The Sharp Hook of Love: A Novel of Heloise and Abelard by Sherry Jones

by Sherry Jones
Published by Gallery Books on October 7, 2014
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased by Reviewer
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Among the young women of 12th century Paris, Heloise d’Argenteuil stands apart. Extraordinarily educated and quick-witted, she is being groomed by her uncle to become an abbess in the service of God. But with one encounter, her destiny changes forever.

Pierre Abelard, headmaster at the Nôtre Dame Cloister School, is acclaimed as one of the greatest philosophers in France. His controversial reputation only adds to his allure, yet despite the legions of women swooning over his poetry and dashing looks, he is captivated by the brilliant Heloise alone. As their relationship blossoms from a meeting of the minds to a forbidden love affair, both Heloise and Abelard must choose between love, duty, and ambition.

Sherry Jones weaves the lovers’ own words into an evocative account of desire and sacrifice. As intimate as it is erotic, as devastating as it is beautiful, The Sharp Hook of Love is a poignant, tender tribute to one of history’s greatest romances, and to love’s power to transform and endure.

Abelard_Heloise_title_frontis

Heloise_marriage_freedom_pp124_125

Abelard and Heloise 1

Sapiophiles unite. Heloise and Abelard are our heroes.

Faith. Knowledge. Friendship. Lust. CASTRATION. Thus is the story of Heloise and Abelard. A love story steeped in provocative intellectual sparring and the knowledge of forbidden fruit. If you are a fan of the great and tragic romances of Romeo and Juliet, Antony and Cleopatra, or Tristan and Isolde, then you are a fan of Heloise and Abelard: star-crossed lovers whose characters were crucified for the love they bore each other.

If you enjoy historical fiction with strong female protagonists then you will enjoy this novel. The author has constructed her version of Abelard and Heloise from a vast array of letters and historical documents available to researchers and enthusiasts. The world of 12th century Paris is also skillfully recreated by the author and was such a pleasure to read. Through lenses of love and desire the culture and social issues of the time are examined, revealing gender inequalities and double-standards that are still, strangely (or predictably) enough, prevalent in today’s society.

The author’s writing is passionate, lyrical, and poetic. Jones has composed a literary love ballad about two historical personalities that challenged the conventions of their time, and risked everything  TO DO WHAT THEY WANTED.

If you are a fan of female historical figures such as Joan of Arc, Hildegard von Bingen, or Eleanore of Aquitaine, I think Sherry Jones’ ballad of Heloise and Abelard deserves a spot on your TBR list.

Here’s a great What You Missed in History Class podcast about Heloise and Abelard to check out to learn more about them and the culture that shaped their love story.

And Just for FUN:

lettere-amorose

The magnificent Magdalena Kozena’s album, Lettere Amorose, is a collection of 17th century Italian Baroque ”love letters” that is worth listening to on its own, but made the perfect soundtrack for reading this novel. While the music featured on this album is not from the 12th century, it still has the feel of Heloise and Abelard’s story. I used it as my reading soundtrack because Jones’ novel uses the real correspondences of H & A to construct her story, and this lovely album plays up that theme.

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Release Day and Review: Manwhore by Katy EvansManwhore by Katy Evans
Series: Manwhore #1
Published by Gallery Books on March 24, 2014
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Is it possible to expose Chicago’s hottest player—without getting played?

This is the story I've been waiting for all my life, and its name is Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Don’t be fooled by that last name though. There’s nothing holy about the man except the hell his parties raise. The hottest entrepreneur Chicago has ever known, he’s a man’s man with too much money to spend and too many women vying for his attention.

Mysterious. Privileged. Legendary. His entire life he’s been surrounded by the press as they dig for tidbits to see if his fairytale life is for real or all mirrors and social media lies. Since he hit the scene, his secrets have been his and his alone to keep. And that’s where I come in.

Assigned to investigate Saint and reveal his elusive personality, I’m determined to make him the story that will change my career.

But I never imagined he would change my life. Bit by bit, I start to wonder if I'm the one discovering him...or if he's uncovering me.

What happens when the man they call Saint, makes you want to sin?

I have so many feels for this book. It started off a bit slow to me. There was a lot of push and pull between these two characters. I could understand Rachel’s hesitance in the beginning, but after a while it got old. I found myself sort of growing bored with the story. I wanted them to get down and dirty. Instead though, things sort of stalled. I stuck with it though.

It seems Malcolm, clearly known as a Manwhore, acted out of character. You’d think he’d just move on after a couple of denials from Rachel. Instead though, he hung in there. Gotta give him props for that. Most Manwhore’s wouldn’t.

I’m not sure exactly what my real issue with the first part of this book was. Things just seemed to move at a snails pace. And at times some scenes seemed a bit awkward.

Finally though, the characters got their butts in gear and started acting like they should. The sex, once it started…was scorching hot and Ms Evans wrote a lot of it. One thing I will say about it though is that it seemed a bit repetitive. Like the sex was the same throughout the entire book.

After Malcolm let his guard down I really started to like him. Not only was he rich, strong, and sexy. He was also very smart and caring.

The suspense at the end was so amazing? Ah I want Manwhore +1 like right now. I have to know what happens between these two like right now.

Also, I’d like to know if Ms Evans will be writing books for both Tahoe and Callen. I found both of those guys intriguing. I think their stories could be a whole lot of fun. They are Malcolm’s buddies and are pretty funny.

Overall, I’m giving Manwhore 3 strong stars.

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Katy Evans

Katy Evans grew up with books and book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love. They married and are now hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which is, hopefully, only the beginning

I received this book for free from Author, Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Ripped by Katy EvansRipped by Katy Evans
Series: Real #5
Published by Gallery Books on December 9, 2014
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: Author, Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The fifth book in the New York Times new adult series that began with Real. When an angry, heartbroken girl is forced to be near her rocker ex-boyfriend, only time will tell if the fire between them will consume them both.

Pandora, the gothic friend of Brooke (Real, Mine, Remy) and Melanie, thought that getting her heart broken by her bad boy rocker ex could only happen once. But now, he's back in town with the biggest concert of the year. Pandora hates him so much that she gets Melanie to come with her and play a prank on him at his gig. But when they are caught by security, and her ex himself is summoned, he decides not to press charges if she'll follow certain conditions. Pandora likes none of his rules, or that he's in charge of her, especially since they seem designed to make sure she's in close contact with him again. But the closeness reignites the passion they once shared, and soon no matter how much she wants to hate him, it's clear she's still hung up on him. And worse: he knows it too.

While I enjoyed this book, I don’t think it was as good as the first four. I guess Remy spoiled the series for me. I mean don’t get me wrong. This was a great read, but to me it didn’t hold my attention as well as the previous books. I didn’t get that “I can’t put it down” feeling.

Pandora is an odd duck. I’ve always felt she was the weird friend. It isn’t that I didn’t like her, because I did. She’s just different. Her and Kenna go way back. Back in high school they were a thing until he abruptly left.

I think the chemistry between them was strong. The sex was hot which is pretty common for all of Katy Evans’ books. The characters really scorch up the sheets. Frequently.

In the end, I was happy with how things turned out for these two. I’m looking forward to reading more books in this series. It’s one of my favorites.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Katy Evans

Katy Evans grew up with books and book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love. They married and are now hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which is, hopefully, only the beginning

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: Lead Me Not by A. Meredith WaltersLead Me Not by A. Meredith Walter
Published by Gallery Books on August 5, 2014
Pages: 288
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In this dangerously sexy novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Find You in the Dark, a straight-laced college student meets a handsome but enigmatic stranger who lures her into an underground club scene, where she finds it difficult to resist temptation

Aubrey Duncan understands loss. She knows what rock bottom looks like, and she is determined to crawl back up to the top after the sudden death of her younger sister. She blames herself for her part in the tragedy, convinced that she could have done something, anything, to help her.

In her effort to gain redemption, Aubrey starts fresh at Longwood University and facilitates an addiction support group, hoping she can support someone else in the way she failed her sister. But what she doesn’t count on is an all-consuming fascination with group member Maxx Demelo, a gorgeous, blond, blue-eyed enigma who hides dark secrets behind a carefully constructed mask. He only reveals what he wants others to see. But Aubrey glimpses another Maxx hidden below the surface—a Maxx who is drowning in his own personal hell.

As Aubrey and Maxx develop an attraction too intense to ignore, he pulls her into the dark underbelly of the city club scene, where she is torn by her desire to save him and an inexplicable urge to join him in his downward spiral. Worst of all, she is beginning to love everything she should run away from—a man who threatens to ignite in her a fire that could burn her alive…

review

My thoughts…

Wow! I really liked this book. I’ve only ever read one other book by this author and I DNF’d it because I couldn’t connect with the characters. That wasn’t the case with this book. I took a liking to Aubrey right away. She’s harboring a lot of guilt because she thinks she could have done more where her sister was concerned. She lost her sister to a drug overdose three years ago and she still carries this guilt around. I think this is one of the reasons she connects with Maxx so strongly.

Maxx is sort of an odd guy to me. He has some major issues. One of which is drugs. He doesn’t think he has a problem. It’s apparent from the beginning that he does though. He just can’t see it.

I think Ms Walters did a good job of showing both sides of substance abuse and how it effects those involved. At times I found my heart breaking for Maxx. At other times I would get so mad at him for doing the things he did. I guess I had a love/hate relationship with him.

Lead Me Not was a really quick read for me. Once I got started I had problems putting it down. The story truly captivated me and I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen between Aubrey & Maxx. I was a little disappointed once I reached the end and realized that there was going to be another book AND that said book wouldn’t be released until 2015 leaving things open-ended. I would have liked the story to be wrapped up in one book, but I can see why it wasn’t and I think I’m ok with this. I will be eagerly waiting for the next book to come out.

The sexual scenes are comparable to adult mainstream. They aren’t explicit in nature, but are well written. They don’t play a very big part in this story and I’m fine with that. This book has a strong storyline that stands on it’s own.

Overall, I’m really happy I gave this book a shot. I’m very excited to read the next book next year. I’ll be patiently or not so patiently waiting.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: Rogue by Katy EvansRogue by Katy Evans
Series: Real #4
Published by Gallery Books on July 29, 2014
Pages: 288
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

HE SAYS HE’S NO GOOD FOR HER.
SHE HATES THAT HE MIGHT BE RIGHT.

Brook Dumas found Remington Tate in REAL, and now it’s her best friend Melanie’s turn to find the man who makes her heart sing. After years of searching, one night in the rain, the strong and mysterious Greyson King comes to her rescue. He’s bold, and maybe just the lover, friend, and protector she’s been searching for. When they make love, he says her name like it means something. Like she means something—and that’s everything she’s ever wanted.

He disappears for days without a word, and when he’s around, he says he’ll only hurt her. Buy when he’s away, her heart hurts more.

Then Melanie uncovers the dark world he’d been determined to keep hidden, and suspects that their random first meeting might have not been so random after all.

Caught in a free fall of emotions, Melanie has no one to catch her but the man she should be running from. . .

But what do you do when your Prince Charming has gone Rogue?

review

My thoughts…

Woah! I’ve been wondering about this book. I wondered whether Ms Evans could write a book that could compete… Or should I say be of the calibre of Real, Mine, and Remy. One that had characters I would love as much as Remy & Brooke. One that would be a great addition to this awesome series. Well, after having read Rogue I can honestly say that Ms Evans nailed it.

The story flowed smoothly. It captured my attention from the beginning and held it until the very end. I loved every word of it! I loved the characters, the plot, and all the emotions I experienced while reading it.

I really liked Melanie in the previous books. I wanted so badly for her to find her Real. And in Greyson I think she has.

Greyson defines the very words Alpha Male. He’s an enforcer of sorts. He’s known as “Zero” in the Underground world. It’s his job to collect debts owed to his father. Debts from those whose lost on bets they’ve made on Underground fights. Sadly Melanie is on his list.

It’s apparent from the beginning that the attraction between these two is strong. Greyson has a lot of secrets he’s keeping from Melanie, but she also has a few secrets of her own. It’s because of these secrets that things get really tense at times. They added a suspenseful element to the story that kept me turning page after page to see what would happen next.

I think the chemistry Greyson & Melanie shared was powerful. At times it seemed they couldn’t get enough of each other. Because of this the sex scenes were really hot. I seriously had to fan myself several times while reading them. The scenes are plentiful and well written. Greyson is a quite the dirty talker.

Overall, I really enjoyed Rogue. I can see myself reading it again in the future. It’s definitely a great addition to the Real series. Up next is Pandora’s book. I’m really looking forward to reading it!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Katy Evans

Katy Evans grew up with books and book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love. They married and are now hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which is, hopefully, only the beginning

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
REVIEW: Deceptive Innocence by Kyra DavisDeceptive Innocence by Kyra Davis
Published by Gallery Books on June 14, 2014
Pages: 512
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Kyra Davis, the New York Times bestselling author of Just One Night, returns with book one in the thrillingly erotic Pure Sin series featuring a beautiful young woman out for revenge—until she falls in love with the one man whose secrets are as dangerous as her own. (Note: this volume collects Parts 1 - 3 of the previously serialized Deceptive Innocence ebook series.)

Ever since Bell’s mother died while serving time for a murder she didn’t commit, Bell’s been focused on one thing: revenge. She knows her mother was set up by Jonathon Gable, the head of both the powerful Gable family and an international banking corporation. Now she’s determined to take him down—from the inside.

Bell needs access to the Gable home and offices, so she poses as a bartender to seduce her way into the bed—and life—of Jonathon’s rebellious youngest son, Lander. He’s not a typical Gable, spending more time in the dive bars of Harlem than the posh cocktail lounges of the Upper East Side. He has an attraction to danger, a vulnerability Bell isn’t shy about exploiting. It should be easy to uncover the secrets she needs to destroy his family and clear her mother’s name.

But it turns out Lander is much more complicated than she ever imagined. He’s enticing, intelligent, mysterious—plus their sexual chemistry is off the charts. Even though Bell knows he’s the enemy, she can’t help but be moved, both physically and emotionally, by the man she swore was just a target. When he finds out the truth she’s sure both their hearts and her plan will be crushed...until she begins to realize that Lander might be hiding his own secrets, darker than she ever imagined.P

review
My thoughts…

What started out as a three part serial it has since been combined into one book. I’m a fan of Kyra Davis. I really like her writing style and her unique stories. Her characters are always rich with emotions and I love sinking into their world and feeling like I’m a part of their story.

This story was amazing. It’s unique storyline captured my attention from the very first line and kept me captivated until the very end. There are so many aspects to this story. It kept me busy trying to figure what would happen next. Once I thought I’d have something figured out things would take a different turn and I’d be left wondering WTH was that. I’m not saying that as a negative. This story is truly complex. There is so much going on. I really loved it.

The sex scenes were woah! Totally HOT! And plentiful. And well written.

The ending was epic and I can’t wait to read the sequel which is entitled Dangerous Alliance. It’s due out in December.

Overall, I really, really enjoyed this book. If you’re a fan of sexy, suspenseful stories that will keep you guessing until the very end then Deceptive Innocence is for you.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: My Hunger by Lisa Renee JonesMy Hunger by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Inside Out #3.2
Published by Gallery Books on July 7, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

An Inside Out Novella in Mark's POV

While Chris and Sara have traveled to Paris to avoid the chaos of press and police after the tragic night we’d shared, I have stayed to face the reality of what has happened. But there is no peace to be found in facing the truth, and no truth to be found in the confessions that have been made and retracted. I am a Master, all about control, and yet right now, facing great tragedy, I feel as if I have none. With my club and my relationships of the past in the spotlight, I find sanctuary in the one place I’ve promised I will never be again, but cannot seem to resist. Her arms.

***Mark and Crystal's story begins in the novella Master Undone.

review
My thoughts…

Ah…. more Mark Compton. I wasn’t really a fan of his in the first book or two, but eventually I warmed up to him. He’s your typical dom. Hot, rich, and in total control at all times. Well, he seems to have developed a little loss in control in this novella.

It was sort of enjoyable to see his control shaken a bit where Crystal was concerned. There’s a story behind her that I’ve yet to figure out. I do believe that Mark has met his match. Although I’m still holding out hope that Rebecca isn’t actually dead. A girl can dream.

I was able to read this novella really fast. I’m not sure what the page count is, but I think it took me about an hour or so. It captured and held my attention from the beginning. I was desperate to find out more about Rebecca and what exactly happened to her. Sadly, there’s not many answers within the pages of this one. Though I wouldn’t consider this novella a filler, it just didn’t produce the answers I needed. It did however end with an interesting cliffhanger which of course only made me hunger for more.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
RELEASE DAY & REVIEW: Inked Armor by Helena HuntingInked Armor by Helena Hunting
Series: Clipped Wings #2
Published by Gallery Books on May 13, 2014
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In this follow-up to Clipped Wings, the emotional love story continues between Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

In the wake of losing Tenley Page, tattooist Hayden Stryker's tumultuous past is haunting him. Plagued by nightmares about the murder of his parents, Hayden reaches out again to Tenley. Having run from the man she doesn't believe she deserves, Tenley finally lays her guilt to rest. Despite their intense physical attraction, Hayden and Tenley struggle to repair their fragile emotional connection. As Hayden gets closer to the truth, he must find a way to reconcile his guilt over his parents' death in order to keep the woman who finally cracked his armor, and found her way into his heart.

review

My thoughts…

First let me just say *squee* Yay for more Hayden & Tenley!!! 🙂

So this is the second book in this series. Inked Armor picks up right where Clipped Wings left off. Thank goodness for that because the cliffhanger was a doozy. I think this book is as good as the first one. Sometimes with sequels I feel they don’t live up to the first book. I’m happy to say Inked Armor did. The story flowed smoothly, held my attention, and at no time did I find myself skimming. It was in a word. Fantastic. So good.

As with the first, the sex in this book is hot, hot, hot. *fans self* It’s also plentiful. *fans self again* Ms Hunting does an excellent job of building the tension between these two. The chemistry they share is so strong it’s hard for them to keep their hands to themselves. It was really hard for them to abstain and take things slow in their relationship. It was really hard for me as a reader to have to wait for the smexy times too lol

This story focuses a lot on Hayden’s history and what happened to his family. It’s more in-depth then the first book was. He gets the answers to the questions he’s had for so long. The suspense element was a good one. While I was able to figure out some parts of it, other parts to me by surprise.

Overall, I think Ms Hunting nailed it with this book. I’m completely satisfied with the outcome. I’m sort of sad that Hayden & Tenley’s story has come to an end though. This is definitely one of my favorite series. I’ll be reading these books and the novellas again in the future. If you’ve yet to start the series I highly suggest you do.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
REVIEW: Between the Cracks by Helena HuntingBetween the Cracks by Helena Hunting
Series: Clipped Wings #1.5
Published by Gallery Books on May 6, 2014
Pages: 50
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

Tattooist Chris Zelter doesn’t always make the best decisions when it comes to the people he cares about, or the women he gets involved with. Things have changed recently, though. Chris has lost interest in casual flings as he finds himself wrapped up in Sarah Adamson, a waitress at the local strip club he frequents. It takes months of persistent attention before she finally agrees to date him, and he's determined not to mess it up.

Just as things are finally going his way, Chris receives a troubled phone call in the middle of the night from Hayden Stryker, his best friend and business partner. Unexpected revelations and the sudden departure of his girlfriend, Tenley, has nearly sent Hayden over the edge. Add in a speeding ticket and an impounded car, and Hayden is balanced on the precipice of a total meltdown. Worried about his friend, Chris sets out on a rescue road trip, first to get Hayden, and then to bring back Tenley. The two men run into unforeseen roadblocks, proving even the best intentions don’t guarantee results.

Chris and Hayden return to Chicago empty handed, and Chris is left feeling as if he’s let down all the people who matter, especially Sarah. But Chris discovers that sometimes the best way to deal with failure is to find a way to forget about it. And losing himself in Sarah is the perfect way to do just that.

review

My thoughts…

At only fifty pages this is a really quick read. While it’s enjoyable, I don’t think it’s a necessary read. This one felt more like a filler. It’s written from Chris’s POV and covers Hayden’s trip to Tenley’s hometown. It also includes a scene that takes the relationship between Chris and Sarah to the next level. They have sex and I don’t think the sexual scene was up to par with the scenes in Clipped Wings, but it was enjoyable to read.

Overall, I expected more out of this one.

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
REVIEW: Clipped Wings by Helena HuntingClipped Wings by Helena Hunting
Series: Clipped Wings #1
Published by Gallery Books on March 4, 2014
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

An emotional love story that follows the touch-and-go relationship of Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

As Hayden and Tenley navigate their newfound but slightly unstable relationship, they want to trust each other, but Hayden is hiding a dark and shameful past that he doesn't ever want Tenley to find out about. And Tenley has secrets of her own that could make Hayden run away forever. When Tenley asks Hayden to put a beautifully elaborate tattoo across her back, the two form what they thought was an unshakeable bond. But when Tenley's past shows up on her doorstep, will Hayden stand by her side...or run?

review

First off… Tenley & Hayden. I love these names. They aren’t overused character names and I love that. I’ve been told that this series is twilight fan fiction. Honestly I’m not exactly sure what that means. The characters have different names. The setting is different. I think the overall storyline is unique and I loved this book and it’s characters.

Both Tenley & Hayden are broken. They’ve both suffered a great loss in their short lives and I couldn’t but feel so bad for them. Having said that I really liked them. The attraction between these two was off the charts. I think they were good together. Having both suffered losses I also think that made their bond stronger. The sex in this one was HOT! I had to fan myself a couple of times. The scenes are well written and plentiful.

Overall, I really loved this one and I cannot wait for the second book in this series. It’s going to be so good!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: His Secrets by Lisa Renee JonesHis Secrets by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Inside Out #3.1
Published by Gallery Books on February 24, 2014
Pages: 60
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne Star

An Inside Out story, Chris's POV

In a world where my only escape has been my art, Sara has been the light in my darkness. And there is darkness, the kind of inky black that can bleed from my life to hers.

She doesn't see it. She doesn't understand what I've shown her. And my biggest fear is that soon...she will.

reviewMy thoughts…

This is a very short read. A lot shorter then I thought it would be. I sort of feel like it was a filler novella. Nothing really stands out about it to me. It was more of the same storyline as the last book. Centered around Chris and his secrets. The title is fitting I think. I sort of feel this novella was unnecessary to the overall storyline.

series-listBehind Closed Doors (Inside Out, #0.5)
Goodreads | Amazon

If I Were You (Inside Out, #1)
Goodreads | Amazon

Rebecca’s Lost Journals,
Volume 1: The Seduction (Inside Out, #1.1) 
Goodreads | Amazon

Rebecca’s Lost Journals,
Volume 2: The Contract (Inside Out, #1.2)
Goodreads | Amazon

Rebecca’s Lost Journals,
Volume 3: His Submissive (Inside Out, #1.3)
Goodreads | Amazon

Rebecca’s Lost Journals,
Volume 4: My Master (Inside Out, #1.4) 
Goodreads | Amazon

Being Me (Inside Out, #2)Goodreads | Amazon

The Master Undone (Inside Out, #2.5)Goodreads | Amazon

Revealing Us (Inside Out, #3)Goodreads | Amazon

His Secrets (Inside Out, #3.1)Goodreads | Amazon

One StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Remy by Katy EvansRemy by Katy Evans
Series: Real #3
Published by Gallery Books on November 26, 2013
Pages: 208
Format: eBook
Source: the Publisher
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Underground fighter Remington Tate is a mystery, even to himself. His mind is dark and light, complex and enlightening. At times his actions and moods are carefully measured, and at others, they spin out of control.

Through it all, there's been one constant: wanting, needing, loving, and protecting Brooke Dumas. This is his story; from the first moment he laid eyes on her and knew, without a doubt, she would be the realest thing he's ever had to fight for.

My thoughts…

Finally! We get to hear Remy’s side of the story. I love reading books from the heroes POV. I like being able to get into their head and experience things from their perspective. After having read the first two books in this series I know how the story goes. Having said that, in this story you can get a feel for Remy in a different light.

While the majority of this story highlights the high points in both Real and Mine, you also get a sense of what Remy’s feeling as they’re about to get married. It switches back and forth between the past and present.

I think Ms Evans did a great job writing this one. Even though I’ve read the two previous books and I know what happens, the story kept and held my attention until the very end. Speaking of the end… The final sexual scene is really hot. You’ll sure to be fanning yourself.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this one. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series which is entitled Ripped and will be Brooke’s friend, Pandora’s story.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Katy Evans

Katy Evans grew up with books and book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love. They married and are now hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which is, hopefully, only the beginning

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: Mine by Katy EvansMine by Katy Evans
Series: Real #2
Published by Gallery Books on November 5, 2013
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I belong to him. He belongs to me. Our love is all-consuming, powerful,imperfect, and real...

My thoughts…

See that? ↑ Yep, up there. The synopsis? Those few short words aren’t very descriptive are they? That’s okay because we’re getting more Remy, right? Right! I could summarize Mine for you, but I’m not going to. Here’s why. I really don’t want to spoil anything. Trust me. You’ll thank me when you start reading this book.

Here’s what I can tell you. Author Katy Evans will take you on a journey. There are twists and turns in this one. Some I sort of figured out and others I did not. Remember that douche bag Scorpion? Yes, he makes another appearance.

The plot for Mine was really good and I couldn’t put this book down. I kept turning page after page to see what would happen next. I both laughed and cried while reading this one. It’s can be highly emotional at times.

Remy. Sexy, strong, alpha all the way, and bipolar to boot. Let’s face it. The man is amazeballs and totally swoon worthy. Rawr. He always gets my motor running.

If you read my review of Real you will already know that at times I think a little bit of the bipolar issue was unrealistic to me. I’m not saying the way things happen in this book are wrong, just that in my personal experience I’m never heard of such things happening. That doesn’t mean they don’t. I can’t say that these elements take away from the story because they don’t. I just sort of think they aren’t actually accurate.

Brooke. I really liked her in the first book. I think she was good for Remy. Together these two share a strong bond. They both have jealousy issues though. A time or two I found myself getting irritated with her while reading this one.

The sexual content within this one is not only hot and steamy, but plentiful as well. I had to fan myself quite a few times.

Even though Mine is a series book it doesn’t end with a cliffhanger. Thank God. I’m over cliffhangers at the moment.

Up next is Remy. We get his prospective on how things are. I’m so excited about this one! He’s such a complex character and I can’t wait to experience things through his POV.

Overall, I really loved this book! It’s left me hungry for more. More Remy that is. 😀

 

Excerpt

“Ladies and gentlemen, we all remember our crushed souls—our crushed spirits!—when the crowd favorite lost the championship final last year.”

The crowd boos in memory, and my throat clogs thinking about how Remy’s broken body had been carried out of the ring.

“Have no fear, people. Have no fear!”

REMY!!!!!!!!!” someone screams.

“Bring him out already!” another yells.

“Oh, we will. Have no doubt about it, we will,” the announcer somberly says, painfully drawing it out for the crowd. “After much speculation and many rumors, it’s completely official. The man is fighting this season, and he’s taking no prisoners, people! Here he is, ladies and gentlemen. Here. He. Is! You all know who I’m talking about?”

The crowd roars, “RIP-TIIIIIIIDE!”

Who?”

“RIP-TIIIIIIDE!”

“One more time, ’cause I can’t hear you!”

“RIPTIIIIIDE!”

“That’s right, ladies and gentlemen! Here’s our favorite bad boy with that infamous smile and those deadly fists, ready to carve R.I.P. into anyone who stands in his way this year. The one, the only, Remingtoooon Tate, your RIPTIIIIIIIIIDE!!”

Wild excitement rushes through me as the crowd stands and roars like never before.

“My god, the fans are thirsty for him,” Pete breathes.

And so am I. My god. So am I.

Across the ring from me, women are waving panties in the air. Panties! Another lifts a sign that reads pull me under, riptide!

My mouth is dry, and a thousand and one winged things flutter in my stomach when I see a flash of red.

And then, he’s closer.

Trotting out of the walkway and to the ring.

To his ring.

My body enlivens with sensations as he breaks through the crowd.

Some fans have escaped their seats and make a grab for him, but he easily shoves his way through the throng, his face shadowed by the hood of his red satin robe. Remy. My Remy. The man I love with every ounce of me.

“Riptide, you put the sex in SEXY!”

“Remy, I want you to fucking impregnate me!” 

He climbs into the ring with a fluid jump, and then he removes his riptide robe, slowly, without hurrying. Hundreds of female screams ring in my ears as he goes to his corner to hand the robe to Riley, his coach’s second.

Riley pats his muscled back with a smile and tells him something. Remington throws his head back as if he’s laughing and then takes the center of the ring, spreads his long, ripped arms out, and starts doing his slow and cocky I-know-you-all-want-to-fuck-me turn.

I’m dying.

I will never, ever, get used to the sight of him in that ring. My heart whams excitedly into my rib cage while all my insides pulse with need, and my chest feels like a balloon about to burst in excitement. Hard, lean, and perfect, he is all dangerous, all beautiful, and all mine.

My eyes absorb every inch of what every other woman here is drooling for, and I helplessly let my gaze run up and down his perfect athletic form. My eyes lovingly caress his tan and kiss the inky Celtic bands over his biceps. I admire his torso and his long, strong legs, his sculptured arms, his narrow waist and broad shoulders. Every muscle in his perfect body is so defined that you would know exactly where one structure ends and the next begins if you trailed your fingers along his magnificent form.

And as he turns even more, I see the washboard abs with eight squares—eight! Yes, it is impossible, but he’s got them . . . and his face.

Oh god, I can’t even take it.

The scruffy jaw. The brilliant blue eyes. The sexy smirk. The dimples. He’s got a smile on his face, his expression, one that tells you he’s got a whole lot of trouble planned for the evening and you don’t want to miss it, is playful and boyish.

A collective gasp spreads out in the rows behind me as he moves to face us.

The butterflies in my stomach burst awake when those dancing blue eyes start scanning the crowd, silently laughing at all of us. He’s clearly amused by our obsession over everything Remington Tate!

Beside me, a middle-aged blonde with too much Botox jumps up and down and screams like a lunatic, “Remy! Give me a taste of that Riptide!”

The impulse to drag the woman down by her hair seizes me, but at the same time, I know you can’t look at him without dissolving into a pool of lust.

He is a stud. He was made to mate. To procreate.

And I want him like my next breath.

I want him more than any one of these screaming women wants him.

I want every fragmented part of him. I want his body. His mind. His heart. His beautiful soul.

He says he’s mine, but I know that there’s a part of Remington Tate nobody will ever have.

I am his, but he is untamable and unconquerable.

The only one who can defeat Remington Tate is himself.

He’s up there, ever elusive and mysterious, a black box of mystery without end. And I want to get lost in him, even if I never come out the same.

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Katy Evans

Katy Evans grew up with books and book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love. They married and are now hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which is, hopefully, only the beginning

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Revealing Us by Lisa Renee JonesRevealing Us by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Inside Out #3
Published by Gallery Books on September 10, 2013
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The third installment in the sexy Inside Out erotic romance series—in the seductive tradition of Fifty Shades of Grey.

You've discovered Rebecca's secrets. You've discovered Sara's secrets. Now Sara will discover "his" deepest, darkest secrets...but will those secrets bind them together--or tear them apart?

My thoughts…

Revealing Us was really, really good. There are a few new characters introduced in this one. A couple women I didn’t like at all for reasons I can’t really talk about because of spoiler issues. I can say that they both have a past history with Chris. There was also a guy named Tristan who I would like to know more about, but I’m not sure if that will happen.

There are all sorts of twists and turns within the pages of this one. You’ll find out what Chris’s deep dark secret is. Honestly I didn’t think it was as bad as it could have been, but having said that I can understand why he might have chose to be whipped.

There were times where I thought Sara acted a bit reckless within the pages of this one. I think she might have thought Chris was trying to hide things from her when in all actuality he was trying to protect her.

This one ends on a cliffhanger. There are still things Sara must deal with back in the States and I’m hoping the next book is going to get more into that. Also, as previously announced there will be a book four and five. These books will focus on The Master and I can’t wait to read them. I love Mark even though at first I didn’t. He’s grown on me.

Revealing Us is not a filler. As I stated above you will find out Chris’s secret, but you will also learn more about Ella.

The sexual content isn’t overly explicit in nature in Revealing Us. I couldn’t help but be a little disappointed by this since books one and two were really hot.

Overall, I really enjoyed this one. Maybe not quite as much as book one and two, but it was really close and I’m excited to read more of this series in the future.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Review: Being Me by Lisa Renee JonesBeing Me by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Inside Out #2
Published by Gallery Books on June 11, 2013
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N

The sexy second installment in the Inside Out erotic romance trilogy, following If I Were You—in the seductive tradition ofFifty Shades of Grey.

Fascinated by the dark fantasies in the journals she’s discovered, and the two men who have now found a place in her life, Sara McMillan finds herself torn between her new life and her past. Now, more than ever, Sara identifies with the lost journal writer, Rebecca, and is certain that something sinister has happened.

In the arms of the sexy, tormented artist Chris Merit, Sara seeks answers about Rebecca and ends up discovering things about herself she never knew existed. Chris forces Sara to reconsider who she is and what she truly wants from life, but not before his dark desires threaten to tear them apart. Her boss, Mark Compton, offers her the shelter to understand just what those needs mean to her, and what they might have meant to Rebecca, but can she trust him to lead her to a final conclusion to Rebecca’s story?

My thoughts…

OMG. OMG. Like If I Were You, Being Me is an amazing read! I love, love, loved this one too. This series is unbelievable and without a doubt one of my favorites.

I think Ms Jones did a great job of building the story and keeping it interesting. This book is NOT a filler. There are several twists and turns. I didn’t find myself getting bored with it or skimming. It kept my attention until the very end.

Writing this review is sort of hard for me because I don’t want to give anything away. I can tell you this though. You will find out who the Master is, and you will also get answers to the mystery of Rebecca.

Chris and Sara are still keeping secrets from each other, and while some of them are revealed in this one it won’t be until the third book that you’ll find out just exactly what deep dark secrets Chris is keeping.

Even though this story has BDSM elements it’s not overly explicit. Having said that, the sexual scenes are still steamy and plentiful.

Next up is a novella entitled The Master Undone. It’s written from The Master’s point of view and I can’t wait get his perspective of how things happened. It’s being released in August and I can’t wait to read it. Book three, entitled Revealing Us, is expected to release in September.

If you have yet to read this series I suggest you give it a try. It really is amazing!

Review: White Trash Beautiful by Teresa MummertWhite Trash Beautiful by Teresa Mummert
Series: White Trash
Published by Gallery Books on July 9, 2013
Pages: 240
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A word-of-mouth bestseller that’s captivating readers with its honesty, grit, and headstrong heroine, White Trash Beautiful is a story for anyone who has ever felt trapped in life, cheated by love—and longed for something more . . .

Cass Daniels isn’t waiting for her knight in shining armor. She knows that girls like her don’t get a happily ever after. Not if you live in a trailer with your mom, work at a greasy spoon diner, and get leered at by old men. Maybe that’s why she puts up with Jackson—her poor excuse for a boyfriend, who treats her like dirt. Cass has learned to accept her lot in life. That is, until he walks into her diner. . . .

His name is Tucker White, and he’s different from any man Cass has ever known. Tall, tattooed, and bad-ass gorgeous, he’s the lead singer of the rock band Damaged. From the moment they meet, Tucker sees something in Cass he just can’t shake. Something beautiful. Something haunted. Something special. And he’s determined to find out what it is—if only he can get her to open up and let him in. . .

My thoughts…

OMG! I could not put this book down. I was drawn in from page one and it didn’t let me go until the very end. White Trash Beautiful is so emotional. I cried several times. To me it seems that books that make you cry are typically great reads. This one didn’t disappoint. I was able to read this one in one sitting. It was that good.

I loved Cass Daniels from the beginning. I felt so bad for her. To say she was handed a bad lot in life is putting it mildly. The poor girl was stuck taking care of her drug addicted mother and boyfriend. Although Jackson is considered her boyfriend in this book he seemed anything but. He was abusive towards her, constantly wanted money to buy drugs, and didn’t work. A real prize if you ask me.

Cass has a secret she’s keeping from both her mother and Jackson. She’s been stashing money away in hopes of someday moving her mother, Jackson, and herself out of the rundown trailer park they are currently living in.

One day while working her dead-end job at the diner, Tucker White walks in. Tucker’s the lead singer for the band Damaged. A band that Cass likes. She doesn’t recognize him. What she does recognize is his tattoos, bad boy persona and his startling good looks.

I loved Tucker. He took an interest in Cass immediately. There was just something about her that drew him to her. He wanted to know more about her and to also protect her at the same time. Of course Cass thinks he’s only looking for a good time, but boy is she wrong.

The attraction between these two is apparent from the very start. I found myself rooting for Cass. I wanted Tucker to sweep her off her feet. I wanted them to become a couple. I wanted her to have a better life than the one she was currently living.

The sexual content in this one is pretty much mainstream and not overly explicit in nature. If I had to describe it in a word it would be sweet. I really thought that things would be steamy between these two. You know the “ripping each others clothes off.” That really wasn’t the case. Not that it was disappointing, because it wasn’t. I just thought it could use a bit more passion.

There is going to be another book after this one that comes out in October. It’s entitled White Trash Damaged. I cannot wait to read it. I hope it’s as amazing as this one.

Overall, I can’t say enough good things about this story. It’s defiantly one of the best books I’ve read this year. 5 Stars doesn’t quite seem enough. There’s just something about a book that captures your attention from the start, and keeps you turning page after page to see how things will end up.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star