The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas (Review & Giveaway)The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas
on September 6th, 2016
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE THIS MAN TRILOGY ANDONE NIGHT TRILOGY!

People think they have Camille Logan nailed: daddy's girl; beautiful, spoiled young woman with her father's bank balance to fund her lifestyle. But Camille is determined to have a life free from his strings. Out on her own, she's made mistakes, including one that found her clawing her way back after a stint in rehab and plenty of bad press. Now, after fighting so hard to be independent and happy, she finds her life threatened as a result of her father's ruthless business dealings. Caught between resentment and fear, Camille prepares herself for the measures her father will take to protect her. But nothing could prepare her for the ex-SAS sniper who crashes into her life.

Jake Sharp resides in his own personal hell. He was distracted from duty once before, and the consequences were devastating--both personally and professionally. He vowed never to let that happen again. Accepting the job of bodyguard to Camille Logan isn't the kind of distraction from his demons he should take. Women and Jake don't mix well, yet protecting the heiress seems the lesser of two evils. But Jake soon discovers that she isn't the woman she's perceived to be. She's warm, compassionate, her presence settling, and his duty to protect her soon goes deeper than a well-paid job, no matter how hard he fights it. He needs absolution. He comes to need Camille. But he knows he can't have both.

 

Book Trailer

 

 

Review

Oh. my. GOD. This is another masterpiece from Jodi Ellen Malpas. If you love a Tall, Dark and Moody hero then Jake Sharp is the Book Boyfriend for you.

Jake Sharp has serious demons and he lives with them every day. The only ways that help him keep them at bay is drinking, sex and work. When a job comes in to guard the daughter of a rich business man he’s reluctant to take it at first glance. What he’s expecting is a rich spoiled girl brat, but it isn’t what he gets.

Camille Logan is a smart, independent woman who is determined to make a name for herself without the help of her father.

The moment the two of them meet in the story the chemistry is there and it builds up quite nicely throughout the story. I really enjoyed getting to know the two of them. Jake’s backstory is quite heartbreaking and I definitely didn’t expect for it to turn out the way it did. But in the end it works out quite nicely and it will definitely bring a tear or two to your eyes. It was a very sweet ending.

The Protector is a standalone novel, unlike Jodi’s previous work, and I’m quite sad that we won’t get to spend any more time with Jake and Camille. Who knows? Maybe in the future she’ll re-visit them again. We’ll see…

Jodi definitely knows how to write a Swoony-worthy guy and if you love Jesse and Miller, you’ll LOVE JAKE. Read this book now! If you haven’t read Jodi’s previous series This Man or One Night, you should DEFINITELY check those out as well. 🙂

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas (It’s MILLER TIME!)

One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas (It’s MILLER TIME!)One Night: Denied by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Series: The One Night Trilogy #2
Published by Forever, Grand Central Publishing on November 11th, 2014
Pages: 448
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The passion that burned between Livy and Miller in One Night: Promised may end up destroying them both in this new novel of overwhelming desire and shocking discoveries...

He's amazingly wealthy, sinfully gorgeous, and can bring her to heights of pleasure she's never before known. For Livy, there's no turning back. She's determined to be the light in Miller Hart's dark world. Yet this new life comes with a steep price...

Miller knows that the power he possesses hasn't come without sacrifices-but he won't let Livy be one of them. Though he wants nothing more than to have her in every way, his first duty is to protect her at all costs...from his sins, his enemies, and especially himself.

But as their insatiable affair intensifies, the two attract the attention of an obsessive-and dangerous-third party. Discovering new revelations about Miller that rock her to the core, Livy will have to decide whether he's ruined beyond repair. And he must face his fear that in order to save her, he may have to lose her after all...

miller-time

 

Miller’s name always makes me think of the  “It’s Miller Time” slogan by Miller Beer, so this review will be now called “It’s Miller <3 Time!” Because..well, it is Miller time.

Raise your hands if you love Miller Hart!

hand-raise

 

 

First off, I’ve read a few other reviews on this book. Some things I agree with while some others I don’t.

First, there was some weird editing in this book.
For example, The end of chapter 10/beginning of chapter 11. Did Scotty beam her there? How did she go from Miller’s apartment to being inside of a hotel room. Also, how did she manage to get that specific hotel room? That just totally confused the hell out of me when I read it.

Why is everyone hating on Miller and his “Thing?”

I think it’s adorable. Olivia is the first person in his life he’s allowed to get close to him in that way and so of course it’s going to be an addiction, A THING, that he’ll want. Did anyone get tired of Jesse wanting to “Make Friends” because that was totally his “THING”. I think Miller’s “thing” is JEM just making him more adorable. Just like I thought Jesse and his “making friends” was adorable.

Shut up and let Miller have his "Thing!" It's awwwwwdorable.
Shut up and let Miller have his “Thing!” It’s awwwwwdorable.

 

I enjoyed the first book of this series immensely.  This one I found not to be as good as the first book. Doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, I did..but I think this one seems more like just a filler between Promised and Unveiled.  Not a whole lot happens in this book, with the exception of the last 20% or so. That was when the story started to get a bit more interesting. Yeah, we do learn a little more about Miller and his past, but not a whole lot. Livy was given the chance to talk to Miller and ask him anything but she didn’t do a good job of playing the twenty questions game. Unfortunately she really didn’t ask him any good important questions.

We do see a lot more of William in this book. View Spoiler » Livy takes advantage of William popping up everywhere and learns more about him and his relationship with her Mother in this book.

Livy and Gregory’s relationship is all sorts of FUCKED UP in this book. Some weird shit goes down between Gregory and Livy that honestly I don’t think should have. They both seemed to turn into completely different people at times..and that one scene between them View Spoiler »  was just… odd.

I have to say that while I love Miller, I think that maybe Livy’s Nan had the best quotes in the whole book! I seriously love her Nan. She’s absolutely hilarious.

“I’m no spring chicken, but I can still bump and grind with the best of ’em.”

“I might audition for Beyonce’s next music video. Think I’ll rock it?”

And the scene when Nan is collecting laundry…..

KOCOyHyFA9

 

*Sigh*
And that ending….

cliffhanger

Wow, I didn’t expect that. I can’t wait to see what happens in Unveiled!

While it wasn’t as good as Promised, this book was still an enjoyable read. It could’ve been better..but.. eh, I think it did set us up well for the third and final book. I hope that JEM will blow us away with Unveiled!!

Some of my favorite quotes…

 “Forget the world outside and be with me for ever.” “You’ve underestimated my determination to fix us.”
 “The second I looked at you, I saw light through my constant darkness.”

 “I’ve never made love to a woman in my life.” I barely hear his words. “Only you.”

 “I’m your someone. Everyone has a someone, and I’m yours, like you are mine.”

 “You fit me just right,” he groans, slowly closing his eyes. “The only thing in my life that has ever been truly perfect is you.”

“I love your bones Miller Hart.”

“What’s the most resilient part of you?”
“My heart, Livy. My heart is the most resilient part of me.”

Excerpt

I know I look out of place as I stand near the gym entrance, clearly hesitant, and looking a little overwhelmed. All the machines look like spaceships, hundreds of buttons or levers on each one, and I haven’t the first idea how to operate them. My one-hour induction last week did a great job of distracting me, but the information and instructions fell straight from my memory the second I left the exclusive fitness center. I scan the area, fiddling with my ring, seeing masses of men and women pounding the treadmills, going hell for leather on the bikes and pumping weights on huge lifting devices. They all look like they know exactly what they’re doing.
In an attempt to blend in, I make my way over to the water machine and gulp down a cup of ice water. I’m wasting time being hesitant when I could be releasing some stress and anger. I spot a punching bag hanging in the far corner with no one within ten meters of it, so I decide to give it a try. There are no buttons or levers on that.
I help myself to the boxing gloves hanging on the wall nearby. After securing the Velcro, I give the bag a little poke. I’m surprised at how heavy it is. I inject some power into my weak arm and throw some effort into my next hit. I grunt too, and the bag shifts significantly this time, moving away from me and seeming to pause in midair before it’s on its way back toward me. Fast. I panic and quickly pull back my fist, then extend my arm to prevent being knocked to the ground. Shockwaves fly up my arm when my glove connects with the bag, but it’s moving away from me again. I smile and spread my legs a little, bracing myself for its return, then smack it hard again, sending it sailing away from me.
My arm is aching already and I suddenly realize I have two gloved hands so I pummel it with my left this time, smiling wider, the impact of the bag on my fists feeling good. I’m breaking out in a sweat, my feet are beginning to shift and my arms getting into a rhythm. My shouts of satisfaction spur me on and the bag morphs into more than a bag. I’m beating the shit out of it and loving every moment.
I don’t know how long I’m there, but when I finally let up and take a moment to think, I’m drenched, my knuckles are sore and my breathing erratic. I catch the bag and let it settle, then take a cautious glance around the gym. No one is staring. I’ve gone totally unnoticed, everyone focused on their own workout. I smile to myself and collect a cup of water and a towel from the nearby shelf, wiping my brow as I make my way from the huge room. For the first time in weeks, I feel prepared to take the day on.
I head toward the changing rooms, feeling like a lifetime of stress and woes have just been knocked out of me. The urge to go back in and pound for another hour is hard to resist, but I’m already at risk of being late for work so I push on, thinking this could get addictive. I’ll be back tomorrow morning, maybe even after work today, and I’ll thrash that bag until there are no more traces of Miller Hart and the pain he’s caused me.
I pass door after door, all with glass panes, and peek into each class that’s in session—yoga, spinning, kickboxing. I might try one or two. Or I could give them all a go.
As I’m passing the final door before the women’s changing rooms, something catches my eye. It’s a punching bag swinging from the ceiling hook, but no one’s in sight. I step closer to the door, then gasp and jump back as someone comes into view, bare chested and barefoot. I feel dizzy.
He has those shorts on, the ones he wore when he was trying to make me comfortable. I’m shaking, but my shock doesn’t stop me from peering back through the glass, just to check I wasn’t hallucinating. I wasn’t. He’s here, his ripped physique mesmerizing. He looks violent as he attacks the hanging bag like it’s a threat to his life, punishing it with powerful punches and even more powerful kicks. His body weaves and dodges the bag when it comes back at him. He looks like a pro. He looks like a fighter.
I’m frozen on the spot as I watch Miller move around the hanging bag with ease, his fists wrapped in some kind of bandages, his limbs delivering controlled, punishing blows time and time again. Who does he see before him?
My mind spins, questions mounting, as I quietly observe the refined, well-mannered, part-time gentleman become a man possessed, that temper he has warned me about clear and present. But then I retreat a pace when he suddenly grabs the bag with both hands and rests his forehead on the leather, his body falling into the now subtle sway of the punching bag. His back is dripping and heaving, and I see his solid shoulders rise suddenly. Then he begins to turn toward the door. It happens in slow motion. I’m rooted in place as his chest, slicked with a sheen of sweat, comes into view and my eyes slowly crawl up his torso until I see his side profile. He knows he’s being watched.

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Discussion

I read in an interview with JEM that she doesn’t disclose her character muses (boo!) which means we have to cast her characters ourselves.
Who do you guys picture as Miller Hart? What about Livy?

Honestly I haven’t visually cast anybody as Livy, but I do sort of picture maybe a younger version of Jonathan Rhys Meyer as Miller Hart. Of course not when he’s doing his bug eyes. He tends to do that in photos sometimes. Hahaha.

Jonathan-Rhys-Meyers

 

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jodi Ellen Malpas was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys. Working for her father’s construction business full time, she tried to ignore the lingering idea of writing until it became impossible. She wrote in secret for a long time before finally finding the courage to unleash her creative streak, and in October 2012 she released This Man. She took a chance on a story with some intense characters and sparked incredible reactions from women all over the world. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters have become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.

Mini Book Review: Perfect Kind of Trouble by Chelsea FinePerfect Kind of Trouble by Chelsea Fine
Series: Finding Fate #2
Published by Forever, Grand Central Publishing on June 17th, 2014
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Sometimes when perfect falls apart, a little trouble fixes everything . . . 

Twenty-one-year-old Kayla Turner has lost everything. After spending most of her life taking care of her ailing mother, she just wants to spot a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. So when her late father-a man she barely knew-leaves her an inheritance, she finally breathes a sigh of relief . . . until she learns the inheritance comes with strings. Strings in the form of handsome playboy Daren Ackwood, her father's protégé. To see any of her inheritance, she's forced to team up with him. From his expensive car to those sexy dimples, Kayla's seen his type before. But Daren isn't who he seems to be . . .

Struggling to make amends for his family's mistakes, Daren has a life more Oliver Twist than Richie Rich these days. He's beyond grateful that James Turner included him in his will, but working with Turner's princess of a daughter to fulfill his cryptic last wish is making Daren wonder if being broke is really so bad. Still, she's just as beautiful as she is stubborn, and the more time he spends with Kayla, the less it feels right being without her. Soon Daren and Kayla begin to wonder if maybe the best gift Kayla's dad could have left them . . . was each other.

Boy. This book gave me some serious feels at 5am. I stayed up reading this book until almost 7am..oops. It’s obvious that I enjoyed this book if I couldn’t be bothered to notice the sun was rising right in front of my face. This book is a dual POV and I really enjoyed reading the story from both characters, Kayla and Daren’s, in this book. You watch them really evolve over a 3 day period and learn that there is more to themselves than a pretty face and sexual prowess. Yes, this book is pretty much instalove..but..given the circumstances the two main characters find themselves in, it was a given.

OH. MY. GOD.

I am just now finding out this book is #2 in a series. WOW. I didn’t even realize..well that’s another good thing about this book. It’s obvious you don’t need to read the first one, Best Kind of Broken, to jump right in to this one. Kudos to the author for that! 😉 (You know what’s really bad? I just realized that Regina had signed us up for the RDL of the first one and there’s a blog post for it in our archives. LOL!!)

Anyways, yes I really liked this book and I’m going to go check out the first one in this series now. 😉 I think you should too!

View Spoiler »
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Chelsea Fine

Chelsea lives in Phoenix, Arizona where she spends most of her time writing stories, painting murals, and avoiding housework at all costs. She’s ridiculously bad at doing dishes and claims to be allergic to laundry. Her obsessions include: superheroes, coffee, sleeping-in, and crazy socks. She lives with her husband and two children, who graciously tolerate her inability to resist teenage drama on TV and her complete lack of skill in the kitchen.

Mini Review: Kaleidoscope by Kristen AshleyKaleidocope by Kristen Ashley
Series: Colorado Mountain #6
Published by Forever, Grand Central Publishing on February 4th, 2014
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne Star

Sexy, gifted, and loyal, PI Jacob Decker is a tall, cool drink of perfection who had Emmanuelle Holmes at "hello." His relationship with Emme's best friend kept them apart for years, but things have changed. Now that a case has brought him to Gnaw Bone, Colorado, the road is wide open for Emme and Deck to explore something hotter and deeper than Emme dreamed possible. So why is she sabotaging the best thing that's ever happened to her?

It isn't easy to catch Deck off guard, but Emme does just that when she walks back into his life after nine long years. The curvy brunette had her charms back in the day, but now she's a bona fide knockout . . . and she wants to rekindle their friendship. Deck, however, wants more. Emme's always been the one; she excites Deck's body and mind like no other woman can. But a dark chapter from Emme's past overshadows their future together. Now only Deck can help her turn the page-if she'll let him . . .

I think it’s time to put the Colorado Mountain series to bed, because Jagged and Kaleidoscope aren’t anywhere near as good as the first four books in this series. They’re seriously lacking the suspense and the “OMGWTF is happening?” moments of the previous 4 books in this series. While I did like Kaleidoscope better than Jagged, it still pales in comparison to the rest of the series.
I’m wondering if Kristen thought since Emme already went through some traumatic events as a child, that maybe Kristen decided not to put her through something again in her adult years. If that’s the case, this book seriously didn’t belong in this series. You know what’s sad about this? I know that she went through something as a child, but as I’m finally writing my review for this book I can’t remember for the life of me what it was. That’s how much this book did not do it for me. I can barely remember the details of the story. I can tell you what every other Kristen Ashley book is about..but this one..No. My mother and sister-in-law always read Kristen Ashley’s newest book with me whenever she releases one..and even they found this one to be lacking.

Kristen Ashley books tend to be ones that you can read over and over again… Jagged and Kaleidoscope will probably never be rereads for me. I hope this is just a phase and you’ll find your mojo again, Kristen!

One StarOne StarOne Star

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana, and has lived in Denver, Colorado, and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multigenerational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland, and Kristen grew up listening to the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon, and Whitesnake. Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music and love was a good way to grow up. And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

Fire Inside by Kristen Ashley Release Blitz REVIEW & TWO GIVEAWAYS!

Fire Inside by Kristen Ashley Release Blitz REVIEW & TWO GIVEAWAYS!Fire Inside by Kristen Ashley
Series: Chaos #2
Published by Forever on June 4, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley, Publisher, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Lanie Heron isn't looking for love-no surprise, considering her last serious relationship nearly got her killed. So when Lanie propositions Hop Kincaid, all she wants is one wild night with the hot-as-hell biker who patrols with the Chaos Motorcycle Club . . .

For Hop, Lanie has always been untouchable. She's too polished and too classy for his taste. But when she gives Hop the once-over with her bedroom eyes and offers him a night in paradise, he can't say no. And he doesn't regret it when he finds that Lanie is the best thing that's ever happened to him-in or out of bed. Now the trick will be to convince her of that.

Excerpt

Hop came out of the bathroom to see Lanie on her feet on the other side of the bed, panties on, hands twisted behind her back putting her bra on. Again.
He didn’t say a word. He prowled to her, reached out an arm the second he was close, yanked her to him and fell to his back in the bed, taking her down with him.
“Hop—” she started, pushing her weight against his arms, but he slid her off him then wasted no time rolling over her and pinning her to his bed.
“Sleep,” he ordered when he caught her eyes in the weak dawn. “After rest, I’ll get coffee, we’ll juice up, then round four.”
She blinked and breathed, “Four?”
“Got lots more I want to do to you,” he informed her and watched her eyes go soft, sexier, then her teeth came out to graze her lush lower lip, also fucking sexy, and her arms slid around him.
But she asked, “What about Tack and Ty-Ty?”
“I’ll make sure the coast is clear,” he told her.
“But they’ll see my car,” she told him.
“I’ll move it,” he offered.
Her hand slid up his back, around his shoulder, and then to his neck where her thumb moved to stroke him.
Her touch was light but, fuck, it felt good. He’d never had a woman touch him in an unconscious way like that, just a touch, a stroke, giving something that meant nothing at the same time doing it without thinking about it meant everything.
Shit.
Complicated.
“This is just supposed to be one night,” she reminded him quietly, but he saw it in her eyes. She didn’t even try to hide it. She’d bitten off more than she could chew.
He had too and he was nowhere near done eating.
She was cute. She was sweet. She was hot. She was better than he expected and he’d expected her to be pretty fucking good. All that wrapped in a package that gorgeous?
Yeah.
He was nowhere near done eating.
“Change of plans. A night and a morning and, maybe, an afternoon and, possibly, another night,” he amended, and her eyes got softer as her hand slid up to cup his jaw.
“I have to work,” she told him.
“Call off,” he told her.
“I can’t. I own the joint.” She explained something he knew, that she ran her own advertising agency. “And things are a bit crazy.”
Things were always crazy for Lanie. The woman lived crazy. She thrived on it. If there wasn’t crazy, she stirred it up because she couldn’t breathe without it.
“Babe,” he pressed his body into hers, “told you, got more I want to do to you.”

Review


Another great book from Kristen Ashley! Kristen Ashley is an amazing author who gets the best of my emotions every time and Fire Inside was no exception. She put me and my emotions through the ringer with this book.

Alright, let’s get down to it:

It took a bit for me to like Lanie AND Hop.

With Hop, if you’ve read Motorcycle Man, we all know why I wasn’t looking forward to a story about him.  Even before we get an explanation to things that happened in MM, Hop didn’t take long to grow on me.  He’s a loyal Brother(to the MC), Father and as it turns out Boyfriend/Husband, who would do anything to protect his family.
To be honest, there was one thing that seriously bothered me about Hop. His “pet name” for Lanie, which was “LADY”. It felt so impersonal to me! I know that this relationship started out as a one night stand, no strings attached thing..but seriously. It just bothered me in a major way.  I’d rather he call her “Baby” over “Lady”.  Whatever, maybe Kristen Ashley was going for something different than what everyone uses, “baby”, “princess”, “babe”, etc.  I guess I can’t blame her for trying! Ha!

I didn’t care much for Lanie in MM, and I didn’t really want to like her when I first started this book. However, She starts to grow on you as you learn more about how she grew up and her relationship with Elliott.

This book’s time line seems to coincide with the time line of  the previous book in this series, Own the Wind, which set us up for Lanie & Hop’s story as well as what I think might be some serious bad guy action in a future book with this Benito Valenzuela character that keeps coming up here and there in both books so far.

All in all, this book was a pretty good read, as is most Kristen Ashley books! I look forward to the next book in the series as well as every other series of hers because like I’ve said before. I CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF KRISTEN ASHLEY!!!

With that said and done.
I am loving the Chaos Men, I WANT ONE OF MY OWN. Is there one that I can have? Put me down as an old lady, please! 😉

 

And I’ll leave this review with a quote from the book that made me giggle before the book turned around and squeezed every last tear out of my eyeballs a few pages later…

 

“Not sure I get why this shit’s a secret but you two bein’ just a hookup is not where that’s at. Unless you’re going for the all-time record of longest hookup, and, just a head’s up, brother, there’s another way people refer to that shit and it’s called a relationship.” -High

 

GIVEAWAYS

a Rafflecopter giveaway
  a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana, and has lived in Denver, Colorado, and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multigenerational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland, and Kristen grew up listening to the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon, and Whitesnake. Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music and love was a good way to grow up. And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

Mini Book Review – Jagged by Kristen AshleyJagged by Kristen Ashley
Series: Colorado Mountain #5
Published by Forever on November 5th, 2013
Pages: 345
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne Star

An old flame rekindled . . .

Zara Cinders always knew Ham Reece was the one, but he wasn't interested in settling down. When she found someone who was, Ham walked out of her life. Three years later, Zara's lost her business, her marriage, and she's barely getting by in a tiny apartment on the wrong side of the tracks. As soon as Ham hears about Zara's plight, he's on her doorstep offering her a lifeline. Now, it will take every ounce of will power she possesses to resist all that he offers.

Ham was always a traveling man, never one to settle down in one town, with one woman, for more time than absolutely necessary. But Ham's faced his own demons, and he's learned a lot. About himself, and about the life he knows he's meant to live. So when he hears that Zara's having a rough time, he wants to be the one to help. In fact, he wants to do more than that for Zara. A lot more. But first, he must prove to Zara that he's a changed man.

I am a HUGE fan of Kristen Ashley and when I saw this up for grabs on Netgalley I was all over it. I read this book almost 2 months ago and I don’t even remember what happened in this book. Most Kristen Ashley books have a way of grabbing hold of my brain and staying there, this one did not. I couldn’t connect with the characters at all. Unlike other Kristen Ashley books, this one had nothing going on that kept me on the edge of my seat biting the inside of my mouth.. I’m so very disappointed by this book, but I guess it was bound to happen eventually, right? The rest of this series is amazing so far, but Jagged just doesn’t live up to the first four books in the Colorado Mountain series. I really hope that she brings it with Kaleidoscope, the next book in the series!

If you’re a big Kristen Ashley fan like me, I would still recommend that you read it. It might be a watered down version of a Kristen Ashley book, but it’s still a KA book and it will hold you over until her next book comes out. Which, if you stalk her like Melanie and I do, you’ve already read the sneak peek of on her website.

 

 

One StarOne StarOne Star

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana, and has lived in Denver, Colorado, and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multigenerational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland, and Kristen grew up listening to the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon, and Whitesnake. Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music and love was a good way to grow up. And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Release Day Launch, Review & Giveaway: Before We Fall by Courtney ColeBefore We Fall by Courtney Cole
Series: Beautifully Broken #3
Published by Forever on December 3, 2013
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Sometimes, one dark moment is all it takes to turn your world black...

For 24-year old Dominic Kinkaide, that moment took place on the night of his high school graduation. One dark incident changed him forever. He's a hardened actor now, famous in the eyes of the world, but tortured in his own. He doesn't care about much of anything, except for losing himself in the roles that he plays.

23-year old Jacey Vincent doesn't realize how much her father's indifference has affected her. She is proof that sometimes it isn't one specific moment that wrecks a person, but rather it's an absence of moments. She's like a bird with a broken wing-strong yet fragile, as she tries to float through life, finding acceptance in the arms of random guys, one after the other... to fill the void that her father left in her.

Until she meets Dominic.

After jaded Dominic and strong-willed Jacey are thrown together, his secret and her issues create a dark and damaged energy that will soon turn their attraction to each other into an explosive storm.

Even though when the clouds have cleared and the dust has settled, both of them are almost obliterated... they've learned a priceless lesson.

Sometimes, before we fall... we fly.

My thoughts…

Before We Fall is the fourth book in the amazing Beautifully Broken series. I loved, loved, loved this one. While Jacey was a secondary character in previous books, Dominic aka Dom is new to the series. I was sort of disappointed that Jacey and Brand didn’t get a book, but about halfway through this one I was happy that they didn’t.

Jacey is known for picking the wrong guy. She does this all the time. She’s the type of person who thinks she can fix everything and Dominic has issues that need fixing. I think Jacey was good for Dom. She was able to break through his tough exterior and help him deal with some of his issues. One thing I did notice about Jacey is that her character seemed much more mature than most 24 year olds.

Dominic. Omigosh! I loved Dom!!! As I said before he has some major issues going on. Although he’s not one for relationships there is something about Jacey that pulls him to her. He finds himself not only attracted to her, but he’s also drawn to her. He doesn’t understand what it is about her. He fights his attraction, but in the end it’s too strong and the poor boy doesn’t stand a chance. If I could describe Dominic in a few words they would be: intense, arrogant, and overall drop dead sexy.

Before We Fall is a highly emotional read. I laughed, cried, and sobbed snotty tears while reading it. There is a element of suspense within the pages and I kept trying to figure out what was going to happen. Ms Cole did a good job of not giving anything away until the big reveal. I was sort of shocked when the truth came out. I didn’t see that twist coming.

The sexual scenes were really hot, well written, and plentiful. I had to fan myself several times. Having read the previous books in the series I can honestly say that this book is by far the hottest.

Overall I really enjoyed this one. It held my attention until the very end. I haven’t heard anything about upcoming books in this series. I’m hoping that Brand will get his own book and perhaps Sin & Duncan (Dom’s brothers) will as well. I guess we’ll have to wait to see what the future holds.

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Blogger Button
 
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Slow Surrender by Cecilia TanSlow Surrender by Cecilia Tan
Published by Forever on August 6, 2013
Pages: 304
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

He pushes her sexual boundaries . . .

From the moment waitress Karina meets him in a New York bar, she knows James is different. Daring. Dominating. Though he hides his true identity from her, the mysterious, wealthy businessman anticipates her every desire and fulfills her secret fantasies. Awakened by his touch, Karina discovers a wild side she hadn't known existed and nothing is off limits.

She aches for more . . .

What begins as an erotic game soon escalates to a power play that blurs the line between pleasure and pain. Even as she capitulates to James's sensual demands, Karina craves more. She wants his heart, his soul. She wants his love . . . and she'll break all the rules to get it.

My thoughts…

Slow Surrender is the first novel by author Cecilia Tan I’ve read. I have to say that I enjoyed it. There were a few things that were awkward with it though.

I really liked Karina. She’s in grad school and about to graduate. She’s still undecided about what she actually wants to do with her life after she graduates. She meets James while she’s covering for a waitress at her sisters bar one night. The awkwardness tends to start right around this time when James asks her if she’d like to play a game. She of course can’t help but yes and plays along. What he asked her to do was sort of odd to me but I kept reading.

James. I liked him. He’s very secretive. I couldn’t help but wonder what his secrets were and I kept turning page after page trying to figure them out. At one point I thought I figured out who he was, but I had to wait until the end to be sure. I ended up being right. 🙂

As he and Karina get to know each other things again were a bit awkward to me. I don’t want to give away any spoilers so I won’t bring up what they were, but I can say that I found myself shaking my head a few times.

The sexual scenes within this one were pretty hot. This story is an erotic novel and BDSM plays a big part. I thought the scenes were well written and I had to fan myself a few times while reading it.

There are a few twists and turns within the story that makes it all the more enjoyable. I love stories that keep you guessing and this one didn’t disappoint.

Slow Surrender does end with a cliffhanger. 🙁 The second book isn’t due out until the end of January 2014 and it’s going to be torture to wait until then.

If you are a fan of Fifty’ish style books then Slow Surrender should be right up your alley.

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: If You Leave by Courtney ColeIf You Leave by Courtney Cole
Series: Beautifully Broken #2
Published by Forever on August 6, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

26-year old Gabriel Vincent is a badass hero. Or he used to be, anyway. As an ex-Army Ranger, Gabe never thought he needed anyone. But after one horrible night in Afghanistan scars him in a way that he can't get past, he needs someone who can help him heal...even if he doesn't realize it.

25-year old Madison Hill doesn't need anybody...or so she thinks. She grew up watching her parents' messed-up abusive relationship and she knows there's no way in hell that she's ever letting that happen to her.

They don't know it in the beginning, but Gabriel and Madison will soon develop a weakness: Each other.

But Gabriel's got a secret, a hidden monster that he's afraid Maddy could never overcome... And Maddy's got issues that she's afraid Gabe will never understand. They quickly realize that they need each other to be whole, but at the same time they know that they've got demons to fight.

And the problem with demons is that they never die quietly.

My thoughts…

I loved Madison in the first book and I’m happy that she got her own story. She’s really strong and I liked her a lot. She gave up her life in New York so she could come home and take over the family business when her parents were killed in a deadly car accident.

Gabriel. He is bad ass and I really liked him. He suffers from PTSD and has nightmares every night. He blames himself for the death of a fellow soldier, but refuses to get help. I felt bad for him. All he ever wanted to be was a soldier and that was taken away from him after one deadly night in Afghanistan.

Together I thought Maddy & Gabe made a good couple. They both have issues they’re dealing with, but I think that’s one of the reasons I thought they were good for each other. I wanted them to work through their demons and still be standing together on the other side.

There are a few twists and turns throughout this one which made it all the more enjoyable. And while I know why certain things happened for a reason, I was still sort of shocked when they happened.

Overall, I really enjoyed If You Leave. Up next is book three which is entitled Before We Fall. It will be Jacey’s story and I’m looking forward to reading it. I was sort of hoping it would be Jacey & Brands book, but alas it is not. :/

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
ARC Review: Facade (The Games Series #2) by Nyrae DawnFacade by Nyrae Dawn
Published by Forever on September 24, 2013
Pages: 304
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

After her father commits a crime that shatters her family, eighteen-year-old Delaney Cross is tired of pretending everything is alright. Packing up her car, she sets out to find the people her father hurt. Her search leads her to places she's never been--and into the arms of Adrian Westfall.

To the outside world, Adrian is a sexy, charming ladies man. But his playboy persona is just an act. Secretly his soul is tortured by a memory too painful to share. Only Delaney seems to see through his façade to the real man underneath. And for the first time in his life, Adrian feels he can begin to open up about his past.

Together, Adrian and Delaney share a passionate, carefree love they never expected to find. Yet both still harbor their own secrets. When the dark truth is finally revealed, will it bring them closer together, or tear them apart forever?

I started this book not even knowing it was a sequel. I didn’t find out until about halfway through that it was book 2 in a series and I only found out because I was looking at it on Goodreads and saw that it was apart of the Game series.
So that, I think, is a good thing about this book: You can read it without having read the first book, Charade, in the series. I didn’t start reading it and get confused by anything that may have happened in the first book of the series..I guess it also helps that the main characters are different in this one, but the characters in the first book are here too.

That said, let’s move on to the story. When Delaney was 14 years old her father commits a crime that tears apart her family. Four years later she’s tired of pretending everything is alright. She wants to find forgiveness and move on with her life. Her and her brother, Maddox, pack up and go in search of the people her father hurt. Once there, She meets Adrian Westfall by chance, and who might this be? That’s right the one person she came to this town to find.

I guess you can figure out what happens from here.
It seems pretty obvious to me what will happen in this book, but in case you’re curious…
View Spoiler »

Something that I did not find obvious:
View Spoiler »

Boy this book got the best of my emotions, I was tearing up every few pages. That’s one of the signs of a talented writer: Strong emotional reactions to their books. Ha.
I’m giving this book 3 and half stars. It’s not something I’d ever read more than once but I enjoyed it and I would definitely give other Nyrae Dawn books a read in the future. 🙂

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
ARC Review: Fire Inside by Kristen AshleyFire Inside by Kristen Ashley
Series: Chaos #2
Published by Forever on June 4, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley, Publisher, Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

My synopsis:

We first met Lanie in the book Motorcycle Man from Kristen's book series Dream Man, as the best friend of Tyra Masters and fiance of the man wanted by the Russian Mob,
She and Tyra barely escape the hands of death while another person is not so lucky.

Fast forward, Eight years later, Lanie has come back to Denver, thanks to Tyra, and has started up a small advertising business and is keeping up appearances while trying to keep the "monster" that lives within at bay. One night at a Chaos Hog Roast, Lanie has decided she wants one night. One wild not of not being ALONE.

Hopper Kincaid, Lieutenant for the Chaos MC, is minding his own business when walks up Lanie with a proposition he doesn't want to refuse. ONE NIGHT, no strings, no flowers, no nothing. What man would say "no" to that? Hop tries to, but Lanie is persistent and in the end she gets more than what she asked for.


Another great book from Kristen Ashley! Kristen Ashley is an amazing author who gets the best of my emotions every time and Fire Inside was no exception. She put me and my emotions through the ringer with this book.

Alright, let’s get down to it:

It took a bit for me to like Lanie AND Hop.

With Hop, if you’ve read Motorcycle Man, we all know why I wasn’t looking forward to a story about him.  Even before we get an explanation to things that happened in MM, Hop didn’t take long to grow on me.  He’s a loyal Brother(to the MC), Father and as it turns out Boyfriend/Husband, who would do anything to protect his family.
To be honest, there was one thing that seriously bothered me about Hop. His “pet name” for Lanie, which was “LADY”. It felt so impersonal to me! I know that this relationship started out as a one night stand, no strings attached thing..but seriously. It just bothered me in a major way.  I’d rather he call her “Baby” over “Lady”.  Whatever, maybe Kristen Ashley was going for something different than what everyone uses, “baby”, “princess”, “babe”, etc.  I guess I can’t blame her for trying! Ha!

I didn’t care much for Lanie in MM, and I didn’t really want to like her when I first started this book. However, She starts to grow on you as you learn more about how she grew up and her relationship with Elliott.

This book’s time line seems to coincide with the time line of  the previous book in this series, Own the Wind, which set us up for Lanie & Hop’s story as well as what I think might be some serious bad guy action in a future book with this Benito Valenzuela character that keeps coming up here and there in both books so far.

All in all, this book was a pretty good read, as is most Kristen Ashley books! I look forward to the next book in the series as well as every other series of hers because like I’ve said before. I CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF KRISTEN ASHLEY!!!

With that said and done.
I am loving the Chaos Men, I WANT ONE OF MY OWN. Is there one that I can have? Put me down as an old lady, please! 😉

 

And I’ll leave this review with a quote from the book that made me giggle before the book turned around and squeezed every last tear out of my eyeballs a few pages later…

 

“Not sure I get why this shit’s a secret but you two bein’ just a hookup is not where that’s at. Unless you’re going for the all-time record of longest hookup, and, just a head’s up, brother, there’s another way people refer to that shit and it’s called a relationship.” -High

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana, and has lived in Denver, Colorado, and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multigenerational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland, and Kristen grew up listening to the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon, and Whitesnake. Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music and love was a good way to grow up. And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

Review: Two Lethal Lies by Annie SolomonTwo Lethal Lies by Annie Solomon
Series: ,
Published by Forever on 400
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

On the run since his daughter was born, Mitch Turner has concealed a truth so dangerous, its discovery could jeopardize both their lives. But when a series of shocking murders hits their newfound home, the trail leads straight to Mitch. With the police out for blood and his daughter ripped from his arms, he has nowhere to turn--until a beautiful stranger offers her help.

Neesy Brown has made mistakes in her life, yet she refuses to believe this mysterious man is a killer. There's a strength in his broad shoulders that draws her to him and a weariness in his eyes that she longs to ease. As the murders tear her small town apart, she vows to help Mitch find his missing child. But a cunning predator is pulling them deeper and deeper into his fatal game. And the price of losing is the child--and the future--they could both share...

My thoughts…

Before I decided to read this book, I hadn’t heard of Annie Solomon or Two Lethal Lies. While browsing several blogs I ran across a few reviews for the book that were both positive and interesting. I decided I would take a chance on a new author since I love romantic suspense. I’m really glad I did.

Two Lethal Lies is a story about Mitch Turner and his young daughter Julia. They’ve been on the run since she was an infant, and they find themselves in the small town of Crossroads, Tennessee after Mitch rescues a girl from drowning.

I really liked Mitch; he’s a good father and hard worker. He’s kind hearted and an all around good guy. Julia is eleven and has only ever known traveling with her dad from one place to the next. It’s in the town of Crossroads where she decides to put her foot down and basically demands they stay and live there.

This story is well crafted, the plot was excellent. I found myself turning page after page to find out what happened next. The villain was a quite a character to say the least. When I think of him, I think deranged. He definitely has some problems.

I found a few situations within the book that were a little bit unrealistic, however, I was able to overlook them and can honestly tell you that Two Lethal Lies is truly an enjoyable read. So, if you like romantic suspense, then give Two Lethal Lies a try. You’ll be happy you did. I’m looking forward to reading more titles by Ms Solomon in the future.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Review: Simply Irresistible by Jill ShalvisSimply Irresistible by Jill Shalvis
Series: Lucky Harbor #1
Published by Forever on October 1, 2010
Pages: 3111
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In one fell swoop, Maddie loses her boyfriend (her decision) and her job (so not her decision). But rather than drowning her sorrows in bags of potato chips, Maddie leaves L.A. to claim the inheritance left by her free-spirited mother-a ramshackle inn nestled in the little coastal town of Lucky Harbor, Washington.

Starting over won’t be easy. Yet Maddie sees the potential for a new home and a new career-if only she can convince her two half-sisters to join her in the adventure. But convincing Tara and Chloe will be difficult because the inn needs a big makeover too.

The contractor Maddie hires is a tall, dark-haired hottie whose eyes-and mouth-are making it hard for her to remember that she’s sworn off men. Even harder will be Maddie’s struggles to overcome the past, though she’s about to discover that there’s no better place to call home than Lucky Harbor.

My thoughts…

In one word, AMAZING! I loved everything about this book. Ms Shalvis has crafted what I would call the perfect story. The characters of the book were realistic, the plot was excellent and the story is well written. I loved Maddie Moore and her sisters. Not having spent a lot of time with her two half-sisters over the years, Maddie heads to the small town of Lucky-Harbor, Washington where she plans to claim her inheritance. She’s lost her job, broke up with her boyfriend and intends to start over with her life. I found her to be strong, independent and an all around good girl.

Maddie’s inheritance is part ownership in the Lucky Harbor Resort. The Resort is a bit of a mess when she first sees it and both her sisters, Chloe and Tara immediately want to sell it instead of fixing it up but Maddie has other plans for the resort. When she first shows up in Lucky-Harbor, she nearly runs over Jax, who’s a former lawyer, the town’s mayor, a contractor and owns several small businesses within the town. From their first encounter the chemistry between these two sizzles. Jax is dreamy. He’s tall, leanly muscled with broad shoulders and has eyes the color of caramel.

Simply Irresistible is a story of sisterhood, friendship and love. I enjoyed getting to know all three sisters, Jax and all of the secondary characters. Ms Shalvis is planning on writing stories for both Tara and Chloe and I can’t wait to read them. I can’t say enough good things about this book. I will definitely recommend it to all my friends and family.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star