Blog Tour+GIVEAWAY: The Last Necromancer (The Ministry of Curiousities #1) by C.J. ArcherThe Last Necromancer by C.J. Archer
Published by Createspace on August 11, 2015
Pages: 268
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | Kobo

Victorian London: For five years, Charlotte (Charlie) Holloway has lived as a boy in the slums. But when one theft too many gets her arrested, her only means of escape lies with a dead man. Charlie hasn't raised a spirit since she first discovered she could do so five years ago. That time, her father banished her. This time, she brings even more trouble upon herself.

People are now hunting Charlie all over London, but only one man succeeds in capturing her.

Lincoln Fitzroy is the mysterious head of a secret organization on the trail of a madman who needs a necromancer to control his newly "made" creatures. There was only one known necromancer in the world - Charlotte - but now there appears to be two. Lincoln captures the willful Charlie in the hopes the boy will lead him to Charlotte. But what happens when he discovers the boy is in fact the young woman he's been searching for all along? And will she agree to work for the man who held her against her will, and for an organization she doesn't trust?

Because Lincoln and his ministry might be just as dangerous as the madman they're hunting.

TheLastNecromancerTourBanner1

You can find my reviews of C.J. Archer’s Freak House series HERE and her stand alone novel, Surrender, HERE. Don’t forget to ENTER to WIN at the bottom!

Victorian London 1888 (1)victoriandress1111889 London slums

Victorian Era London, England

ATTENTION POLDARK FANS: You will LOVE the dynamic between the Female and Male protagonists in this novel.

I wish I could buy stock in C.J. Archer.

Once again, she’s blown me away with the start of another great series, The Ministry of Curiosities. When I read C.J.’s books, I imagine her conducting her research in wonderfully dusty libraries and some mystical, greenish light shooting up from the pages, illuminating her face and filling her with magical writing powers. I have always enjoyed how C.J. filters her love for history and all of her historical research through such addicting and entertaining novels.

The Last Necromancer has a scandalous start and immediately threw me into the reality of slum life in 1889 London. C.J.’s world building falls out of the pages and properly transports the reader to whatever setting our protagonist, Charlotte Holloway, is occupying.

Charlotte is like a mix of Eponine, from Les Mis, and Demelza, from Poldark. Her fighting spirit, sense of self-preservation and boldness was a nice departure from the quiet and helpless Victorian women so often portrayed in novels of this era. Charlotte has an edge to her, sharpened by experience, and she is a protagonist that I enjoyed from the first page. Charlotte Necromancer

Alexandra Dowling– My Charlotte Holloway

Without a word, he padded back to the casket and placed the weapon inside, then returned to the bedroom. He re-emerged after ten minutes wearing nothing but a towel around his hips and carrying another that he used to dry his hair.

His lack of attention to me allowed me to take in the sight of his chest and shoulders, the left one with a bandage covering it where I had shot him. The youths in the gangs I’d been in had never had bodies like that. Fitzroy’s shoulders were broad, with bulges of muscle rippling down his arms and across his chest. The sprinkle of dark chest hair tapered off before reaching his rigid stomach.

If Charlotte reminded me of Demelza, then Lincoln Fitzroy, the dashing and disturbing male protagonist, one-hundred percent reminded me of Ross Poldark. Lincoln is described as looking darkly handsome, like he could fit in with Gypsies. The below image is what instantly came to mind when his character was described in the book. By God, he is a likable character and I just *die* with anticipation every time I read a C.J. Archer book while waiting to be introduced to the male MC. She just gets them SO RIGHT every time. There are undercurrents of Heathcliffe from Wuthering Heights and Rochester from Jane Eyre in Lincoln Fitzroy and, of course, we all know that is an intoxicating combination.

Aidan Turner- My Lincoln Fitzroy

Aidan Turner– My Lincoln Fitzroy

The Last Necromancer is creative and has a unique twist with the pleasant familiarity of classic romance novels. This book was as spellbinding as C.J.’s other novels and thank goodness she writes faster than I can read because the second novel in the series, Her Majesty’s Necromancer is already out! So, basically, if you love reading, history, romance, and the paranormal and superhuman, then YOU WANT TO READ THIS BOOK. And can I just say, aren’t the covers AMAZING?!

Her Majesty's Necromancer cover

 

Aaaand just for fun:

There were some things about The Last Necromancer that reminded me about the Tooth and Claw Doctor Who episode. If that ep. was one of your favorites (as it was mine), then I think you will enjoy The Ministry of Curiosities series.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

ButtonXBT

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Gus (Bright Side #2) by Kim HoldenBrightside by Kim Holden
Published by Self Published on May 19, 2015
Pages: 389
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The journey that began in top-rated, best-selling Bright Side, continues ...

This is the story of Gus.
Losing himself.
Finding himself.
And healing along the way.

“ … but the honest-to-God truth is I don’t even know how to function anymore. Bright Side wasn’t only my best friend; she was like my other half ... the other half of my brain, the other half of my conscience, the other half of my sense of humor, the other half of my creativity, the other half of my heart. How do you go back to doing what you did before, when half of you is gone forever?”

I was so happy to hear that Gus was getting his own book. It wasn’t until almost release day that I did. Naturally of course I knew I had to read it. I really liked Gus in Bright Side. The friendship Gus and Kate shared was really tight. My heart broke for Gus at the end of Bright Side. Bright Side was an amazing read. In fact, I re-read it before starting this book.

Now onto Gus. He’s the lead singer of Rook. They’ve just released their first album and are starting a world tour. Gus is a good guy. He struggled a lot in the beginning of this book. I didn’t like a lot of the decisions he made, but could see where he’d might make some of them he did. I was really worried about him in the beginning.

It wasn’t until he met Scout that he started changing. Changing s-l-o-w-l-y. There was just something about her that was different. When I say Gus started changing slowly, I’m not kidding. He had so many issues to work through that he struggled a lot. He was so lost and I hurt for him.

Once he and Scout started communicating more though Gus started changing. I started rooting for him. I wanted the old Gus back. I wanted the long haired, buff, surfer who was a good looking rock star that was amazingly talented.

Ms Holden’s writing was exceptional yet again. I felt like I was part of the story. There wasn’t a time where I got bored with the story. The flow was smooth and held my attention.

The sex scenes were hot, well written, and plentiful. I loved how Gus made sure Scout was comfortable every step of the way.

Overall, if you’re looking for a new adult story that offers an interesting storyline, that will hold your attention, and leave feeling completely satisfied once you’ve reached the end. Then Gus is for you. I will say that you’ll need to read Bright Side first too get the entire picture. You won’t be sorry you did though. Brightside is amazing.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Fall Out Girl by L. DuarteFall Out Girl by L. Duarte
Published by Self Published on March 2015
Pages: 224
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Imagine a social outcast: Me. (Luna)

Imagine a popular boy: Him. (Caleb)

Sound like the characters of a cliché story, right? Here, hold my hand. Come away with me. I’ll tell you my story, and you’ll decide.

But I have a warning: Proceed at your own risk. Since it’s a snippet of my life, I’m one of the main characters. And to put it lightly, I’m not the most likable person in the world, cue the earned label. Also, unlike fairy tales, my story is real with a dash of sorrow and loss.

How do I start? Once upon a time…? Shoot me now, please.

The beginning? No, too boring.

Well, let’s start with the catalytic moment that set in motion a chain of events that changed my life, yet again.

As for a happily ever after? Sorry, no spoilers here. You’re going to have to figure that one out on your own. After you read my tale, it becomes yours, and as such, you’re entitled to your interpretation.

So, off we go!

Fasten your seat belts. This ride may get bumpy.

REVIEW:

Wow! I finished reading Fall Out Girl late yesterday afternoon and I’m still reeling. I experienced so many feels while reading this story. I had read the synopsis on Goodreads one day a few weeks ago and added it to my tbr list. Last week I was contacted by the author and offered an ARC for an honest review. I accepted and thought I’d get to it in a couple weeks. I’m really swamped right now. Here’s the thing though. It kept calling to me. After a few days I decided I’d read it next after I finished my current read.  Once I got started reading I was hooked. I fell in love with this story and its characters. Every time I had to put it down I’d feel sad. I didn’t want to. I wanted to continue reading and stay immersed inside Luna’s world. That’s how captivated I was with the story.

Even though the majority of this book takes place in a high school setting, there is sex within the pages of this one. I’d categorize it as a mature young adult that morphs into a new adult towards the very end. The sex is comparable to adult mainstream. Maybe a little more steamy. There are a few scenes. Not a lot though. What’s there is well written and fit perfectly within the story.

Fall Out Girl contains some quotes I really liked. The to-do list Luna’s father left her was amazing to read. You could tell that he was an amazing man and that he loved her fiercely. It sucked that she had to suffer such a loss in her young age.

Overall, I loved this book so much. I can honestly say without a doubt that it’s one of my favorites reads of this year. I highly recommend it. The unique storyline, amazing writing, and deeply flawed characters are sure to tug at your heartstrings. I can count at least four times I had to leave the room so I could cry in private. I didn’t want my family to think I was nuts. Lol Fall Out Girl really touched my heart and I hope you’ll give it a shot.

5 AMAZING STARS!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About L. Duarte

I have found that there is only one thing better than reading, and that is writing. I am always torn between the two. I am also frequently torn between chocolate and coffee. However, I emphatically do not like the month of February, lies, and flies. For me, bravery is defined by the courage to do what we fear the most. This conviction is reflected in my debut work of romantic fiction, Chasing Stars. I live in Connecticut with my husband and two children. Drop a few lines. I would love to hear from you.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Review Tour: Under the InfluenceUnder the Influence by L.B. Simmons
Published by Self Published on May 11, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Dalton,

I loved you once. A love I thought irrevocable. A love I mistakenly believed could transcend both time and circumstance. Under the influence of my dimwitted, naïve, traitorous heart, I became intoxicated with what I now know was simply a figment of my self-indulgent imagination. So drunk on the feeling, I couldn’t see what was right in front of my face. So foolishly enamored, I blindly followed my heart into the depths of an emotion that would ravage me.

Years later, I know now what I wish I knew then. I am stronger. Smarter. Tougher. I will not allow myself to be broken again.

I loved you.

I raged for you.

I wept for you.

And now, I’m letting you go.

Author’s Note: Under the Influence is the journey of two childhood friends that spans the course of five pivotal years in their lives. It is a story about their discovery of true friendship as it blossoms into first love, their experience of crucial sacrifice and ultimate betrayal, and their endurance of agonizing heartbreak on the way to finding lasting redemption

Under the Influence was a great read that had unique and interesting characters. I really liked Dalton. When things got tough he did what he had to do in order to insure wrongs were made right.

Both he and Spencer came from less than desirable backgrounds. Their young lives were rough. Spencer by far lucked out when she was placed with a good family. Eventually Dalton was placed there too. It was then that Dalton and Spencer formed a strong bond and friendship.

Some parts of this story was predictable. Other parts not so much. There was a few times I caught myself skimming. Not a lot, but some. The pacing was pretty steady, but again at time I skimmed because I really wanted to know if it was going to turn out the way I thought it would.

The sexual scene (as in singular) was sweet, but not really overly explicit. Under the circumstances though, I think it fit in perfectly. It had a sort of sweetness too it.

Actually there were two sexual scenes. The other one wasn’t overly explicit either, but was well written.

Overall, I liked this one and how things turned out.  Maybe not as much as other L.B. Simmons’ books, but again I liked it and would recommend it to my friends and other readers.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About L.B. Simmons

L.B. Simmons is a graduate of Texas A&M University and holds a degree in Biomedical Science. She has been a practicing Chemist for the last 11 years. She lives with her husband and three daughters in Texas and writes every chance she gets.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Release Day and Review: Pocketful of Sand by M. LeightonPocketful of Sand by M. Leighton
Published by Self Published on March 15, 2015
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

“She’s beauty for my ashes. And I’m hope for her heartache.”—Cole Danzer.

I don’t know what makes a great love story. Is it that instant attraction when boy meets girl? The passionate kisses and the fairy-tale ending? Or is it a lifetime of tragedy, paid in advance, for a few stolen moments of pure bliss? The pain and the suffering that, in the end, you can say are worth it for having found the missing piece of your soul?

The answer is: I don’t know. I don’t know what makes a great love story. I only know what makes my love story. I only know that finding Cole when I did, when Emmy and I were running from a nightmare, was the only thing that saved me. That saved us. He was more broken than I was, but somehow we took each other’s shattered pieces and made a whole. If that is what makes a great love story, if that is what makes an epic romance, then mine…ours is the greatest of them all.

**Contains material that some may find disturbing. Not intended for readers under the age of 18**

The title says it all….

As I sit here my mind is working overtime trying to come up with the words to express my true feelings about this book. I literally felt so many emotions while I was reading it. I was sucked in from the very first page.

This book was unlike anything I’ve read before. Sure there were a few predictable things. But the plot itself was unique, and that’s what I loved most about this story.

Ms Leighton did a fantastic job with character development in this book. I felt like I knew the main characters. The more I read the more my heart broke for them. I hurt for them. And although the relationship moved rapidly between Eden and Cole. I didn’t get that insta-love feeling. It was like they were drawn to each other like a moth to a flame. Both damaged. Both needing something. Both struggling with their own issues, but the want for each other only growing stronger by the day.

I’m not going to go into the ending because I feel that is something you as the reader should go into on your own without any help from me. Trust me, you will thank me for it later. I will say this though. I liked what Ms Leighton did. Sorry! I’m not saying any more. lol

Overall, I really enjoyed Pocketful of Sand. I’m happy I read it. I really loved the story and characters. I hope you’ll give it a chance. Ms Leighton’s books are amazing.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About M. Leighton

I was born and raised in the United States, and I’ve lived in several of the fabulous fifty. Though I currently live in the deep South, I spent much of my childhood up North and hope to return there one day. A few other things about me: I believe that sometimes you have to look really, REALLY hard to find the good in people, but it’s there. I believe that I’m shrinking (I swear five years ago I was two inches taller). I believe my husband is quite possibly one of the most amazing men in the entire world (I can’t be sure because I haven’t met all of them). I believe coffee and chocolate, when combined, could be the basis for world peace. I believe that Jesus rocks and communism doesn’t. I believe that white makes me look fat and black collects lint. I believe summer’s too hot, winter’s too cold and fall was made for football. I like dogs better than cats and the first movie in a trilogy is invariably the best. But most of all, I believe that love conquers all.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: Nocte by Courtney ColeNocte by Courtney Cole
Series: The Nocte Triology #1
Published by Lakehouse Press on November 3, 2014
Pages: 277
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Save me and I'll save you...

My name is Calla Price. I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole.
My other half-- my twin brother, my Finn-- is crazy.

I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me.

I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day. So I reach out for a lifeline.

Dare DuBray.

He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me.

He has the power to destroy me.

Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt.

Why? Because of a secret.

A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming.

You won’t either.

review

My thoughts…

First I’d like to thank Courtney Cole and Badass Marketing for the opportunity to read and review an advance copy of this book before release day. I truly appreciate your trust in me with this “secret” project. Well, I call it secret since not much has been released about it.

Now onto my review.

WOW! I’ll say it again. WOW! What an amazingly, wild, mind fucking ride. This story is intense, and gritty, and angsty, and totally amazing. I’ve said it before. I’ll say it again now. I’m a very analytical type person. When I read books my mind is constantly trying to figure out what’s going to happen. I look for and try too collect clues. Constantly trying to piece them together. I’m not going to brag, but I’m usually pretty good at figuring things out before then end. That was not the case with Nocte. The ending completely caught me off guard. I totally didn’t see it coming. I was completely shocked and then a little bit disappointed when I realized that this book is in fact the first book in a trilogy. But, I’m good with the HFN (Happy for now) ending. I’m looking forward to seeing what Ms Cole has in store for us in the next book which is entitled Verum. I don’t have an expected release date for it yet, but will try to update this post when it becomes available.

Also, I’m not going to go into any details about this book. I think as a reader you’ll appreciate it more if you go into this one with only the clues Ms Cole has released. I know there’s a limited amount of information out there, but trust me that makes the story that much more intriguing.

Overall, I loved this book and the way it was written. I hope you’ll give it a try.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLOG TOUR and REVIEW: Left Behind by Vi Keeland and Dylan ScottLeft Behind by Dylan Scott, Vi Keeland
Published by Self Published on October 14, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Two stories so deeply intertwined, you’ll think you know how they intersect…but you’ll be wrong….

Zack Martin
The day I met Emily Bennett my whole world changed. Sure, we were just kids, but I was old enough to know my life would never be the same. She was my best friend. My destiny. My fate. I wasn’t wrong…I just didn’t know how twisted fate could be.

Nikki Fallon
After the death of my mother, moving from my dark and dreary trailer park to sunny California, I was focused on one thing – finding a sister I’d only just learned existed. Falling in love with him wasn’t part of the plan. But he filled a void I never knew was possible to fill. He had to be my fate. My destiny. Until the day I finally found out who my sister was…and how twisted fate could be.

review

My thoughts…

Wow! What a great story. This book is so unlike any that Ms Keeland has written. It’s a young adult that sort of turns into a new adult at the very end. I really loved this one.

Being honest, I had no idea what this story was about when I signed up for the review tour. All I knew was that it was written by Ms Keeland and Dylan Scott. That it was unlike any other story she’s written before. That’s it. Nothing more. It’s because of my being a big fan of Ms Keeland I knew that I had to read it.

I fell in love with both Nikki and Zack. They developed a strong bond right away. Both having suffered a great loss in their short life drew them together. I think the authors did a great job of letting these characters emotions shine through in their writing. I found myself hoping that when all was said and done in the end they would be together.

This story is so emotionally charged. Beautifully written. And one that I can’t recommend enough. I will say the plot was pretty easy for me to figure out, but that didn’t in any way take away from the story. I’m curious to see if perhaps the authors will write a story for Ashley and Keller. I really liked both of them. Keller can only be described as a meathead lol He loves to joke around and is just full of himself. He cracked me up. A lot.

Overall, I loved Left Behind!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a native New Yorker with three children that occupy most of her free time, which she complains about often, but wouldn’t change for the world. She is a bookworm and has been known to read her kindle at stop lights, while styling her hair, cleaning, walking, during sporting events, and frequently while pretending to work. She is a boring attorney by day, and an exciting New York Times & USA Today Best Selling smut author by night!

In 2013, she released four romance novels, including the first story in the new MMA Fighter series, Worth the Fight. Three more are planned for release in 2014. Her novels have appeared on the Top 5 lists of Amazon USA, UK, Canada and Barnes & Noble.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: The Sinner’s Bargain by Claire ContrerasThe Sinner's Bargain by Claire Contreras
Series: Contracts & Deceptions #2
Published by Self Published on September 30, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

**This is the continuation to The Devil's Contract. It is necessary that you read book one first.**

Being pulled in different directions, Amara must choose what she wants to believe and whom she’ll trust.

review

My thoughts…

I have been so excited about the release of this book. The Devil’s Contract ended on such a huge cliffhanger. I mean huge. If you read the review I posted for it then you may remember that I was a bit upset with the fact that the book ended with a cliffhanger and that as a reader I had no prior knowledge of the fact that there would be a book two and it sorta pissed me off. Sorry Claire!

Anyway, now that I’ve read The Sinner’s Bargain I can honestly say that it was definitely worth the wait. There are so many characters that play a part in the overall story besides Colin and Amara. Some I liked, while others not so much. Throughout it all though, I loved, loved, loved Colin. Even though at times he could be an ass I loved how much he loved Amara.

There are so many things going on within the pages of this story. I found great pleasure in trying to figure out what would happen. Most of the time I wasn’t quite sure who Amara could trust. All of the characters seemed suspect. I think it was because of this that it made this story that much more enjoyable. Ms Contreras will keep you guessing. You continually try to figure out how it’s all going to end. And when the end gets here you might be very surprised at how things turn out.

The sex is back full force in this book. Colin and Amara scorch up the sheets. The sex scenes are hot, plentiful and well written.

Overall, I loved both of these books. I can see myself reading them again in the future. I’m not sure what’s up for Ms Contreras, but I’m really looking forward to reading her next book.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLOG TOUR and REVIEW: Worth Forgiving by Vi KeelandWorth Forgiving by Vi Keeland
Series: MMA Fighter #3
Published by Self Published on August 20, 2014
Pages: 314
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

They say men like a lady in the living room and a whore in the bedroom. I never knew the sentiment was reciprocal. Until I met Jax Knight. A gentleman in public, a commanding, dirty talking rogue in the bedroom.

Daughter of legendary fighter “The Saint,” Lily St. Claire knows firsthand how fighters can be. As the owner of a chain of MMA gyms, she’s no stranger to aggressive, dominating, and possessive men. That’s why she’s always kept her distance. But the day Jax Knight walks through her door she’s captivated by his charm. Stunningly handsome, well mannered, Ivy League educated, and confident, he shatters all the preconceived notions she’d come to think were true about men who trained to fight.

But falling for someone so soon after her breakup wasn’t something she’d planned on. And definitely not something her ex plans to allow.

review

My thoughts…

Worth Forgiving is the final book in the MMA Fighter series by Vi Keeland. I love this series so much!!! I was both looking forward too and also feeling a bit melancholy about the release of this book.

I’ve felt so many emotions while reading this series. I’ve come to love each and every hero. Ms Keeland has a unique writing style and her stories always draw me in from the very first page. Worth Forgiving was no exception.

Jax was a secondary character in book two. Not too many details were given about him. The details that were given piqued my interest though and I knew I had to read his story. He’s also a fighter like the two previous heroes. Although he doesn’t actually fight for money. It’s more of a hobby until he meets Lily.

Lily is new to the series. Right from the beginning I loved her. She was really interesting. She’s half owner of a family owned multiple gym business that trains fighters. She’s had a rough way to go since her father died. She lost her mother at a young age and her father became her everything.

The chemistry between Jax & Lily is strong from the beginning. Although Lily is reluctant to start anything up with Jax, she eventually gives in and things get really hot. Speaking of getting hot, the sex scenes are hot, well written, and plentiful. Ms Keeland is very descriptive with her sexual scenes. I had to fan myself a time or two.

There were a few things I found predictable within the pages of this book, but they didn’t take away from the story.

Overall, I loved Worth Forgiving. I loved how the author ended the series. She included each of the main characters from the previous books into the ending and after finishing up this book I felt satisfied with how things turned out.

If you haven’t read this series yet I highly suggest you do. It’s one of my favorites.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a native New Yorker with three children that occupy most of her free time, which she complains about often, but wouldn’t change for the world. She is a bookworm and has been known to read her kindle at stop lights, while styling her hair, cleaning, walking, during sporting events, and frequently while pretending to work. She is a boring attorney by day, and an exciting New York Times & USA Today Best Selling smut author by night!

In 2013, she released four romance novels, including the first story in the new MMA Fighter series, Worth the Fight. Three more are planned for release in 2014. Her novels have appeared on the Top 5 lists of Amazon USA, UK, Canada and Barnes & Noble.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: Schooling Scarlett by Clarissa DarlingSchooling Scarlett by Clarissa Darling
Published by Self Published on April 1, 2014
Pages: 90
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne Star

When Scarlett Kelley gives her friends a lesson in the art of pleasuring women she has no idea about the chain of events that follow.

review

My thoughts…

I’ll admit I was intrigued after reading the synopsis for part one of this serial. It sounded like a interesting read and even though this is a debut serial by this author I decided to give it a try.

I liked it for the most part. I had a few issues with how things happened. It was a little unrealistic at times and also it seemed a bit rushed, but considering it’s a serial romance things tend to move pretty quickly.

she lets him give her an orgasm and then she leaves.

he makes her strip, sit on his desk, and he takes her virginity
and she just lets him?

The characters were likable for the most part. Roger is a douche, but Adam is pretty intriguing and I can’t wait to learn more about him.

One StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY LAUNCH, REVIEW and GIVEAWAY: Her Destiny by Monica MurphyHer Destiny by Monica Murphy
Series: Reverie #2
Published by Self Published on August 25, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I knew from the moment I first saw him he was the one. The only boy I could ever want.
The only boy I could ever love.
They say he’s bad for me.
But I know he’s not.
Until the day he rejects me.
And breaks my heart.
Completely.

Everything changes in the blink of an eye. My entire life as I’ve known it is…gone. Secrets are revealed. Promises once made are irrevocably broken. There’s no way my family can get back to what we once were.

So when Nicholas Fairfield walks back into my life like he never left it, I’m furious.

Thrilled. Irritated. Excited.

Conflicted.

Despite my confusion, I want to be with him. I love him. But danger lurks where we least expect it. Someone will do whatever it takes to tear us apart. All I know is: I won’t let them.

Because Nick Fairfield? He’s mine.

excerpt

“You sure Evan doesn’t mind me being here?”

“He probably hates that you’re staying the night, but he’ll get over it.” I take a step toward him and pat him on the shoulder, marveling at the solid feel of muscle beneath my palm, beneath the thick fabric of his sweatshirt. Has he gotten taller since the last time I saw him? Broader? He’s so big, standing next to him makes me feel small. “Do you need anything else?” I remove my hand from his shoulder, wishing I could touch him more.

“Nah. I’m gonna change, brush my teeth and go to sleep.” He smiles, looking cute, like a little boy and my heart flutters. When he reaches for the hem of his sweatshirt I step away, watch in silent fascination as he pulls the fabric over his head, taking the T-shirt he’s wearing beneath it upward so I catch a glimpse of his flat, perfect stomach, the little trail of dark hair that starts just under his navel.

I’m breathless, my skin is tingling and when he tosses the sweatshirt onto the couch, I start to walk backwards. “Okay well, good night.” I need to get away from him before I do something really stupid.

Like jump him.

“Night, Reverie,” he calls after me as I hurry to my bedroom. Glancing over my shoulder, I find him watching me with that penetrating, thoughtful gaze and I turn away, practically tripping over my feet in the hall. I rush into my room, shutting the door quietly before I slump against it, closing my eyes and pressing my forehead against the rough wood.

My feelings for him haven’t stopped. I still want him. I’m still in love with him. So why am I denying myself from being with him? Because I’ve changed and I’m worried he won’t accept me for who I really am? And because my life is so crazy the last thing I need is another complication to muck it all up?

Valid reasons, but why would I deprive myself from being with him? He’s the only one who understood me. Who listened to me. Who cared about me.

I think he still does.

Cracking open my eyes, I push away from the doorway and shut off the light before I crawl into bed. I lay there in the dark, listening to him move about inside the bathroom, which is right next to my bedroom. He finishes brushing his teeth before he exits the room and I swear I can feel him standing on the other side of my closed door, waiting. Listening for any sign of life coming from within.

I can’t move. I’m frozen, holding my breath, waiting for him to knock on the door, to turn the knob, anything to show that he wants to see me. I want him to both respect my brother’s wishes and defy them. I want him overcome with need yet cautious. I want…everything.

All of him.

Disappointment crashes through me when I realize he is definitely obeying Evan’s wishes. He doesn’t sneak into my room, doesn’t attempt to talk to me, nothing. I should be happy. Pleased that he doesn’t want to upset anyone.

Instead, I’m sad.

Rolling over on my side, I punch the pillow beneath my head and settle in for the night, willing myself to fall asleep. I get to spend pretty much the entire weekend with him. Maybe we can work it out then since we’ll have plenty of time. But for now I’ll have to settle for Nick visiting me…

Only in my dreams.

review

My thoughts…

I really enjoyed His Reverie and I’ve been patiently waiting for Her Destiny. Straight up… I loved this book and the characters. I fell in love with Nicholas and Reverie in book one. They shared a sweet summertime romance. One where they fall in love for the first time. Once I reached the end book one I was surprised to find a cliffhanger. :/ But Ms Murphy didn’t make us wait long for book two.

Her Destiny picks up a few months later. Reverie has gone back home and is in her last year of school and working a job for the first time. Her life has changed completely. I think she’s matured a lot in this book. She’s basically had too considering all the stuff going on with her parents. I think I love her more in this book.

Nick has changed too. He still has the cloud of suspicion around him. It’s because of this that he doesn’t go to Reverie. I had a lot of sympathy for Nick. He’s had it rough in life. He’s had to deal with so much in his short life. I couldn’t help but feel compassion for him.

Ms Murphy continues the theme of this story with Reverie writing journal entries. Nick even writes to Reverie. I love that she wrote the story this way. It really helped me get into the mindset of these characters. Feel the emotions they were feeling.

The sexual scenes although limited weren’t explicit in nature. There really wasn’t any focus on them. They happened, but there wasn’t any passion in them.

There is an element of suspense within this book. I was able to figure it out pretty quickly, but that didn’t make me like the book any less. This element made the story that much more intriguing.

Overall, I loved this book. I think both books were well written, had characters that were rich with emotions, and a storyline itself that was unique and intriguing. I’m happy with the way things turned out for Reverie and Nick. I’d love it if Ms Murphy would write a book for Reverie’s brother Evan. I found him to be intriguing and think he’d be a great main character.

giveaway
<

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Monica Murphy

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling
author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her
family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon.
She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: 42 Hours by Bethany Lopez42 Hours by Bethany Lopez
Series: Time for Love #3
Published by Self Published on August 19, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Eight years ago, Scott and Gaby shared one very special night. Not wanting to ruin their friendship, they didn't take things further...but neither of them has forgotten.

When Scott’s friends stage an intervention to make him realize that his fiancé, Victoria, is all wrong for him, he takes time to evaluate his life. He’s earned a big promotion and just bought his dream car, but those things are just superficial. The one time he was truly happy, was with Gaby.

Gaby is in a good place in her life. She loves her job, has the best friends and family a girl could ask for, and is dating a sweet and sexy guy, but she’s never stopped thinking about that night with Scott.

Eager to find happiness again, Scott makes a plan to win Gaby’s heart during a weekend getaway, but she doesn’t want to be his rebound girl. Will 42 hours be enough to convince Gaby that it's finally their time for love?

review

My thoughts…

How far would you go to make your friend realize he’s about to make the worst mistake of his life?

How far would you go to make the girl of your dreams see that you belong together?

These are two questions I found myself pondering. After finishing this book I got my answers and more.

I totally and completely loved this story. I have been trying to be patient for Scott and Gaby’s story. I really have.

I love this series and the group of friends that make up the characters. They’re a close knit group and I love each and every one of them. Friends since high school, each character is unique in their own right, but mesh well together as friends.

There has been a great deal of tension between Scott and Gaby in previous books. Scott is engaged to be married to a stuck up, rich, and entitled bitch. Nobody likes her. I don’t think she particularly likes any of them either.

Gaby though is casually dating Brock. A loosely connected friend of the group. I’ve liked him since meeting him. He has two brothers that he’s basically raised on his own and he’s an overall great guy. I think he and Gaby were a good match. “Good” being the keyword. I think Scott and Gaby are perfect for each other. The chemistry and feelings Ms Lopez brought to the forefront of this story really showed that they were meant to be together.

I love the way this book was written. It flowed smoothly and was fast paced. I really had a hard time putting it down. I was really excited about the setup and I couldn’t wait to see how things would turn out in the end for these characters.

I’m not one to give away spoilers in my reviews and so I really don’t want to give away the ending. Let me just say that I’m completely satisfied with the outcome.

Overall, 42 Hours is a great addition to this series. Ms Lopez is one of my favorite authors, and if you haven’t read her work yet I highly suggest it. Oh, before I finish I just want to say that the sex in this book, although there’s not a lot of it, is very hot!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
RELEASE DAY and REVIEW: Rogue by Katy EvansRogue by Katy Evans
Series: Real #4
Published by Gallery Books on July 29, 2014
Pages: 288
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

HE SAYS HE’S NO GOOD FOR HER.
SHE HATES THAT HE MIGHT BE RIGHT.

Brook Dumas found Remington Tate in REAL, and now it’s her best friend Melanie’s turn to find the man who makes her heart sing. After years of searching, one night in the rain, the strong and mysterious Greyson King comes to her rescue. He’s bold, and maybe just the lover, friend, and protector she’s been searching for. When they make love, he says her name like it means something. Like she means something—and that’s everything she’s ever wanted.

He disappears for days without a word, and when he’s around, he says he’ll only hurt her. Buy when he’s away, her heart hurts more.

Then Melanie uncovers the dark world he’d been determined to keep hidden, and suspects that their random first meeting might have not been so random after all.

Caught in a free fall of emotions, Melanie has no one to catch her but the man she should be running from. . .

But what do you do when your Prince Charming has gone Rogue?

review

My thoughts…

Woah! I’ve been wondering about this book. I wondered whether Ms Evans could write a book that could compete… Or should I say be of the calibre of Real, Mine, and Remy. One that had characters I would love as much as Remy & Brooke. One that would be a great addition to this awesome series. Well, after having read Rogue I can honestly say that Ms Evans nailed it.

The story flowed smoothly. It captured my attention from the beginning and held it until the very end. I loved every word of it! I loved the characters, the plot, and all the emotions I experienced while reading it.

I really liked Melanie in the previous books. I wanted so badly for her to find her Real. And in Greyson I think she has.

Greyson defines the very words Alpha Male. He’s an enforcer of sorts. He’s known as “Zero” in the Underground world. It’s his job to collect debts owed to his father. Debts from those whose lost on bets they’ve made on Underground fights. Sadly Melanie is on his list.

It’s apparent from the beginning that the attraction between these two is strong. Greyson has a lot of secrets he’s keeping from Melanie, but she also has a few secrets of her own. It’s because of these secrets that things get really tense at times. They added a suspenseful element to the story that kept me turning page after page to see what would happen next.

I think the chemistry Greyson & Melanie shared was powerful. At times it seemed they couldn’t get enough of each other. Because of this the sex scenes were really hot. I seriously had to fan myself several times while reading them. The scenes are plentiful and well written. Greyson is a quite the dirty talker.

Overall, I really enjoyed Rogue. I can see myself reading it again in the future. It’s definitely a great addition to the Real series. Up next is Pandora’s book. I’m really looking forward to reading it!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Katy Evans

Katy Evans grew up with books and book-boyfriends until she found a real sexy boyfriend to love. They married and are now hard at work on their own happily ever after. Katy loves her family and friends, and she also loves reading, walking, baking, and being consumed by her characters until she reaches “The End.” Which is, hopefully, only the beginning

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLOG TOUR & REVIEW: Until We Fly by Courtney ColeUntil We Fly by Courtney Cole
Series: Beautifully Broken #4
Published by Lakehouse Press on July 7, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Ex-Army Ranger, Brand Killien, has always been good.

A good friend, a good soldier, a good everything. .
The problem is, good hasn’t gotten him anything but a crushed heart.

So after licking his wounds, he decides to move on. And moving on doesn’t include being good anymore.

Bad sounds so much better.

Jaded and detached, Brand is determined to never open himself up to anyone again. It’s not worth the pain. Instead, he becomes closed, hardened, aloof.

But then he’s called back home for a family emergency… a family that he is estranged from. A family that he put out of his mind a long time ago for very good reasons…reasons that involve secrets and pain. Reasons he tried hard to forget.

But home is where the heart is, and it just might be where Brand finds his again.

Why? Because home is where Nora Greene is. A fiery, red-headed spitfire, Nora is a thing from his past. A beautiful, feisty thing. When Brand left, she was away at boarding school.

But she’s back now.

review

My thoughts…

I’ve been so excited about this book. I absolutely adore Brand. He’s simply amazing. He’s loyal, brave, loving and so very strong. In the last book Jacey sort of broke his heart. I’m not gonna lie. She seriously pissed me off. I wanted her and Brand to be together, but alas it wasn’t meant to be. And now that I’ve read Until We Fly I’m ok with that because I think Nora is his perfect match. I loved sinking into their world and experiencing their relationship as it grew throughout the book.

These two have both been through a lot in their lives. Both have experienced hard times in their childhood. Neither one of them deserved to be treated the way they were treated when they were young, but I do think if any positive could come from it it made them very strong people.

With both Brand and Nora dealing with their issues throughout this story things stay really interesting. A lot of secrets are revealed. Some I sort of guessed. While others I didn’t see coming. Ms Cole did a great job with the flow of this book. It sucked me in and didn’t let go until the end.

The smexy times are comparable to adult mainstream. Though they aren’t explicit in nature they are still hot to read and well written.

Overall, I really liked this book. Its not my favorite of the series, but it is truly a great read. I hope that if you haven’t given this series a try yet that you will do so. I love all of these characters and hope you will too.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLOG TOUR & REVIEW: Stolen Course by Aly MartinezStolen Course by Aly Martinez
Series: Wrecked and Ruined #2
Published by Self Published on May 21, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I fell in love with Manda Baker eight years ago, and I loved her to the core of her soul. We were supposed to have that elusive happily ever after and spend a lifetime together. But that was all before she was STOLEN from me.

Her best friend, Sarah Erickson, killed her. It wasn’t intentional. It was far worse. Everyone claims it was just an accident, but I can see through the lies. Even if it’s with my dying breath, I will make her pay for what she did.

Fate hates me. It robbed me of my first love and left me to navigate through this world emotionless and numb. Then, one day, spiteful fate gave me a woman to fill my shattered soul and make me feel again. It gave me Emma Jane Erickson. Now I spend my days searching for the answers that will ruin Sarah and my nights falling in love with her sister—the one person who is bound and determined to save her.

But what happens when everything you know to be true explodes around you? Who will be left to pick up the pieces, and who will need to be saved from the wreckage?

review

My thoughts…

Wow! I loved this book. It definitely lived up to my expectations. I loved the direction the author took the story in. There were surprises along the way that kept things really interesting. Once I started reading it I had a hard time putting it down.

Caleb was a really interesting guy in book one. He lost his fiancé and blamed Sarah Erickson for her death. He has a lot of hatred within him. So much so that he’s stuck and can’t seem to move forward with his life. Even five years later he hasn’t moved on.

When he meets Sarah’s sister, Emma, he’s immediately conflicted about his feelings for her. He’s majorly attracted to her and doesn’t want to be considering she’s Sarah’s sister. But there is just something about her that calls to him. The attraction is off the charts.

I’ll admit at first I thought their attraction / actions felt a little rushed to me. It seemed that Caleb’s feelings were a little stronger then they would be upon just meeting her. After a few chapters though everything seemed to balance out and I was on board with the direction and pace things were going between them.

Together these two had to skirt around anything pertaining to Sarah. As I said Caleb hates Sarah, but naturally Emma loves her. There was a fine line there they were walking. I think this aspect made the story that much more intense. I found myself turning page after page to see how things were going to play out.

There is a huge twist within the pages of this one that I did not see coming. I was left shaking my head because I so did not see that. It was wow!

The smexy times are comparable to adult mainstream. Maybe a tad bit hotter. They’re plentiful and well written.

Overall, I loved this book and I’m very excited to read book three. This is turning out to be a great series.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLOG TOUR & REVIEW: 21 Days by Bethany Lopez21 Days by Bethany Lopez
Series: Time for Love #2
Published by Self Published on June 2, 2014
Format: eBook
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Sasha and TJ are no strangers to enjoying sex with no strings attached, so when they decide to act on their mutual attraction, there should be no reason why they can’t apply that same philosophy to each other.

Money has never been an issue for Sasha, which made proving herself as a real estate dynamo a personal challenge she was determined to conquer. Raised in a gilded world masking neglect and disappointment, she learned not to depend on anyone, especially when it comes to love and relationships. Men are great for companionship, but she isn’t looking for anything serious.

Used to going without, TJ has worked hard to be able to support himself. When he loses his job and his home in one fell swoop, he faces relying on others for the first time in his adult life. Then Sasha steps in, offering him a place to stay until he’s back on his feet. He grudgingly agrees, but vows to be out of her guest room within 21 days.

They'll discover that a lot can change in 21 days, especially when they decide to give the idea of "friends with benefits" a try. As each day passes, Sasha and TJ become closer than they’ve ever been. Will they be able to go back to being just friends when their days together are up, or will they allow their personal hang-ups to get in the way of what they really cherish most?

review

My thoughts…

Omigosh! I’ve been so excited about getting my hands on this little nugget! Seriously. I fell in love with TJ and Sasha in book one and couldn’t wait to read their story. Ms Lopez did an excellent job writing this book. From beginning to end I loved everything about it. Once I started reading it I couldn’t out it down. I read it all in one sitting. 21 Days is beautifully written love story that will have you experiencing all sorts of emotions. I laughed, cried, squeed and awed a little bit too.

TJ and Sasha are a part of a group of friends that have been friends for years. They’ve known each other a long time. There has always been an attraction there, but they never considered acting on it because they were afraid of messing up their friendship.

That’s completely understandable. But when TJ not only loses his job, but also his apartment he’s forced to move. Since Sasha has a spare guest room she offers him a place to stay. Once he moves in things start heating up between them. Before anything happens they come to agreement. He’ll stay just 21 days and while he’s there they will be friends with benefits. *squee*

Man the tension between these two was so strong. When TJ and Sasha finally gave into their desires things got HOT quickly. The sexual scenes were not only really hot, but they were plentiful too. I had to fan myself a few times while reading them.

Overall, I am so happy with the way things turned out for these two. I couldn’t be more satisfied with how things ended.

Up next is Gaby and Scott’s story. So excited for this one too!! If you’ve yet to start this series I highly suggest you do. It’s amazing and definitely one of my favorites. Ms Lopez has such a great writing style and I love her books!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
RELEASE DAY & REVIEW: Inked Armor by Helena HuntingInked Armor by Helena Hunting
Series: Clipped Wings #2
Published by Gallery Books on May 13, 2014
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In this follow-up to Clipped Wings, the emotional love story continues between Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

In the wake of losing Tenley Page, tattooist Hayden Stryker's tumultuous past is haunting him. Plagued by nightmares about the murder of his parents, Hayden reaches out again to Tenley. Having run from the man she doesn't believe she deserves, Tenley finally lays her guilt to rest. Despite their intense physical attraction, Hayden and Tenley struggle to repair their fragile emotional connection. As Hayden gets closer to the truth, he must find a way to reconcile his guilt over his parents' death in order to keep the woman who finally cracked his armor, and found her way into his heart.

review

My thoughts…

First let me just say *squee* Yay for more Hayden & Tenley!!! 🙂

So this is the second book in this series. Inked Armor picks up right where Clipped Wings left off. Thank goodness for that because the cliffhanger was a doozy. I think this book is as good as the first one. Sometimes with sequels I feel they don’t live up to the first book. I’m happy to say Inked Armor did. The story flowed smoothly, held my attention, and at no time did I find myself skimming. It was in a word. Fantastic. So good.

As with the first, the sex in this book is hot, hot, hot. *fans self* It’s also plentiful. *fans self again* Ms Hunting does an excellent job of building the tension between these two. The chemistry they share is so strong it’s hard for them to keep their hands to themselves. It was really hard for them to abstain and take things slow in their relationship. It was really hard for me as a reader to have to wait for the smexy times too lol

This story focuses a lot on Hayden’s history and what happened to his family. It’s more in-depth then the first book was. He gets the answers to the questions he’s had for so long. The suspense element was a good one. While I was able to figure out some parts of it, other parts to me by surprise.

Overall, I think Ms Hunting nailed it with this book. I’m completely satisfied with the outcome. I’m sort of sad that Hayden & Tenley’s story has come to an end though. This is definitely one of my favorite series. I’ll be reading these books and the novellas again in the future. If you’ve yet to start the series I highly suggest you do.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLOG TOUR, REVIEW and GIVEAWAY: Four Years Later by Monica MurphyFour Years Later by Monica Murphy
Published by Bantam on March 4, 2014
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Over. That about sums up everything in my life. Suspended from my college football team and forced to cut back my hours at The District bar because of my crappy grades, I can’t keep turning to my sister, Fable, and her pro-football playing husband, Drew, to bail me out. I just can’t seem to find my own way. Weed and sex are irresistible temptations—and it’s messed up that I secretly hand over money to our junkie mom. A tutor is the last thing I want right now—until I get a look at her.

Chelsea is not my type at all. She’s smart and totally shy. I’m pretty sure she’s even a virgin. But when she gives me the once over with those piercing blue eyes, I’m really over. But in a different way. I won’t deny her ass is killer, but it’s her brain and the way she seems to crave love—like no one’s ever given her any—that make me want her more than any girl I’ve ever met. But what would someone as seemingly together as her ever see in a screwed up guy like me?

reviewMy thoughts…

Yay! Finally Owen’s book. Seems like I’ve been waiting a very long time for this one. Owen is Fables brother of course. If you haven’t read the three previous books I highly suggest that you do. They are all awesome. Anyway, in Four Years Later Owen’s all grown up. Well maybe not all grown up, but he is in college. I’ve always liked him. I was so happy Ms Murphy decided to write his story. He’s had a tough life and I wanted him to get his happy ending.

Owen’s love interest is Chelsea. She’s a child prodigy and a bit of a nerd. She’s a virgin. Having never had a boyfriend, she’s only been kissed a couple of times. She has absolutely no experience with boys. Her mother has always drilled into Chelsea’s head that boys only want one thing and then when they get it they move on to the conquest. She pretty much thinks they’re worthless.

Together these two appear to be complete opposites on the surface, but once you get more into the story you see that they have more in common then you would think. I think this aspect is what made their bond grow stronger. Owens a bit of a player to start off with, but once he meets Chelsea he changes his ways. There is just something about her that draws him to her. And Chelsea is strongly attracted to Owen. She’s never had that sort of reaction to a boy before.

I loved experiencing their relationship grow while reading this story. Since neither has never had a real relationship before they are learning as they go.

Overall, I loved this story so much!!! I think it’s a great ending to one of my favorite series. I’m really going to miss Drew, Fable, Jen, Colin, Owen, and Chelsea, but I can say that I’m 100% satisfied with how things turned out in the end. Again, if you haven’t read this series you don’t know what you’re missing out on.

series-listOne Week Girlfriend (One Week Girlfriend Quartet, #1)
Goodreads | Amazon

Second Chance Boyfriend (One Week Girlfriend Quartet, #2) 
Goodreads | Amazon

Three Broken Promises (One Week Girlfriend Quartet, #3) 
Goodreads | Amazon

Drew + Fable Forever (One Week Girlfriend Quartet, #3.5)
Goodreads | Amazon

Four Years Later (One Week Girlfriend Quartet, #4)Goodreads | Amazon

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Monica Murphy

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling
author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her
family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon.
She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BLOG TOUR and REVIEW: Worth the Chance by Vi KeelandWorth the Chance by Vi Keeland
Series: MMA Fighter #2
Published by Self Published on February 17, 2014
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Meet Liv Michaels

It may have been seven years, but I’d know him anywhere. Sure, he’s grown, filled out in all the right places, but his captivating blue eyes and cocky grin are exactly the way I remember. Even though I’d much rather forget.

Liv Michaels is almost there. She’s smart, determined and weeks away from landing the job she’s dreamed about for years. Time healed old wounds, even her broken heart from the devastation of being crushed by her first love.

Meet Vince Stone

Women love a fighter, especially a good one. Lucky for me, I’m damn good. But there’s one woman that isn’t interested. Not again, anyway.

Vince ‘The Invincible’ Stone is every woman’s fantasy…strong, sexy, confident and completely in control. Growing up surrounded by chaos, he’s learned never to get too attached. Love will drag you down. He adores women, treats them well, puts their own needs before his own…for the night anyway. With the biggest fight of his life coming up, his focus should be on training.

When fate brings Vince & Liv back together again, there’s no denying the chemistry is still there. But can Vince erase the old scars their past left behind? Or will Liv hurt him instead?

review

My thoughts…

I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!! To be honest before I decided to read this book I was a little concerned that I wouldn’t be able to view Vince as sexy. If you’ve read book one Vince or Vinny as he’s also know as is a young 12 / 13 year old. In this book he’s all grown up. Let me tell you… I didn’t need to be concerned at all. He’s every bit as sexy as Nico is in book one. He’s seriously hot, tatted up, and all alpha male. He’s also a wee bit bossy too.

Now onto why I LOVE this book!

I loved both the main characters. Vinny has had a hard life. He’s had to grow up quick. His mother is a drug addict so he was forced to take care of himself. His father was a solider that died when Vinny was a baby. Luckily Vinny found Nico. Nico took a young Vinny under his wing and trained him to be the fighter that he is. I love the guy. Even though he’s portrayed as a bit of a player in the beginning, when he decides he wants Liv things quickly change.

Liv. Liv has loved Vinny ever since they were kids. He broke her heart all those years ago, but she was never able to forget him. When an assignment brings them back into each other’s presence Liv finds that she still has feelings for him.

I loved the chemistry these two shared. It made their relationship really intense and the sex really hot! To say this book was hot would be an understatement.

Here are a few of my status updates on Goodreads while I was reading it:

19% “Dayum that kiss was hot!”
22% “I may spontaneously combust before the night is over.”
67% “I think I need a cigarette after reading that scene.”

Let me tell you Ms Keeland writes very hot love scenes.

There’s a lot going on within the pages of this book. I was drawn in from page one and this book held my attention until the very end. There is sort of a suspense element to it that makes it all the more enjoyable. From the plot, the writing style, to the characters that are rich with emotions, this is a beautiful love story that shows sometimes second chances are worth the risk. The author add a little something special as part of the ending that made the story all the more amazing.

Hint: Soldier (that’s all I’m saying) 😉

Overall, I can’t say enough good things about this book. I  loved everything about it. I’d rate it more then 5 Stars if I could. Up next is Worth Forgiving. It’s Jax’s story. He’s a secondary character in Worth the Chance.

series-listWorth the Fight (MMA Fighter, #1) 
Goodreads | Amazon

Worth the Chance (MMA Fighter, #2)
Goodreads | Amazon

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a native New Yorker with three children that occupy most of her free time, which she complains about often, but wouldn’t change for the world. She is a bookworm and has been known to read her kindle at stop lights, while styling her hair, cleaning, walking, during sporting events, and frequently while pretending to work. She is a boring attorney by day, and an exciting New York Times & USA Today Best Selling smut author by night!

In 2013, she released four romance novels, including the first story in the new MMA Fighter series, Worth the Fight. Three more are planned for release in 2014. Her novels have appeared on the Top 5 lists of Amazon USA, UK, Canada and Barnes & Noble.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: Better by Carey HeywoodBetter by Carey Heywood
Published by Self Published on February 17, 2014
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Aubrey is embarking on a bucket list trip around the world, the last wish of her Aunt Ally. It was supposed to be the trip Ally would take when she got better. Now it's just a chance for Aubrey to say goodbye.

Adam escapes in his solo trips overseas, working just enough to fund the next one. When the opportunity to circle the globe falls in his lap he can't refuse. The only catch, he won't be traveling alone this time.

Unable to hide from each other Adam's overprotective nature thwarts Aubrey's desire to find her own way. Can they move past initial assumptions to find something better?

reviewMy thoughts…

I loved this one. Author Carey Heywood takes the reader on a journey around the world. The characters which are rich with emotions go to places like London, Beijing, Australia, and many others. It was fun learning about the different places they visited and experiencing it through the eyes of these characters.

Speaking of characters… I really liked Aubrey and Adam. When you first meet Aubrey she is heartbroken. Her aunt is dying of cancer and the story starts off really emotional from the beginning. I cried while reading the first few pages. Adam on the other hand is sort of an arse at the beginning of this one. I’m not quite sure why either. There really wasn’t any explanation as to why. After a while though he came to his senses and started acting right. 😉

Better was a really fast read for me. I was able to finish relatively quickly. The story just captured my attention from the first page and held it until the very end. I loved the plot, the characters, and experiencing the journey they were on. And when the ending came I think Ms Heywood nailed it. I was happy with the way things ended for Aubrey and Adam. It just felt right.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this one and I hope you’ll give it a try. This is a story that will definitely get you thinking about life.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Come to Me Quietly by A.L. JacksonCome to Me Quietly by A.L. Jackson
Published by Penguin on 2014-01-07
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: the Author
Add to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
Purchase Links: Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Aleena Moore is content with her life. She has goals and dreams and an easy smile. She also has a secret she holds locked inside.

Jared Holt believes he doesn’t deserve to love or be loved. He destroys everything he touches. Haunted by the mistake that shattered his life, he’s fled from the memory of that pain.

Jared doesn’t know why he’s compelled to return, but finds himself drawn back to the place where it all began. The exact place where it ended. When he runs into his childhood best friend, Aleena’s older brother Christopher, he agrees to share Christopher and Aleena’s apartment while he looks for a place of his own.

Aleena is no longer the little girl Jared remembers from his past and evokes feelings in him he never wanted to feel again. Terrified of destroying her, he fights to keep her away. But her touch is something he can’t resist—the touch that sealed his fate.

Their pasts are intertwined and their futures uncertain. The only truths they know are the secrets they whisper in the night.

reviewMy thoughts…

A fellow blogger tweeted about how she loved this book so I decided to give it a try. A.L. Jackson is a new to me author so I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I started reading it. When I read the synopsis I thought it had the potential to be a great read. I can honestly say that I’m glad I gave this book a chance. I really enjoyed it.

I loved the main characters. I was able to connect with them and I enjoyed getting to know them.

The heroine: Aleena aka Aly. I really liked her. She’s been in love with Jared since she was a little girl. He was her best friend growing up until he was sent away. When he shows up at her apartment one night she’s shocked to see him. Old feelings are brought back to life and she must face the fact that she still loves him.

The hero: Jared. I liked him too. I couldn’t help but feel so bad for him having gone with he went through. Because of a mistake from his past he thinks he doesn’t deserve Aly or happiness.

Together: I think they were great together. I rooted for them throughout the entire book. I believe the old saying “You don’t know what you have until it’s gone” applies here. Jared sort of ticked me off about 3/4’s of the way in. I thought I was going to have to knock some sense in him lol

At times Come to Me Quietly was a difficult read. I teared up a couple times while reading it. It’s an emotional read to say the least.

Overall, I really, really liked this one. There is another book entitled Come to Me Softly which is set to release later this year. I checked the synopsis and it appears to be a companion novel to this book. I’m really looking forward to reading it. If you’re a fan of New Adult contemporary romances I highly suggest you give Come to Me Quietly a try.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star