face the demons from his past and heal his tortured spirit before he can even think about satisfying any craving he has for her

Ok I have to start off by saying that I didn’t even KNOW this was a part of a series until AFTER I finished this book. I’m kind of upset by that fact. I wish I could have read the first four books before reading this.

Oh well, that’s fine I guess. I didn’t feel like I was jumping in to a story that’s already in progress when I started this book so that’s a very good thing about this story. It obviously can be read as a standalone. 🙂

Now let’s get to the story: Drake Schultz is the bad boy on the New York Kings. He appears to have been the bad boy on the team. He’s a total jerk to his teammates and doesn’t let any one get close to him. That is until his luck changes and he finds himself being suspended from baseball for eighty games and he’s in neutral territory with the girl that catches his eye every time she’s sitting behind the dugout at one of the Kings’s games.

Eva Sloan is a substance abuse counselor and her newest client is her favorite player from the New York Kings. She’s ready to take on Drake and help him kick his Performance Enhancing Drug habit. Not only that but she’s also taken on the job of showing Drake his worth. He’s more than just a baseball player and she does everything she can to show him that there’s more to his life than just baseball and drugs.

Boy, Drake sure has some serious issues he needs to work through and Eva is all about it, but she totally goes about it the wrong way. It seems that she’s an intelligent girl, but when she does everything she can to get Drake to face his demons from the past, she doesn’t see how dangerous it can be. Every time she pushed the issue of going to Kentucky, I just about screamed at my iPad like, “Are you that stupid, Eva?” Don’t you know what kind of shit you can get both of you in to by doing this?” But unfortunately, characters never listen to me when I yell at this.
Oh well, in the end, it all works out. 😉

Other than Eva being a little oblivious at times, I really enjoyed both of these characters. It was an interesting read and a gives you a good look at the things you forget happen backstage in the world of baseball.

I liked this book a lot and I’m definitely about to check out the rest of the series. I’ll be reading them with the Detroit Tigers playing in the background, as they usually are my background noise during my evening reading in the summer. 😉 Woohoo for baseball romances! 😀

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Collette West

Collette West grew up as somewhat of a jock-nerd hybrid. Entering the world three weeks premature, her dad nearly missed her birth because he had seats behind the dugout for a sold-out, highly-anticipated match-up between two of baseball’s biggest rivals. Not to be outdone, her book-loving mom taught her how to read by the time she was three. A love of the game coupled with an appreciation for the written word were instilled in Collette’s impressionable brain from a young age. No wonder her characters believe in the philosophy: sports + romance = a little slice of heaven.

Splitting her time between the Pocono Mountains and Manhattan, Collette indulges her inner fangirl by going to as many games as she can from hockey to baseball and downloading every sports romance novel in existence onto her iPad. When she’s not clicking away on her laptop, she enjoys walking her dog in Central Park, satisfying her caffeine craving at the Starbucks on Broadway and keeping an eye out for Mr. Right. But above all, she loves dishing with her readers.

Email Collette at collette_west@yahoo.com

Book Review & Giveaway: The Only Way by Magan VernonThe Only Way by Magan Vernon
Series: Only #4
Published by Beautifully Broken Books on March 18th, 2015
Pages: 333
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

William "Tripp" Chapman has always been the black sheep of his family's political dynasty. His oldest brother works on Wall Street, his youngest-groomed for the senate. And Tripp is the brother known for wrecking his Porsche after a drinking bender and winding up in rehab.

On the night of his father's presidential election he takes a detour and meets a waitress at a local hole-in-the wall. Samantha "Sam" Green is just as broken as he is, but covers it up with enough snark so no one tries to get too close.

When Sam gets kicked out of her apartment, Tripp agrees that she can crash on his couch until she gets on her feet. But as they grow closer physically, the ghosts of their past threaten to burden their new relationship

The Only Way they can overcome their demons is to face them instead of running. Can Sam help Tripp find his way or will their own battles bury them further?

The Only series is a series of standalone novels. You do not need to read one in order to fully understand the other. M/F. HEA.

Another great book by Magan Vernon. I don’t know about you guys, but I LOVE THE CHAPMAN BROTHERS. We got to meet and fall in love with Trey in The Only Exception and The Only Answer. In The Only Way we get to the meet his brother, Tripp, who happens to be the “black sheep” of the family. He’s fresh out of rehab and being whisked away to his father’s election night party. On the way there, he makes a detour to a hole-in-the-wall diner where he meets a waitress named Samantha “Sam” Green.

Sam isn’t any better off than Tripp. She’s got her own problems she’s dealing with and she keeps everyone at arms length with her snark. After being kicked out of her apartment, Tripp comes to the rescue. Soon she’s crashing on his couch and helping him out in exchange.

I really enjoyed this book. Magan did a good job of getting into the mind of a recovering addict who is trying to find himself after getting out of rehab. He may come from what seems like the perfect family, but he and his family are far from perfect and we’re beginning to see more of that in this book. I really liked him and Sam. They were GREAT together and they really helped each other out. She helps him find himself and his calling in the world. I loved that their relationship started out as a friendship and we got to witness their relationship blossom instead of just jumping straight into a romantic relationship. 🙂

Oh and we got to know a little bit more about the other Chapman, Trigg, in this book and I hope that we get his story in the future! Pretty Please, Magan? 🙂

If you haven’t checked this series out, you definitely should! Especially if you like more than just fluff with your romance novels. Magan deals with some serious issues in this series and I think she does a good job with the tough subject matter in these books.

With that said, I am giving you guys the chance to check out the ENTIRE SERIES! Enter below for your chance to win the ebooks of all four books in this series!


The Only Exception

icon_goodreads amazon Nook apple kobo


the-only-answer

icon_goodreads amazon Nook apple kobo


The Only One ebooklg

icon_goodreads amazon Nook apple kobo


103ff-reveal-theonlyway

icon_goodreads amazon Nook apple kobo




a Rafflecopter giveaway
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Magan Vernon

Magan Vernon is a Young Adult and New Adult writer who lives with her family in the insurance capital of the world. When not writing she spends her time fighting over fake boyfriends via social media.